• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat NSFs must eat their ladies’ fingers, brinjals and bittergourds!

Looking at it from a more scientific approach, you can see the SAF training standard is really low now. Why? If soldiers can throw food away, that means that they are not burning enough calories each day. Especially on course soldiers like this Vicky's precious son. Its mentioned in the article that the son is posted to Pasir Laba Camp, so I assume the son is in either School of Infantry Weapons or Specialist OCS. Either way, he is on course. Usually, on course if you are in OCS during my time, you are burning thru 5,000 - 7,000 calories a day. We are talking non stop with maybe 4 hr sleep. PT in the morning, 10km jogs before breakfast, etc. If you are burning thru that much calories, your body will eat everything in sight. It craves it, its a body defence mechanism. Lets say this MILF Vicky's son is not on that siong a course, but still in order for him to turn food down like that, he could not be burning thru more then 3,000-4,000 calories per day. Probably less then that. so, it must be a course that is not so siong, i.e. low standard. that is why in the old days, if you throw food away at the cookhouse, u will get extras. The old hokkien peng cooks use to load up your tray with a lot of carbs, like rice. Soldiers on course are made to eat everything because they will need it. Also, when u build up muscle mass, u also naturally burn more calories. if u don't like lady fingers or brinjal or whatever, u will eat it because u don't know when your next meal will be and u know that u have a lot of calorie burning physical exertion coming up. So, my conclusion is that SAF courses now are like holiday camps.
P.S. Ladyfingers are not cheap as a source of vegetable. MILF Vicky's son is damn lucky to eat it. Usually served in Indian cookhouses.

Vicky's would have a heart failure if she had followed me on training, wether on course in Pasar Laba back then...the current one look like a holiday resort...or training or overseas...never mind about the scientific approach....let's look at survival...after all the physical & mental work put in....the body needs to be replenish...so, one have time to bother, if that was "lady's finger"...or bitter gourd or some chye sim, that includes roots, soil & caterpillars with rice that came partly padi, partly cooked, partly burnt..or you get the food in a packet in some forsaken corner in a foreign land from that cook house land rover delivered to you, with the food looking like swill.

My point is...that is what we called training right?...if one does not have the hunger to eat to survive & complain, that, too much rice is given or getting what was that again.."lady's fingers" or, to survive, one look to get food from food vendors or secretly from that "farm house down the road or......how could that son of Vicky..ever even survive? even in quelling a riot...never mind fighting a war...the mummy will complain..

Let me guess. Mdm Chong is a not a good cook and her precious sons ended up eating junk food and fastfood all the time. When she said she taught her kids dont waste food, she meant dont waste the junk food.

So many 多嘴 idiot here. First thing army do is to starve you to near death.

Make u go hungry to kill all your contaminated body eating unhealthy McDonald food in your life. This is cleansing purposely to make you suffer.

Vicky's would have a heart failure if she had followed me on training, wether on course in Pasar Laba back then...the current one look like a holiday resort...or training or overseas...never mind about the scientific approach....let's look at survival...after all the physical & mental work put in....the body needs to be replenish...so, one have time to bother, if that was "lady's finger"...or bitter gourd or some chye sim, that includes roots, soil & caterpillars with rice that came partly padi, partly cooked, partly burnt..or you get the food in a packet in some forsaken corner in a foreign land from that cook house land rover delivered to you, with the food looking like swill.

My point is...that is what we called training right?...if one does not have the hunger to eat to survive & complain, that, too much rice is given or getting what was that again.."lady's fingers" or, to survive, one look to get food from food vendors or secretly from that "farm house down the road or......how could that son of Vicky..ever even survive? even in quelling a riot...never mind fighting a war...the mummy will complain..

Yup, on course food is always bad, unless u are on course at SOA or Hendon Camp. Cooks know u are only there temporarily. There is no incentive for them to cook nice food for the cadets/trainee. that is why I always say sinkie bitches should do National Service too. If this MILF Vicky had done NS with the rest of the men, she would have given her son 2 tight slaps for being a pussy.

SAF needs to have new menu to cater to offsprings of China n India FTs. Think pasta n mashed potatoes.

I also feel it is too much the SAF is not serving foie gras for their dinner. How can a normal and proper dinner be without foie gras. And yes please make sure that foie gras is readily available during war time and also exercises carried out in other countries. It's definitely a disgrace to serve lady's fingers and bitter gourd. Long live the self entitled Singaporeans

my all-time favorite dish is curry chap chye, or vegetarian curry. i would keep asking my mom to cook it when i returned home from ns duties. now that i'm away from my mom i cook it myself. cabbage, potatoes, string beans (long beans), eggplant (brinjals), okra (lady fingers), curry leaves, bay leaves, tau pok, tau kwa, and tofu skin. of course must sauté rempah first and add curry powder, coconut cream and fresh chili. over jasmine rice. shiok.
oetpxoaicbghc_bigger.jpg

these stupid sinkie kids don't know what they are missing.

except for fresh galangal (viets use regular supermarket ginger but some grow their own galangal), all my rempah ingredients can be sourced locally, thanks to ethnic stores and hmong farmers in fresno. i can even get candlenuts!
9f94f011696b842aeb414f4557cc01aa.jpg

it helps if sinkie moms prepare traditional home cooked meals and avoid eating out at fast food joints as a way to reward and spoil their kids. can bet that 69% of sinkie moms don't even know wtf the above ingredients are. ask them to buy jintan manis and they will be lost.

lady fingers, brinjals and bittergourds best for Yong Tau Fu... you never visit Fu Lin YTF?
not fu lin, but in almost every food court and hawker center i will try ytf first. ytf is my next favorite after curry chap chye.

But I like to suck the lady's finger & spread open the tau pok....never mind the Yong Tau Fu, I hope Vicky's don't mind...& wasting the rice...that is secondary.

don’t forget to slowly and gently pull out the cooked fish paste out of both green and red big chilies. and lick the wide open slit until tongue gets burning hot from the chili. and then micro chew on the clitori-like cooked fishpaste that cums out. it should still have the fishy and spicy taste. but sniff before eating. you see? these boys have no clue what they are missing. very hard for mom to teach them unless she asks dad to do live demonstration.

Fine, if those little fucking brats don't want to eat complete meals, then let them starve. If they faint during training or exercise, charge their fucking arses.

Or just imagine they are eating something else lah. Something about body there but mind not right? Can be enjoyable experience when eating shit.

don’t forget to slowly and gently pull out the cooked fish paste out of both green and red big chilies. and lick the wide open slit until tongue gets burning hot from the chili. and then micro chew on the clitori-like cooked fishpaste that cums out. it should still have the fishy and spicy taste. but sniff before eating. you see? these boys have no clue what they are missing. very hard for mom to teach them unless she asks dad to do live demonstration.

Mum always tell the kids.."don't play with the vegetables".

Cookhouse should be given orders to have more recipes with crops from Kranji farms

Cheers!.

old soldiers sharing tales of those old memorable times .... those were the days of sour-sweet-bitter-spicy memories... the shiok and the siong days

the cook house food I miss most is the heavy night snack ...shiok :)