In order for singkies to b perfectionist about cuisines.. They 1st have to know about cuisines..how many know what a real kebab is etc? But like to talk big etc... That is y for me personally i just use taste as the main determinant. Be it wat sort of cuisine. N nothing wrong in fusion cuisine..if no fusion cuisine..where got new dishes? N isnt local dishes like hainan chicken rice, bak kut teh, etc fusion ?tiong land got such things meh? Hainan curry rice, isnt it fusion? Hainan island got curry?
you’re partially right about sinkie food being fusion. however, sinkie traditional authentic means sinkie food concocted in 169 years of straits settlement evolution in rojak cuisine, which is basically fusion. even indian rojak, baba rojak, malay rojak, and nonya food are fusion. but what was initially fusion 169 years ago is now established “traditional” cuisine in sg. time and generations can do wonders. chicken curry that we eat in sg is very different from the chicken korma dish in indian muslim and paki cuisines. they use yogurt and not coconut cream. but centuries and decades of adoption and acceptance by locals create a wall of filters on the tastebud. for example, my mom will instantly reject chow hor fun that has no wok hei taste on the lice noodles. she eats simple but is very picky on slight changes and nuances in taste. my brother will not finish his mee pok if it is not at least 6.9 out of 9. a little off on the hot sauce, and it’s over. i’m sure you can say the same about your ckt, hokkien mee, and chicken lice. they don’t exist in prc today as the chicoms have destroyed traditional southern cuisines and flooded the mainland with dongbei ma la gutter oil chop suey, also a fusion food that doesn’t exist in prc 69 years ago.