• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Narong, Zeddy, Drifter, QXD, Halsey and many others

This is a very good and historical thread which should be treasured and kept for posterity. We have lost many things and in one generation we are completely cut off from our roots. This is a social tragedy - a cultural catastrophe of the various races who had worked together to build this country. We are at the threshold of losing it all.

Charlie99

Really pleased with your comments across a number of threads. You guys know what is a Singaporean and good to see the old Kampung spirit rise again. Sorry I could not name everyone that felt the same.

I can recall the Kallang roar as well as whole estates shouting with joy across Singapore when a goal is scored. We had some of the colourful characters made up of Chinese, Malays, Indians and Eurasians in our football team. I remember how the whole country embraced Fandi and called him our own.

Also recall with delight how we bonked girls of every hue and colour. It was a wonderful time. Minahs were the best badang wise.

Sorry the younger ones never had that pleasure. What a sight when you see a bunch of Singaporeans made up of Malays, Indians Chinese and Eurasian using trademark Hokkein profanities and abusing the shit out of Malaysian football fans who were also made up of Indians, Malays, Chinese and Eurasians.

Back in our HDB flats, while Malay weddings, Chinese funerals, joss stick burning etc were going on, we secretly wondered why we did not have Moktar Dahari, Arumugam (spiderman) Soh Chin Aun (towkay) and Santokh Singh in our team.

Then one fucking day the PAP came up with GRC, SAP schools, ethnic self help groups and we became a divided nation.

In the old days, there was no need for quota for the number of Chinese, Malays and Indians for each block of HDB flats.

On our floor of ten units, there was only one Malay family, but before that I was the only non-Malay boy playing badminton and sepak takraw in the kampung.

mollusk

If you notice...those who never lived in a kampung before is the most vocal critic..btw missed my kampung life... :(

In the old days, there was no need for quota for the number of Chinese, Malays and Indians for each block of HDB flats.

On our floor of ten units, there was only one Malay family, but before that I was the only non-Malay boy playing badminton and sepak takraw in the kampung.

I was the only Chinese in a Malay barber's shop near a Malay kampong when the riot started in Kallang. My Malay friends told me to go home and even escorted me home to my Chinese kampong. In our kampongs, there were no fights and no conflicts. We protected each other like brothers regardless of our race and religion. We were united and we were One Singaporean.

Charlie99

During our growing up days we all stayed in kampongs where we had people of all races.

Those were the days when all the kampong homes were open (literally). No home had closed doors. The words "WELCOME" on the floor mats was for real.

Togather, we flew and chased kites, caught longkang fishes and spiders, played kuti-kuti and ang-kong chua, shared ice-balls and ice-malaysia, played hantam-bola and cheered each other in school sports.

Togather we endured the communists and communalists elements during racial riots.

Togather we visited Malay kampong weddings, circumcision ceremonies, joined Muslim brothers during buka-puasa and ate the jambus, papayas and rambutans from their trees.

Togather we fired crackers and were present at 7th Moon Festivals, Chinese New Year festivities and contributed to the crowds at wayangs, weddings and lantern-festivals.

It was so common to see people from different communities cheering their Hindu friends carrying kavadis and assisting them in lighting candles to be placed infront of their homes on Deepavali nights.

Our girls proudly wore clothes used by different communities.

We developed a taste for tosai, chappathis, keema, roti-pratas, chee-cheong fun, chiew-kuay, yew-char-kuay and ang-koo-kway.

We never had to listen to the government to stay as a united people. Kampong spirit and mutual care and respect for one another brought us closer.

The Chinese protected the Malays during the riots and VICE VERSA.

All this was lost when we moved to flats where doors remaion shut.

Where people cannot stand the smell of curry, holding of Malay weddings and Chinese funerals.

Readers will know who is the cause of all this. Need I elaborate? ? ?

Those were good old days of my childhood.
With respect, I submit that the present day lack of identification as Singaporeans could be due to all the govt policies and campaigns. I believe that there is no need to implement rules and impose legislation to tell people where they should live and how they should live. When I was a young school boy, we were not bothered with whether or not the other individual is Chinese, Malay, Indian or Eurasian.
Even during NS, we were all one.
Unfortunately, now, although I have been away for decades, whenever I visit Singapore, I do feel and sense that Singapore has changed very significantly.

When we shifted into our new HDB flats, we were still very close and we still adopted our kampong spirit of protecting one another.Our doors were never locked and formed soccer teams comprising the various races. It was one great team and we enjoyed our multiracial and multireligious celebrations. I had my first nasi kambing in one of my friend's home when the mother invited all of us kids for Deepavali. We all sat on the floor and ate with our hands!!! We were Family!!!I suppose some of my childhood friends must be here somewhere in this SBF!!!

Excellent post bro. Agree with you.

Tis is one example - Old man things that muslim fundamentalism has influenced the local Malays but I would suggest that he marginalised them and they therefor became easy target for such influences.

Now you can clear the racial stratification and it had nothing do with the influx of FTs.

The younger generation have never seen the past harmony and might think that FTs might be a factor.

That is precisely the strategy of this chenghu so that they can keep using race as the bogeyman! We are the only country that has an annual Racial Harmony Day in schools. The more they emphasize the racial differences, the more sensitive the succeeding generations have become. When we were kids, we never had all these Racial Harmony Day bullshit and yet we all got along and were kawan kawan regardless of race and it was the same in NS. Everybody suffer together and cheong together and happy together.

Kohliantye

Those were good old days of my childhood.
With respect, I submit that the present day lack of identification as Singaporeans could be due to all the govt policies and campaigns. I believe that there is no need to implement rules and impose legislation to tell people where they should live and how they should live. When I was a young school boy, we were not bothered with whether or not the other individual is Chinese, Malay, Indian or Eurasian.
Even during NS, we were all one.
Unfortunately, now, although I have been away for decades, whenever I visit Singapore, I do feel and sense that Singapore has changed very significantly.

Yes, our old schools and NS brought us closer togather as we met people of different communities.

We learned and trained togather, chiong togather, suffered and enjoyed togather. We became better togather.

I remember a fellow Chinese who use to assist his Sikh colleague to hold his long turban while the latter ties it over the head.

Thru such interaction we learned and came to respect different ppl and their beliefs. We were truly appreciative of each other.

We attended happy and sad occassions togather. We sympathise and emphatise with one another.

We cried togather when a close colleague passed away in the course of work. It was a great loss to us.

We donated to the building funds of all races and faiths.

We could connect becos of our past experience in schools and stay in kampongs during those good old years under the British rule.

Today, we have civil servants who cannot speak Malay at all. Some even don't know Hokkien, Teochew, Cantonese, Hakka, Hainanese and other dialects.

I remember a child pointing to a mosque from a passing train and telling the mum, "Mummy my teacher tell me this is Malay temple"

The poor mum kept quiet. What will happen when this young man grow up and become a MP?.

It is a sad state of affairs, but honestly things have worsened under this government's policies.

They created racial quotas which choked the interactive atmosphere. Creation of racial-based self-help groups aggravated the situation even further.

The PAP strongman of Jalan Besar had the nerve to hurt the feelings of the Indians. He harped on racial issues. What quality do this ppl possess?. ZERO........

Sadly, many like-minded ppl are still around.

They called it "picked by careful screening process". HA HA HA.

Little wonder why many are leaving Singapore in droves to Kiwiland, Malaysia, OZ, Indonesia and Thailand.

Unrepented

Now still got meaning meh:confused::(

Thanks bro ....

The National Pledge is:

We, the citizens of Singapore,
pledge ourselves as one united people,
regardless of race, language or religion,
to build a democratic society
based on justice and equality
so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and
progress for our nation.
Malay version

Kami, warganegara Singapura,
sebagai rakyat yang bersatu padu,
tidak kira apa bangsa, bahasa, atau ugama,
berikrar untuk membina suatu masyarakat yang demokratik,
berdasarkan kepada keadilan dan persamaan
untuk mencapai kebahagiaan,
kemakmuran dan kemajuan bagi negara kami.

Simplified Chinese
我们是新加坡公民,
誓愿不分种族、言语、宗教,
团结一致,
建设公正平等的民主社会,
并为实现国家之幸福、繁荣与进步,
共同努力。

我們是新加坡公民,
誓願不分種族、言語、宗教,
團結一致,
建設公正平等的民主社會,
並為實現國家之幸福、繁榮與進步,
共同努力。

Tamil version

சிங்கப்பூர் குடிமக்களாகிய நாம் இனம்,மொழி,மதம்
ஆகிய வேற்றுமைகளை மறந்து ஒன்றுபட்டு,நம் நாடு
மகிழ்ச்சி,வளம்,முன்னேற்றம் ஆகியவற்றை அடையும்
வண்ணம் சமத்துவத்தையும்,நீதியையும்
அடிப்படையாக கொண்ட ஜனாயக
சமுதாயத்தை உருவாக்குவதற்கு
உறுதி மேற்கொள்வோம்!

chilakak

I grew up in an area where we had all the races represented - Chinese, Malays, Indians, Sikhs, Eurasians, Peranakans. Just in my block alone, we had all. Everybody kawan kawan. Different festivals come along and there was always food being passed around. Used to watch Uncle Choo training the original Lions just across my house. Those were the days of Dollah, Kim Song, Mat Noh, Rajagopal, Lim Chiew Ping, Eric Paine, Seak Poh Leong etc. Truly a national team to be proud of - all true-blooded Singaporeans and all races represented. Every match they played in was a time of national pride.

Remember as kids we used to play this childish prank called "Bayi simi sek" (Bayi what colour)? Even amongst our bayi friends, everybody took it all in good innocent fun and nobody took offense.

In NS, we used to tease one another with what would be considered racist taunts today such as telling our Malay colleagues or soldiers, "Oi Mat! Don't relak one corner leh! Move out!" or "Neh! Nabei you never bathe ah? Later, enemy can smell you from far lah deh!" or "Ch** B*e Ah Tan! Don't sit there like Tua Peh Kong lah! Go and collect store leh!" And everyone took it in the right spirit, laughed together and that's how we built camaraderie. Nobody went around kau peh kau bu about racism then. I doubt if the present generation of NS men can even feel comfortable talking to one another like that.

If you really think about it, the term "racism" only became fashionable in usage in Singapore in the last 10 years and its promulgation was started by all the chenghu mouthpieces. Go figure!

chilakak

Tis is one example - Old man things that muslim fundamentalism has influenced the local Malays but I would suggest that he marginalised them and they therefor became easy target for such influences.

I won't be surprised that the chenghu was not too worried when 9/11 happened because it provided even more excuses to use the race card.

Thanks everyone for sharing. We were certainly a nation then. Great details. Bantering using obvious racial stereotypes were part and parcel of life. People took it in their stride.

If it worked then why can't it work now?

whoami

Talk abt Malay weddings. During kamp days, i still remember during Malay wedding, i could see alot of Non-Malay guest at the reception. Got live band, and it was real loud. Louder than the Azan. Those days the most popular english song played during most Malay wedding were "Soldier of fortune" by Deep Purple. :biggrin:

TracyTan866

Thanks everyone for sharing. We were certainly a nation then. Great details. Bantering using obvious racial stereotypes were part and parcel of life. People took it in their stride.

we were "One Country, One People" until LHL took over. Now we are very divided

Talk abt Malay weddings. During kamp days, i still remember during Malay wedding, i could see alot of Non-Malay guest at the reception

truth be spoken... a lot of Chinese couples held wedding dinners under void decks in the 60s and 70s too...

chilakak

It doesn't work now because from the late 80s onwards, the chenghu has socially engineered it to the state we are in today because a truly united population is always a risk to an incompetent government.

bella

i too was staying at a kampong
the kampong was 3/4 chinese and 1/4 malays and a little indians
there were a lot of gangsters in my kampong, but during the riot we all stood by each other
we make sure that people outside the kampong dont stir shit within our kampong
chinese protect the malays and similarly the malays were there for the chinese

i believe very it is because malay was the national language - and it was an easy language to master - so we have a common denominator when communicating to each other - almost everyone can speak malay

now the malays and indians finds it difficult to master mandarin and some chinese dont speak mandarin - therefore the difficulties to communicate and assimiliate

Equalisation

i too was staying at a kampong
the kampong was 3/4 chinese and 1/4 malays and a little indians
there were a lot of gangsters in my kampong, but during the riot we all stood by each other
we make sure that people outside the kampong dont stir shit within our kampong
chinese protect the malays and similarly the malays were there for the chinese

i believe very it is because malay was the national language - and it was an easy language to master - so we have a common denominator when communicating to each other - almost everyone can speak malay

now the malays and indians finds it difficult to master mandarin and some chinese dont speak mandarin - therefore the difficulties to communicate and assimiliate

Aiyoh, back in the war years,

Makcik with big boobs, strangely dissappered not to be found again also have lah joe !!