• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ministers' salaries to BE Cut By 36 to 53%

TracyTan866

how cum u oso so naive ... cannot appreciate n sense ah u's humor n sarcasm? ... :eek:

LKY took it literally as a compliment and quoted that comment to pat himself on the back...everyone had a good laugh at his naiveness.

LKY may appear shrewd most of the time, but occasionally he showed that he is like any ordianry man..snooked and unaware of it

saratogas

WoW! What a pay cut!

The $ saved on their salary will go where? Left pocket or Right pocket...
Mr Ee should add on where the $ saved will go... give to NSMen, Volunteers and free education for Primary school!

Nice-Gook

The Opposition cant get into Parliament if we dont speak up and exercise our votes wisely. This is the means to the end

This is the line I had been advocating for many years.That we deserve the king we have.And that we are directly responsible for the dire state of affairs we are now in.

And that I really pity the opposition figures and their families who fought for us in the past.Many like Chia Thye Poh were imprisoned for life.Many like Tang are fugitives forever,Many like Dr.Chee are bankrupted and imprisoned in the very country they live in,many like JBJ went down fighting till their last breath.....and what have we done to deserve their sacrifices written in blood?

Instead,arm chair critics nitpick .

TracyTan866

WoW! What a pay cut!

The $ saved on their salary will go where? Left pocket or Right pocket...
Mr Ee should add on where the $ saved will go... give to NSMen, Volunteers and free education for Primary school!

The cut is not deep enough. Another review is needed!

TracyTan866

This is the line I had been advocating for many years.That we deserve the king we have.And that we are directly responsible for the dire state of affairs we are now in.

I disagree..Many Singaporeans voted for the pap because they were lied to, denied the truth, coerced, frightened, deceived

saratogas

The cut is not deep enough. Another review is needed!

Any cut of $$$ is very sensitive, the next time you meet your Ministers their face will be very black... More work, lesser pay. Release such decision before Chinese New Year how Ministers going to enjoy their "prosperous" Dragon year?

TracyTan866

No. The review must insist on totally transparency. Secret performance bonus must be out too..nothing shd be beyond scrutiny

I am glad to hear the below from Gerard :

"Chairman Gerard Ee said the salary must be a "clean wage" with no hidden perks."

It shows that up to now, there were some hidden perks...Let LHL explain this in Parliament

TracyTan866

Any cut of $$$ is very sensitive, the next time you meet your Ministers their face will be very black... More work, lesser pay. Release such decision before Chinese New Year how Ministers going to enjoy their "prosperous" Dragon year?

I dont care whether a minster's face is black or not. But just get the job done!

And that the ministers without portfolios are never addressed too.Like the clown zorro minister for instance.

This one should have a reduction of 99%.
Also recommend to tell him separately becos he will cry one.

GE: Errrr, ah chek uh, wanton mee big plate, mai wanton. Aiyah, now can relak liao.

Nice-Gook

Just to add.

Whatever changes we are now seeing is the nett result of citizens or netizens participation in politics.The advent of social medias made that possible.

That the concept of parliament is now outdated.Because parliament was a platform of sort; in days when communication was only thorough speeches and representations only through personalities.As I may ask,what is the function of a MP but to articulate the mood of the people he represents to the governing authorities.

Isn't the advent of the internet made the job of an MP quite redundant?Since the very people whom the MP represents can do the very job in real time--all by themselves?

TracyTan866

Just to add.

Whatever changes we are now seeing is the nett result of citizens or netizens participation in politics.The advent of social medias made that possible.

That the concept of parliament is now outdated.Because parliament was a platform of sort; in days when communication was only thorough speeches and representations only through personalities.As I may ask,what is the function of a MP but to articulate the mood of the people he represents to the governing authorities.

Isn't the advent of the internet made the job of an MP quite redundant?Since the very people whom the MP represents can do the very job in real time--all by themselves?

very true..let all singaporeans voice out! we can make a difference

freedalas

If that's approved, it goes to show that LKY and the PAP were wrong to pay obscene salaries all these years.

I hope the pap learns from this and review some other policies which Singaporeans have been voicing out to them. One of the main feedbacks is that the liberal influx of cheap foreign workers is a wrong policy. Will the pap listen, eat humble pie and reverse/rescind it?

What other policies are wrong?

1. NS for locals, jobs for foreigners?
2. High cost of living?
3. High taxes/levies but disguised under low income tax to fool Singaporeans?
4. High petrol tax resulting in high transportation cost?
5. No minimum wage for Singaporeans despite high inflation rate?
6. Social engineering by limiting MBBS capacity?
7. Artificially inflated high medical cost?
8. Refusal to return CPF monies to Singaporeans?
9. Chase for GDP growth at all expense?
10.Unable to get cheap foreign labour to immerse into SG society thereby causing social friction?
11.Cronysim/despotism?
12.Lack of transparency/accoubtability?

Let's hope pap looks into many other policies

When LKY first tabled the bill in parliament in the 90s (can't remember the specific year) to peg Ministers' pay to the market, Chiam ST and Low TH of course opposed it. In rebutting the 2 of them, LKY with his usual smug face said that such a method of paying Ministers' pay would become conventional wisdom in the years ahead. In other words, he's saying that he's way ahead of other politicians elsewhere for conceiving such a brilliant idea which other countries would eventually follow his method.

After 20 years, not one single country adopted LKY's method with none of those political leaders who are managing much much bigger countries with much much responsibilities coming close to our PM, SM, MM and the President in terms of salaries. In fact it is said in some of these countries, the combined salaries of the whole cabinet is not as much as the salary of our PM alone. And now, PAP themselves has to initiate a review and a cut in their salaries is imminent.

So where is the conventional wisdom now that LKY said would materialise? So for those who still think that LKY is a most visionary and wisest politician that ever live, what u see happening is the Hard Truth indeed.

TracyTan866

When LKY first tabled the bill in parliament in the 90s (can't remember the specific year) to peg Ministers' pay to the market, Chiam ST and Low TH of course opposed it. In rebutting the 2 of them, LKY with his usual smug face said that such a method of paying Ministers' pay would become conventional wisdom in the years ahead. In other words, he's saying that he's way ahead of other politicians elsewhere for conceiving such a brilliant idea which other countries would eventually follow his method.

After 20 years, not one single country adopted LKY's method with none of those political leaders who are managing much much bigger countries with much much responsibilities coming close to our PM, SM, MM and the President in terms of salaries. In fact it is said in some of these countries, the combined salaries of the whole cabinet is not as much as the salary of our PM alone. And now, PAP themselves has to initiate a review and a cut in their salaries is imminent.

So where is the conventional wisdom now that LKY said would materialise? So for those who still think that LKY is a most visionary and wisest politician that ever live, what u see happening is the Hard Truth indeed.

LKY spoke out of self conceitedness. Many politicians poured scorn on his method of rewarding himself and to retain yes-men to do his bidding. But he was so engrossed by his conceitedness that he failed to see right from wrong. 20 yrs later, he has been fully proven wrong...

Singaporeans have won a big victory in this ministers' pay revision. Let's not stop here

TracyTan866

This review is not deep enough...Will there be another review when the next GE comes or when the next PM takes over?

Overpaying yourself is morally despicable

batman1

The salary cut for PAP ministers must be 90%.
All the over-paid salaries for PAP ministers for the past years
must be returned to the State .
We condemned the PAP for CBT n Misappropriation of
public funds belonging to the citizens of Singapore.
KNNCCB to PAP !!!

TracyTan866

T

i'd rather let PAP run its course :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
come GE 2014, hopefully can see more than 1/3 alternative parties in the Parliament, with voting rights thank you very much :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

It's precisely the pap knows how unpopular this issue is that it must correct the wrong. Will the pap choose to do the right thing? only time will tell....but doing the wrong thing comes with dire consequences.

TracyTan866

This salary revision is a huge slap on LKY's face...it's a start of better things to come

TracyTan866

The salary cut for PAP ministers must be 90%.
All the over-paid salaries for PAP ministers for the past years
must be returned to the State .
We condemned the PAP for CBT n Misappropriation of
public funds belonging to the citizens of Singapore.
KNNCCB to PAP !!!

hahahaha..your language sums up how many Singaporeans feel abt the pap