• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Merging Hougang into AMK GRC will be LHL greatest masterstroke of all time !!!!

The only reason is to merge Hougang into AMK...
why should he anchor 1 seat when he can anchor 7 seat ??
Singapore Statutes Online - 218 - Parliamentary Elections Act
http://goo.gl/qsycH

"For the purposes of electing Members of Parliament on a group basis to ensure the representation in Parliament of Members from the Malay, Indian and other minority communities under this Act, the President shall, subject to this section, by order published in the Gazette, declare any electoral division, having regard to the number of electors in that division, to be a group representation constituency and designate that constituency as a constituency in which any election is to be held on the basis of a group of such number of candidates, being not less than 3 but not more than 6."

So for Hougang SMC to become part of Ang Mo Kio GRC, it seems that the latter must reduce its seats from 6 to 5 first, then add Hougang's one seat...
But I wonder if that will actually happen...

I don't hink electoral boundaries can be redrawn for a BE.

you want to talk about contradiction? how about answering an earlier question: what does it mean when someone mention the term " original post "?

original post I say do WP have the manpower to contest the enlarged AMK GRC? ???

looking at WP, do they have the manpower to contest the enlarged AMK GRC? have they done any work in AMK GRC at all ??

who do they left to contest ??? let say Gerald, JJ, Glenda, ah Huat, Lee Liian, Sajeev K. R. Kamalasanan and Mohd Rahizan???

can they stand against the PM ???

I doubt so

did say anything about 1 v1 fight

no wonder PAP. is failing, getting aomeone like you to stir trouble is as good as finding trouble for themselves.

what make you think I am not trying to stir trouble for PAP by suggesting to them to absorb hougang into AMK ???

you assume too much

"For the purposes of electing Members of Parliament on a group basis to ensure the representation in Parliament of Members from the Malay, Indian and other minority communities under this Act, the President shall, subject to this section, by order published in the Gazette, declare any electoral division, having regard to the number of electors in that division, to be a group representation constituency and designate that constituency as a constituency in which any election is to be held on the basis of a group of such number of candidates, being not less than 3 but not more than 6."

whoa~!~!~! you're da man~!~!~!

What they can do is to merge HG with AMK and create a GRC and then carve out a NEW SMC from the existing AMK GRC, which they probably will win..... So PAP takes back all 7 seats.

Redrawing of boundaries is arbitrary and there are no rules governing this. So long as there is a border with AMK GRC, HG can be drawn into AMK, its whether they want to do it. Hougang is technically vacant now so its possible.

So for Hougang SMC to become part of Ang Mo Kio GRC, it seems that the latter must reduce its seats from 6 to 5 first, then add Hougang's one seat...
But I wonder if that will actually happen...

Inderjit Singh is considered a veteran and an independent voice.... not afraid to contradict the leadership...

I would think his ward in Kebun Baru can be carved as an SMC...
most importantly Kebun Baru doesnt border Hougang...

but the problem is that he is minority.....

the only other veteran in AMK is Seng Han Thong... but that mean they need to keep Seng Han Thong for another term or let a newbie Ong Ye Kung fight an SMC on his battle but still should be easier than his maiden fight in Aljunied....

Seng Han Tong will retire and Ong Ye Kung will take his place..... The team will contest AMK and HG(merged to form a GRC)

The newly carved out SMC from AMK GRC(doesn't matter which part of AMK) will be contested by Nelson Yau....

looks like the Parliamentary Elections Act doesn't have any provision for a 7-membered GRC at this point in time. Hougang SMC BE it shall be... muahahaha... bwahahaha... fwahahaha...

Seng Han Tong will retire and Ong Ye Kung will take his place..... The team will contest AMK and HG(merged to form a GRC)

The newly carved out SMC from AMK GRC(doesn't matter which part of AMK) will be contested by Nelson Yau....

Nelson Yau can contest in Hougang Div of AMK GRC....

Ang Hin Kee and Intan Azura Mokhtar are new 1st term MP so unlikely....

Yeo Guat Kwang is ex Aljunied so also liability...

will be Seng Han Thong or Inderjit Singh as new ward ... but I think they need 2 minority in 6 member GRC....

Nelson Yau can contest in Hougang Div of AMK GRC....

Ang Hin Kee and Intan Azura Mokhtar are new 1st term MP so unlikely....

Yeo Guat Kwang is ex Aljunied so also liability...

will be Seng Han Thong or Inderjit Singh as new ward ... but I think they need 2 minority in 6 member GRC....

Doesn't really matter who contests, so long as HG is merged with AMK and the NEW SMC carved out from AMK, then PAP will take all 7 seats...

if me recalled correctly, the kamikaze team from WP took some 40% of votes in GE06? didn't know one Hougang BE can be so exciting! ahahaha ahahahaha :D:D:D

Then why dont LHL leave AMK GRC and stand alone in Hougang if you so perceive that no one in WP can beat LHL?

Legally not possible, just as LTK can't leave Aljunied to stand in Hougang.
Why you so ignorant?

That correct. Electoral zones are drawn out prior to a GE only. It all false rumours by ge kiang ppl. Wasting time only.

imagine voting in a BE where the electorate knows that the incumbent is secured in their position as the ruling party, how would the moderate voters' voting pattern be like? to give the opposition more voice in the Parliament? or what? endless possibilities... heheh... PM is trained in maths, don't think he's going to risk merging Hougang SMC into AMK GRC.

any bros disagree? or did me miss out something?

exactly... you are right... obviously GMS is a novice for focusing on the 3CF and see the bigger picture

if me recalled correctly, the kamikaze team from WP took some 40% of votes in GE06? didn't know one Hougang BE can be so exciting! ahahaha ahahahaha :D:D:D

only 33% then

imagine voting in a BE where the electorate knows that the incumbent is secured in their position as the ruling party, how would the moderate voters' voting pattern be like? to give the opposition more voice in the Parliament? or what? endless possibilities... heheh... PM is trained in maths, don't think he's going to risk merging Hougang SMC into AMK GRC.

any bros disagree? or did me miss out something?

given WP recent weak perf... I dun think neutral will be impressed and WP cant even sent a 1st tier team...

if every1 think like you and the incumbent is not secured in their position if the PM is contesting.,.,

we could have a freak election where we lose the PM....

Even bringing LCB daddy also no Bao win lah. Combined opposition forces will do the ALL OUT KILL against them for sure. The out-come only will see a record low PAP vote regardless win or lose. :D

only 33% then
we could have a freak election where we lose the PM....

a third... my bad :):):) 60% was the national average in GE06 :p:p:p

bro, we wouldn't see any freak election results lah, even with another 7 opposition MPs in the Parliament, incumbent still covers more than 85% of Parliamentary seats :):):)

is it a must for the SG of the party to be PM of the nation? heheh...