• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MBT proves LKY correct - ministers can make much more outside.

nope.

But he and his family can enjoy the best life has to offer - bit house; big car; private jet; travel; great food; stress free lifestyle; opportunities will open for you; the best medical services.

And this wealth can be passed on to the next generation to enjoy!

Lets hope he can live forever then, eh?

In the USA...most of the time the private sector pay is much higher than the public sector pay. However politicians often make their money when they leave office. For eg. Ex presidents earn more when they leave office. And lets use Robert McNamara as an eg. He was CEO of GM or Chrysler and he left his jog to be Secretary of Defence which earned him much less pay. But he did it willingly and he did it to serve as he has already earnes his money. To me these are the sort of public servants we need. If a singkie ministar feels he can earn more outside...he should quit and move on..dont stay in office n kpkb pay is low. There are hundreds tat can do a better job then pinky n gang. Another good example is chen show mao...earn heaps in the private sector but chose to be in WP..and now an oppo mp...and chaim see tong as well. Could remain as a lawyer n why have the baggage of being an oppo mp to b abused by the pappies?

What you mentioned is the norm in first world countries....
In the US, UK and even HK.
That's why it's called public service.
You dun need high pay to 'attract' candidates as they serve as a calling and duty.
It's lky who with his twisted logic that now we have all the self serving greedy bastards in parliament.

What you mentioned is the norm in first world countries....
In the US, UK and even HK.
That's why it's called public service.
You dun need high pay to 'attract' candidates as they serve as a calling and duty.
It's lky who with his twisted logic that now we have all the self serving greedy bastards in parliament.

True. In USA, it is a calling to serve the nation to guide it to higher achievements. Hence, President JFK urged his country men "ask not what the country can do for you but ask what you can do for your country."

Sadly, in sinkie land, money is used to lure people to serve the country.

True. In USA, it is a calling to serve the nation to guide it to higher achievements. Hence, President JFK urged his country men "ask not what the country can do for you but ask what you can do for your country."

Sadly, in sinkie land, money is used to lure people to serve the country.

In sinkieland going into pap politics is an opportunity to make more money....a career enhancement.
We know and can see the greedy types that get attracted to public office here.
It's the other way round in first world countries....
In the first world countries....many ex captains of industries who have made their money and see public office as a form of giving back to society.

In the USA...most of the time the private sector pay is much higher than the public sector pay. However politicians often make their money when they leave office. For eg. Ex presidents earn more when they leave office. And lets use Robert McNamara as an eg. He was CEO of GM or Chrysler and he left his jog to be Secretary of Defence which earned him much less pay. But he did it willingly and he did it to serve as he has already earnes his money. To me these are the sort of public servants we need. If a singkie ministar feels he can earn more outside...he should quit and move on..dont stay in office n kpkb pay is low. There are hundreds tat can do a better job then pinky n gang. Another good example is chen show mao...earn heaps in the private sector but chose to be in WP..and now an oppo mp...and chaim see tong as well. Could remain as a lawyer n why have the baggage of being an oppo mp to b abused by the pappies?

Anybody who resents giving up opportunities elsewhere is not likely to do a good job where they are. This is the problem with our current lineup.

Good class bungalows.

I think during his time as development minister, he would be given a better discount on some of the development. So it is not a surprise that he get good access to good class bungalows. In the early 2000 it is rumoured that his monthly mortgage was close to a million then.

Lets hope he can live forever then, eh?

With so much money; you dont have to work. Stress free.
Stress hormones are actually bad for one's health

Very easy to keep healthy; can take long morning exercises followed by eating healthy organic meals. Can even hire your own chef.
Can also afford to go for regular medical check ups etc...

The rich do live much longer; its a proven fact

In sinkieland going into pap politics is an opportunity to make more money....a career enhancement.
We know and can see the greedy types that get attracted to public office here.
It's the other way round in first world countries....
In the first world countries....many ex captains of industries who have made their money and see public office as a form of giving back to society.

True. Bill Gates and Warren Buffet have created cash cow foundations to give back to society. How many such foundations do we have in SG today?