• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malaysia's 'worst in the world' taxis tarnish national image

High till Dry

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 18, 2008 (AFP) - The ads promoting "Malaysia: Truly Asia" aim to welcome visitors with a warm smile to a prosperous and modern nation, so the taxi fleet branded "the worst in the world" can come as a bit of a shock.

Even the locals are not spared the shabby service of unkempt and hostile drivers behind the wheels of decrepit vehicles who refuse to use the meter, overcharge and pick-and-choose which destinations they will travel to.

At the popular KLCC mall under Kuala Lumpur's iconic Petronas Twin Towers is a typical scene, as a gang of cabbies negotiate with a young Norwegian couple just metres from a signboard warning against "taxi touts".

"Flat rate, flat rate, no metre," one driver insists as the tourists try to find a cab to take them to their hotel, less than two kilometres (1.2 miles) away.

Anxious to escape the baking heat, they agree to pay 25 ringgit (7.22 dollars) for a trip that would have cost less than three ringgit on the meter.

"Is it expensive? We don't know, we thought it is normal here," said the woman as they piled in with their shopping bags.

More frequent visitors, however, are vocal in their criticism and say that aggressive and unprofessional drivers are tarnishing the nation's image as a squeaky clean and hospitable destination.

"I first visited Malaysia in 2006 and I was impressed by everything I saw except for the worst taxi service I have endured," said Kabir Dali, an Indian tourist waiting in vain for a metered taxi at another mall.

"I paid a whopping 260 ringgit (74 dollars) from the Kuala Lumpur International Airport to town and was later told that was twice the proper amount."

Complaints about taxis are common in many countries, but in Malaysia it has escalated to an outpouring of frustration, on blog sites and in letters to newspapers.

In a survey by the local magazine The Expat, some 200 foreigners from 30 countries rated Malaysia the worst among 23 countries in terms of taxi quality, courtesy, availability and expertise.

The respondents lashed the fleet as "a source of national shame" and "a serious threat to tourists -- rude bullies and extortionists".

Salvation is in sight though, as a number of smaller, up-scale operators enter the market to provide a more expensive but quality taxi service for frustrated visitors and locals.

The uniformed drivers, behind the wheels of smart new multi-purpose vehicles and sedans, switch on the meter as a matter of course and do not refuse destinations -- surprising and delighting commuters in the capital.

Abdul Razak, operations manager for Dubai-based Citicab which launched here in January, said that even in poorer nations such as Thailand and Indonesia, taxis are smarter and the drivers far more courteous.

"I would say it is the worst in this region, undoubtedly. I have travelled to all countries in this region and our company operates taxis in many parts of the world. The situation here is the worst I have seen," he told AFP.

"The vehicles are in shabby condition, the driver will take you if he likes your face -- that is, if he agrees with where you want to go for the price he insists on."

The government has called on taxi firms to lift their standards, but various campaigns have achieved little, and many blame the lack of enforcement on rampant corruption in the police and bureaucracy.

"It is difficult for the roads and traffic department to take stern action," said a security officer at one city mall as he watched the touts swoop.

"Taxi operators and the company which hold the licences are all linked to some politician or another," he said. "Drivers here are ruthless because they are unchecked by authorities who are almost non-existent."

John Koldowski, from the Pacific Asia Travel Association, said that "less than desirable" taxi drivers have an outsize impact on a nation's image.

"The first contact a tourist gets with locals is often during airport transits to hotels and it creates a very, very strong first impression, either be good or bad," he said.

"Authorities certainly need to do their jobs and act upon any complaints strongly, quickly and visibly."

... Salvation is in sight though, as a number of smaller, up-scale operators enter the market to provide a more expensive but quality taxi service for frustrated visitors and locals.

The uniformed drivers, behind the wheels of smart new multi-purpose vehicles and sedans, switch on the meter as a matter of course and do not refuse destinations -- surprising and delighting commuters in the capital. ...
y do dey charge more? ...

juz a tip 4 sharing ... in kl, dun take cab near puduraya ... wok further away b4 u hail a cab ... oso dun take dose cabs @ taxi stands whose drivers r standing outside smoking or chatting ... dey'll ketok u ... simply flag 4 1 ...

High till Dry

juz a tip 4 sharing ... in kl, dun take cab near puduraya ... oso dun take dose cabs @ taxi stands whose drivers r standing outside smoking or chatting ... dey'll ketok u ... simply flag 4 1 ...

they are asking for a flat (inflated) rate i supposed.

lots of asian countries are like that. asking for the sky...

juz a tip 4 sharing ... in kl, dun take cab near puduraya ... wok further away b4 u hail a cab ... oso dun take dose cabs @ taxi stands whose drivers r standing outside smoking or chatting ... dey'll ketok u ... simply flag 4 1 ...

Puduraya & golden triangle area shopping very difficult to avoid those non-meter taxi drivers. These guys will harrass the honest meter taxi drivers into joining the non-meter system e.g. smash their windscreen, assault the driver.

I've learned to use the LRT/monorail/bus system & avoid the hassle.

High till Dry

Puduraya & golden triangle area shopping very difficult to avoid those non-meter taxi drivers. These guys will harrass the honest meter taxi drivers into joining the non-meter system e.g. smash their windscreen, assault the driver.

I've learned to use the LRT/monorail/bus system & avoid the hassle.

didn't go to KL for many years. they are really hooligans huh. :(

I was there in July that was when gov't increased the fuel prices. It became difficult to find cabs which used the meter. This is especially true in the golden triangle area which is a tourist area.

This problem made the fron't page of the New Strait Times. Cabs were even refusing to accept the taxi vouchers that were issued at the taxi stands e.g. KL Central.

Fortunately getting around using the LRT/monorail & buses is easy. Must say that in many ways its better than Spores public transport system; cheaper, faster, less packed even during rush hour. :biggrin:

Yes one of the worst. Most don't use meter and many touting in Airport, train/bus station.

JB's also like that too!!!

I rather take the bus!!

Bus is only practical if destination is nearby the main road.

Better to avoid those taxis waiting near JB customs or Kota Raya bus station. Very likely to get ketok

In JB must get those taxis that are driving around or waiting at taxi stand. They're more likely to use the meter or even if they don't use the meter, the rate is very close to the meter rates. :o

zack123

In all these complaints, it would be good to reflect and appreciate our own public transportation system.

Yes one of the worst. Most don't use meter and many touting in Airport, train/bus station.

Nice thing about KL aiport is that there are cheap alternatives to taxis. There are regular coaches operating from the Low Cost Terminal to KL Sentral. From the main airport terminal there are trains that link the airport to KL Sentral.

Easier to get to KL bfrom Spore by bus & avoid the transport hassle from airport to KL. :smile:

cockcansing

From my experience, when I stop at KLIA, I will take the express train to KL Central. There I either take the train or go to the taxi counter. The Taxi counter is by flat rate but never kena ketok. True the taxi there is not as nice but not so bad. Most of the time I will take the city rail. More convinient but need to walk abit.

The Taxi counter is by flat rate but never kena ketok. True the taxi there is not as nice but not so bad. Most of the time I will take the city rail. More convinient but need to walk abit.

Curious when you last took a taxi from the taxi counter at KL Sentral?

In July there was big hoha when there were no taxis willing to accept the coupons purchased at this counter. Many taxis refused to accept those guaranteed price coupons because of high fuel prices. :confused:

cockcansing

Curious when you last took a taxi from the taxi counter at KL Sentral?

In July there was big hoha when there were no taxis willing to accept the coupons purchased at this counter. Many taxis refused to accept those guaranteed price coupons because of high fuel prices. :confused:

The Last time there was in August this year

In all these complaints, it would be good to reflect and appreciate our own public transportation system.

Spore taxis cost a bomb.

In Malaysia those taxis unwilling to use the meter, still asking for less than what it would cost to take a taxi in Spore!!

KLs buses/LRT/monorail is cheaper & more frequent than Spores bus/MRT. :eek:

Lentor

JB's also like that too!!!

I rather take the bus!!

think u should totally stop going to that sh*t country.
why do u want to go to a place where u will be robbed and kidnapped,your car hijacked,your girls get raped,worst get killed.all these happening almost on daily basis
plus
the officers at the customs always finding ways to make trouble with u by tearing off your passport pages,not stamping passport,asking for briberies to be hidden in the passport.
sh*t country run by idiots.