• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malaysia's 'worst in the world' taxis tarnish national image

silverspoon

singapore also have some moron taxi what......perhaps not as many as our neighbour up north but certainly as bad as them

oli9

Without being branded as a racist, the worst culprits amongst the taxi association in Msia are the pundek keling bastards themselves.

If one happen to be at KLCC or megamall, you can forget about hailing a taxi if its the peak period or during a rainy weather. Most often than not, there's a bunch of Msian si-beh-orr kelings banding together in front of the LRT exit. If you approach them for a cab, be prepared to be shocked by their whither-than-white smile & their outrageous RM50 taxi ride. And most often then not, its the equally stupid angmos who would stump up the RM50 (approx 10 Euros) Cheap mah!!!

Another joke is the Msian Taxi Complaints department themselves. Their contact number is stated clearly on all the taxis but try reaching them is like finding a honest indian driver in Msia. Msia boleh, of coz but its the malaysian malays tak boleh. I want to quash my own stigma that all malays are "quite" hardworking but this episode cant change this religion I have. Dont get me started on their banking sector.

For those gullible ones going up to KL, take their public transport (even if its worst off than ours) or get your clients/friends to chauffeur you around. Avoid those stinky indian taxi drivers. The malay & chinese taxi drivers are not too bad. Even if they dont use meter, they wont extort you so much. lesser of 2 evils?

oli9

Spore taxis cost a bomb.

In Malaysia those taxis unwilling to use the meter, still asking for less than what it would cost to take a taxi in Spore!!

KLs buses/LRT/monorail is cheaper & more frequent than Spores bus/MRT. :eek:

TRUE. Taxi booking in msia is only RM1. And to get from PJ to KL (not-so-heavy-traffic) will cost about RM10-15 tops, incl of toll charges. Dollar to dollar also much cheaper.

silverspoon

TRUE. Taxi booking in msia is only RM1. And to get from PJ to KL (not-so-heavy-traffic) will cost about RM10-15 tops, incl of toll charges. Dollar to dollar also much cheaper.

But Malaysia taxi like very unsafe lei.....even malaysian try to avoid using them..

... The malay & chinese taxi drivers are not too bad. Even if they dont use meter, they wont extort you so much. lesser of 2 evils?

fr my experience, in kl, ze younger malay drivers r ze best ...

watever race, ze cunning drivers r oways ze older 1s ... :p

in kl, can happen dat when u try 2 call a cab, u may nt get any ...

gt 1 time ... me tried 2 get a cab 2 airpot ... after holding ze line 4 sumtime ... ze gal told me ... no cab ...

oli9

But Malaysia taxi like very unsafe lei.....even malaysian try to avoid using them..

Define unsafe. Msian avoid them is becoz of the kekling cab drivers' audacious cheek to demand RM50 for a ride.
Are you one of those Sinkieporeans who only hear about these Msia death wish stories thru our 154th? Ive been to Msia, KL esp, a million times & took taxis (but avoided kekling drivers) mostly, yet Im still alive. The taxi drivers there are more worried if the passengers dont pay them or rob them. maybe the taxi drivers will take advantage of passengers when they found out theyre from Sinkiepore & act like a sissy.

oli9

in kl, can happen dat when u try 2 call a cab, u may nt get any ...

gt 1 time ... me tried 2 get a cab 2 airpot ... after holding ze line 4 sumtime ... ze gal told me ... no cab ...

Aiyo. just say top up RM2 lah, confirm can get cab. Is our society getting more & more uncreative? Is that why the PRCs take advantage of us when we cut business deals with them?

i ever hailed a cab in KL, driven by an indian man..

he did not overcharge me and he uses the meter..

only downside is : i was travelling during evening peak hours.. to save time, the cab driver took a short cut tru some small back alley.. the worst part is, he drives against the traffic flow in the small alley for a gd 5 mins..:biggrin:

but his driving skills damn steady.. thumbs up!:biggrin:

oli9

i ever hailed a cab in KL, driven by an indian man..

he did not overcharge me and he uses the meter..

only downside is : i was travelling during evening peak hours.. to save time, the cab driver took a short cut tru some small back alley.. the worst part is, he drives against the traffic flow in the small alley for a gd 5 mins..:biggrin:

but his driving skills damn steady.. thumbs up!:biggrin:

Wong Fei Hung, u very ho say. Until now, finding a good & honest indian cab driver is like finding a cobra without fangs & poison. its very rare indeed!!!!:biggrin:

mengzai

My experience with Indians & Chinese driver are ok, only malay driver try to chop me. There were few times when I flag a cab from bukit bintan back to maxis building, those malay driver charge me RM20. When I got a meter taxi, it only cost me RM5. In the end, I paid the driver RM10… since he is honest..

fr my experience, in kl, ze younger malay drivers r ze best ...

watever race, ze cunning drivers r oways ze older 1s ... :p

If the cunning & older LKY was a taxi driver you'd get many complaints from unhappy passengers :biggrin:

JB is a bit more expensive, calling for a cab costs RM$2. From Skudai to City Square costs RM$14 -$15(with that $2 charge). JB is much more exp than KL.

i like taxis in bkk. new, spacious and cheap with majority meters

bangkok boleh :biggrin:

I've encountered some taxis that want to ketok in BKK. They take a 'longer' route.

I've reduced my reliance on the taxis by staying near the MRT. Its also faster to get around by train :smile:

High till Dry

I've encountered some taxis that want to ketok in BKK. They take a 'longer' route.

I've reduced my reliance on the taxis by staying near the MRT. Its also faster to get around by train :smile:

there will always be some black sheep around. some drivers came from other provinces and they do not know bkk well enuff . u can tell them to go by your suggested route if u know your ways. speak some thai will do the trick :biggrin:

Me always give extra RM1 for very short distance and RM2 for traffic jam. Some time up to RM5 if very if service really good.
Tips for taking TAXI in Malaysia.
1. Ask for the price 1st.(If not sure about the location or distance tell them you will give a bit extra on top of the meter).
2. Never take cab/taxi with those touting in train/bus station or airport.
Most taxi driver really good they only ask for a bit extra just RM2 will do for most driver on top of the meter fare. Because cost of living have increase and taxi fare in Malaysia have not increase in many year.
Most bad driver are those touting in train/bus station, night spot.

It's part and parcel of life in KL. If you're at any tourist spots, e.g. Puduraya, KLCC, Sunway etc., be prepared to bargain with tout-taxi drivers. The taxi drivers there simply park and tout. If you want meter rate, be prepared to walk beyond 1 km away from tourist spots and hail a taxi cruising along the road. There're many Malaysian taxi drivers who don't believe in park-and-tout but do the cruise-and-pickup charge-by-meter too. But they'll avoid anywhere within 1-km-radius of tourist spots, so as not to offend their colleagues who park-and-tout. Some kind of professional courtesy as well as for personal safety. There's a real risk of getting beaten up and professionally ostracized for "spoiling the market" around tourist spots.

In KL taxi bargaining, you'll save some money if you don't look like in a hurry, speak Cantonese or Malay. Speaking Mandarin or English usually guarantees you the top rate. Looking like you're going to miss a train or a flight, don't bother bargaining, take it or leave it.

oli9

Me always give extra RM1 for very short distance and RM2 for traffic jam. Some time up to RM5 if very if service really good.
Tips for taking TAXI in Malaysia.
1. Ask for the price 1st.(If not sure about the location or distance tell them you will give a bit extra on top of the meter).
2. Never take cab/taxi with those touting in train/bus station or airport.
Most taxi driver really good they only ask for a bit extra just RM2 will do for most driver on top of the meter fare. Because cost of living have increase and taxi fare in Malaysia have not increase in many year.
Most bad driver are those touting in train/bus station, night spot.

Another no-brainer advice when hunting taxis in KL -

AVOID KEK LING TAXI DRIVERS!!!!!!