• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malays cannot pass o level

cheekenpie

KNN, nearly Half of all malays cant even pass their 'O'-levels

Think its time to replace them with FT from Saudi!

Today Online Logo
Three cheers for local students
05:55 AM Dec 21, 2010
by Saifulbahri Ismail

SINGAPORE - Local students have done well in their studies. The Education Ministry (MOE) says significant progress has been made in the overall percentage of students with at least three O Level and five O Level passes over the last 10 years. Malay and Indian students showed marked improvements.

Releasing the breakdown by ethnic groups, the Ministry says the percentage of Indian students who obtained a least five O Level passes had risen from 66.2 per cent in 2000, to 73 per cent last year.

Those who had at least three O Level passes rose from 87.2 per cent to nearly 91.8 per cent.

The president of the Indian self-help group SINDA, Ms Indranee Rajah, said this showed that the students are more committed and working harder.

Ms Indranee also pointed out the contributions made by the Indian Permanent Resident students, saying some of them had done very well. But she added many local Indian students also did very well.

In the case of Malay students, the percentage with at least five O Level passes had risen from 52.8 per cent to 62.9 per cent.

Those with at least three O Level passes improved from 79.5 per cent to 88.1 per cent.

This is compared with the overall percentage for three O Level passes, which has risen from 92.3 per cent to 95.1 per cent, and a rise from 77.8 per cent to 81.9 per cent for five O Level passes.

Madam Halimah Yacob, a member of the Education Government Parliamentary Committee, was heartened by the Malay students' performance.

She said: "It showed that Malay students are capable of better performance if they set their minds to it. It also shows that the efforts put in by the various programmes have borne fruit."

At the GCE A Level Examinations, the overall percentage of students with at least three A or H2 Passes and a pass in General Paper or Knowledge and Inquiry, has improved over the last 10 years - from 82 per cent in 2000 to 88 per cent last year, with Malay students displaying the greatest improvement.

The percentage of P1 cohort admitted to post-secondary institutions has also improved steadily over the last decade - from 84 per cent in 2000 to 93 per cent last year. Saifulbahri Ismail
URL http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC101221-0000181/Three-cheers-for-local-students

Copyright 2010 MediaCorp Pte Ltd | All Rights Reserved
Omniture

no_faith

ur title is seducing Malays Must Vote Pap to come leh.:biggrin:

but he sees red now. perhaps he cant tahan, he will cr8 new acct and post.:biggrin:

bella

i doubt it
i should think it is the other way round
others grabbing malay girls -

You mean now passing O levels requires 5 credit instead of 3? Or just a misleading title?

Btw, instead of making fun of our fellow Malay citizens, we should think of ways to help them improve!!

You mean now passing O levels requires 5 credit instead of 3? Or just a misleading title?

Btw, instead of making fun of our fellow Malay citizens, we should think of ways to help them improve!!

How can we help?...we are not making fun....a fixed hard rock container that can fill 1ltr of water, can only fill 1ltr of water, more than that it overflows...most others have flexible containers...does a thick skull sound familar?:biggrin:

myo539

5 O levels get to college; 3 O levels get to ITE; 1 O level gets you nowhere.

The non-Malays look to satisfying their present physical life. The Malays look to the afterlife. They have their religion to protect them. That's why they carry with them this contented and tidah apa look.

wikiphile

Like giving Mendaki more funding so that they can come out with financial assistance in giving Malay families new refrigerators, a new car, gold for their daughter's dowry, brand new LED screen etc etc.? :biggrin:

No "O" level for playing guitar, riding motorbikes and fishing. Otherwise, they will be top scorers.
Anyway, malays have nothing to look forward to. their land were confiscated and forcibly acquired by the govenrment to build HDB flats.

bella

rightly, they are happy and contented people
thats why they are happy to just go fishing and playing the guitar
they dont see the need to be very rich and prosperous
what is enough for the present life i guess and then go for the after life

so, why do we want to snigger and look down on them
when they are just happy doing what they are doing

soIsee

You guys are really funny but you give the true version of what it is as it is where the MIWs fear to say!:biggrin:

soIsee

rightly, they are happy and contented people
thats why they are happy to just go fishing and playing the guitar
they dont see the need to be very rich and prosperous
what is enough for the present life i guess and then go for the after life

so, why do we want to snigger and look down on them
when they are just happy doing what they are doing

If they are happy to go along and live to the level where they can adapt and survive , it will be O'K.

But they are also subjected to the real pressure to cough up the amount of money required to live in Sinkland where they can ill afford, due primarily to their cannot pass O level syndrome.

So they cheat, steal and do drugs and all sorts of social ills becos they need more 'wang' to survive in current context.

So they are actually not happy doing what they are doing but kinda stuck in a no choice suituation that shows no improvement.:biggrin:

soIsee

Can someone explain to me what is the freaking use of getting 3 O-level passes?

For your question you best to ask Bargain Heng, who is paid millions a year to answer 'tough' education related question!

But I got one very interesting question.

Why m&ds in Sinkland ,so hard pressed to pass O level while their counterparts across the causeway can do without any passes?:biggrin: