• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Funds Transfer

i saw two portion, for purchase and for loan.
i am just curious if there are hidden costs although i know they need to earn here n there.

Sorry, I am not quite sure what the lawyers charge since my property is purchased with the legal fees included for S&P and Bank Loan too.

Funds Transfer

Sometimes they cannot make up their minds i think, either to promote it or diss it. Its also to balance against the spate of crime reporting in SG as well.
I guess they want to promote it on one hand but are cautious on overpromoting it to the detriment of interests in SG. So it becomes a love/hate relationship for MY but their symbiotic relationship is evident from the start.

Yes sir, the crime situation has worsened in Singapore definitely.

Although it appears that we have a bigger problem with vice, or at least that's what they want us to believe?

bbbear

Bathroom.jpgMasterBedroom.jpg

Some 3D pic that to turn my bedroom into these...

Grago

Sometimes they cannot make up their minds i think, either to promote it or diss it. Its also to balance against the spate of crime reporting in SG as well.
I guess they want to promote it on one hand but are cautious on overpromoting it to the detriment of interests in SG. So it becomes a love/hate relationship for MY but their symbiotic relationship is evident from the start.

Bros if I may share my take on this, in my opinion I would think it is directed more at the "newcomers" who may have discovered that it is not "cheap" ( forgive the use of this commonly heard expression!!) in Singapore and that it is "very cheeaapp" in Johore / Malaysia. Stop and ask yourselves, the reason you moved to Johore in general...... It's the affordable cost of living, correct...... What happens if the "newcomers" decides to move over in droves :eek: :*: ( heaven forbid....) Couple of things will happen, firstly, the "income" stream will drop ( please use your imagination for this as this is an open forum), secondly and most importantly, ( at least to me, the cost of living in Johore will sky rocket and which there is NO corresponding benefits, if any, that being said some things that can't be obtain in Singapore can be procured in Johore ( Adderall..... For one, Dan try Apotheic Pharmacy in JB town!!!)

Most Singaporeans may be familiar with Johore, being the fact that they MAY have visited the place at one time or another or may have friends or relatives or know someone who lives in Johore or West Malaysia ( the point of this...) so these people should not be easily put-off by the "bad news" that are published or reiterated for general consumption. Point in case our Forummers, Wuqi, Crystal, HH, Arsenal, FT, Batok Seri and so on and so forth...... One might add that they have " nethers of STEEL" ( excuse me Crystal and the ladies, no disrespect meant, BUT a compliment to your courage and fortitude in taking the plunge....)

So on the one hand Johore is being promoted heavily BUT at the same time disparaged to discourage "newcomers" from discovering what "we" have found so as to check a mass exodus across" the Straits".........

Patreneyap

Yes i have a couple of friends, one is my very good colleague (now really good friend), another one is an ex boss, now very close as well. Wife even got jealous especially of the ex boss. She said macham we wore same trousers like that. They are considering to sell their cluster once they get their keys, i think this month. I can pass the contacts directly to you, thats the best. I have no vested interest, probably will get a free meal from them at Moonlight cafe so rest assured no comms needed from me. Another 3 neighbours has multiple units Nusa Duta as well but i think most of them not selling. (i psycho all them to buy back then)

Hi Wuqi, can I have the contacts too. Besides Nusa Duta, do u have other good lobang as we r looking for all options. Thanks in advance.

RedsYNWA

So on the one hand Johore is being promoted heavily BUT at the same time disparaged to discourage "newcomers" from discovering what "we" have found so as to check a mass exodus across" the Straits".........

I think transportation will be massively improved and the main intent is to allow the Malaysians to work in SG but live in JB to relieve overcrowding. After all, the Malaysians are v v familiar with their hometown & would love to live there, if possible.

At the same time, some 'fear factor' needs to be instilled to ensure sufficient numbers of young sinkies live in SG to sustain HDB & condo value. Concurrently, 'attractive & affordable' retirement homes & hospitals will be built in JB for the older, ie useless, sinkies to retire there....

In Malaysia, is not so easy can see Gov specialist. Need go through the process of

Out patient clinic (gov) --> Wait for 1 to 3 month for appointment as transfer to specialist --> meet specialist after long time of waiting.

Some people who able to paid for private will prefer to go private specialist as do not need to wait months.

I can say that MY gov hospital medicine is very good quality. They purchase the best quality medicine pill.
But is up to the doc to give you which medicine only.

Last time i do have sinus and the gov specialist give me 3 month of Clarinase supply that cost around Rm2 perpill (total pill = 180, RM360). as i just need to paid rm5.

But i do have friend get those cheap pills from gov clinic as well.

It is the same in SG, need to wait for 2 to 3 months to see specialist for those cases referred by polyclinic. And the so called subsidised fees to see specialist are like $35 for consultation only, excluding medication.

About medication, our polyclinic use generic medicines only from what I was told by the counter staff at one polyclinic.

But has anyone of you considered giving up your citizenship?

I think not easy to become Malaysia citizen too.

So average Singaporeans who form the 40% and not happy should consider giving up citizenship? You can suggest one first world country that easily dish out citizenship to foreigners - like what Singapore did - to average and middle aged Singaporeans without millions to spare?

Although the government can tweak some of the policies, one must always remember that Singapore is a small city state with neither hinterland nor natural resources. And we must pay for our own defenses, unlike other similar cities like HK.

Why should companies setup shop in SG and provide jobs for us? Can we afford the extravagance of Oz without the gift of natural resources?

Perhaps, the govt can be abit more transparent on our reserves, but ultimately every surplus goes into savings for a rainy day. And rainy days will come one day - not a question of if but when. And when it does, can we depend on others if we dont have enough ourselves to tie through the period? What will happen to us then?

Since you asked "Why should companies setup shop in SG and provide jobs for us?", I suppose you are Singaporean then. Let me answer the question for you:

First of all, which company is setup to provide jobs for people? Other than social enterprises, all companies are set up to make profit for the business owners and in doing so there is job creation. Once this is clear, it is easy to understand that providing jobs is not charity but a process of mutual benefit.

Companies set up shop in SG to make profit and they should be made to create jobs for SG citizens as part of mutual benefit. Don't forget SG has to provide the infrastructure from port/airport to buildings to roads to MRT to power/water to accommodate these companies setting up shops. Not forgetting as well the security and safe environment provided by SG to these companies by our army, police, civil defence and law abiding citizens like us.

You should be asking instead "Why should companies set up shop in SG and provide jobs for foreigners?"

Your next question "Can we afford the extravagance of Oz without the gift of natural resources?"
Which part of my earlier post said to adopt Australia system wholesale? In what ways are these specific suggestions to copy Australia system - strict policy to hire locals first, wage increment to match inflation rate, choice of self managed CPF, and paying needy elderly a few hundred per month - extravagant? Is it more extravagant than making quick investment decisions in US financial stocks after meeting some angmohs for lunch and losing tens of billions after that within a matter of months?

Also, everyone knows SG has been a small city state with no hinterland or natural resources since the days of British rule. This did not just happen few years ago, so how can this be used as a mitigating factor for the lousy government policies in the last few years such as uncontrolled foreigner influx that led to the mess today.

Lastly, the question you should be asking about the reserves is not if or when the raining day will come but what are the reserves and where? Need to ask the President who is supposed to oversee the reserves to find out for us. As we all know, our late President tried so hard but couldn't find out for us.

Grago

I think transportation will be massively improved and the main intent is to allow the Malaysians to work in SG but live in JB to relieve overcrowding. After all, the Malaysians are v v familiar with their hometown & would love to live there, if possible.

At the same time, some 'fear factor' needs to be instilled to ensure sufficient numbers of young sinkies live in SG to sustain HDB & condo value. Concurrently, 'attractive & affordable' retirement homes & hospitals will be built in JB for the older, ie useless, sinkies to retire there....

Would this "solution" not be better, as historically and ethnically, there is cultural similarities and integration would be less painful and trying for both sides.......

Funds Transfer

Lastly, the question you should be asking about the reserves is not if or when the raining day will come but what are the reserves and where? Need to ask the President who is supposed to oversee the reserves to find out for us. As we all know, our late President tried so hard but couldn't find out for us.

Let's pray that it will not be the case of the "The Emperor's New Clothes".

You thought it is there but it really isn't at all!

Lord Aragorn

wuqi256 said:
Hi Aragorn,

Singapore has its own draw to MNCs as it still has a number of advantages as compared to that of others. Job creation is also dependent on the skillsets of the locals. Not just import en masse. We are all very welcoming the good ones but if what Bloomberg has reported is true, then its likely that certain jobs were specifically created not for locals. Don't get me wrong, these are not just menial jobs but across the board. No one owes Singapore a living but Singapore owes the people who built it up and protected it in its infancy.

The issue is that there is no one exactly who knows what we have and if its still there. The numbers don't add up and keeping silent just makes it worse. Reserves are only good if its known to be adequate without just a blanket statement saying its adequate.

Someone very learned once said:

Its like being on a sky diving trip, eventually you know you have to take the plunge somewhere but you do not have the benefit of that knowledge. You ask the jump instructor how many parachutes are on board but he doesn't know, the pilot and co pilot doesn't know either.

The ground controller knows but decided that no one needs to know, only that it is just enough. More people enter the plane, you get the same reply its enough. Yet more come onboard, there seems to be a thunderstorm ahead and yet the reply is, its more than enough. The parachutes are at first handed off early to those in the queue yet somehow towards the end, the handing out of parachutes are pushed back until the plane is almost at the place to jump.

Holes appearing in the parachute are appearing faster then can be patched.

The last few people jumping off will know for sure.

Good analogy. The bottom line is the same 2 improvements highlighted in the earlier post - tweaking of the policies & more transparency on the reserves.

Meanwhile, bear in mind our constraints as a small independent nation state as we criticize the current policies, or suggest ways to improve them. I'm sure good, balanced and well thought-out suggestions will be implemented by the current government. In my opinion, they are a good government at heart. And they still want votes, don't they? :smile:

Lord Aragorn

ginfreely said:
Since you asked "Why should companies setup shop in SG and provide jobs for us?", I suppose you are Singaporean then. Let me answer the question for you:

First of all, which company is setup to provide jobs for people? Other than social enterprises, all companies are set up to make profit for the business owners and in doing so there is job creation. Once this is clear, it is easy to understand that providing jobs is not charity but a process of mutual benefit.

Companies set up shop in SG to make profit and they should be made to create jobs for SG citizens as part of mutual benefit. Don't forget SG has to provide the infrastructure from port/airport to buildings to roads to MRT to power/water to accommodate these companies setting up shops. Not forgetting as well the security and safe environment provided by SG to these companies by our army, police, civil defence and law abiding citizens like us.

You should be asking instead "Why should companies set up shop in SG and provide jobs for foreigners?"

Your next question "Can we afford the extravagance of Oz without the gift of natural resources?"
Which part of my earlier post said to adopt Australia system wholesale? In what ways are these specific suggestions to copy Australia system - strict policy to hire locals first, wage increment to match inflation rate, choice of self managed CPF, and paying needy elderly a few hundred per month - extravagant? Is it more extravagant than making quick investment decisions in US financial stocks after meeting some angmohs for lunch and losing tens of billions after that within a matter of months?

Also, everyone knows SG has been a small city state with no hinterland or natural resources since the days of British rule. This did not just happen few years ago, so how can this be used as a mitigating factor for the lousy government policies in the last few years such as uncontrolled foreigner influx that led to the mess today.

No need to be defensive.

Neither am I making a judgement of your suggestions. In fact, I agree with some aspects of it.

I'm just pointing out the facts to facilitate a constructive discussion about this topic.

No need to be defensive.

Neither am I making a judgement of your suggestions. In fact, I agree with some aspects of it.

I'm just pointing out the facts to facilitate a constructive discussion about this topic.

Haha calling people defensive? This reminds me of PAP losing Hougang BE and calling LTK aggressive.

Your questions are obviously skewed and implying my suggestions are extravagant but when I asked you in what ways are they extravagant, you can't answer and instead call me defensive.

I was also just answering your questions point by point to facilitate a constructive discussion - without calling you anything.

Status
Not open for further replies.