• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lim Swee Say: We are deaf to criticisms!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Lim Swee Say: We are deaf to criticisms!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>1:02 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 20) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>29538.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Lim Swee Say to Low Thia Kiang: We are deaf to all these criticisms

March 4, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/0...ia-kiang-we-are-deaf-to-all-these-criticisms/

Written by Our Correspondent
After being embarrassed in Parliament by WP MP Low Thia Kiang’s demolition of the labor movement’s ineptitude to help lower wage workers in Singapore, one would expect Minister Lim Swee Say and NTUC Secretary-General to come up with a robust argument to counter him.
Instead, he used an unheard fable about a “kingdom of frogs” to brush aside Mr Low’s criticisms.
“The story goes that in a kingdom of frogs, the tallest tower in the world is built for an annual competition. And when the event is held, many aim to become the champion by making it to the top, but fail as they are discouraged by the audience, who warn that the climb is too dangerous. All except one frog who did reach the top. And when asked afterwards why he ignored the crowd, the frog said: ‘I’m deaf. I can’t hear them’”, he said.
The gist of Mr Lim’s message: Despite criticisms from Mr Low, the labour movement will continue to address problems faced by low-income Singaoreans.
“We never give up. We are like the little frog. We are deaf to all these criticisms. So instead of telling us that low-wage workers are having problems, why not be part of the solution?,” he was quoted as saying in the Straits Times.
As expected, the Straits Times tried to portray Mr Lim as the “victim” and pinning the blame on Mr Low for criticizing without offering solutions.
Being paid almost $2 million dollars a year, Mr Lim ought to realize that it is the duty of MPs to ask questions and criticize if necessary in Parliament as in all modern democracies in the world. If he cannot stand the heat in the kitchen, he should get out of it!
The onus is on Mr Lim to answer the questions posed by Mr Low and not to counter-challenge him to be “part of the solution”. The key role of the opposition is to check on the ruling party and to hold it accountable for its words and actions and not to do offer solutions for it to govern the nation.
If Mr Lim wants Mr Low to offer solutions, then he should be prepared to give Mr Low a job in NTUC or other government committees and pay him a salary commensurate with his services.
Mr Lim also reminded Mr Low that “the government always paid special attention to low-income earners and had introduced programmes like Workfare to supplement their income”, but the fact remains that low wage Singaporeans are still struggling due to direct competition from cheaper foreign workers.
Furthermore, Mr Low did offer a solution to scrap the foreign worker levy and to refine the dependency ratio to moderate the inflow of foreign workers.
Mr Lim’s attitude epitomizes a wider problem pervading the entire PAP – the inability to listen to others and accept feedback and criticisms in good faith.
As the recent parliamentary sessions had shown, the PAP MPs are completely out of touch with the ground. It will be apt to describe them as a “kingdom of frogs” living in their own wells.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>ficklebug <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>5:32 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR>unread</TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (7 of 20) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>29538.7 in reply to 29538.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>
images

___________THE FROG (OR TOAD?)[/SIZE]​
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Lim Sia Suay really one fucking joke. I have seen factory managers speak better than him. He should look in the mirror every morning to see his joke of a face.

You can think what you like, say what you want.
The truth is .......

He is like the little frog. He is deaf to all these criticisms.

Finally, he admits that he's deaf. At least it's an honest handicap. Give the man a handicap sticker for his car.

... “The story goes that in a kingdom of frogs, the tallest tower in the world is built for an annual competition. And when the event is held, many aim to become the champion by making it to the top, but fail as they are discouraged by the audience, who warn that the climb is too dangerous. All except one frog who did reach the top. And when asked afterwards why he ignored the crowd, the frog said: ‘I’m deaf. I can’t hear them’”, he said. ...
wat a rubbish story! ...

if u were 2 b unable 2 climb 2 ze top of ze tower, how cud u hv built dat tower in ze 1st place? ... :rolleyes:

it goes 2 show dose frogs hv no brains ... n ze 1 who climbed not oni hv no brains, but was oso deaf ... :eek:

If Lim Fugly Face is the little frog who "is deaf to criticisms", one day he wont hear the butcher coming & he'll be cut up in pieces & ended up in a pot of porridge with just his legs. Ok add some dry chilli, ginger & sesame oil to mask his hideos stink.

Not only will he remain deaf. Soon, his whole chingang will be boiled frogs too!!

A little funny letter that should be address to all bosses when you resign and this do hold some similarities to big corporation especially so for Sillypore Pte Ltd

Dear Mr. XXXXXX,
As a graduate of an institution of higher education, I have a few very basic expectations. Chief among these is that my direct superiors have an intellect that ranges above the common ground squirrel. After your consistent and annoying harassment of my coworkers and me during the commission of our duties, I can only surmise that you are one of the few true genetic wastes of our time.

Asking me, a network administrator, to explain every little nuance of everything I do each time you happen to stroll into my office is not only a waste of time, but also a waste of precious oxygen.

I was hired because I know how to network computer systems, and you were apparently hired to provide amusement to myself and other employees, who watch you vainly attempt to understand the concept of "cut and paste" for the hundredth time.

You will never understand computers. Something as incredibly simple as binary still gives you too many options. You will also never understand why people hate you, but I am going to try and explain it to you, even though I am sure this will be just as effective as telling you what an IP is. Your shiny new iMac has more personality than you ever will.

You walk around the building all day, shiftlessly looking for fault in others. You have a sharp dressed useless look about you that may have worked for your interview, but now that you actually have responsibility, you pawn it off on overworked staff, hoping their talent will cover for your glaring ineptitude. In a world of managerial evolution, you are the blue-green algae that everyone else eats and laughs at. Managers like you are a sad proof of the Dilbert principle. Since this situation is unlikely to change without you getting a full frontal lobotomy reversal, I am forced to tender my resignation, however I have a few parting thoughts.

1. When someone calls you in reference to employment, it is illegal for you to give me a bad recommendation. The most you can say to hurt me is "I prefer not to comment." I will have friends randomly call you over the next couple of years to keep you honest, because I know you would be unable to do it on your own.

2. I have all the passwords to every account on the system, and I know every password you have used for the last five years. If you decide to get cute, I am going to publish your "favorites list", which I conveniently saved when you made me "back up" your useless files. I do believe that terms like "Lolita" are not usually viewed favorably by the administration.

3. When you borrowed the digital camera to "take pictures of your Mother's birthday," you neglected to mention that you were going to take pictures of yourself in the mirror nude. Then you forgot to erase them like the techno-moron you really are. Suffice it to say I have never seen such odd acts with a sauce bottle, but I assure you that those have been copied and kept in safe places pending the authoring of a glowing letter of recommendation. (Try to use a spell check please; I hate having to correct your mistakes.)

Thank you for your time, and I expect the letter of recommendation on my desk by 8:00 am tomorrow. One word of this to anybody, and all of your little twisted repugnant obsessions will be open to the public. Never f*** with your systems administrator. Why? Because they know what you do with all that free time!

Wishing you a grand and glorious day,

Frog in a pot of warm water feels comfortable. Doesn't or can't listen to warnings to jump out of it as it's gradually boiling up. You can find such in Singapore Cabinet for $2m per year or Geylang Lorong 9 for $10 per pot braised with dried chilli and served with porridge. Lee Kuan Yew used to measure ministerial salaries by per plate of fried noodle per pax. Now Lim Swee Say can measure his by per pot of frog porridge per pax.

It's pretty obvious he's deaf to EVERYTHING including his own singing....:rolleyes:

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/0QRzm1gOOek&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/0QRzm1gOOek&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Long ago, there is a pond made up of several wise, honest and hardworking frogs. If not for them a little pond call sinkie would be a smelly drain. As time goes by a few of the wise frogs retired gracefully.

To fill up the number of those who left. New frogs were brought in, one of them is son a senior bull frog. Some old wise frogs do not agree with the new
frogs and the son. They were force to leave gracefully. With more old wise frogs out. They need to replace the number again. However, old senior bull frog and his son make sure they are obedience and loyal to them before they come in. Tea sessions were organise and their loyalty is monitor from then on. In other works their own people. Finally, the son need to step up and the senior old bull frog semi retired. Another few old wise frogs was ask to go again. They remaining new frogs took up the new task of electing their new leader. Guess who is the new leader, The senior old frog screw up anyone who mentioned that the young frog is the leader because of his influence. "He is selected by the team, I have got no decision in it"

Now the new team is form by an elite frogs with high education and achievement. They know that by obedience they will garantee another
high paying post after they leave the pond to retired garacefully and in Gold.

To put them in a good book to the stupid small tapoles. They use the their former bland name, ALL white. Small tapoles was not very happy with the frogs but they still enjoy some security and job. The trick work extremely well. They tapoles still believe in and bland name White but forgot that almost 99% of the old, hardworking, wise and down to earth seniors are gone.
The remaining frogs do not understand how you struggle to keep the family as they all have auto promotion and their job is 500% secure even if the leave the pond.

The new frogs use the bland name and keep reminding the tapoles that without WHITE what will happen to them. They show them a picture of and
swamp and a picture of the MRT ( see what I have done for you).

So tiny tapoles.... What is your decision? It is same old WHITE frogs that old tapole hold high regards and respect. Can such a simple trick of using the good name of a famous Chicken rice shop when the actual chef has been replace by a new chef in the kitchen work forever. Do you find the taste not right as it is cook by FT who only has 1 week crush course.

YOUR CHOICE

We never give up. We are like the little frog. We are deaf to all these criticisms.

And there you have it, ..... straight from the ass of an ass.

"So instead of telling us that low-wage workers are having problems, why not be part of the solution"

If you don't acknowledge that there is a problem, how can you ask people to be part of the solution?

We never give up. We are like the little frog. We are deaf to all these criticisms.

And there you have it, ..... straight from the ass of an ass.

"So instead of telling us that low-wage workers are having problems, why not be part of the solution"

If you don't acknowledge that there is a problem, how can you ask people to be part of the solution?

ostrich.jpg

Lim Sia Suay: "if i bury my head underground and ignore problem, then no problem liao leh! Cheh! hehehe....:D

what to expect from someone who's moto for his union is cheaper, better, faster.....

When the Minister challenges the Opposition MP to be part of the solution, is the Minister saying that he admits the problem pointed out by the Opposition MP, and admits that as Minister he is not able to solve it ?

The Opposition MP should get these admissions from the Minister. Otherwise, it's no point being part of the solution when the Minister doesn't see a problem, or that he sees one he himself is able to resolve it.

When the Minister challenges the Opposition MP to be part of the solution, is the Minister saying that he admits the problem pointed out by the Opposition MP, and admits that as Minister he is not able to solve it ?

The Opposition MP should get these admissions from the Minister. Otherwise, it's no point being part of the solution when the Minister doesn't see a problem, or that he sees one he himself is able to resolve it.

..how come deok man's sanitary pad so big and thick one ?:eek:

Deaf to criticism, blind to faults and dumb to say the right things. :rolleyes:

If the pay for NTUC fat cats were tied to the lowest wage earning in Singapore I bet they will be singing a different tune.