• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Liar = 145 Votes Strategy - A lesson in running a low profile campaign

Did PAP redraw any boundaries for Hougang? Surprised that the number of eligible voters dropped by 1192 in just 1 year.

redrawn during last GE...but the area that was shifted to a neighbouring grc is a plot of empty land.

so i guess some passed away while some moved to other places, hence the decrease in eligible voters

The good results hide an unspoken story.

Using the rallies as a guage of sentiment, WP started the campaign on shaky ground. The lack of emotion and sentiment in the first rally was telling.

As the campaign proceeded, WP gained momentum. This was largely due to mismanagement by the PAP. TCH's smear campaign was just the most visible manifestation. Beyond this, the PAP ran a campaign that turned the clock back to the 1990s. How this made sense for HG is a mystery since all it did was remind HG voters how they have been bullied for the past 20 years. It made a complete mockery of the claims that the PAP had changed. This led to WP surging, especially in the last 2 days.

Beyond the election, this can be seen as a test of election tactics. Within the PAP, there is a hardline faction which favour a return to the old PAP ways of running Singapore. Post GE 2011, they have argued that the softer approach is emboldening political opposition. This hardline faction has been dealt a decisive defeat. LTK knows who they are and took the opportunity to rub it in. Whether this signals a lasting victory for the PAP moderates is something which remains to be seen.

TCH was brought in on an express train via Marine Parade By Elections as Heir Apparent Lee Hsien Loong was diagnosed with cancer. He was back-up for the succession plan. He is born in 1954 and 2 years younger than Lee Hsien Loong. He therefore cannot succeed but can act as seat warmer or regent for the duration. Ng has always been designate of the designate.

TCH now plays the role of powerbroker and custodian of the Lee/Tan Chin Tuan OCBC faction's family jewels. Tony Tan is essentially in retirement.

U forgot to mention one important point.

Eh. PM designate NEH? Not TCH?
TCH kena pawned for nothing. lol.

Agree. The concept that residents of Hougang and PP pay the same tax and have the same obligations to the country seemed to be misplaced. Forcing these residents to submit seems to be only weapon in the current tactical arsenal.

I am keen to see what comes out in 2016.

FOR INCLUSIVE TO BE TRULY INCLUSIVE IT MUST BE TOTALLY INCLUSIVE NO IFS AND BUTS.

IF NON PAP VOTERS IN PAP WARDS ARE ALSO SERVED, THEN PAP VOTERS IN NON PAP WARDS MUST ALSO BE SERVED, RATHER THAN ONLY IF U VOTE PAP THEN I WONT PUT U LAST ....

WHATEVER POLITICAL AFFILIATION, ALL VOTERS ARE CITIZENS AND ARE ENTITLED - not be served only if they know which side of their bread is buttered.

Hardball is counter productive in this day and world.

Shanmugam is window dressing. Very capable but a die hard liberal. The powerful founding merchant families will object. Its Ng.

By NEH are we talking Ah Neh or Bargain Hen?

:p

They only have Ng, no one else. They have to bring in new blood or let the current PM carry on longer than expected.

Shanmugam - see my earlier posts. Also no factional base in PAP.

NEH will never be able to make it as PM. After more than ten years in politics, I think he has low credibility and recognition. LHL is actually trying to protect him by putting him in defence instead if some trying portfolio. He is now as quiet as a church mouse in parliament.

TCH after this by election virtually have egg on his face and reputation severely dented.so far, it seems that only Tharman is left unscathed provided he does not make stupid statements again.

Agree on b and d.

I could not see why the CEC picked LTK as SG after JBJ but the years gone by have made it clear. Frankly he is average in parliament but a shrewd strategist. You can't bait this guy.

The other opposition parties need to come to terms. I see only SDP changing their approach.

Dear Scroo

b. LTK is teflon, bullet proof, nothing sticks, TCH is probably hitting his knees everynite hoping the hougang spirit does not spread to Aljunined, East Coast and Pasir Ris Punggol, that Hougang is special that Aljunied does not become special and that East Coast MP, Pasir Ris Punggol do not all start becoming a little special.

d. With such a result the WP will be less inclined to give space to any other opposition party in the next round and rightly so.

Locke

Bro, you more or less painted an accurate picture of the current status quo in a few but incisive paragraphs. Agree on your assessment. Now we need some good candidates moving out from NSP/RP to WP and SDP.

I would sincerely appeal to LTK and WP not to close their doors on these chaps.

All the other opposition parties are just a waste of time. There is no need for WP or Low to 'give face' to them. They are not credible, poorly organised and poorly marketed, and therefore have no chance of winning. Why should you give way to someone who has zero chance of winning?

At the end of the day, Singapore only needs 3 political parties to represent the entire spectrum of sentiments:

PAP - for conservatives, those who want to keep the status quo, and those who want "stability"
WP - for reform-minded centrists, those who want "stability" but are upset with the current state of affairs and want more fairness in society and in politics
SDP - for liberals, radicals and human rights activists, those who believe that the system is totally rotten and who want plural democracy

All other parties are superfluous - NSP is just a copycat of WP and RP is just a copycat of SDP. As for SPP, they are a party that purely focuses on Potong Pasir municipal affairs, and they will become completely irrelevant once Potong Pasir is drawn into a GRC.

TCH was brought in on an express train via Marine Parade By Elections as Heir Apparent Lee Hsien Loong was diagnosed with cancer. He was back-up for the succession plan. He is born in 1954 and 2 years younger than Lee Hsien Loong. He therefore cannot succeed but can act as seat warmer or regent for the duration. Ng has always been designate of the designate.
hashaha.....very profound indeed......unfortunately even more kuku.....
lhl born in 1952
tch born in 1954...
neh born in 1958......
difference of 4 to 6 years a lot meh....
if nothing happened unexpectedly (like lhl suddenly becums indisposed)......both tch and neh would have been ruled out of the running becos of age factor.....
someone younger would have nbeen identified and groomed......who i don't know as i am only kukubird.......i only know when someone is bullshitting.......lol.

They only have Ng, no one else. They have to bring in new blood or let the current PM carry on longer than expected.

I heard from the grapevine that NEH is very unpopular within the party. If he's the designate, then I think there's resentment and this resentment doesn't appear to go away. I vaguely remember he was sort of the recruitment officer for PAP in the last GE, or some sort of coordinator. I don't think he was very successful in finding quality candidates in the last GE, at least not from the private sector (unless the lack of quality candidates was deliberate so that LHL can hold on to power for longer than necessary). CCS was touted as the next PM calibre candidate, but at this stage, he doesn't look the part (yet). Not forgeting that PAP is not as cohesive as it seems from outside. Once our beloved founding father passes on, whether LHL can hold the party together is a question mark. I don't think we can rule out a challenge on his leadership when that day comes.

The next 3-4 years would be very interesting to watch our political landscape.

hashaha.....very profound indeed......unfortunately even more kuku.....
lhl born in 1952
tch born in 1954...
neh born in 1958......
difference of 4 to 6 years a lot meh....
if nothing happened unexpectedly (like lhl suddenly becums indisposed)......both tch and neh would have been ruled out of the running becos of age factor.....
someone younger would have nbeen identified and groomed......who i don't know as i am only kukubird.......i only know when someone is bullshitting.......lol.

Well, they have identified CCS aka Kee Chiu as potential successor to LHL. However, my frank opinion is that CCS do not have the attributes ( charisma, intellect, persuasiveness, etc ) to be in contention

Kee Chiu is designate minister without Portfolio to be succeed Zorro as NTUC Chief and not PM material. Kee Chiu is known for his ability to handle Uncle and Aunties.

You are right aout his lack of charisma. More an Aunty killer.

Well, they have identified CCS aka Kee Chiu as potential successor to LHL. However, my frank opinion is that CCS do not have the attributes ( charisma, intellect, persuasiveness, etc ) to be in contention

Kee Chiu is designate minister without Portfolio to be succeed Zorro as NTUC Chief and not PM material. Kee Chiu is known for his ability to handle Uncle and Aunties.

You are right aout his lack of charisma. More an Aunty killer.

He is not tall enough to be considered.

Old man identified NEH and Khaw as two most capable amongst the 4th batch. Khaw ruled out due to age and his desire to retire early. In fact they had to persuade Khaw to carry on during GE2011.

I heard from the grapevine that NEH is very unpopular within the party. If he's the designate, then I think there's resentment and this resentment doesn't appear to go away. I vaguely remember he was sort of the recruitment officer for PAP in the last GE, or some sort of coordinator. I don't think he was very successful in finding quality candidates in the last GE, at least not from the private sector (unless the lack of quality candidates was deliberate so that LHL can hold on to power for longer than necessary). CCS was touted as the next PM calibre candidate, but at this stage, he doesn't look the part (yet). Not forgeting that PAP is not as cohesive as it seems from outside. Once our beloved founding father passes on, whether LHL can hold the party together is a question mark. I don't think we can rule out a challenge on his leadership when that day comes.

The next 3-4 years would be very interesting to watch our political landscape.

Did PAP redraw any boundaries for Hougang? Surprised that the number of eligible voters dropped by 1192 in just 1 year.

there was an en bloc

redrawn during last GE...but the area that was shifted to a neighbouring grc is a plot of empty land.

so i guess some passed away while some moved to other places, hence the decrease in eligible voters

if you dunno then dun talk cock... let the insider reveal all....

The good results hide an unspoken story.

Beyond the election, this can be seen as a test of election tactics. Within the PAP, there is a hardline faction which favour a return to the old PAP ways of running Singapore. Post GE 2011, they have argued that the softer approach is emboldening political opposition. This hardline faction has been dealt a decisive defeat. LTK knows who they are and took the opportunity to rub it in. Whether this signals a lasting victory for the PAP moderates is something which remains to be seen.

you make sense.... given the situation... only the insider would have know that they are are going to let NEH be PM.... NEH, the ultimate hardliner of all hardliners

Shanmugam is window dressing. Very capable but a die hard liberal. The powerful founding merchant families will object. Its Ng.

after this defeat... it show that SIngapore has already make it clear that they wan a liberal.... they risk a split if they bypass Tharman.... i doubt the grassroot would accept.....

please remember that after all this time... the CEC still have to co-op Ng Eng Hen into the CEC, he still cant getv into it via his own merits.... pathetic ... you are like GMS../.. out of touch with ground...

Old man identified NEH and Khaw as two most capable amongst the 4th batch. Khaw ruled out due to age and his desire to retire early. In fact they had to persuade Khaw to carry on during GE2011.

I believe old man actually think Raymond Lim is the most capable....

Bro, you more or less painted an accurate picture of the current status quo in a few but incisive paragraphs. Agree on your assessment. Now we need some good candidates moving out from NSP/RP to WP and SDP.

I would sincerely appeal to LTK and WP not to close their doors on these chaps.

woah.... now LTK have to listen to him.... his ego is so humongous !!!!