• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LEEtter writer said retirees may squander away CPF money if return to them

Leepotism

CPF cannot behave like hedge fund

I VISITED Mr Roy Ngerng's blog after reading reports of his allegation that Central Provident Fund savings were misappropriated ("PM Lee demands apology and compensation from blogger"; last Tuesday).

Most of the points he raised were without merit and probably reflected a lack of understanding of how complex financial systems work.

The CPF is a national savings programme and cannot be managed like an aggressive hedge fund, which takes on higher risks to secure better returns.

What would happen if the CPF scheme collapses due to losses incurred by investing in riskier instruments? It would be unfair to members who prefer a risk-free environment for their CPF funds.

Members with higher risk appetites have the option of investing their CPF funds in equities, unit trusts and other instruments.

It is also unwise to correlate CPF returns to the returns generated by the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC).

Some think that as GIC has achieved higher returns than the CPF over the last few decades, funds in the latter could be managed in the same way. Others feel that if GIC uses CPF funds either directly or indirectly to invest, then CPF members should be entitled to the returns.

If the CPF Board places the money in a bank, and the bank lends to GIC, these are separate transactions. It is not a case of the originator of the funds deserving the returns just because it provided the liquidity.

We should stop trying to link GIC and the CPF as they are different entities with different objectives and levels of accountability.

Understandably, raising the CPF Minimum Sum is not a popular move among Singaporeans, including myself.

However, we have to recognise that in running a national savings programme, the Government has to ensure that it achieves its intended objective - to meet the members' basic living needs when they retire.

If the full CPF balance is returned to members at age 55, some may squander away the funds and fall into the poverty trap. Government welfare systems would be needed to take care of them and taxes will ​have to be raised to fund the schemes. Would the working population accept this? Is it sustainable?

Also, it is not feasible to have greater transparency for our sovereign wealth funds. Doing so could reveal areas of vulnerability that could open the country to the risk of speculative attacks on its currency and financial systems.

These funds already have robust internal or even external auditing systems to ensure functional integrity is being upheld.
I hope public bloggers can differentiate between "perceptions" and "truths", which have to be based on evidence.

Jason Soon Hun Khim

Unwise to correlate the CPF returns to GIC returns?

This is equal to saying it is unwise to correlate which hole Jason Soon come out from, to that of his so called natural mother.

Jason Soon you better Hum Ka Chan, so none of your familee members have any chance of squandering their CPF Fund.

Jason Soon. You are indeed the 60% dumbfuck. So you would squander away your CPF money if return to you?

If the full CPF balance is returned to members at age 55, some may squander away the funds and fall into the poverty trap. Government welfare systems would be needed to take care of them and taxes will ​have to be raised to fund the schemes. Would the working population accept this? Is it sustainable?

Mr Jason Soon Hun Khim, you already said some, so not all CPF memebrs right?

Jason SINKIE FUCKTARD,

so if some man are rapists means all man gota cut off their lan jeow is it :oIo:

... These funds already have robust internal or even external auditing systems to ensure functional integrity is being upheld.

I hope public bloggers can differentiate between "perceptions" and "truths", which have to be based on evidence.
tis burger really shows his own s2pigdity ... he cant even differentiate btwin perception n tooth himself ...

he got evidens on robust auditing systems meh? ... auditing systems oso cannot detect a lot of tings 1 ...

some may squander away the funds and fall into the poverty trap

Mr Jason Soon Hun Khim, even if the above mentioned happen, it is oso none of your business because it is CPF members' rightful MONEY, how they spend it is none of your business.

... If the full CPF balance is returned to members at age 55, some may squander away the funds and fall into the poverty trap. Government welfare systems would be needed to take care of them and taxes will ​have to be raised to fund the schemes. Would the working population accept this? Is it sustainable?
wen sum peasants got conned of their savings in layman bonds, did ah loon do anyting 2 take care of dem? ... all he did was say dey went in wif their i's open ...

same case here, dun even try 2 tink dat ah loon wil take care of dose who squander their moni away ... dun use tis as n excuse! ...

He is trying to insult sinkie's intelligence.

Dumbass opposition supporting idiots. The author is absolutely right, its because of idiots in the past that spend their money in Batam that we have the scheme not. It's not a matter of IF, it had happen before

How people use the money, it is up to them. Why the fuck they kay poh so much.. It's their money anyway.

So you want your CPF money paid by monthly installment at age 65 so that you would not go to Batam and squander away?

If the CPF Board places the money in a bank, and the bank lends to GIC, these are separate transactions. It is not a case of the originator of the funds deserving the returns just because it provided the liquidity.

Did that asshole find out which bank CPF deposited its money which was subsequently loan to GIC?

The so called idiots in the past, spend away YOUR MONEY?

It's good to hear from someone who understands how CPF works and is willing to speak up in support of the scheme.

I agree with his points 100% If he signs up for a forum account, I will add to his rep points immediately.

Jason Soon. You are indeed the 60% dumbfuck. So you would squander away your CPF money if return to you?

NECKLACE OF CAR TYRE TO JASON SOON

GET RID OF THE POISON IN SINGAPORE
HANG ALL THOSE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS
BBQ THE BASTARD PAPs

AND SINGAPORE CAN BE AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER THAN SWITZERLAND

OR REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED TO BE KANNED BY THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

Dumbfuck pap supporting idiot. PAP minister embezzle money why dumbfucks like you still vote for them. Its not a matter of IF, it had happened before. Teh Cheang Wan remember :oIo::kma:

so what the fuck is canadian national pension fund doing?how the fuck come the cpf was able to pay us 6% interest in the past and now it cant?did it switch from a aggressive strategy in the 1960s to 1990s to stashing our cpf in milo and kong guan biscuit tins?

this writer needs to go diu leh lou mou ham ka chan!!!!!

So PAP will squander away CPF money for the retirees before the retirees have chance to squander