• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

JoTeo husband Teo eng cheong surbana Jurong

Half Time Heng will fall

May all be well and happy...

Ah Heng has to watch his health, so many cases I hear from my kakis, once kena stroke must watch out for signs of heart attack. Likewise if kena heart attack before must look out for signs of stroke. These two silent killers macam combo hit all the time.

CB Lee will be most happy if ah Heng jiak curry chicken

I used to think this way.
but now I will vote any opposition that willing to step into my ward.
Since the high salary MP whom call me idiot behind closed door and none of the PAP MP point out it is not appropriate means all of them agree with what he say.
Since the economic is halt, let the opposition a chance to try driving the car, maybe its a better driver ?
I willing to bet my chance with opposition, opposition you game or not.

I am 50, 5 more year to 55 but I willing to bet even though it mean not seeing my CPF money if the opposition cock up and Singapore currency plunge.
my children is less than 10, I willing to bet else he will fuck me when he grow up and having to compete job with foreign talent even for ITE or Diploma level jobs.
I am chicken for the last 30-years, I think its time I bet me and my family's future for a change.
I will vote pap unless my constituency is contested by ah bock, ah chee, ah tean, and ah say. We need real oppos n not quiet party. By voting for pap I hope to teach singkies a lesson in the bad ol days of no oppos. The last erection has confirmed that singkies are one of a kind n need to be taught a lesson. Look at the BS excuses to vote pap. Dead fart die so I vote pap. Dead fart die is the voters biz? I vote pap but I hope oppo win. I vote pap so I get upgrading. I vote pap if not Mata come n catch me. I vote pap if not my estate becomes slum. This sort of logic might as well pap forever.

N I vote against WP is bcos they have been a fucking letdown. Quiet part n Kenna sue bcos of their own stupidity. Since the fail I will give others a chance. N there will b higher chances for ah bock etc to go in as ncmp. I bet they will do more than wp

Lhl know joteo getting unpopular.
Draw out a smc just for her.

This call chop off the finger to save the heart.

She can have the honour of 1st woman minister to lose an election.

And taking such a hard line against poor Donald will win her no favours with the electorate.

C'mon Marymount! Do us proud!

Ccb knn vote her out lah
not possible. have to vote the entire party out. She is the choice of her party for that position. So long as that party has the reins in the house and they choose her, she will always be there. Of course in some countries with enough public protest/unhappiness, the party will dump her for fear of losing the next vote. They will cut the dead weight.

So you basically have 2 options. Convince the party leaders that she's a liability or vote out the party that she's a part of.

edit : sorry, after reading @hofmann's post I may be wrong. But I'm not sure whether if you vote her out she can come through back door.

both are vascular diseases. If vasculature screwed in 1 part, likely to be screwed elsewhere too. Need to fix up vascular system as a whole to live longer.

I reckoned it’s those tiny clots? You think blood thinners can help?
not a doctor so should double check what I say with 1 except for my last piece of advice which most will not understand/agree with.

vascular problems can crop up two ways that I know of. once is a vessel clog and the other is through leak. the leak one usually genetic one I think so nothing to do.

Depending on the patient, a blood thinner is usually of help. However it increases the risk of bleeding. They have all sorts of checks they have to go through to see if the risk of bleeding is worth the benefit of reducing the recurring clog risk.

This leads me to one of my main criticism of Western medicine as a whole.

The clog one which we are all subject to is not a 1 time acute problem despite the stroke or heart attack event. I think this one is a failure of medical community to communicate to the public or to how western medicine addresses the problem. Every time talk about lifesaving procedures and silver bullets, but that's failing to solve the entire problem.. By the time you have a stroke or heart attack, it's very likely that your entire vascular system is compromised in some way. Clogs don't happen only in 1 spot. They happen all over the system. So when people usually notice, it's a catastrophic event like a stroke or a heart attack. So at this point, ah Heng's blood vessels are basically all compromised to some extent.

Now if you follow traditional Western medicine, they will say take blood thinners as you recommend or do the dye test to see if any other major vessels are clogged. Then they will angioplasty or bypass or whatever it is. This is BS. Angioplasty reverts to norm over time from what I've read and bypass is pretty radical in my opinion. They are spot treatments for a screwed up system. What's usually not offered is to put that fellow on a super strict controlled diet and activity regime.

Actually I and @eatshitndie have done it. Go off meat. Increase daily activity. He did me one better. He did a test measuring carotid blockage before and after. This is something usually ignored by western medicine. It is lifestyle that gets in you the mess. It should be lifestyle that gets you out. Magic bullets usually have undesirable side effects and medicine should be used as a last resort.

Tiny clots happen, but when they run into a compromised vessel in a major organ you have the catastrophic event. If you have tiny clots and great vessels, you are ok.

I used to think this way.
but now I will vote any opposition that willing to step into my ward.
Since the high salary MP whom call me idiot behind closed door and none of the PAP MP point out it is not appropriate means all of them agree with what he say.
Since the economic is halt, let the opposition a chance to try driving the car, maybe its a better driver ?
I willing to bet my chance with opposition, opposition you game or not.

I am 50, 5 more year to 55 but I willing to bet even though it mean not seeing my CPF money if the opposition cock up and Singapore currency plunge.
my children is less than 10, I willing to bet else he will fuck me when he grow up and having to compete job with foreign talent even for ITE or Diploma level jobs.
I am chicken for the last 30-years, I think its time I bet me and my family's future for a change.
Wah lau. So you were part of the 69% over the last 16 years! Vote PAP.

Drove people like me out of sinkieland.

I will vote pap unless my constituency is contested by ah bock, ah chee, ah tean, and ah say. We need real oppos n not quiet party. By voting for pap I hope to teach singkies a lesson in the bad ol days of no oppos. The last erection has confirmed that singkies are one of a kind n need to be taught a lesson. Look at the BS excuses to vote pap. Dead fart die so I vote pap. Dead fart die is the voters biz? I vote pap but I hope oppo win. I vote pap so I get upgrading. I vote pap if not Mata come n catch me. I vote pap if not my estate becomes slum. This sort of logic might as well pap forever.

N I vote against WP is bcos they have been a fucking letdown. Quiet part n Kenna sue bcos of their own stupidity. Since the fail I will give others a chance. N there will b higher chances for ah bock etc to go in as ncmp. I bet they will do more than wp

Maybe everyone think like you. Then no opposition!

Megan shames Jo! No less in the New York Times...
And Paul Krugman was right.

A Sudden Coronavirus Surge Brought Out Singapore’s Dark Side

But despite all the threats, through collective complacency or failure of imagination, the government was blindsided by a vulnerability it might have easily anticipated. In April, a dramatic surge of infections among poorly paid foreign workers crushed Singapore’s sense of invulnerability. The city is built and maintained by an army of laborers who come from other Asian countries — Bangladesh, India, China. They can be lodged as many as 20 men to a single room; one toilet is legally considered enough for 15 people. Last year, some of the dormitories suffered a measles outbreak. Migrant-worker housing has been connected with illness ever since the British colonial rulers called tuberculosis “a disease of the town-dwelling Chinese” because it raged among the “lowly paid migrants living en masse in congested and insanitary dwellings in the municipal area,” Loh and Hsu write. In other words, the notion that packed worker lodgings could weaken public health was neither new nor surprising.

And yet the city reeled at the dizzying reports of illness emerging from the worker dormitories — hundreds of people, sometimes 1,000 or more, tested positive day after day. It was as if the entire city had fallen so completely into the habit of regarding the laborers as some other kind of person that the basic fact of our corporeal interconnectedness never occurred to anybody. Workers’ rights advocates had tried to raise the alarm earlier, but their warnings went ignored. Now these perpetually marginalized workers have, at last, grabbed the city’s attention. A strict citywide lockdown was enforced and has been extended and tightened as the government scrambles to curb the outbreak in the dormitories.

All schools, most businesses and even some doctors’ offices are closed; masks are mandatory; shopping is permitted only for absolute necessities like food or medicine. At this writing, nearly all of the new cases are concentrated in the dormitories, whose residents are shut away as they undergo systematic screenings. As of May 19, Singapore counted a total of 28,794 confirmed cases and 22 deaths. The daily toll of new cases was down to 451; 450 of them were among migrant workers. The lockdown is now scheduled to lift in early June; it’s not clear what this will mean for the ailing corps of migrant laborers. Singapore is now, more than ever, divided into two cities, two populations: the foreign workers in dormitories, and the rest of us.

This sort of arrangement can be justified ethically only with a geographic bifurcation: The worker is earning money he could never dream of back home. We are not supposed to think about his life here; we are supposed to think about his life there. The cheerful certainty of money flowing into that other life makes all of this degradation excusable, even beneficial. But that’s a thought exercise. The virus works in flesh and blood, and it has destroyed the fantasy of a disconnected labor pool.

Now we live in a reduced version of the city. The two faces of the state, caretaker and authoritarian, are intertwined and omnipresent. Through the government’s fliers and text messages and speeches, I’ve been extorted, scolded, cheered up, menaced, coddled, invited to conspire against my fellow residents and reminded, all the while, that it’s for my own good. “Report safe distancing infringements on OneService app,” said a WhatsApp message I got from the Singaporean government. “Provide specific details, location, photos.” A notice tacked to our condominium bulletin board and titled, simply, “Penalty” detailed the prison terms, heavy fines and court prosecutions we could get for breaking the pandemic rules. “Failure to comply will result in firm action by Enforcement Officers,” the paper warned. “Enforcement officers may conduct a sudden inspection at any condominium.”

One afternoon, government representatives with cardboard boxes arrived in the pavilion overlooking the swimming pool. We stood in a long, winding line to receive our free masks, one for each resident, presenting our ID cards to be scanned. With a strange mix of gratitude and chagrin, thinking of the American nurses and doctors who sometimes lacked the equipment to protect themselves, I accepted our reusable masks from Singapore’s ultraorganized state bureaucracy. This was repeated at housing blocks and community centers around the city. Once they were satisfied that everyone had a mask, the failure to wear one was declared a crime.

When I first came to Singapore, a European friend who already lived here told me I would love this place. I would see that Asia was surging to the head of the global order; I would be filled with new ideas and insights. The West, she said, was “back in the mirror as they drive away.” Her words have rattled in my mind ever since. Singapore projects an image of urban harmony that is inspiring, even utopian. But with the distractions and rhythms of normal life suspended, the hardest truths of the city have been exposed: The unflinching approach to importing people for hard, cheap labor and the willingness to diminish individual rights in a flood of collective good. We always knew those things were the subtext; now they shape our daily lives. I have lost the impassive perspective of an outsider. I’m a neighbor who might catch the virus or infect others; a person who has been sheltered by the state and ensnared by its rules; a resident who should ask after the fate of the sick men who build this city and whether their living conditions will finally, now, be improved.

I know this won’t last. The city will eventually revert to a more familiar form. But this version of Singapore will stay burned in my memory, a city of dreams laid bare.