• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

JB/SG Crimewatch

dare2

Re: Crime number one worry among Malaysians

JOHOR CRIME REPORTS

1. crime scene - snatch thief in johor
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miAT2Akyl64

2. Crime scene Stealing tablet - Tesco Desa Terbau Johor
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EikW9vm-64

維護治安,人人有責
[/QUOTE]

hahhaha uncle these are january 2013 news leh.....I expect more current and in tens not one or two lah.....woahhhhhhaaaaahahhahahha...some more school boy stealing tablets...this happen in schools around Singapore all the time....my son's iPod also got stolen twice in school already ....

dare2

...he asked for it one ..walk up and down showing his fat spore wallet....hahha 3.30 am some more.....just asking for trouble......

Chocolate

Pls info Setia Tropika or Setia higher management to do something. It is good for all Setia Tropika investors.

I will . I bought Sky gardens and pop by once a month or so to check on progress. Am concerend for my own car as well as I often park near the sales gallery.But I think its inevitable that one downside to this estate is that F &B , shops etc are patronised by public , so its hard to monitor at all times. What's good though is that WITHIN precincts so far its quite safe I believe. I havent heard of anything happening unlike Nusa Idaman where I hear there are robberies within the preceinct, also some others.Anyway, I bought a condo unit.

crystal_tiong

I will . I bought Sky gardens and pop by once a month or so to check on progress. Am concerend for my own car as well as I often park near the sales gallery.But I think its inevitable that one downside to this estate is that F &B , shops etc are patronised by public , so its hard to monitor at all times. What's good though is that WITHIN precincts so far its quite safe I believe. I havent heard of anything happening unlike Nusa Idaman where I hear there are robberies within the preceinct, also some others.Anyway, I bought a condo unit.

u haven heard of other developement doesnt mean it never have break in case before . i believe those happened and wanna share out to create awareness and find a better solution to it . those wanna hush hush coz afraid of affecting their housing prices. for sg , the estaury at yishun just TOP and some moved in already hv theft/break in cases . police awareness signboard has put up . i jus wanna highlight no place is safe in everywhere even in sg condos let alone msia condos?

potter

tiong姐姐好像是警花.. titter.gif tweet tweet..

dare2

I am on the plane to the place without haze so pls Enjoy the wonderful Haze.... Good Health.

Haha running away without answering why u could only post outdated report.... Only 2 , one of wc is school boy theft type that occur in our schools everyday that schools just stop reporting to police, hahaha hope ur plane do not get lost on the way out of the region uncle.

Legolad

If you think crime in JB is bad, you gotta read this. They rob by the millions and at government level too.
With official replies like this, the haze will last longer than you think…

CNA: Indonesia on Thursday accused Singapore of "behaving like a child" by complaining about severe haze from raging forest fires on Sumatra island that has cloaked the city-state.

"Singapore should not be behaving like a child and making all this noise," Agung Laksono, the minister who is coordinating Indonesia's response to the haze crisis, told reporters in Jakarta. "This is not what the Indonesian nation wants, it is because of nature."
The minister for people's welfare also said Jakarta would reject any offer of financial aid from Singapore unless it was a large amount.
"Unless (Singapore) wants to give us a large amount, we won't consider accepting it," he said. "If it is only half a million, or one million dollars, we don't need that. We would rather use our own national budget."
The comments came as the neighbours prepared to hold emergency talks in Jakarta to ease the severe smog enveloping the city-state.
Laksono said investigations were under way to find out which company was responsible for the haze.
"There are Indonesian, Singaporean and Malaysian companies there," he said, echoing previous comments from officials in Jakarta seeking to shift the blame away from solely Indonesian firms.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/indonesia-chides/717798.html

dare2

PSl already hit 377 at 1pm so pls enjoy the nice smell n breath in more if y think is safe. I will be back when the haze settle. Good Luck n Health

Thought your FREIGHT due to leave on Saturday?

Re: Living in JB 3 (Johore)
My freight leaving at Sat morning for a haze free island n hoping the airport still operate at that time.
http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?124792-Living-in-JB-3-(Johore)/page206

hahaha, think they only transport animals or non-living things in freight.......ROLF...you planning to bury your body in the sand somewhere?

Chocolate

u haven heard of other developement doesnt mean it never have break in case before . i believe those happened and wanna share out to create awareness and find a better solution to it . those wanna hush hush coz afraid of affecting their housing prices. for sg , the estaury at yishun just TOP and some moved in already hv theft/break in cases . police awareness signboard has put up . i jus wanna highlight no place is safe in everywhere even in sg condos let alone msia condos?

Am not sayingthat if I havent heard it hasnt happened but from my experience when its an isolated case or so you can keep it quiet but not when its rampant.We should of course not take security for granted anywhere.

Stevewish

late night, it's confirmed not safe to go around.
Just last week in the morning 10 plus, my brother and I was traveling in SG car.My brother signaled right to filter to the right lane to Bukit Indah roundabout.
An old proton JB car refused to give way and horn at us, out of no choice, we let it go first. Immediately he filtered into our lane and stop in front of us. About half a minute waiting, he just moved off.
We could see who was in the car as it was heavily tinted and wonder what was the intention for this act? No "happy" with Sg .. ?. BTW, we experienced it first time.

dare2

late night, it's confirmed not safe to go around.
Just last week in the morning 10 plus, my brother and I was traveling in SG car.My brother signaled right to filter to the right lane to Bukit Indah roundabout.
An old proton JB car refused to give way and horn at us, out of no choice, we let it go first. Immediately he filtered into our lane and stop in front of us. About half a minute waiting, he just moved off.
We could see who was in the car as it was heavily tinted and wonder what was the intention for this act? No "happy" with Sg .. ?. BTW, we experienced it first time.
...refusing to give way and road rage happens all the time in Sg....confirmed not safe to go around ....

TrulyAsia

S'pore dad, 82, found weak, dirty and hungry in JB after being dumped by family

An 82-year-old Singaporean father was found on the streets of Johor Bahru -- dirty, hungry and weak after being abandoned by his family.

According to a report in The New Paper, the man was picked up by the Malaysian police, repatriated and sent to a home for the destitute here two months ago. The man is one of a number of elderly Singaporeans who have been abandoned overseas.

Social workers say his case is not unique, as Singaporeans have also been allegedly abandoned in Indonesia and China. A source familiar with the case said the man claimed he was abandoned by a family member and had a son in Singapore. While he could walk, he was very weak and in a wheelchair.

The New Paper has also chosen not to name him to avoid embarrassing him. The elderly man was taken to Angsana Home under the Destitute Person’s Act. His family was subsequently contacted and he is no longer with the home.

According to The New Paper, a person who was familiar with the case said that he was "totally undernourished and that they’ve never seen a Singaporean in this condition".

"He looked like a person from a state of famine," said TNP's source.

He also looked like he had not showered in a while. His clothes were dirty. He was grouchy, claiming he was hungry when he was picked up. He appeared slightly deaf, but spoke good English.

“You could smell him from 10 feet away,” said the source.

A Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) spokesman said the Consulate-General in Johor Baru provided consular assistance to the Singaporean and, with the support of the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF), arranged for his return to the Republic.

Two social workers said overseas abandonment is a cause for concern. Fei Yue Family Service Centres’ assistant director Rachel Lee said it can be especially frightening for the elderly when they’re not familiar with the surroundings.

“It’s also not easy to prevent or detect abandonment once the parent is taken out of the country.”

Said centre manager Frances Lee of Care Corner Family Service Centre (Toa Payoh): “If (abandonment) is happening in Singapore and we’re hearing about it all the time, what makes us think they are not being abandoned elsewhere?”

Ms Rachel Lee said she has heard of cases of abandonment in Indonesia. About three years ago, a man convinced his mother to sell her HDB flat and “relocate” to Indonesia, telling her that medical care was cheaper there. The woman, who was in her 70s, suffered from health and mobility issues.

He left his mother with a distant relative in a remote village and disappeared with the proceeds from the sale of the flat. He visited her a few times initially, but later became uncontactable, she said. The woman was eventually taken to the Singapore embassy in Jakarta and repatriated.

Said centre manager Frances Lee of Care Corner Family Service Centre (Toa Payoh): “If (abandonment) is happening in Singapore and we’re hearing about it all the time, what makes us think they are not being abandoned elsewhere?”

Ms Rachel Lee said she has heard of cases of abandonment in Indonesia. About three years ago, a man convinced his mother to sell her HDB flat and “relocate” to Indonesia, telling her that medical care was cheaper there. The woman, who was in her 70s, suffered from health and mobility issues.

He left his mother with a distant relative in a remote village and disappeared with the proceeds from the sale of the flat. He visited her a few times initially, but later became uncontactable, she said. The woman was eventually taken to the Singapore embassy in Jakarta and repatriated.

This is the kind of progress we have in SG, from abandonment in SG old folks home to abandonment in overseas on the street. Elderly should NEVER remove their name from jointly owned property with children or sell their property to move in with children during their twilight years.

Chocolate

I was in Bukit Indah on Friday and on our way back to the CIQ we saw police giving chase to a motor biker. There was also a police check on another pair of bikers nearer AEON. Just fyi.

Jetstream

I was in Bukit Indah on Friday and on our way back to the CIQ we saw police giving chase to a motor biker. There was also a police check on another pair of bikers nearer AEON. Just fyi.

It's good to see police presence on the ground and in action. Many petty street crimes and snatch thefts are committed by motorcyclists.