• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

JB/SG Crimewatch

crystal_tiong

Re: Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Hi Crystal, sorry to hear about your bad experience. I pop by Wisma SP Setia in Tropika on and off so thanks for the warning. May I ask was it pure vadalism or was robbery the intent?As a fellow Setia Tropika owner( Sky Gardens ) am quite dismayed to hear this.Unfortunately there are many outsiders who come in to patronise the Mac's, KFC etc so we're exposed to this danger. But having said that, SP Setia should do a better job especially around their own sales office.

Hi chocolate , its not me ah .... i attached the source link liao ....
I seldom go JB town since i bought my house in BI ....

dare2

Actually a colleague of mine was approached by a couple for compensation when she accidentally knocked down the lady's glasses at Legoland. they asked for $300RM as they claimed there was a chip in the glass. She was quick witted and told them she has only $50RM and needed the money to make her way home with her kids.....but guess in a crowded place they really cannot do much so they let her off. Same thing can also happen in Sg, a girl claimed I was staring at her on the MRT and was driving at extorting me for money through making me embarrass, I told her there were nicer things to look at on the train..... Moral of the story ...need to stay alert and be aware of those around you....keep your cool.

dare2

..these death are mostly locals....they are more cautious with foreigners wih valid passes....

whoami

Crime number one worry among Malaysians

Petaling Jaya (The Star/ANN) - PETALING JAYA: A survey by the International Islamic University Malaysia's (IIUM) Communication department has shown that crime is the number one concern among Malaysians.
IIUM lecturer Prof Dr Syed Arabi Idid said the results of the nationwide study, conducted between April 6 and 14, showed that crime had surpassed economic woes as the main worry.
One out of every three adult respondents said crime had become a national problem.
"While the results of a survey in March 2008 found that the state of the economy was the major anxiety among Malaysians, this has slowly given way to concern over crime," he said.
Dr Syed Arabi said in March and April 2013, Malaysians also identified security as the second major problem after the incursion in Lahad Datu, Sabah.
However, in April, there was a drop in perception to 15% from 25% recorded in March.
Dr Syed Arabi commended Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak for his recent declaration of war against crime.
He said the Government's call to the people to empower themselves to fight crime and its pledge to do whatever it took to battle crime was timely.
Dr Syed Arabi said the rise in crime and reduction in public confidence in the police could be due to slow enforcement and increased publicity on crime cases.
He said more involvement between the public and police in combating crime could be the solution.
"The setting up of the Crime Prevention Department by the police is a step in the right direction.
"Better enforcement and quicker response will also help reduce crimes and deter would be criminals," he added

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/crime-number-one-worry-among-malaysians-060004062.html

dare2

Re: Crime number one worry among Malaysians

It is a very true message for Sg to be Alert & Careful when they step in M'sia. A recent gang rob in KL at least 16 restaurants within a week and many customers being robbed during eating. Many clients at night life spots also "Kana". Be aware that it will spread to Iskanda soon. Try not to be eating outside might be a safe precaution. There are more M'sia Car coming to Sg at shopping center n dining place during night... Are they coming for safe meals n entertainment? :cool:

No-lah they are robbers who come to singapore to dine using money they gained from their lootings and at the same time exploring new avenues for their revenue....

dare2

For a moment when I saw te news on TNP, I thought they were reporting abt JB.....

http://www.tnp.sg/content/robber-bashes-woman-heavy-rock-cracking-her-skull
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...0_stitches_after_robber_used_rock_to_hit.html
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Crime/Story/A1Story20130614-429868.html

...watch out when you go out at night...or when you take the lift at your friendly HDB neighborhood....

These are also not in Parit Buntar or shah alam.....BUT strange how some people keeps posting news from other parts of msia on this thread...that is on JB/SG CRIME

...and why bother to post the chinese version on an english forum......to fill the page?

dare2

:p 1. M'sia criminals are mobile from state to state and it is good to learn the "blood lesson" from others than yourself.
2. There are very few updated criminals report from the English media so the reports from chinese version will safeguard the interest of safety of M'sia residents.
3. Your powerful English can translate those valuable info (I doubt y think so?) to assist those innocent residents unable to understand chinese.
4. The M'sia criminals behavior, model n action are very much different from Sg or even other countries. It is good to learn to take precaution than regret.
Example as follows:
a. 10匪毆劫70食客‧猖狂匪黨專劫夜食店
http://news.sinchew.com.my/node/302664
b. 持刀斧闖蕉賴火鍋店‧10匪毆劫70食客
http://news.sinchew.com.my/node/302626?tid=1
c. 10匪毆劫70食客‧同排數店都曾遇劫
http://news.sinchew.com.my/node/302665?tid=1

Such gang criminals on food outlet targeting both owner n customers not common in Sg n Johor.

Alert pls Alert, Careful pls Careful. M'sia still the Best Adventure Land to stay n invest. :eek:

...wah you so civic conscious to warn your fellow sinks ...Salute........then you should also post International crime, as these criminals are also getting mobile like the South American who targetted your safe haven in recent months....you are nature's best man....can warn people and at the same time claim you are vested.......anyway all tabloids are agencies with vested motive, just that Msia is more tolerant to freedom of the press unlike Sg....so do take care of yourself being Old as you claimed....you are perfect target for the robbers with the rocks in lift.....don't stay out late....be careful if strangers follow you into the lift....and do not be too helpful in helping people with directions....don't flash your smart phones....stay safe.....

Jetstream

Re: JB Crimewatch

I've heard many cases of house break in done through the roof.
What kind of mmeasures can be taken to plug this gap in security? Thanks

Secure the attic-access cover in the ceiling by installing a grill and padlock over it. Link this access point to your burglar alarm.

Chocolate

http://www.straitstimes.com/breakin...ng-incident-orchard-cineleisure-rushed-sgh-20

Singapore youth slashed

Thank goodness, such mafia characters are very mobile and tend to focus on crime capitals like JB. Singaporeans should breathe easier now.

This is a one-off. 50 years only seen 1 time kind of case.

I really doubt its once in 50 years as a young lady was also slashed in Ang Mo Kio recently by a guy supposedly asking for directions.The motive was robbery. I realise that we cant take our safety for granted, just be more alert. In my landed estate , a lot of breakins, they just dont get reported.

Funds Transfer

I really doubt its once in 50 years as a young lady was also slashed in Ang Mo Kio recently by a guy supposedly asking for directions.The motive was robbery. I realise that we cant take our safety for granted, just be more alert. In my landed estate , a lot of breakins, they just dont get reported.

Hey, don't spoil the fun here! We are supposed to show that Singapore is a safe place. :p

dare2

Hey, don't spoil the fun here! We are supposed to show that Singapore is a safe place. :p

Ya otherwise Naturally Oldman Best will be so scared to leave his HDB and would avoid Orchard liao....SHHHHH Singapore is very SAFE.......Sure Another Fight Everyday.....

dare2

hahaha ...you keep saying criminals are mobile but most of your post are from otherr parts of Malaysia...how come? If JB is the worst of the lot why do you keep posting crimes from OTHER PARTS?:confused:...anyway sorry cannot understand your links to CHINESE Press.....am an Indian lah thambi.....

dare2

dare2=?:*:

...wah lost for words liao.....uncle you has still have not answered why you post so may crimes from other state but keep saying JB is the most crime infested......it JB is that bad...wouldn't you be able to fill up 1000 pages by now.....don't have to keep pasting Shah Alam, Parit Buntar, KL, etc....

dare2

eh Old man .....already told you that I keling cannot read chinese.....point is - mobile or not mobile....there should be more news on JB crime than you need to paste here....where are they...please post lah...so that we can be enlightened.....!

...you still have not give me the answer i am asking....WHERE ARE ALL THE JB CRIME REPORTS?

Chocolate

Its still quite safe to stay in Horizon Hills etc. Nusa Idaman etc which is next to it is hardly safe. 99% of JB are dangerous. This is one reason why I prefer to stay in safe Singapore and see my investments grow in Iskandar and pple risking being chopped for me in JB.

Security should be a consideration when buying into an estate. SP Setia is also stepping up security by hiring auxilliary police. So far their preincts in BI are doing fine I think but in Setia Tropika the public areas are not so safe. I think the higher profile developers have to take it sersiously. We can see from the height adn quality of the walls put up what kind of message they are sending, also the security in some estates is of very poor quality with guards sleeping or not well equipped. After a while thieves also know where to go and an estate that is exposed will eventually get a bad rap.

crystal_tiong

Its still quite safe to stay in Horizon Hills etc. Nusa Idaman etc which is next to it is hardly safe. 99% of JB are dangerous. This is one reason why I prefer to stay in safe Singapore and see my investments grow in Iskandar and pple risking being chopped for me in JB.

erm , u never heard HH has one case of break in many yrs ago ? owner were badly beaten up and they were told to hush hush abt it so not to affect the housing prices . This info was shared by a HH resident .
For NI P8 , so far no break in case yet as compared with the older prescints. One neighbour was the first one to move in and so far so gd .