the 70 percent are nothing short of daft. a lease is a lease. u dont own it. period.
The bulLEE is the king. The king continues to bulLEE the people. The people accept being bulLIEd. The dynasty, the king and the people - the SINgaPOORe StoLEE.we lease-own the HDB flats. that's why we pay the flat annual property tax to the govt. the pap govt makes those strange laws and screw suffering sinkies again and again.
The greatest lie of the world.Sinkees have been lied,misrepresented and deceived for the last 50 years .
The HDB flat is not an asset but just a rental flat.The HDB is the lessor and the HDB tenant is the lessee (not an owner).
U don't have t be a lawyer to understand what is an asset .
An asset is a thing which belongs to a person and which has a value.
https://www.investopedia.com/terms/a/asset.asp
What is an 'Asset'
An asset is a resource with economic value that an individual, corporation or country owns or controls with the expectation that it will provide a future benefit. Assets are reported on a company's balance sheet and are bought or created to increase a firm's value or benefit the firm's operations. An asset can be thought of as something that, in the future, can generate cash flow, reduce expenses or improve sales, regardless of whether it's manufacturing equipment or a patent.
I'm not a lawyer but I can tell you that your definition of "asset" is not accurate.
Even if your HDB flat was freehold as long as you lived in it it would not be in the"asset" column of your net worth. It would be classified as a "liability" and that is because it costs you money... parking, maintenance, cleaning to live in it.
However if you manage to rent it out and receive more in rent than your outgoings it would then become an asset regardless of whether it is leasehold or freehold.
An asset is not about ownership but about control and yield. If I have a patent on an invention and I'm earning royalties from licensing the patent to other companies then that patent is an asset. The fact that the patent will expire in 15 years does not make it less of an asset. It ceases to be an asset when the patent runs out but I controlled its usage by others during the period it was active so it was classified as an asset even though I did not own it in perpetuity.
a leasehold asset is still a leasehold entity. decays to zero value at the end of the lease.
they speak with forked tongues. they say singapore is land scarce blah blah so they cant give u freehold land. then in another instant they get ex URA running dog to say singapore has enough land and can easily fit a population of 10 to 20 million. they just say whatever they want for their agenda.
freehold if it's acquired u are paid market rate for your land. u cant say the same when your hdb lease ends. u get nothing.
https://sso.agc.gov.sg/Act/LAA1966#pr33-
the market value of the acquired land shall be deemed not to exceed the price which a bona fide purchaser might reasonably be willing to pay, after taking into account the zoning and density requirements and any other restrictions imposed by or under the Planning Act (Cap. 232) as at the date of acquisition and any restrictive covenants in the title of the acquired land, and no account shall be taken of any potential value of the land for any other use more intensive than that permitted by or under the Planning Act as at the date of acquisition.
my uncle say KNN please focus on how to be immortal or live longer first before paying too much attention on lease KNN
However you know perfectly well that in 7 years time the computer will be worthless. It's value will be zero in the balance sheet... fully depreciated. It is ...another story for another day.
That is the very reason why land has to be leased out and not sold. In order to plan for population growth the urban planners need to be able to start with a clean slate in areas which need to be redeveloped. The 99 year lease means this planning can take place in an orderly manner and to a predetermined schedule.
You may not know this but when I was a kid the majority of land in Singapore was owned by a handful of millionaires who rented the land out to farms, rubber plantation owners etc. The land was freehold and could not legally be touched by the government based on the laws of the day. Large areas were slums or "kampungs" which is prettier term but did not change reality
However this situation was untenable because Singapore was growing and the government needed to bring in industry for jobs and the slums needed to be cleared and decent housing created because they were cesspits of disease, crime and decay.
The government therefore passed the land acquisition act which meant they could "legally" buy out the millionaires to the tune of a dollar an acre if I recall. We witnessed one of the most significant displays of socialism Singapore had ever seen. It was daylight robbery but it had to be done.
Without the land acquisition act Singapore would not be where it is today. It would still be a backwater.
Even if all HDB flats had freehold titles it would make no difference if the government needed the land your flat stood on. They would pay you a token sum and you'd have to move on.
So thank your lucky stars the PAP did what it did then otherwise today you'd probably be renting land from the family of Tan Lark Sye at market rate.