• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious It's Official! Sinkies Own Their HDB Flat! Oppies, Pls Stop Spreading Lies That HDB Is A Long-term Tenancy!

SINGAPORE - A Housing Board flat sold on a 99-year lease is an asset that will appreciate as the country prospers - a fundamental tenet of Singapore's home ownership policy, said National Development Minister Lawrence Wong on Tuesday (Aug 21).

Said Mr Wong: "There is a high likelihood that over a period of time, if the economy does well, if incomes rise, then property values will appreciate together with the fundamentals of the economy and your stake in the nation - your home - can also appreciate in value."

Mr Wong was answering a question by a member of the public on the 99-year leasehold for HDB flats at a forum organised by government feedback unit Reach on what people thought about last Sunday's National Day Rally.

Attended by around 120 people, audience members peppered Mr Wong and Reach chairman Sam Tan with questions on cost-of-living, housing and foreign affairs - topics central to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's speech.

The first question of the night, by a Toa Payoh resident who identified himself as Mr Lu, touched on a hotly debated issue of whether residents own, lease or rent their HDB homes.

Mr Lu asked if the Government should clarify that a 99-year lease is actually a form of long-term rental, and if it was thus misguided for residents to seek capital gain from their properties.

Mr Wong said a 99-year lease is an ownership, not a tenancy.

"When you buy a car, how long can you use a car for? Is it a rental car, or your car? A 99-year lease is far longer than 10 years. It is yours. It is an asset. It is owned by the homeowner," said Mr Wong.

Explaining further, he set out why residential properties, public or private, are sold on 99-year leases. Since 1967, all land sold by the Government is on leases not exceeding 99 years.

"We are land-scarce in Singapore, we have constraints. If we give out and sell freehold land today, everyone who buys it will be very happy, and your children and whoever you pass your land to will be very happy, but eventually, there will be those without land," said Mr Wong.

Hence, the limited leasehold terms allow Singapore to recycle land for the future. Although finite, it will cover the housing needs of at least two generations, he added.

Mr Sam Tan, who is also Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Social and Family Development, agreed, adding that good economic growth in the past five decades has led to homes becoming valuable assets.

"So long as we as a people and country work together to grow our economy and share in the wealth of economic growth, then going forward, our homes will be an important and valuable asset that we can use as a retirement nest egg," said Mr Tan.

To another question about the potentially divisive nature of the Voluntary Early Redevelopment Scheme, in which HDB residents will vote on whether to sell their flats en-bloc, Mr Wong acknowledged the Government was aware of this, and was working on how to make the process less polarising. He noted that HDB has had a lot of experience with polling residents and it has generally been smooth.

"I think the concerns are real and i acknowledge that the stakes are higher, it is not just about upgrading of lift or HIP, it is potentially more consequential. Stakes are higher," he said.

"But we have time to work out the exact mechanism and how to go about doing it without causing too much divisions, creating acrimony within the block itself. We don't want that to happen."

An ideal mechanism for the voting process is one in which residents can have a collective say if Vers were to be offered, he said. He said the Government would work out the details bearing in mind these concerns.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-is-an-owned-asset-not-a-rental-lawrence-wong

it's like a mobile home in sillycon valley. you own the "home", but you don't own the land it sits on. you have to pay landlord who owns the land monthly charges for the space it sits on, sewer, garbage disposal, common area dues, yard work, etc. but unlike hdb flats, you can get a low loader or tow truck contractor to split your manufactured home into pieces and tow them out of the mobile park to a godforsaken boon dock in death valley if you cannot afford to pay the charges. moreover, when your "home" sits on the lot, you don't have neighbors sitting on top of or below you. with hdb, your flats are stuck in concrete and rebars with your neighbors on every side, top and bottom. and you cannot suka suka move your "home". the value of mobile homes in sillycon valley keeps dropping with time as it depreciates from day one, and only the land it sits on appreciates with time. as land gets scarcer and more valuable, like in sunnyvale, landlords sell their mobile parks and tell the mobile home owners to fuck off immediately.

What bull is this Wong talking about? When I collected the title to my flat after I had paid up...it says LEASEHOLD...I am leasing the flat from HDB, I do not have the title to my property. I ask HDB office where I collected the title deed about this, they directed me to their legal department to explain to me...

So, what fake news is this Wong spreading? one minute...they say, as the lease run down the value drops...now it is an asset....the people of Singapore are really assess.

What bull is this Wong talking about? When I collected the title to my flat after I had paid up...it says LEASEHOLD...I am leasing the flat from HDB, I do not have the title to my property. I ask HDB office where I collected the title deed about this, they directed me to their legal department to explain to me...

So, what fake news is this Wong spreading? one minute...they say, as the lease run down the value drops...now it is an asset....the people of Singapore are really assess.

How dare you accuse the good minister Lawrence of lying!!!!

If Lawrence Wong says your HDB flat is yours, it is yours. Only oppies want to continue the myth that sinkies are tenants in their HDB flats.

Point of Order in RED and my comment in PURPLE. .

]SINGAPORE - A Housing Board flat ...an asset that will appreciate as the country prospers - a fundamental tenet of Singapore's home ownership policy,

WILL APPRECIATE??? Cheater and liar at work. What is the VALUE of a flat at the end of 99 years? ZERO! So where is the appreciation? The Minister should and MUST clarify.

...if the economy does well, if incomes rise, then property values will appreciate together with the fundamentals of the economy and your stake in the nation - your home - can also appreciate in value."

'CAN' - not 'WILL' meaning it is just an ability, a possibility, maybe in its early years, with many conditions and variables attached to it. Please note that there is no WILL.

... Mr Wong said a 99-year lease is an ownership, not a tenancy.

It is a LEASE. It's a cheater and liar's LEEase, staged to FIT and FIX. Who is the real OWNER who collects or HAD COLLECTED the RENT as per an agreement/contract?
synonyms for LEASE: leasehold, rental agreement, hire agreement, charter, contract;

"When you buy a car, how long can you use a car for? Is it a rental car, or your car? A 99-year lease is far longer than 10 years. It is yours. It is an asset. It is owned by the homeowner," said Mr Wong.

An excellent example to illustrate LEASE. What is the value of a car at the end of ten years? Upfront deposit and SCRAP value! Here again, you are told that you own the car but in fact, the possessor is paying 10 years rental + deposit + extortion to rent UPFRONT!!!!! Are Singaporeans really that NAIVE as to keep on 'GIVING and TAKING'? It's time Singaporeans stop taking SHIT from cheaters and liars.
possessor = a person who takes, occupies, or holds something without necessarily having ownership, or as distinguished from the owner.

Explaining further, he set out why residential properties, public or private, are sold on 99-year leases. Since 1967, all land sold by the Government is on leases not exceeding 99 years. ...give out and sell freehold land today, everyone who buys it will be very happy, and your children and whoever you pass your land to will be very happy, but eventually, there will be those without land," said Mr Wong... Hence, the limited leasehold terms allow Singapore to recycle land for the future. Although finite, it will cover the housing needs of at least two generations, he added.

If LEASES were to mean OWNERSHIP, then our PAP LEEders have been selling our land and assets to many foreigners and MNCs.

...So long as we as a people and country work together to grow our economy and share in the wealth of economic growth, then going forward, our homes will be an important and valuable asset that we can use as a retirement nest egg," said Mr Tan...."But we have time to work out the exact mechanism and how to go about doing it without causing too much divisions, creating acrimony within the block itself. We don't want that to happen."
Retirement nest egg? For who? The people of Singapore or the Cheating and Lying LEEders? If the HDB flat is a nest egg, why is there the need to hold on to the 'OWNERS???' CPF money? Seriously WHERE is the MONEY?

Implications: Give us time to think how best to stage a FIT and FIX. Such arrogance, complacency and incompetence. Buying time for another 10 to 20 years? There is no hiding the truth.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-is-an-owned-asset-not-a-rental-lawrence-wong

"A leasehold estate is an ownership of a temporary right to hold land or property in which a lessee or a tenant holds rights of real property by some form of title from a lessor or landlord. Although a tenant does hold rights to real property, a leasehold estate is typically considered personal property.

Leasehold is a form of land tenure or property tenure where one party buys the right to occupy land or a building for a given length of time. As lease is a legal estate, leasehold estate can be bought and sold on the open market. A leasehold thus differs from a freehold or fee simple where the ownership of a property is purchased outright and thereafter held for an indeterminate length of time, and also differs from a tenancy where a property is let (rented) on a periodic basis such as weekly or monthly.

Until the end of the lease period (often measured in decades or centuries; a 99-year lease is quite common) the leaseholder has the right to remain in occupation as an assured tenant paying an agreed rent to the owner. Terms of the agreement are contained in a lease, which has elements of contract and property law intertwined.

The term estate for years may occasionally be used. This refers to a leasehold estate for any specific period of time (the word "years" is misleading.) An estate for years is not automatically renewed.

Colloquially, "lease" and "leasing" are often a formalization of a longer, specific period as compared with a "rental" that created a tenancy at will, terminable or renewable at the end of a short period."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leasehold_estate

Leasehold is a form of ownership. Freehold is perpetual ownership, leasehold is valid for the lease tenure. But gotta say, "HDB leasehold" is another thing altogether, a stripped-down form of ownership, barren of rights like agm votes, right to form mgmt and full of all upkeep duties (conservany fees) and property tax.

IMG_20180822_110946.jpg

Do you envy these Singaporeans not having to worry about leasing or owning HDB flats? Long live PAP

Mr Wong said a 99-year lease is an ownership, not a tenancy.

Very simple analogy.....can you use your fully paid HDB flat to secure a loan from a bank?

At least you can with a fully paid car.

View attachment 46537
Do you envy these Singaporeans not having to worry about leasing or owning HDB flats? Long live PAP

All those characters have homes to live in they are just enjoying the cool outdoors when the nights get hot and humid. I used to take a nap on the park benches of Bishan park too despite my home just being a couple of kilometers away.

It's really sad that some Singaporeans have to live thus day by day. Many Singaporeans do not even want to wake up as it's meaningless to do so. There is nothing to wake up to, or these Singaporeans cannot bear to see what is happening out there, the real world created by cheating and lying LEEders.

Food for Thought:

Who is the sleeping dog? One who wants to lie down or the other who continues to lie through its teeth!!!!
It's time for true-blooded Singaporeans to wake up, and to wake and chase the lying dogs out.

How dare you accuse the good minister Lawrence of lying!!!!

If Lawrence Wong says your HDB flat is yours, it is yours. Only oppies want to continue the myth that sinkies are tenants in their HDB flats.

Is Lawrence Wong's house 99-lease or 999-lease? I bet it is the latter. If he believes in recycling land, then all land should be sold at 99-year lease.
All those characters have homes to live in they are just enjoying the cool outdoors when the nights get hot and humid. I used to take a nap on the park benches of Bishan park too despite my home just being a couple of kilometers away.

Make every minister live in a 4-room flat in their constituency during their term. That will go a long way to bring them down to earth.

Is Lawrence Wong's house 99-lease or 999-lease? I bet it is the latter. If he believes in recycling land, then all land should be sold at 99-year lease.

Make every minister live in a 4-room flat in their constituency during their term. That will go a long way to bring them down to earth.

The President was living in her HDB flat and she was very happy there before being forced to move to the Istana against her wishes.

Yes, yes, YES! ...but self-serving, egoistic and arrogant LEEders wouldn't do it. They only live for themselves and famiLEE. Not for the people and the country.

The President was living in her HDB flat and she was very happy there before being forced to move to the Istana against her wishes.

Staged to fit and fix. Where is the new house? Anyone noticed the special activities in Katong area? How much taxpayer's money has gone into it?
Wayang sayang!!!!

She should remain in her flat and make all the ministers, junior ministers, parliamentary secretaries and mayors live in HDB flats.

There you go...a malay with simple needs.

we lease-own the HDB flats. that's why we pay the flat annual property tax to the govt. the pap govt makes those strange laws and screw suffering sinkies again and again.

For the sake of convenience, the President is made to act against her wishes. Singapore has an unhappy President? Sound familiar with fellow Singaporeans? The Happiness Index does not lie. TruLEE a puppet and likewise for all puppets. The previous presidents were genuine President of the country and the people. The late Ong TC refused to be a puppet on strings. He truly wanted what was best for the country and people. But... alas...it is there no more. Sad but true.

She should remain in her flat and make all the ministers, junior ministers, parliamentary secretaries and mayors live in HDB flats.

She should but she cannot. There are strings attached...invisible to the eyes of many Singaporeans.