• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Singapore the only Chinese-majority country outside of China?

nightsafari

It would not help me not get in trouble. It would help you not get in trouble. :wink:
I'm not worried about myself. I'm worried about you.

I never said anything about anyone other than I find you posting his pic funny, but you've got that guy's mug plastered all over the place. I dunno how many lurkers there are around here, but I'm betting it's a lot more than post here. My mind just wandered into what could happen. Don't want to see unnecessary fireworks.

Anyway all the best! :thumbsup:

Told you this before. If I am wrong (which I am not), Mark Andrew Yeo will come looking for me. (which I am looking forward to) If I am right, then Mark Andrew Yeo will have nothing to complain about. Hope this is clear enough for you to figure out. :wink:

I'm not worried about myself. I'm worried about you.

I never said anything about anyone other than I find you posting his pic funny, but you've got that guy's mug plastered all over the place. I dunno how many lurkers there are around here, but I'm betting it's a lot more than post here. My mind just wandered into what could happen. Don't want to see unnecessary fireworks.

Anyway all the best! :thumbsup:

nightsafari

Told you this before. If I am wrong (which I am not), Mark Andrew Yeo will come looking for me. (which I am looking forward to) If I am right, then Mark Andrew Yeo will have nothing to complain about. Hope this is clear enough for you to figure out. :wink:
yah you did tell me before, but since it doesn't concern me and my brain is kayu, in 1 ear out the other.

anyway like I said, all the best!

Reactions: jw5

Merl Haggard

Thank you! Ever since i was a boy, all i ever heard was lee kong chian, tan kah kee, lee kong chian, tan kah kee. Tan lark sye's good name has been whitwashed from sinkie history by the scums in white. Never heard of him until a few years ago when i googled his name out of curiosity, when i saw his name stated as a past president of hokkein huay kuan on its website.

Besides exonerating Mr Tan Lark Sye the govt should apologise to Mr Tan's descendants who had to live in shame since 1963.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BUILDING & ROAD AT NTU NAMED “SINGAPORE HOKKIEN HUAY KUAN BUILDING” & “TAN LARK SYE WALK”

The College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences building at Nanyang Technological University (NTU) was named the “Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Building” on 19th Oct 2019. In addition, Nanyang Valley, a road in front of the Chinese Heritage Centre was renamed the “Tan Lark Sye Walk”, to mark the contributions of the pioneers in Singapore’s education journey. Education Minister Ong Ye Kung graced the naming ceremony as the Guest-of-Honour.

In 1953, due to the lack of Chinese-medium institutions of higher learning, the then President of Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK), Tan Lark Sye mooted the idea of setting up Nanyang University and personally gave S$5 million as part of the school building fund. Further, Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan donated 523 acres of land along Jurong Road for the campus, which is where the Nanyang Technological University is situated today.

On the setting up of Nanyang University, Tan Cheng Gay, SHHK President, said, “The initiative received unprecedented waves of support from communities and individuals across all sectors of society in Singapore and the rest of Southeast Asia. It set an impressive record in the development of Singapore’s education system, and united a local cultural identity as a platform for nation building.”

On the naming of the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Building and Tan Lark Sye Walk, Chua Thian Poh, SHHK Immediate Past President, said, “With the naming, generations of students will be able to remember the true spirit of unity and solidarity of our community towards education. I hope we will remain committed and continue to contribute to the progress and prosperity of Singapore for generations to come.”

DATE: October 19th, 2019

Merl Haggard

Thank you! Ever since i was a boy, all i ever heard was lee kong chian, tan kah kee, lee kong chian, tan kah kee. Tan lark sye's good name has been whitwashed from sinkie history by the scums in white. Never heard of him until a few years ago when i googled his name out of curiosity, when i saw his name stated as a past president of hokkein huay kuan on its website.

Those of us who knew Mr Tan Lark Sye, we could not believe that he was a communist as alleged by LKY. Lark Sye Pek as we called him, his passion was to conduct his business and to play mahjong after office hours at the Tanjong Rhu & Ee Hoe Hean Club.

He was our President at the Ee Hoe Hean and Tanjong Rhu Club where he famously won from Mr Tay the Tay Koh Yat Bus Company over one night of mahjong.

Lark Sye Pek's grave mistake was to support the Barisan Socialis and as history has shown, anyone who went against LKY would be mercilessly crucified.

nightsafari

Those of us who knew Mr Tan Lark Sye, we could not believe that he was a communist as branded by LKY. Lark Sye Pek as we called him, his passion was business and to play mahjong after office hours at the Tanjong Rhu & Ee Hoe Hean Club.

He was our President at the Ee Hoe Hean and Tanjong Rhu Club where he famously won from Mr Tay the Tay Koh Yat Bus Company over one night of mahjong.

Lark Sye Pek's grave mistake was to support the Barisan Socialis and as history has shown anyone who went against LKY would be mercilessly crucified.
did you know him personally? work for him or family acquaintance?

Merl Haggard

did you know him personally? work for him or family acquaintance?

My father used to take me to Tanjong Rhu & Ee Hoe Hean Club during the holidays.

I later became a member of Ee Hoe Hean Club. In 1995 President Ong Teng Cheong was our guest of honour when we celebrated Ee Hoe Hean's 100th anniversary.

whoami

.till today the greatest riot the ever occured in Sinkieland is not the racial between the Malays and Chinese in the 60s nor the religious between the Muslims and British christians in the 50s....but between the Hokkiens and Teochews ...when more than a thousand died and a few more thousand injured....they never saw themselves as one chinese race..similarly people of other chinese dialect group too

Oh. Tats smthing new i learnt. Back then was too young to ustand or whos at fault during the racial riot. Laksaboy ever mentioned fights btw hokkien n teochew too. Since the greatest riot was actually btw the cheena themselves then why r they always blaming the Malays for causing the riot/death? Oh dear..they cant even get along with themselves...wat more with other races esp with Malays.

empathizerofeatshitndie

You should never allow Imperial Japan to rear its military might again. It will be another impending disaster for the world. :wink:
Dear @jw5, I hope you are aware of the existence of the:
wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Forces_Japan
wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Forces_Japan#List_of_current_facilities
and that as long as the USFJ continue being the "bodyguards" of Japan, the:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Japan_Ground_Self-Defense_Force
wikipedia.org/wiki/Japan_Maritime_Self-Defense_Force
wikipedia.org/wiki/Japan_Air_Self-Defense_Force
will NOT revert to their glorious:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Imperial_Japanese_Army
wikipedia.org/wiki/Imperial_Japanese_Navy
wikipedia.org/wiki/Imperial_Japanese_Army_Air_Service
wikipedia.org/wiki/Imperial_Japanese_Navy_Air_Service

But if, because of whatever reason, the USFJ stops being the "bodyguards" of Japan, then I hope you are also aware of the existence of the:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_nuclear_weapon_program#De_facto_nuclear_state
wikipedia.org/wiki/Japan_Option
("Nuclear latency or a nuclear threshold state is the condition of a country possessing the technology to quickly build nuclear weapons, without having actually yet done so. Because such latent capability is not proscribed by the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, this is sometimes called the "Japan Option" (as a work-around to the treaty), as Japan is considered a "paranuclear" state, being a clear case of a country with complete technical prowess to develop a nuclear weapon quickly, or as it is sometimes called "being one screwdriver's turn" from the bomb, as Japan is considered to have the materials, expertise and technical capacity to make a nuclear bomb at will.")
:wink:
sweatingbullets-gif.40503

redface-gif.40438

Those of us who knew Mr Tan Lark Sye, we could not believe that he was a communist as alleged by LKY. Lark Sye Pek as we called him, his passion was to conduct his business and to play mahjong after office hours at the Tanjong Rhu & Ee Hoe Hean Club.

Lark Sye Pek's grave mistake was to support the Barisan Socialis and as history has shown, anyone who went against LKY would be mercilessly crucified.
thought he won over the tiko yat, oops tay koh yat bus company over one night of poker? it was mahjong? didn't know one could go "all-in" with mahjong.:confused:

Everyone knows that the Barisan Socialis is a commie party. If you support the barisan, you are a commie seeking to overthrow our society and purge merchants. We shouldn't wait passively for that to happen.

Sideswipe

Everyone knows that the Barisan Socialis is a commie party. If you support the barisan, you are a commie seeking to overthrow our society and purge merchants. We shouldn't wait passively for that to happen.

BS had no real links with China CCP back then. LKY cheated the 1963 election by arresting the BS leaders. LKY wanted to arrest more so-called Communists but Malaya Tungku and the British were against it, they cut the list by half.

They have the same ideology. That alone is enough to nab the barisan leaders and smash their party. We saw in the 1980s how communists like vincent cheng tried to stage a violent revolution by attempting to steal an SAF artillery gun.

nightsafari

My father used to take me to Tanjong Rhu & Ee Hoe Hean Club during the holidays.

I later became a member of Ee Hoe Hean Club. In 1995 President Ong Teng Cheong was our guest of honour when we celebrated Ee Hoe Hean's 100th anniversary.
many thanks for sharing this with us. All of this stuff is just something on a piece of paper for many of us. Having someone recount experiences such as yours to us makes the history up close and personal. :thumbsup: Again my appreciation for bringing history to life for me. :notworthy::notworthy:

I had no idea the Ee Hoe Hean club even existed until you mentioned it. I guess it's obvious what SES I belong to! :laugh::laugh:

nightsafari

Oh. Tats smthing new i learnt. Back then was too young to ustand or whos at fault during the racial riot. Laksaboy ever mentioned fights btw hokkien n teochew too. Since the greatest riot was actually btw the cheena themselves then why r they always blaming the Malays for causing the riot/death? Oh dear..they cant even get along with themselves...wat more with other races esp with Malays.
bro. you see Chinese show a lot right? In those shows it's always someone else's fault. And usually it's some foreigner or another. :laugh:

I actually observe that Chinese in Malaysia get along better with Malays in Malaysia than they do with Chinese from other parts of the world. In China even today, you go to Beijing speak Shanghainese asking to kena bantai. Go Shanghai speak Mandarin, they will makan you. It's always been like that. Trust me, you hear that shit about Malays, you never hear them speak about other Chinese like that? Maybe doesn't concern you, so you not alerted. Go and do a search for our fellow forummer hypocrite and ask him about hokkiens... :laugh::laugh::laugh:

Chinese are like Indians. Always racist. But then there are many racists everywhere.

nightsafari

just wondering. would have supporting the BS party in the past have been part of a larger support China idea? I wonder how much of their historical support was due to subordinated loyalty to China.

nightsafari

ever wonder LKY actions could have been at the bidding of the British ?...not that i know for certain but just wondering
not likely. LKY was many things, but he had an unfortunate penchant for adopting historical ideas from cultures that contributed to his upbringing. His confucianism and dynastic tendencies from his peranakan upbringing helped shaped our social and political system and his British training shaped his ideas of governance. It's a pattern he established again and again. He was determined to go his own way, but the irony is that he kept treading in the same footsteps as those before.