• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Getting a Private University Education Worth It in Singapore?

Les grossman

By Joanne Poh
While it’s true that Singapore students have lots more tertiary education options now than they did ten years ago, to say we have a really diverse educational landscape is like saying Marina Bay Sands has turned Singapore into a tourist destination that rivals Paris or London.

The truth is that students who screw up their O levels or A levels are going to have a tough time getting into their university course of choice. We just don’t have enough room in our public universities to accommodate everyone.

While students in bigger countries have long lists of universities to choose from and the option to move to another city or town for school, here it’s still pretty much down to NUS, NTU, SMU or SUTD. SIT and SIM still largely cater to students who want to take their partner university programmes offering degrees accredited by an overseas university.

Sure, it’s possible to get a private education at places like MDIS or Kaplan. These schools offer programmes from overseas universities. But is it the right move? Here are some pros and cons of enrolling in a private school.

Cons

It’s Expensive

Unfortunately, getting an education from a private institution is often quite expensive. You’re not eligible for the MOE tuition fee loan the way students from NUS or NTU are, so you’ve got to either the full amount yourself or take a bank loan.

For instance, MDIS charges $27,584.17 for their 18-month Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communications awarded Oklahoma City University. SIM’s Bachelor of Science (Business Administration) awarded by SUNY Buffalo costs $34,669 to $69,336 for the entire course. That’s more expensive per annum than any of the public universities’ courses.

As most partnerships are with universities in Australia, the USA and the UK, the three countries with some of the most expensive fees for international students, you might end up paying even less studying in a foreign country with cheap or free university courses.

You’ll be disadvantaged at certain jobs

The sad truth is that many employers in Singapore still care a lot about where you went to university, and in certain jobs the NUS graduate is always going to be looked upon more favourably than the guy who did a course at Kaplan with a partner university.​

For instance, if you intend to become a civil servant, it’s quite difficult to even get your foot in the door with a private school degree, and even if you do get hired you’ll be placed on a lower pay scale than grads from local universities.​

In the private sector, it really depends which company you want to work for and which industry you’re in. For instance, if you’re a graphic designer and have a great portfolio, many employers aren’t going to care whether you went to university or not. Many graduates from private school programmes are also hired by international banks’ back offices.

Pros

A degree will open some doors no matter where it’s from

Many jobs in Singapore require at least a degree, and if you only have a diploma you will either be refused the position right off the bat or paid less than your degree-holding counterparts.​

For instance, if you want to become an operations analyst at a bank, it’s likely you’ll need at least a degree to be considered. However, many banks will hire you no matter where your degree comes from.​

You can study part time during NS

One thing that people often overlook is the fact that you can enrol in some private school degree courses on a part-time basis, while most of the public universities’ bachelor’s degree courses are full-time only.​

On the other hand, many private school courses are designed for working adults and can be taken on a part-time basis in the evenings after work or, in the case of army boys, after their NS session for the day if they manage to get a 9 to 5 vocation, that is.​

Two years of NS is a long time, and you might even be able to complete an entire diploma or top-up degree course (assuming you have a prior diploma) before you ORD.

More at https://www.domainofexperts.com/2016/01/is-getting-private-university-education.html

oliverlee

a basic degree from NUS and NTU is just as exp if not more. The only difference is automous unis funded by govt allow you to pay using your CPF, right up to PhD level. But you can only use the "privilege" once, like buying HDB (familiar?) Private schools demand you pay through your nose. Get a scholarship, make someone pay for your education

Many parts of Europe such as Germany, possibly France, Netherlands Belgium, I believe education is free. And you have universities in all major cities. Vocational Colleges or polytechnics in smaller ones. Or in every provincial town.

In Jiu hu, students are all eligible for student loan for 100% of university bees public or private. This is a back door gomen funding for private universities. Plus loan burden goes to students, not the operator of these private universities.

Balls2U

Do the London External degree. Self-study all the way. They'll fly in the exam papers to Sinkieland for you to sit here at a designated exam centre.

NanoSpeed

SMU World Ranking = 585; SUTD World Ranking = 440

Universities affiliated to Private Institution:

Suny Buffalo = 466 (better than SMU)
Oklahoma City = 280 (better than SMU and SUTD)

If you bring your SMU and SUTD degree certificates to US, people there will think they are shitty universities too.

This is called 大内宣, ownself make ownself feel shiok !

sbfuncle

Lansai lah is of course becos of cost.
Else having a toilet paper by the side getting ready to use it when opportunity arises is of course better.
If you have the money to buy it, by all means. Just don't get yourself into debts for a toilet paper.

Sinkiesuk

Don't need to study la. Study uni so expensive. Rice bowl kena stolen or kena under cut pay by foreigners.

oliverlee

Many parts of Europe such as Germany, possibly France, Netherlands Belgium, I believe education is free. And you have universities in all major cities. Vocational Colleges or polytechnics in smaller ones. Or in every provincial town.

In Jiu hu, students are all eligible for student loan for 100% of university bees public or private. This is a back door gomen funding for private universities. Plus loan burden goes to students, not the operator of these private universities.
your info is based on which year's encyclopedia? many of these shite towns in europe are slowly taking away free education. Of all places, Finland was one of the first to kill the freebie off quite a number of years ago. It was giving away free education to even foreigners up to postgrad level. In time to come, Germany will rescind it. When the EU gets fucked and bankrupted, you will see the pp in the member countries come beggin in Asia. Because they are so used to free things. It's happening soon. When the spiritual climate of a country has gone to the dogs the rest of its complexion will follow.

If you think taking an airplane will land you on the moon, by all mean splurge on a private university.

LaoTze

A total waste of money if it is not Uptron.
icegif-207.gif