• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Fear of Muslims Rational?

whoami

Wat a good religion...makes me want to sign up.

Skip to main content
NEWSlink
SearchMore from ABC

NEWS HOME
Inside Indonesia's controversial training seminars preparing Muslims for polygamous marriage
BY FARID M. IBRAHIM AND HOLLY ROBERTSONABOUT 4 HOURS AGO
Email Facebook Twitter WhatsApp

PHOTO
A school in Indonesia is offering courses to Muslims keen to enter into polygamous marriages.
ABC NEWS: GFX/JARROD FANKHAUSER
A club dedicated to promoting polygamy in Indonesia is actively touting "a quick way to have four wives" through classes across the country that cost hundreds of dollars.
Key points:
  • Topics covered at the school include how to acquire four wives as well as how to avoid divorce
  • Supporters of the practice defend it as being in line with Islamic teachings
  • Critics say polygamy is "psychologically and economically" harmful to wives
Though experts say most Indonesians find the idea of polygamous marriage objectionable, there is strong support for the practice in some sections of society.
The Indonesian Polygamy Forum (FP Indonesia) is capitalising on interest among conservative Muslim men in taking multiple wives by offering one-day seminars that claim to prepare their clients for polygamous marriage.
The organisation said it even provides a same-day marriage service for seminar attendees deemed ready to enter into a polygamous marriage.
Vicky Abu Syamil, a 32-year-old male who facilitates the workshops, said male participants are charged 3,500,000 rupiah each (roughly $350) to attend.
PHOTO One of Indonesia's most well-known polygamists, Fadil Muzakki Syah, surrounded by his three wives, Siti, Yeni and Novita.
SUPPLIED: JAWAPOS.COM
Discounts for women who attend
Class sizes are limited to 20 people — most of them men — with a 50 per cent discount being offered to female attendees in an attempt to attract more women.
Topics covered include how to begin and maintain a polygamous marriage, how to acquire four wives within a short period of time, and how to avoid a divorce.
"We want to train and educate Muslims who are seriously willing to enter these marriages," Mr Abu Syamil told the ABC.​
Is conservative Islam on the rise?

Despite Indonesia's founding principles of religious pluralism and tolerance, there has been a string of faith-based controversies in the world's most populous Muslim nation.

Mr Abu Syamil said he became a polygamist when he was 24 years old, and now has four wives.
"I married my first wife in 2006 and my second one in 2011. It was a long process to actually reach that big decision based on mutual understanding," he said.
Mr Abu Syamil said he was able to persuade his first wife based on "knowledge that came from heaven and was delivered by the messenger", referring to Islamic teachings.
The club, which was established in 2017, holds sessions that are attended by Muslims around Indonesia, with the next one scheduled for Jakarta in mid-April.
'Only one in a million men will refuse polygamy'
Another man touting the appeal of polygamy is Fadil Muzakki Syah, the son of a charismatic cleric, who has become infamous in Indonesia for living openly with three wives in Jember, East Java.

PHOTO The Indonesian Polygamy Forum said these women participated in one of its classes.
SUPPLIED: INDONESIAN POLYGAMY FORUM

"I believe an old saying that among a million women, only one is willing to accept polygamy," Mr Muzaki Syah told local media outlet Jawapos.
"On the other hand, only one in a million men will refuse polygamy."
He has praised his first wife for not only letting him marry again but also being actively involved in "coaching" the second wife into their family. When he met another woman, a young widow, both his other wives were heavily involved in the preparations for the marriage.
While men who promote the practice tend to paint a picture of marital harmony, most wives in polygamous marriages suffer detrimental effects to their wellbeing, both "psychologically and economically", according to Nina Nurmila, a commissioner on Indonesia's National Commission of Violence Against Women (Komnas Perempuan).
A Muslim man who wants to take on secondary wives — an option not afforded to women — must prove his first wife is sick, disabled, or cannot have children, and that he has the means to care for all of his spouses and children equally.

PHOTO There have been a series of protests against polygamy in Indonesia since the 2000s, but none have successfully convinced politicians to take action.
REUTERS: DARREN WHITESIDE
Wives 'at a disadvantage'
But Ms Nurmila, whose PhD research at the University of Melbourne focuses on polygamous marriages in Indonesia, said the existing spouses she interviewed described being emotionally and financially sidelined.
Secondary wives, she said, were often at a disadvantage as their marriages are rarely registered, meaning they had no legal recourse in the event of a dispute.
Confronting domestic violence in Islam

Most Muslims believe Islam abhors violence. So why do some say the Koran sanctions "lightly" beating your wife?

And critics say domestic violence is also more likely to take hold in polygamous marriages.
Once rare in Indonesia — former president Suharto frowned upon polygamy and banned civil servants from the practice during his three-decades dictatorial rule — a return to democracy has brought a niche but flourishing resurgence.
Indonesian local media reported that just 897 polygamous marriages were registered in 2018, but with most avoiding official registration, Ms Nurmila estimated that up to 5 per cent of people in Indonesia could be practicing polygamy.
The Indonesian Ulema Council (MUI), the country's peak body for Muslim organisations, said it had not received any complaints about the polygamy classes and nor does it plan to formally discourage the practice.
"Polygamy is not mandatory, recommended, reprehensible or forbidden, however it could be haram or forbidden if it would create damage to the family," the MUI's Aminuddin Yaqub told the ABC.
Ms Nurmila predicted that the practice was unlikely to be outlawed any time soon, with male politicians unmotivated to address the issue.
"I think this controversy will go on and on," she said.​
"The struggle to outlaw polygamy I don't think will be successful in the next 10 to 20 years, until women can be represented [equally] in the legislature."
Email Facebook Twitter WhatsApp
RELATED
'They want good girls': Indonesian policewomen chosen for 'purity', subjected to virginity tests
Fatwas, niqabs and 'acceptable standards': Is conservative Islam on the rise across Indonesia?
Bullied, beaten, trapped: Muslim women denied divorce from abusive men
Polyamory, unicorns, demisexuality: Five takes on monogamy and its alternatives
Top Stories

1. 'Gary, this is for you': Morrison chokes up announcing disability royal commission

2. Heavily pregnant and bleeding: Grave fears for stranded terrorist's daughter
  3. Waste company at centre of Melbourne chemical blaze had licence suspended last month
  4. 'I'm free': The doctor giving women their orgasms back
  5. Online retailer fined record $3 million over mobile phone and camera complaints
  6. Fired for being drunk, vomiting at a Sydney Opera House function — and now there's an appeal
  7. Your daily coffee could be one reason why you can't get a loan
  8. Christchurch shooter ordered to undergo mental health assessment by judge
  9. British Parliament is falling apart. No, literally
  10. 'It's our missing link': Dutch salvage crews find North Sea's oldest shipwreck by accident
  11. The case for forcing drug-addicted kids to go to rehab
  12. Shorten bets on $2.3b Medicare cancer plan as federal election campaign all but underway
  13. Prince Harry and Meghan move into multi-million-dollar renovated home ahead of baby's arrival
  14. ABC News quiz: Will you shine like a cluster of stars or will your score stink?
  15. MacKenzie Bezos gets $49 billion slice of Amazon in divorce
  16. Researchers warn of rising mortgage stress, expect defaults to increase
  17. Analysis: A 'seiche' wave is faster than a tsunami — and they can happen in your backyard
  18. They were abused in care as kids. Now they are terrified of entering aged care
  19. Opinion: AFLW grand final illustrates spiritual beauty of women's sport
  20. From Simpsons to Family Guy and Bluey — can we shake the 'useless TV dad' stereotype?
  21. 'A quick way to have four wives': Inside Indonesia's controversial polygamy training seminars
  22. Government admits consultation came after social media laws were introduced
  23. Facebook wants to protect our election. Will it work?
  24. Man arrested over execution-style murder of Australian gangster in Athens
MORE FROM ABC NEWS
Top of pageChange to standard view

No nid sign up since u went for ur weekly polygamy sexsion at batam.

Btw dont forget put on sarong ya. I dont want to see ur nick disappear one day:smile:

whoami

Angmoh US feared Muslim today becos Muslim are controlled demolition experts .... cannot play play with Mossie anymore... bring down 3 NYC buildings only professional controlled demolition experts can do it....

But some one said Muslims no IQ. But these one IQ high. WTC n Pentagon also tio hit. Plane can penetrate US state of the art defence capability without detection. Ustand fm OBL al queda. Wah...so power n high IQ they possessed.

whoami

Jeneral John Tan s/o Kuppusamy Vengedamuti (Muslim Body Count: 54, 217), how do you keep your rainbow-coloured sword which you use to slaughter those thousands of Muslim super-sharp at all times?

Do you carry a sharpening stone with you? Or do you sharpen your sword using the horn of your flying unicorn?

BTW, today is Friday. It's another great day for you and your fellow Jenerals to prove that you truly have balls beyond your keyboard by taking up my simple challenge to visit a nearby mosque to shout "Chow Chi Bai! Melayu! Terrorists!" as the worshippers are leaving the mosque.

Do you and your fellow Clowns of the Sammyboy's Echo Chamber have balls Jeneral?

If you do, please don't forget to record it, upload on Youtube and share the link so that it can serve as an inspiration to other keyboard Jenerals.

Just challenge them to post in their respective FB. See whether they have half the balls to do it?:smile:

Hypocrite-The

No nid sign up since u went for ur weekly polygamy sexsion at batam.

Btw dont forget put on sarong ya. I dont want to see ur nick disappear one day:smile:
Oh yes 4 wives Bagus. N best is women are 2nd class. A great religion indeed. If singkieland was a mudslime country, there will be no women's crapster n Faggots are put in their place. If can eat pork n drink alcohol, I will gladly sign up.

whoami

Oh yes 4 wives Bagus. N best is women are 2nd class. A great religion indeed. If singkieland was a mudslime country, there will be no women's crapster n Faggots are put in their place. If can eat pork n drink alcohol, I will gladly sign up.

U can also have 10 wives. No need Islam. Just simpan. Every week go batam and bonk. U can also eat pork...minum mabok and also take dog meat. No need Islam. Ur xtian religion allow u

Hypocrite-The

U can also have 10 wives. No need Islam. Just simpan. Every week go batam and bonk. U can also eat pork...minum mabok and also take dog meat. No need Islam. Ur xtian religion allow u
Only Islam allows 4 wives legally n with minimal women's rights. Very good religion

Hypocrite-The

Legally. Got no job also can have wives? See how much u know abt Islam n keep spreading lies and hate post. Awas....u may go lim kopi soon
No job also can have 4 wives? Tat is very good. N no job also can breed...n low pay breed more..like m&ds

Jeneral John Tan s/o Kuppusamy Vengedamuti (Muslim Body Count: 54, 217), how do you keep your rainbow-coloured sword which you use to slaughter those thousands of Muslim super-sharp at all times?

Do you carry a sharpening stone with you? Or do you sharpen your sword using the horn of your flying unicorn?

BTW, today is Friday. It's another great day for you and your fellow Jenerals to prove that you truly have balls beyond your keyboard by taking up my simple challenge to visit a nearby mosque to shout "Chow Chi Bai! Melayu! Terrorists!" as the worshippers are leaving the mosque.

Do you and your fellow Clowns of the Sammyboy's Echo Chamber have balls Jeneral?

If you do, please don't forget to record it, upload on Youtube and share the link so that it can serve as an inspiration to other keyboard Jenerals.

Wow! What a high body count you gave me.

I helped led a moslem to christ last week. So my body count is currently 2. Thanks for attributing another 54,000+ more to me. I take it as a word of prophesy.

Hypocrite-The

U not happy with muslims. So u can FO to ceena land. I very happy with Muslims. No problem with other religion. So i stay here.
If there is no provision for halal. U sure u will stay? Oh u will stay .but make demands the country have halal to cater to u