• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

iPhone Suckers must read

SeeFartLoong

http://news.softpedia.com/news/The-iPhone-Brings-a-Huge-Number-of-Unknown-Disadvantages-58998.shtml

The iPhone Brings a Huge Number of Unknown Disadvantages
Just how appealing does the iPhone sound after you find this out?

By Elena Balan, Communications News Editor

4th of July 2007, 09:08 GMT

Just how new and revolutionary is the iPhone concept, when it actually comes with a huge pack of disadvantages? These days after its launch, people have had the chance of trying it themselves and seeing just what this mobile phone is capable of doing.

Although with an appealing touchscreen and great looking operating system, the iPhone also comes several important drawbacks. Even Apple's policy on the carriers has been a serious constraint. It is the same case with the device itself, as its owner receives much less than he expects
when buying this handset.

To start with, the iPhone does not support a SIM card which has not been activated for that specific cell phone. This means that you can't even borrow the phone for use to a friend to insert his SIM card when his battery has discharged on his own iPhone.

AT&T brings some limitations too, as all buyers for Apple's phone have to subscribe for a two-year contract and comply with several high data rates. In fact, this has been the main dissatisfaction for most people considering buying themselves an iPhone.

Next time you think of all that the iPhone can do, just give a thought to what it cannot, too. It has no UMTS, VoIP functionality and can not be used as a modem. There are no instant messaging applications supported, shockingly, no MMS and neither does it have Java or Flash support.

The iPhone lacks third party applications support, only Web-based ones. One more disappointing news for mobile phone gamers out there is that this handset comes with no games included and there is no possibility for such applications to be installed.

The camera, not very evolved to start with, at its 2 megapixels, comes with no possibility for changing the settings. There is just a key to capture an image and nothing else to adapt to certain lighting situations. Moreover, there is no flash-light, which might result in captures of rather poor quality in some situations.

One huge disadvantage is that the iPhone does not allow file transfer from the PC through the USB cable other than by means of Apple extensions, such as iTunes and iPhoto. All that 8 GB space that 90 percent of buyers have chosen to be filled only with this type of files and nothing else sounds rather disappointing.

There are also other flaws in the iPhone dream concept, such as the fact that the copy-paste possibility for the text is missing. Few people have thought about all these specifications until now. This is probably the main reason for the half a million iPhones sold only in the first weekend since its release, on Friday.

http://www.groundreport.com/Arts_and_Culture/IPhone-Disadvantages/2868929

News: Lifestyle
IPhone Disadvantages
by Subeesh TK September 09, 2008

MAKING A DECISION... The short comings of iPhone are endless...

1. No video calling,

2. No AD2P on the Bluetooth,

3. CAN'T share ANY (mp3, images, videos....) files via bluetooth,

4. Can't use as a wireless modem, (you pay ridiculous data charges to activate internet on your phone, but cannot connect it to your PC and browse when you are at home)

5. No copy and paste,(cannot copy a part of a.... say.... email & send it....have to type it out yourself)

6. No 3.2 or 5 megapixel camera,(the 2MP camera it carries is worst camera i've ever seen..... photos look like they have come out of a VGA camera)

7. No video recording with camera,

8. No front camera,

9. No flash.

10. No JAVA support

11. No physical keyboard (BELIEVE me! this alone is a dealbreaker...touch keyboard as good as it looks...once you use it then only you come to know about the importance of having a hard keypad)

12. No 3G network yet in India..So why pay for expensive 3G phone if you can't use its 3G services ... so, for India, iPhone 2.0 is no better than its first version

13. No removable battery. (You cannot change battery. Have to send it to apple outlet.. Come on now!!!!...This is not an iPod. Its a bloody phone. You cannot live without phone for 2-3 days)

14. No hap tic feedback and

15. Cannot send MMS,

16. Can't use as external storage device (16 GB of utter waste..next time you go to your friend's house & find some interesting songs, movies, etc...Sorry you cannot connect your '16 GB' phone and share it!!!! Apple apparently has a solution.. " BUY MUSIC & MOVIES FROM iTUNES STORE "..... Give me a break will you APPLE!!!)

17. No FM radio,

18. Can't use your mp3 files as ringtones,(This is heights man!!!)

19. Cannot insert any other SIM card….

20. Completely tied to iTunes... Connect to your friend's iTunes & you risk erasing everything on your phone.
We Indians are used to these features. Most of our phones already have these features. we cannot do with out them.... i mean can you imagine paying so much for a phone with which you cannot transfer files via bluetooth. What age is this ...STONE AGE???

Some features may be activated by jailbreak.. But why the hell should you risk losing your warranty after paying so much.

And want to add third party softwares??.. YOU HAVE TO BUY THEM FROM iTUNES STORE ONLY!!! . (Shell out more money). Apple is a bloody control freak. Dont surrender your freedom to it.

It's good for American market (who have no idea what mobile freedom/choice is) which is in stone age compared to asian/european markets. When they want to buy a phone, they have to go to network operators and buy only those phones that are available on that network. & stick to that company till their contract expires. You want to change carriers? Not before paying damages, & buying another phone on the other network again.

On the contrary, we in India have so much freedom. We go to handset shops & buy which ever phone we like. Then go to carriers.. Checkout the plans & buy SIM.. Dont like the plan or rival carrier came up with a better plan???? EASY.. just remove & replace the SIM.

Apple are trying to IMPOSE THEIR MODEL ON US riding on the hype iPhone has created in the US (yes it was a flop in Europe .thats why Apple never talks about its sales in Europe).

Dont fall for the subsidized price of iPhone... CHECKOUT THE DATA PLAN ATTACHED TO ITS SIM..they will recover the cost through ridiculous data plans. Bill might come to around Rs 2500/month.(ATLEAST AMERICANS PAY THAT MUCH)

Let me clear one thing though.. Iphone is the best looking phone (its touch interface is nothing like you have ever seen ), best browsing experience out there no doubt .... ( others are fast catching up..Check out the android demo at Google IO 2008).... BUT AFTER A FEW DAYS IT ALL COMES DOWN TO FUNCTIONALITY...

Those of who buy it... You will be most happy for atmost a week... then, MARK MY WORDS...YOU WILL START REGRETTING IT!!!

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/10/02/nokia-advertising-campaign-emphasized-iphones-disadvantage/

Nokia Advertising Campaign Emphasized iPhone’s Disadvantage.

Recently there is quite a number of mixed good and bad news on Apple’s iPhone product. The official launch of the gadget had received an overwhelming response from all levels of peoples back in June. Not long after the launching, Steve Jobs announced the price slash of $200 to both of its 4GB and 8GB version selling at $499 and $599 originally. This has upset most of the customers that queued up overnight to just get his/her first hand on the products. Fortunately, the emotion was able to be cooled down by a follow on announcement of $100 rebate for those that purchased the iPhone earlier.

Nokia Open to Anything

Some rumors spreading and finally confirmed that the iPhone can be hacked and unlocked by free software downloaded online. This has delighted most of the enthusiasts that keen to own a unit especially for those that out of US regions. However, the good news didn’t last long after Apple Inc. released a new firmware upgrade that was said to be able to detect the illegal unlocked iPhone and disable it permanently.

One drawback of the iPhone product is that the consumers cannot switch to their own preferred service providers. They have no choice but to stick with AT&T in US market.

All these bad publicity have been observed by its rivals in mobile phone world.

Nokia, the largest mobile phone manufacturer in the world has recently taken this opportunity to come out with a new advertising campaign that intentionally to remind the consumers on iPhone’s weaknesses so it will gain advantages over Apple’s product. The recent campaign wording posted in New York city quoted “Phones should be open to anything” and “The best devices have no limits” sound to be the “best phrase of the year” for Nokia in tackling its rival’s famous iPhone for the first time.

http://ohhmylord.blogspot.com/2007/07/disadvantages-of-iphone-drawbacks-of.html

Wednesday, July 11, 2007
Disadvantages of iPhone - The Drawbacks of iPhone holds back

Disadvantages of iPhone - The latest product from Apple ,the iPhone ,which is a mobile Phone + iPod + web surfing gadget + data storage device with 4 GB or 8 GB capacity .The price of iPhone is 499 $ or 599 $ depends on the model .

Wait for an improvised model of iPhone because the current model has some demerits .

Make it more useful

The iPhone just now released is having some disadvantages -

A Missed call from Social networking tools .

iPhone is missing "social networking options "- In today's web ,the hot trend is social networking .The networking tools or services which offer blogging ,networking with people having similar interest, sharing photos & video. The tools like Orkut ,Blogger ,Live journal ,Flickr & youtube are some of them .But Apple missed the opportunity, to be part of social networking revolution & web 2.0 by ignoring to support the above said services .iPhone doesn't support any othe above social networking tools .

Bad Browser

The web enabled iPhone is coming with out the latest Mozilla FireFox browser
instead it is loaded with a much primitive type Safari browser ,Apple should have added the most advanced FireFox instead of Safari .Mozilla is fastest & safest web browser in the planet .

I like Keyboard

No Keyboard for iPhone -Instead its having a software driven touch screen .Do you prefer a touch screen over keyboard ? . Typing a long message using touching screen will be painful .

I hate contracts

Two-Year Contract and $175 Termination Fee : In addition to paying $ 499 or $ 599 for buying an iPhone , you have to enter into a 2 year contract with AT &T for activating iPhone on their network ,by paying $ 175 !! .Too costly right .

No Flash No Java - No Fun

No Flash or Java Support : The web is made interactive & effective with flash & Java ,but Apple again done a mistake by excluding Flash & Java in iPhone .

Slow connectivity blame it on AT&T

Edge and Not 3G - 3G is the latest & fastest wireless data transfer technology ,but iPhone compelled to adopt the much slower Edge technology ,because AT&T supports Edge .So your web surfing will be slower .

The telecom marriage made in hell!

iPhones will work only with AT&T networks - You have to switch to AT&T network if you want to activate iPhones to its full potential ,Apple should have made iPhone network independent . How can people without AT &T network access or those who hate AT &T services will activate iPhone .

Too small for this price

Tiny Storage : iPhone comes with 4 GB & 8 GB storage space -it is too less for this much price .With 8 Gb how many movies or songs you are able to store .The iPhone world is not enough .

Costly for this much

iPhones are costly .

More on iPhone

The #1 disadvantage is FIXED MEMORY STORAGE, no memory card.

The #2 disadvantage is FIXED BATTERY, can not change.

The #3 disadvantage is BATTERY FLAT FAST.

1. Your iphone got software problem, you have to beg them to backup your data when they reload the memory. It is going to be ERASED!

2. You got preciously sensitive data? Too bad! You can NOT remove your memory card! There is NONE! You sent phone for repair when it has problem, your data might be COPIED / STOLEN / ERASED!

3. You have no privacy. You can not lend a phone safely to anyone after removing SIM & Memory Card.

4. You can not add / upgrade memory.

5. You travel, took too much video, iphone full? You can not just slot in a spare card.

6. You talked too much? Took too much video? Play too much MP3? Your battery flat FAST!

7. You can not reuse the iphone quickly, you have to plug it to the charger and WAIT. You can not just change battery and immediately start using iPhone.

8. For some high security reasons, people need to remove batteries from phones. Sorry to iphone users.

IN thailand, you can just purchase the whole set of games/application and jailbreak, you have a complete iphone. it is that simple. You are a human, you use brain to go around things. SInkie just follow the law and stick with the law brainlessly..

These articles are so outdated (year 2007 and year 2008???). Come on. Check your facts....

Must be the same dinosaurs still complaining about their Windows 3.1 on a 286 being too slow and user unfriendly.

These articles are so outdated (year 2007 and year 2008???). Come on. Check your facts....

They shud comprain about policemen wear shorts...like decades ago.

well,if you can live with all those disadvantages and there are also advantages,then i believe it should be alright for those users/lovers of iphone.

for me,i do not use one cos there is no need for it

well,if you can live with all those disadvantages and there are also advantages,then i believe it should be alright for those users/lovers of iphone.

for me,i do not use one cos there is no need for it

iPhone create a lot of hype and hooha before launching, creating lots of interest amongst the yuppies and rich boys/girls. PPl just go crazy!

This is alway the case in the HP business, they will know that after launch there will be tons of complaint this is where they get feedback to improve on their sofware. This is also where the Customer service dept get bombared by users.

I was once the Customer service centre manager, I know the bloody problem with the manufacturer they don't do enough gound work and research, they will the let users do the research. Complaint is the their feedback for improvement of the next software ungrade..

Meantime just wait for the new software upgrade! Version so so so.....on.

Chey! Dated info...

The funny thing is although those bad reviews were dated back when the 1st iPhone/iFraud was launched, Apple hasn't done anything much to improve on those complains. They just seem to have this strange ':oIo:' attitude towards consumer dissatisfaction over at Apple,.. :o

The reason for the iphone success is simple. Its the design. Ppl with taste understand it. And the application is targetted at these same ppl. They are first wave and second wave trend setters in any country.

The reason it is succesful with the rest of the masses excluding hardcore IT geeks and "business ppl" is because of the "high school" mentality.

People always like to follow "cool" poeple during high school days. This mindset is evident even during adult life.

Sour grapes are jus sour grapes for ppl who complain. If blackberry were so good then, why is the design so ugly? In this world there is no perfection.

Personality differences are what makes the products. These opposing characters will never work together in the same company.

People always like to follow "cool" poeple during high school days. This mindset is evident even during adult life.

That statement is true,.. sad but true. Once a douchebag always a douchebag!.. :o

1. No video calling,
(I dun need it)

2. No AD2P on the Bluetooth,
(I dun need it)

3. CAN'T share ANY (mp3, images, videos....) files via bluetooth,
(I dun need it)

4. Can't use as a wireless modem, (you pay ridiculous data charges to activate internet on your phone, but cannot connect it to your PC and browse when you are at home)
(A phone no need to act as a wireless modem)

5. No copy and paste,(cannot copy a part of a.... say.... email & send it....have to type it out yourself)
(Outdated news, fixed)

6. No 3.2 or 5 megapixel camera,(the 2MP camera it carries is worst camera i've ever seen..... photos look like they have come out of a VGA camera)
(Its the best 3 megapixels available around)

7. No video recording with camera.
(Outdated news, fixed)

8. No front camera,
(Name me 10 phones that have front camera)

9. No flash.
(I dun need it, we have night camera application, it is good enough)

10. No JAVA support
(Java for?)

11. No physical keyboard
(Screen keyboard is better unless you are travelling)

12. No 3G network yet in India..So why pay for expensive 3G phone if you can't use its 3G services ... so, for India, iPhone 2.0 is no better than its first version
(In India? whats that got to do with me in SG??) :confused::confused:

13. No removable battery. (You cannot change battery. Have to send it to apple outlet.. Come on now!!!!...This is not an iPod. Its a bloody phone. You cannot live without phone for 2-3 days)
(I agree this is iPhone major flaw, but been using it for more than year, get use to it liao, LOL)

14. No hap tic feedback and
(wtf is this? LOL)

15. Cannot send MMS,
(Outdated news, fixed)

16. Can't use as external storage device (16 GB of utter waste..next time you go to your friend's house & find some interesting songs, movies, etc...Sorry you cannot connect your '16 GB' phone and share it!!!! Apple apparently has a solution.. " BUY MUSIC & MOVIES FROM iTUNES STORE "..... Give me a break will you APPLE!!!)
(Until now, I still havent use up my space, why need bigger?)

17. No FM radio
(There is iTune)

18. Can't use your mp3 files as ringtones,(This is heights man!!!)
(There is iTune)

19. Cannot insert any other SIM card….
(never try before, i dun even let my friend touch my iPhone)

20. Completely tied to iTunes... ???
(Its the best way to compile your files neatly, it has always been Apple's way of keeping it simple and tidy.)

I'm a simple man, i just need a phone that calls, sms and sometimes use it to play game when i'm bored.

I always stress that if you are a tech savvy guy, then iPhone is not for you. It can't do many things, but it is slim, pretty and trendy.

Their touch response interfaces is one of the best among the phones, way way better than any Windows Mobile phones, try it and you will know. :D:D:D:D

And yeah... many phones are imitating iPhone design concept.

So is iPhone a failed product? i really dun think so :p:p:p:p

Do give iPhone a chance, try it before you condemn it, it's just a simple nice phone, LOL :D:D:D

iPhone may be the earliest but still the best touch screen phone around. It has the most intuitive and responsive touch screen. Others just couldn't come close.

i will just stick to my present mobile unless they are not producing it anymore then will be force to change to those touch screen phone like iphone.