• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Infidelity in Organisations - the Singaporean notion

A retiree of that era and a friend approached me to act as witness for some documents which he did not want his relatives to know. I was shocked that his rundown bungalow was valued over $10 million. He was a senior executive of a GLC but this was pretty big. He told me he took advantage of the then released CPF private housing scheme. He bought it at less than $400k using CPF. He told me that his colleagues were in the same boat. To him CPF was god sent.

Scroo,
You are spot on.

Charlie99

Those who purchased a detached house for under $500,000 or a semi-detached for about $250,000 (back in the old days, at East Coast)
were very fortunate. The right timing.

A retiree of that era and a friend approached me to act as witness for some documents which he did not want his relatives to know. I was shocked that his rundown bungalow was valued over $10 million. He was a senior executive of a GLC but this was pretty big. He told me he took advantage of the then released CPF private housing scheme. He bought it at less than $400k using CPF. He told me that his colleagues were in the same boat. To him CPF was god sent.

spot on screw!!!!!!!

The CPF was a scheme designed by the British with the best of intentions and in the beginning it truly served the purpose of retirement. Then the greedy PAP saw the potential for exploitation and they saw no qualms about it as they had such decisive political majority in Parliament. It is truly despicable. They made the CPF serve the housing market, pushing up property prices, and now delaying the drawdown age and withholding funds via the CPF Life scheme. Also a cheap source of financing for GIC and Temasek. Truly a rotten government.

Property prices in most developed cities have been pushed up by a lot. You can compare property prices of London through the decades till today.

The problem is that salaries are generally are not keeping up with property prices, along with longevity of well-paying jobs. Most PMETs today are likely to be retrenched in their 40s, which means they will have a lot of trouble servicing their housing loans.

I got lucky and bought a nice house in the 1990s using profits from my HDB. I doubt my kids can afford a landed property on a salary, even if they make it to the working world as a lawyer or doctor. They probably would end up either buying HDB, or paying through their noses for an overpriced condo.

A couple of friends and I bought a shop space years ago for a high price and we rented it out to some restaurant to cover our mortgage. A few years later, we sold the property at a handsome profit and the restaurant probably will have to pay a higher rent so that the new owners can make a buck on their property investment. At some point, this bubble will be bursting when shops struggle with the rent and property prices continue to grow out of reach from a population that will see stagnating pay, outsourcing and retrenchment as jobs move to cheaper locations.

I hope to profit from the meltdown.

indig10

I am late to the party. Welcome back, Scroobal.

I'm one of those Canadian Singaporeans who's been in the woodwork for a while. Posting again because you're back.

There was an SG50 party recently in Canada (Mississauga specifically). I had been invited by a friend to tag along. SG High Comm to Canada Philip Eng was there. When it came to his turn to give a brief speech to commemorate the event, it was sublime to hear the words that he did not say.

You would be surprised at how many ex-Singaporeans turned up for the food. I put the number at easily 150 or more over 2 hours and I'm pretty sure some of the silent readers here could be among them. The diversity was interesting (at least to me), from older folks in their 50s-70s to teenagers and kids. From my guess, there were more older emigrants than recent emigrants.

There was one young guy, probably in his early 20s, who surprised me when he said that he preferred to be back in Singapore. I wondered the rest of the event whether he was trolling because he seemed so genuine about his preference.

Btw, the Liberals in government aim to welcome 300,000 new PRs for 2016 (targeted), higher than previous years.

I'm one of those Canadian Singaporeans who's been in the woodwork for a while. Posting again because you're back.

Welcome back! Only scroobal is able to get credible chaps back to this forum. I recall a doc from Calgary saying the same thing you did.

CEO
SBF

why do the liberals want so many foreign trash in their country?they are fucking nuts.as much as i am a socialist,communist,liberal.

indig10

Welcome back! Only scroobal is able to get credible chaps back to this forum. I recall a doc from Calgary saying the same thing you did. Leongsam CEO SBF

Thanks GD. This forum helped me greatly back then, listening to the doc share his journey. And several others too. I only wish more forumners would post their thoughts and journey too.

no worries, bro. hope all's well over your end. which province in canada, if i may ask?

Holy Cow!, talk about a blast from the past. Good to hear from you Bro and thanks.

I think the Singaporean Canadians are probably the best united from what I can see. The food is the perennial magnet for these gathering. 150 is a lot. London is usually where the biggest gathering take place

Hope you guys are well.

There was an SG50 party recently in Canada (Mississauga specifically). I had been invited by a friend to tag along. SG High Comm to Canada Philip Eng was there. When it came to his turn to give a brief speech to commemorate the event, it was sublime to hear the words that he did not say.

You would be surprised at how many ex-Singaporeans turned up for the food. I put the number at easily 150 or more over 2 hours and I'm pretty sure some of the silent readers here could be among them. The diversity was interesting (at least to me), from older folks in their 50s-70s to teenagers and kids. From my guess, there were more older emigrants than recent emigrants.

There was one young guy, probably in his early 20s, who surprised me when he said that he preferred to be back in Singapore. I wondered the rest of the event whether he was trolling because he seemed so genuine about his preference.

Btw, the Liberals in government aim to welcome 300,000 new PRs for 2016 (targeted), higher than previous years.

indig10

why do the liberals want so many foreign trash in their country?they are fucking nuts.as much as i am a socialist,communist,liberal.

Mainly economic reasons. 33 million in population for a landmass that rivals the US at 300 million. Every province needs or wants newcomers. The immigration criteria is tough enough as it is and being a newcomer without that much vaunted "Canadian experience" puts you at a disadvantage. So those who are lucky or do make it through hard work value their achievement enough to be part of society and pull their own weight.

I have to be honest and say that I still do not understand the psyche of born-and-bred Canadians but the majority of those I've encountered are welcoming of newcomers who are willing to assimilate and adapt themselves to the societal norms here in Canada.

enterprise2

I am quite puzzled that Singaporeans genuinely think that infidelity is a crime or conduct for which the employer or the state has to address and bring the parties involved to be answerable for their conduct. I am also wondering if this is conditioned by the media over something that took place as result of Yawgate.

Before going on to Yawgate, let me sort of give the position in such matters that organisations in the main take over such matters. Firstly it is not their business and a private matter and HR and the management will make their position clear on this. They only intervene if there are allegations where abuse of office including favouritism is involved etc. Where dismal or disciplinary sanctions are involved, it is because things like the corporate card is used for the tryst or abuse of position has occurred or lies provided during an inquiry to address allegations arising from the affair and not the affair itself.

A former Director and Head of CPIB was appointed by PSC and the old man despite he was known to be involved in an office romance with a subordinate, both parties married. He proceeded to divorce his wife and this is where it gets interesting. The ex-wife who happened to be in CPIB was seconded to another Govt department and out of CPIB by the Civil Service to facilitate the appointment to the new post. And mind you the appointment to CPIB is not an easy hurdle to clear, possibly the highest standard expected in the civil service.

In the case of Yaw, he was not expelled for adultery. There was allegations from one of his conquest that she felt compelled to provide additional service to maintain her employment. Yaw failed to turn up to answer questions and did a runner. In fact, WP sort of treated it as a private matter in the first instance and only acted after the fresh allegations came about.

The PAP had through out its history including in recent times had cabinet ministers and MPs screwing around, having kids out of wedlock and if no serious abuse has taken place, the parties are told to sort out their own matters and not to make it a public spectacle. The Civil Service gets hundreds of complaints each year usually from aggrieved spouses and the vast majority is left to the parties to sort it out themselves. Sometimes the superiors step in to counsel if the office work is affected.

The point is that one should not be led by the state controlled media by the nose. Nobody proceeds to have an expensive by-elections because surprise surprise!! a man and woman had wild sex in the privacy of a room.

The state controlled media will never ask the PM if infidelity or adultery is a dismissible conduct. And you know why?

I somehow don't think we'll end up like France where the President gets to sneak out to visit his lover!

indig10

no worries, bro. hope all's well over your end. which province in canada, if i may ask?

All's good on my end. I'm in Ontario. Half wishing I had Vancouver as my backyard but the property prices there are ridiculous. On the bright side, many interesting places in/around Ontario to visit.

Agree. Properties super ex in Van and Toronto. I recall Richmond in Van which PRC and HK chaps later named as "Richmen" after they 'conquered' that area and that was in the 80s! Visited Toronto and Ottawa in the 80s.

indig10

Agree. Properties super ex in Van and Toronto. I recall Richmond in Van which PRC and HK chaps later named as "Richmen" after they 'conquered' that area and that was in the 80s! Visited Toronto and Ottawa in the 80s.

Mostly HK in the 80s who conquered Van. New wave of PRC conquering Van in recent 10 years now. It's gotten so bad that I know people who left Van for Toronto because of lack of good jobs there and the expensive realty. Globe and Mail did a recent coverage of how Van realtors got greedy and used contract assignments to profit off 2nd/3rd buyers before having a final buyer. B.C. governor promptly made noise. But everyone knows how the Chinese realtors in Van were in cahoots with PRC buyers and ruined the city. Only Canadians are too polite to be blunt about it but damage is done.

thanks, bro.

Under Sinkie law created by PAP, your CPF money technically does not belong to you, legally it belongs to the CPF board which is controlled by the PAP govt.

This is not an accurate statement. The CPF money in your CPF account belongs to you. Not the CPF. Under The Central Provident Fund Act Chapter 36, Section 6 (2) , the CPF Board/CPF is a trustee of your funds. They are not the fund owners, but hold and manage your CPF money in trust for you. This is deliberately obscured by the PAP.

I am quite puzzled that Singaporeans genuinely think that infidelity is a crime or conduct for which the employer or the state has to address and bring the parties involved to be answerable for their conduct. I am also wondering if this is conditioned by the media over something that took place as result of Yawgate.

Before going on to Yawgate, let me sort of give the position in such matters that organisations in the main take over such matters. Firstly it is not their business and a private matter and HR and the management will make their position clear on this. They only intervene if there are allegations where abuse of office including favouritism is involved etc. Where dismal or disciplinary sanctions are involved, it is because things like the corporate card is used for the tryst or abuse of position has occurred or lies provided during an inquiry to address allegations arising from the affair and not the affair itself.

A former Director and Head of CPIB was appointed by PSC and the old man despite he was known to be involved in an office romance with a subordinate, both parties married. He proceeded to divorce his wife and this is where it gets interesting. The ex-wife who happened to be in CPIB was seconded to another Govt department and out of CPIB by the Civil Service to facilitate the appointment to the new post. And mind you the appointment to CPIB is not an easy hurdle to clear, possibly the highest standard expected in the civil service.

In the case of Yaw, he was not expelled for adultery. There was allegations from one of his conquest that she felt compelled to provide additional service to maintain her employment. Yaw failed to turn up to answer questions and did a runner. In fact, WP sort of treated it as a private matter in the first instance and only acted after the fresh allegations came about.

The PAP had through out its history including in recent times had cabinet ministers and MPs screwing around, having kids out of wedlock and if no serious abuse has taken place, the parties are told to sort out their own matters and not to make it a public spectacle. The Civil Service gets hundreds of complaints each year usually from aggrieved spouses and the vast majority is left to the parties to sort it out themselves. Sometimes the superiors step in to counsel if the office work is affected.

The point is that one should not be led by the state controlled media by the nose. Nobody proceeds to have an expensive by-elections because surprise surprise!! a man and woman had wild sex in the privacy of a room.

The state controlled media will never ask the PM if infidelity or adultery is a dismissible conduct. And you know why?

You have encapsulated what is wrong with 70% of the assholes who vote for the PAP. Your value system is out of whack along with theirs. Its not a simple case of infidelity and who fucks who and how its a private matter between one man and one woman having sex in a private room.

At the core of the issue is trust and more specifically, Public Trust. When David Ong ran for office, he told the voters of Bukit Batok to trust him. Trust him to make their life better, to manage their estate better, to make sure the funds earmarked for their estates are properly spend, etc. After asking for and receiving this trust, he proceeds to betray his own family, namely his wife and three children by having an affair with a married woman. Lets be clear on this, it was not a sexual itch he was scratching with Wendy Lim, he could have hire any hooker or gone to JB to fuck some pros, or done one night stands, and no one would know the better. Instead, he cheated on his wife of 20 + plus years, and did not consider all the love, affection, children, good and bad times, etc that they had in this long marriage. Even worse, imagine how humiliated his wife and kids are. How can she even show her face in public without people whispering behind her back "Oh, you know, that is David Ong's wife, poor thing". What about the kids, who have to go to school and have other kids laugh at them? What about his son in NS? Forever, people will look at them and know that their father was fucking other women behind their backs. To put his own family through this massive ordeal, people that he loved and cherish, shows the enormity of this guys moral bankruptcy.

Now how does all this apply to the voters of Bukit Batok? Ask yourself, how you can trust an MP to look after your affairs when he will screw his own family this way? He wouldn't think twice about fucking a voter or voters over. Yes, he may perform his job satisfactorily, but in the back of your mind, can you 100% trust him? If your wife goes to him with a problem at one of his MTP sessions, can you be assured he will not try to date her? It's possible that his infidelity may have no impact on MP performance, but when you are paying for $17,000 MP, you want to get the squeaky clean one. If you buy a $300K Mercedes, do you want the one with a small dent on it or the one that is totally clean, no damages? You want the clean one, right? Even though both cars perform exactly the same and there is no issue with ride and handling of the slightly dented car. This is the same here. In the back of your mind, you cannot trust this guy, you always have to keep and eye on him. Even morally bankrupt Gay Loong understood this and had him "resign".

Speaking for myself, I have business dealings with many types of men. Some openly acknowledge to me that they like to chiong and even invite me to come along. Some, I know are devout family men, and are very open to me meeting the family. I always keep an extra lookout in dealings with wife cheaters. If they can so easily cheat on their wives, they will not think twice of cheating me. This is the case with David Ong. ALso, when I am introduced to the wife of the cheaters, its hard for me to look them in the eyes when I know their husbands are cheating and they don't know it. Sinkies need to have a higher standard. Perhaps its true that morally corrupted people elect morally corrupted people too.