• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

IMPORTANT *** NOW mandatory to wear mask

rocket

SINGAPORE: It is now mandatory to wear a mask when stepping out of the house, with some exceptions, announced Minister for National Development Lawrence Wong on Tuesday (Apr 14).

The mask-wearing requirement takes effect immediately, said Mr Wong, as he spoke at a press conference conducted by the multi-ministry task force tackling COVID-19.

Individuals who are caught refusing to wear a mask will be fined S$300 on their first offence, while those who flout the rule a second time will be fined S$1,000. Egregious cases will be prosecuted in court, he added.

Foreign residents caught breaching these rules might have their work passes or permanent resident status revoked.

The minute you leave your room, or you leave your house, you have to wear a mask when you go out.”

READ: Singapore's COVID-19 cases exceed 3,000 with 334 new infections; situation remains 'critical'

Children below the age of two will not need to wear a mask based on medical experts’ recommendations on child safety, he said.

As for adults, only those who are engaging in strenuous exercises like running and jogging do not have to wear a mask, but they will have to put it on once they stop exercising.

Mr Wong also reiterated the need for them to maintain a safe distance from others when they are exercising.

“Please do not use this mask-wearing requirement now to say ‘ok, I can go out’," said Mr Wong.

“You should not go out as much as possible. Just stay at home. Do all the right things - practice good hand hygiene and stay at home as much as possible,” he added.

“But in the rare occasion that you do need to go out for purchase of your groceries or purchase of essentials, then it's only at that time that you wear a mask.”

“We are very happy that many Singaporeans and residents are cooperating and doing their part, and complying with these measures,” said Mr Wong, noting that movement across the island has reduced significantly.

With safe distancing ambassadors and enforcement officers “hard at work on the ground”, hotspots like wet markets, hawker centres and parks “are generally now under control”, he said.

“Most people are doing the right thing. There are a few who are not and they will be dealt with.”

Acknowledging that some people are finding it “hard to adjust” to the circuit breaker measures and are “suffering from cabin fever”, Mr Wong said the Government has had to reject many appeals for activities.

“We cannot let up at this stage. These are still early days and we have at least another three more weeks to go. So we have to double down on our efforts and just stay at home.”

About 20 per cent of the workforce comprises essential workers and continue to travel to their workplaces, Mr Wong noted. But the list of companies classified as essential services will be tightened further to reduce the number of people commuting to work.

Noting that on top of wearing masks, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said observing personal hygiene “is a very critical factor in disrupting the transmission chain”.

“This is particularly important during this period of enhanced safe distancing. And that is why we have also enhanced our advisory on the masks, and now making it mandatory when you go out, because we want to do everything we can to reduce the risk of transmission, so as to keep our keep our number of cases to as low as possible. And this is in line with our strategy of this enhanced safe distancing approach over the next few weeks.”

All chao ceca now don't wear mask and get your dog pass revoked.

As for adults, only those who are engaging in strenuous exercises like running and jogging do not have to wear a mask, but they will have to put it on once they stop exercising.

Once again, totally ambiguous bullshit. After hard running and gasping for breath, are they supposed to immediately put on a mask? How about taking the lift after exercising?

And define 'strenuous'. Age group and gender considered? :rolleyes:

You know what it seems to me? Someone is taking the infection numbers very personally, like a slap in the face politically. Hence this, and now.

Once again, totally ambiguous bullshit. After hard running and gasping for breath, are they supposed to immediately put on a mask? How about taking the lift after exercising?

You know what it seems to me? Someone is taking the infection numbers very personally, like a slap in the face politically. Hence this, and now.
Don't understand. After jogging u be panting then wear mask follow by fainting .

Getting kancheong liao.
Any how luan luan whack liao.

The gahmen really have to set much higher communications standards. We have seniors
who have not access to smart phones and TV and the rules keep changing almost on a daily
basis that even educated people have an issue.

What about brisk walking? Do I wear?
And when I slow down?
Or when jogging, become breathless - do I have to wear?
Or I cycle slowly along the path
ETC ETC
KNN. KNN.

i seen ppl don wear mask, driver also let them board,think from same hometown so ok.Mrt got ppl don wear fscemask, can even go thru gantry,think station ppl all blind ,or all ah bang type friend froend no problem,like our papigs work hand in hand woth bros

why the xia suay ministar so quiet on this mandatory mask thing ? no more bitching on idiotic sinkies wearing masks? taiwan dont need million dollar ministers and with their mask up policy right from the start, businesses are still open and today just announced no new cases. shame on you xia suay ministar.