• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I believe the recession is already happening in Singapore

DIVISION1

Singapore. Please refer to news media releases or academic figures who have filtered out the statement. All governments priortize on emphasis of statement releases. The government of Singapore has not resorted to releasing financial market policy decisions on weekends with such frequency, like the United States. Relatively speaking, the government of Singapore exercises a reasonable degree of responsibility.

lifeafter41

Corporate failures will follow bank failures. The first may happen any time soon.

F1 is just a one time feel good event. The real economy and the current situation will revert when the euphoria is over.

That's when things starts to get ugly......

newyorker88

The government of Singapore has already come out saying through the public media that technical recession has occured. Technical recession does not necessary imply all out recession.

WHAT SO TECHNICAL ABOUT A RECESSION? When you have a recession, it is a recession. people in he streets are out of jobs, and business are suffering. No point talk cock.

CUt ministers pay, do away with ERP, and reduce GST. If they do that, I am sure the economy recover very fast.

lifeafter41

WHAT SO TECHNICAL ABOUT A RECESSION? When you have a recession, it is a recession. people in he streets are out of jobs, and business are suffering. No point talk cock.

CUt ministers pay, do away with ERP, and reduce GST. If they do that, I am sure the economy recover very fast.

I think you have got it wrong, it should be as follows:

Cut your CPF and the year end bonus, do away with increment, increase GST to help the poor.

As for the percentage, I leave it to one's imagination......

chupacabra

Because more can't afford restaurant food? :wink:

Anyway, if recession, your foodcourt biz should improve. Focus on economy rice :biggrin:
Restaurants have been suffering for the past 3 years. Don't be fool be the crowded scenes on weekends. The restaurant business in Singapore is dead.
Majority DO NOT make money on weekdays and especially lunches. The launching of enclaves like One Rochester and Dempsey have made the restaurant business saturated.

Pappies have raised the population by a million but failed to create an internal robust economy as these new migrants are just here to milk the cash cow and not spend hence poor profits at restaurants and new retail outlets.

The problem is about to get worst with the hundreds of retail and f & b outlets to open with the IRs. Not forgetting the thousands more FTs.

newyorker88

I think you have got it wrong, it should be as follows:

Cut your CPF and the year end bonus, do away with increment, increase GST to help the poor.

As for the percentage, I leave it to one's imagination......

Well, what ever, cutting the ministers PAY AND BONUS, reducing the GST to help the poor( which helps more since they PAY most), and do away with ERP.

As for CPF, if they cut, it will not help much either, since sinkees have to pay for their HDB flats. And less money in the hands of singkees means less rolling $$$ in the market.

newyorker88

Pappies have raised the population by a million but failed to create an internal robust economy as these new migrants are just here to milk the cash cow and not spend hence poor profits at restaurants and new retail outlets.

QUOTE]

You got it right. I have head complaints from hawkers that China FTs bring their own food, and not go to hawkers for food.

chupacabra

There is a huge retail and F&B bubble brewing and pappies have failed to see this. Yet bringing in more FTs from pinoyland, china, bangla and other 3rd world cuntries to fuel the so called "shortage" in manpower at these very same places that are not making money. These FTs are the one appliying for Sinkee PR and not the rich ones.

Once the bubble burst, these new residents gonna compete with sinkees for the whatever jobs that are left behind. Sinkees are doomed.

DIVISION1

You are mixing apples with oranges. You exhibit clear sign you cannot be a policy maker and implementer. Refer to the thread replies concerning compensation.

silverfox@

I was travelling along the roads of AYE to CTE this afternoon after visiting a friend's relative funeral wake. Notice that there were rows and rows of uncompleted condo's along the AYE, similarly on the CTE, there was huge blocks of uncompleted condo's along the Newton areas too. If the recession moves in, or already in, was wondering what would happened to those condo's or those people that have committed during the Golden period. Doesn't looks good to me moving forward.

In singapore, the development of these condos would not stop. If you go other countries, the development of condos will stall as developers go bankrupt.

During the 1997 economic downturn, the big boys continued to hold on to those units that are not sold. They didn't even considered putting the price down to sell them off. They could have done that to make money than to leave it empty. Instead they lease them out or prefer to keep them when there is demand or when the price moves up. You don't believe? Far East tried selling me units empty since 97, at the year 07. 10 years and they kept it empty. The price was not even low when they tried selling me. Don't even try of making them a low offer, they wouldn't even consider. This kind of trick go overseas, the developer salivate liao:o

silverfox@

Actually it doesn't matter to the individual at both ends of the scale whether there is a recession or not.
Do you think the minister's lifestyle is affected by a recession? Do you think the old man collecting garbage is affected by the recession?
Unfortunately, it's the general well being of all those in between that is reduced.
Hence the minister should donate some of his wealth to support the really poor. :smile:

Recession will happen worldwide. But how much will the impact affect each and every country. There are many countries going to be heavily impact more than Singapore.

Malaysia, Thailand, USA

Malaysia and Thailand, both have unstable governments and it will take a while before they structure the economy. Meanwhile they have a lot of inner fighting among them. So by the time they fight finish, which don't know when, they would absorb a lot of impact as they spend their time fighting instead of thinking of solutions.

USA is just another arse where they are busy topping up their pitholes with sand. All the problems are created by them. Oil issues, subprime are all just idiotic issues they created

chupacabra

Recession will happen worldwide. But how much will the impact affect each and every country. There are many countries going to be heavily impact more than Singapore.

Malaysia, Thailand, USA

Malaysia and Thailand, both have unstable governments and it will take a while before they structure the economy. Meanwhile they have a lot of inner fighting among them. So by the time they fight finish, which don't know when, they would absorb a lot of impact as they spend their time fighting instead of thinking of solutions.

USA is just another arse where they are busy topping up their pitholes with sand. All the problems are created by them. Oil issues, subprime are all just idiotic issues they created

You are speaking in a political tone. The countries you have mention have got plenty of resources and thus provide an A1 quality of life. If Thailand were to ease immigration laws, sinkees would camp outside their embasy in droves to emigrate there even though the thai gov are not sound.

silverfox@

You are speaking in a political tone. The countries you have mention have got plenty of resources and thus provide an A1 quality of life. If Thailand were to ease immigration laws, sinkees would camp outside their embasy in droves to emigrate there even though the thai gov are not sound.

How well the recession will be handled depends on your government. Which country never experienced recession? The way some of you talk is as though Singapore is the only country experiencing recession. Take your binoculars and look further and you will see many others are no better.

How much can this impact be soften, depends on what kind of measures being taken place?

A lot of the sinkees you mentioned want to emigrate Thailand because of the sex and the girls. So don't come and say they want emigrate because of plenty of resources. Utter rubbish. :o

chupacabra

How well the recession will be handled depends on your government. Which country never experienced recession? The way some of you talk is as though Singapore is the only country experiencing recession. Take your binoculars and look further and you will see many others are no better.

How much can this impact be soften, depends on what kind of measures being taken place?

A lot of the sinkees you mentioned want to emigrate Thailand because of the sex and the girls. So don't come and say they want emigrate because of plenty of resources. Utter rubbish. :o

What about alot of sinkees want usa passports? Sex and girls oso? People emigrate for only one thing, plenty of resources for themselves which includes girs and sex REGARDLESS of recession.

chupacabra

[COLOR="Cyan"]A lot of the sinkees you mentioned want to emigrate Thailand because of the sex and the girls. So don't come and say they want emigrate because of plenty of resources. Utter rubbish. :o[/QUOTE][/COLOR]

Even if the world is in recession, the number of sinkees at immigration dept and immigration lawyers will go up as figures have shown.

Why? Because sinkees balls are squeeze more and backside tear even bigger in sinkapore recesion compared to other cuntries.

You obviously missed out on the report in the papers late on immigration numbers out of sinkeetown. I don't think girls and sex was mentioned or was a major factor as you said.

chinkangkor

Now is the good time for Iran to make a nuclear bomb. US has no more $$$ to fight another war.

silverfox@

[COLOR="Cyan"]A lot of the sinkees you mentioned want to emigrate Thailand because of the sex and the girls. So don't come and say they want emigrate because of plenty of resources. Utter rubbish. :o
[/COLOR]

Even if the world is in recession, the number of sinkees at immigration dept and immigration lawyers will go up as figures have shown.

Why? Because sinkees balls are squeeze more and backside tear even bigger in sinkapore recesion compared to other cuntries.

You obviously missed out on the report in the papers late on immigration numbers out of sinkeetown. I don't think girls and sex was mentioned or was a major factor as you said.[/QUOTE]

Immigration numbers is everywhere. What is so special? Every country has its in and out. You want to tell me there is a country where there is no one migrating out? If there is, please enlighten us.:o Or you want to say only Singapore has the highest number of immigrants? If yes again, please enlighten us and quote the source. :p