• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to increase Employment of Singaporeans

Bigfuck

Fire the HR and marketing departments. They are useless, spend the whole day chatting and planning for dates and dinners. Even some of the statutory boards of the failed regime have HR who look at cute faces to decide who to employ. This is a fact. But what qualifications do HR have besides slutting around? Nothing. Overpaid to recommend how good others are. If HR have no ability how do they recommend. Human resource is a misonomer. HR stands for human rubbish. Fire HR and put them into unemployment and things will work out.

Bigfuck

you got fucked big big by HR?

Not me. I have seen too many cases. I know what HR does. I never go through HRs or agencies and I never had to. I know they are fucked. They are the reasons F trash are coming in bigtime.

The best way to increase employment is to make Sinkie women wear this to work.

91xs8W7.jpg

ForFun

Fire the HR and marketing departments. They are useless, spend the whole day chatting and planning for dates and dinners. Even some of the statutory boards of the failed regime have HR who look at cute faces to decide who to employ. This is a fact. But what qualifications do HR have besides slutting around? Nothing. Overpaid to recommend how good others are. If HR have no ability how do they recommend. Human resource is a misonomer. HR stands for human rubbish. Fire HR and put them into unemployment and things will work out.

'Human Remains' more appropriate. :eek:

Dark Knight

HR is a redundant department which is very political in nature.
They merely deal with all the labour laws, insurance and admin stuffs which any manager (given the time) can also handle.
Majority of them are very unprofessional during the interviews and always pick bones in eggs.
They can be very shallow which don't understand much about their own corporate culture and work ethics.

singham

ya, HR always last to go during retrenchment exercise.

HR is a redundant department which is very political in nature.
They merely deal with all the labour laws, insurance and admin stuffs which any manager (given the time) can also handle.
Majority of them are very unprofessional during the interviews and always pick bones in eggs.
They can be very shallow which don't understand much about their own corporate culture and work ethics.

Bigfuck

ya, HR always last to go during retrenchment exercise.

Because of them all SOEs in Singapore losing money and suffering massive corruption. I just heard a few more scary cases how bad it is. Look at the lousy Kerbaya airlines. No really the pits.

Bigfuck

See I told you. It is all HR's misdoings. Ask so many questions why. People can fly plan, make engines and cakes. HR can do fuck? They are the parasites and the destroyers of Singapore and company wealth. HR should be made unemployed. Then the masses in Singapore will become employed. Run a few DISC tests where anyone can fake and the result interpretations internet can find. WTF? No HR means a future for Singapore. Or HR should be paid S$350. At least cleaners at S$850 got use. HR cannot even throw tissue paper but bitch how others are not qualified when they have no qualifications and try to armchair criticize.

[This article was sent to the May 1st Organizer and CC-ed to TheRealSingapore.com]

I refer to your Hong Lim Park Protest on 1 May.

I also heard news about how some foreigners were asked to resign after their S-Passes were not renewed in the private sector.

I have a friend working as a pharmacist in Guardian Pharmacy. She also said that a few Pinoys were asked to resign as pharmacists after their S-Passes were not renewed.

Many people have said that if foreigners leave tomorrow, there will be more vacancies and companies in the private sector will start hiring locals especially in the IT, hospitality and healthcare sector.

I am already in my 30s. Somehow, I feel that this is not true.

As the Chinese saying goes, “At 30, one stand firms”. For unemployed PMETs or others who wish to change their career, this may not entirely be true.

When you are a fresh graduate, you have better job opportunities and HR will not grill you so much on why you wish to leave your present job because you have no previous job experience in the first place.

When I was a fresh graduate, I applied to many hospital laboratories as I specialise in biomedical sciences. I realised that this industry has rampant discrimination practices that were not addressed by HR.

For example, many private hospital laboratories in Parkway and even public hospitals are staffed by Pinoys. The reason being that running a laboratory has high operating costs – deep freezer and liquid nitrogen and biological reagents cost a bomb when they operate 24 hours.

In polyclinics, many medical technologists are staffed by females as many patients prefer females to extract blood from them.

For me, as I had a tuition loan to pay back to CPF – I have used my father’s CPF monies to fund my university education, I have to find a job quickly so that CPF would stop sending me red warning letters.

After getting shot down by hospitals, I found a job that is totally out of my field. It was an admin position and salary was only S$2000 a month in a non-profit organisation. At least CPF would now get off my back.

During my working years, I applied to some new hospitals that were up-and-coming such as Khoo Teck Phuat hospital and Private Hospitals such as Novena Parkway Hospital.

By then, I was already 30 years old. I was shortlisted for a Khoo Teck Phuat hospital interview but HR obviously grilled me why I didn’t start my career in the laboratory as a fresh graduate.

I was also shortlisted for an interview in National Parks Board. The HR lady asked me why I choose to go back to health / life sciences when in actual fact, I cannot even find a job that is in my interest when I graduated. It was only when an exisitng employee resigns then the position will be opened up for grabs.

To HR, it is highly implausible that at age 30, one would make a change in career in a totally different field. At age 30, HR will also be hesitant to employ a matured employee and risk creating tension with a younger workforce.

My mother, being naive, was optimistic that several new hospitals coming up soon would mean more job opportunities for me.

She doesn’t seem to realise that with age, there is a law of diminishing returns in a person’s market value.

There was one time, I accompanied her to IRAS at Newton to trash out my father’s taxes. The IRAS officer at Level 1 was very young and definitely a fresh graduate.

At the end of the discussion, I asked her if majority of the IRAS tax officers started their careers as fresh graduates in their 20s. She actually replied that most of them were fresh graduates when they joined IRAS. Even for those with working experiences, they joined IRAS when they were below 30 years old. Once you are above 30, HR will expect the job applicant to go for senior positions such as Director level.

That, to me, is already a form of age discrimination.

To my mother, I hope she should understand by now why I have problem getting a steady job – when I am only 30 years old.

Edmund

Grace

///
You are Right!!
have you seen their application form of 20 yrs ago.
they juz photocopy over and over again and it is so faint and crooked.
what are these Human Rubbish doing????
no pride in their application forms?
and the stupid questions they asked?
Truly Human Rubbish!!!!
///
xxx
:oIo:

Bigfuck

See I told you. It is all HR's misdoings. Ask so many questions why. People can fly plan, make engines and cakes. HR can do fuck? They are the parasites and the destroyers of Singapore and company wealth. HR should be made unemployed. Then the masses in Singapore will become employed. Run a few DISC tests where anyone can fake and the result interpretations internet can find. WTF? No HR means a future for Singapore. Or HR should be paid S$350. At least cleaners at S$850 got use. HR cannot even throw tissue paper but bitch how others are not qualified when they have no qualifications and try to armchair criticize.

[This article was sent to the May 1st Organizer and CC-ed to TheRealSingapore.com]

I refer to your Hong Lim Park Protest on 1 May.

I also heard news about how some foreigners were asked to resign after their S-Passes were not renewed in the private sector.

I have a friend working as a pharmacist in Guardian Pharmacy. She also said that a few Pinoys were asked to resign as pharmacists after their S-Passes were not renewed.

Many people have said that if foreigners leave tomorrow, there will be more vacancies and companies in the private sector will start hiring locals especially in the IT, hospitality and healthcare sector.

I am already in my 30s. Somehow, I feel that this is not true.

As the Chinese saying goes, “At 30, one stand firms”. For unemployed PMETs or others who wish to change their career, this may not entirely be true.

When you are a fresh graduate, you have better job opportunities and HR will not grill you so much on why you wish to leave your present job because you have no previous job experience in the first place.

When I was a fresh graduate, I applied to many hospital laboratories as I specialise in biomedical sciences. I realised that this industry has rampant discrimination practices that were not addressed by HR.

For example, many private hospital laboratories in Parkway and even public hospitals are staffed by Pinoys. The reason being that running a laboratory has high operating costs – deep freezer and liquid nitrogen and biological reagents cost a bomb when they operate 24 hours.

In polyclinics, many medical technologists are staffed by females as many patients prefer females to extract blood from them.

For me, as I had a tuition loan to pay back to CPF – I have used my father’s CPF monies to fund my university education, I have to find a job quickly so that CPF would stop sending me red warning letters.

After getting shot down by hospitals, I found a job that is totally out of my field. It was an admin position and salary was only S$2000 a month in a non-profit organisation. At least CPF would now get off my back.

During my working years, I applied to some new hospitals that were up-and-coming such as Khoo Teck Phuat hospital and Private Hospitals such as Novena Parkway Hospital.

By then, I was already 30 years old. I was shortlisted for a Khoo Teck Phuat hospital interview but HR obviously grilled me why I didn’t start my career in the laboratory as a fresh graduate.

I was also shortlisted for an interview in National Parks Board. The HR lady asked me why I choose to go back to health / life sciences when in actual fact, I cannot even find a job that is in my interest when I graduated. It was only when an exisitng employee resigns then the position will be opened up for grabs.

To HR, it is highly implausible that at age 30, one would make a change in career in a totally different field. At age 30, HR will also be hesitant to employ a matured employee and risk creating tension with a younger workforce.

My mother, being naive, was optimistic that several new hospitals coming up soon would mean more job opportunities for me.

She doesn’t seem to realise that with age, there is a law of diminishing returns in a person’s market value.

There was one time, I accompanied her to IRAS at Newton to trash out my father’s taxes. The IRAS officer at Level 1 was very young and definitely a fresh graduate.

At the end of the discussion, I asked her if majority of the IRAS tax officers started their careers as fresh graduates in their 20s. She actually replied that most of them were fresh graduates when they joined IRAS. Even for those with working experiences, they joined IRAS when they were below 30 years old. Once you are above 30, HR will expect the job applicant to go for senior positions such as Director level.

That, to me, is already a form of age discrimination.

To my mother, I hope she should understand by now why I have problem getting a steady job – when I am only 30 years old.

Edmund

MBSSLOTS

Best way?
Aiyah, simple lah...build perimeter fencing for all hdb flats and hire sinkies as security guards.
This deter ah long runners from spraying hdb estates and give sinkies employment.
Residemts also feel happy.
Then vote PAP too.

///
You are Right!!
have you seen their application form of 20 yrs ago.
they juz photocopy over and over again and it is so faint and crooked.
what are these Human Rubbish doing????
no pride in their application forms?
and the stupid questions they asked?
Truly Human Rubbish!!!!
///
xxx

:oIo:

becos those forms were typed using typewriter i guess. HR lose the original copy, so they lazy to retype .
Some of them is totally cannot see the words just a few ink marks,,and worst they use those brown yellowish paper, really like toilet paper :biggrin:

singham

i agree with hands and legs up that HR is the most jiak liao bee function, very hypocritical in real terms to describe them. it's not up to them to engage but the direct hiring managers or directors who do so. they merely source for candidates. besides this, training and sometimes, payroll matters also come under them. when there is retrenchment exercise, they will be the last one to let go. knn...

i think this edmund should change his profession to become a banker. i have friends his age with chemical engineering degree becoming bankers and they seem very proud of it.:rolleyes: but at least, he shall be able to hang around with chiobus bankers.:p

Edmund

Bigfuck

i agree with hands and legs up that HR is the most jiak liao bee function, very hypocritical in real terms to describe them. it's not up to them to engage but the direct hiring managers or directors who do so. they merely source for candidates. besides this, training and sometimes, payroll matters also come under them. when there is retrenchment exercise, they will be the last one to let go. knn...

i think this edmund should change his profession to become a banker. i have friends his age with chemical engineering degree becoming bankers and they seem very proud of it.:rolleyes: but at least, he shall be able to hang around with chiobus bankers.:p

Actually, HR is a very low skilled profession. I have seen o level admin executives administrative all the stupid tests. Even primary 6 can give the test results. But can do a nurse's job that was deemed low skilled?

.:p

We should not blame local HR, there are scapegoat in every profession. However, foreigner HR is best avoided because they are clueless of Singapore laws and statutory requirements. They thought there was no quota in bringing in their own kind and anyhow act like they owned the company.

Local HR jobs are pretty standard - payroll, job advertisements, monitor staff leaves/medical, churn out employment letters, staff insurance. Very administrative.

There are two kind of HR:

1) Administrative kind mentioned above - they are largely administrator who took instruction from their boss (this kind has no bone and very unprofessional)

2) Advisory kind - other than administrative work, they are very familiar with local laws and tend to be quite ethical in managing HR functions and run with welfare of staff in mind. They leaned towards "advisory role", not those "yes-man" mentioned in (1).

Item (2) is very rare in Singapore which explained why Singapore HR is so screwed up and staff retention rate is low.

To add insult to injury, those HR headhunters or recruitment agents are salesman armed with HR admin knowledge. They are not HR professional but PR trained to be the like of those Financial consult, insurance agents or real estate agents.