• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Good Minister Shan Explains To Cheapskate Sinkies That ICA Officers Working Their Guts Out! Stop Trying To Buy Cheap At JB!

RogerK

will our security impaired from under manpower and overworked staff?

Instead of talking about under manpower and overworked, why can't he cut his pay by 10%.

I am sure that will be able to pay for a few more Officers to man the counter 24/7.

Also being million $$ paid, why can't he understand why Singaporeans flock to JB? Why is petrol and all kinds of goods and services so much cheaper in JB? If mediocre commoners can figured out why it is worth the effort to travel thru the checkpoints, why can't he?

What an idiot he is.

ckmpd

will our security impaired from under manpower and overworked staff?
Is Shanmugam prempting trouble? He is now warning us that ICA officers are overworked and counters are undermanned. If there is severe jams at the causeway or a security incident, he will come out to say that he has already warned us.

My point is, if he is doing his job, there shd not be officers who are overworked, counters that are not manned and there shd be no security breack.

We want to let Shanmugam know tt his crying wolf now shows his incompetence and if there is any security breach in future, he is still accountable as Minister of Home affairs. He job is to solve manpower, operational and morale problems. Telling us he has manpower problems does not absolve him

ckmpd

Instead of talking about under manpower and overworked, why can't he cut his pay by 10%.

I am sure that will be able to pay for a few Officer to man the counter 24/7.

Also being million $$ paid, why can't he understand why Singaporeans flock to JB? Why is petrol and all kinds of goods and services so much cheaper in JB? If mediocre commoners can figured out why it is worth the effort to travel thru the checkpoints, why can't he?

What an idiot he is.
Right on. Shanmugam shd just get his ass off the chair and do useful work

ckmpd

When you built 10 counters, it meant you would have 10 persons to man all counters if situation demanded. Otherwise build so many for show?
Agree. This shows that MHA has poor planning...either overplanned the counters or underplanned manpower manning. MHA Minister is responsible for MHA's poor performance. Dont come and cry to us when things go wrong

The problem is not caused by ICA or the PAP government.

The fault clearly lies with Singapore citizens for being too lazy to become ICA officers.

The PAP has created so many cushy jobs with high pay for sinkies that they refuse to take up jobs that require shift work and long hours.

Perhaps the government should remove well paying jobs that require little effort or they could bar sinkies from such jobs and allow FTs only.

melzp

we got to admit that this is a reluctant job; esp serving cheapo sinkies who top up petrol, etc.

If officers are overworked; pls provide figures of the fainted ones.

NanoSpeed

Agree. This shows that MHA has poor planning...either overplanned the counters or underplanned manpower manning. MHA Minister is responsible for MHA's poor performance. Dont come and cry to us when things go wrong

And it's no good excuse to say that the counter is not being manned not because the staff is idling but deployed somewhere else.

The counter is not manned because lazy sinkies refuse to do the job. It's the fault of sinkies not the fault of the government.

KNN 山本康 trying to pull a fast one KNN the actual reason should be bad mgt and many officers having their long holiday KNN

The problem is not caused by ICA or the PAP government.

The fault clearly lies with Singapore citizens for being too lazy to become ICA officers.

The PAP has created so many cushy jobs with high pay for sinkies that they refuse to take up jobs that require shift work and long hours.

Perhaps the government should remove well paying jobs that require little effort or they could bar sinkies from such jobs and allow FTs only.

But many laid off PMET sinkees are working as security guards and taxi drivers. So, what is the disconnect? Security guards and taxi drivers have worse working hours than ICA officers.

If Singapore were to merge will Malaysia once again all these border controls could be dispensed with.
Even with merger sinkapore will have some sort of border control in place like East Mudlaysia .. people from peninsula mudland can't travel freely to the East

Pap should fall back to their tried and tested way of solving problems with money. Just set up a VIP queue for travellers willing to pay $200/head for express check outs. If no money to go VIP queue just queue with the rest of the unwashed masses.

Does Shanmugam think that claiming that ICA officers are overworked is a good reason for the causeway jams? Does Shanmugam thinking that his statement will gain public sympathy?

They are harping that we are or have become a DIGITAL NATION...the customs counters are backwards in time, or have technology that is so far behind that they need to catch up. What Shame Your Gun is saying..."please read the lips" & anything between the legs..read that too; please approve the increase in budget to upgrade & VOTE FOR PAP, so that, they can improve & SERVE YOU BETTER.

For simple starters...our Passports have RFID embedded...you can install scanner to read the info on your ppt...when you are within, say within 300m of the counters...something, like "Harry Potter's Maruder's maps"..or install face recongnition scanner to match the info...etc

My point is....what it being said is.....WE ARE WORKING HARD FOR YOU...GIVE US MORE SO THAT WE CAN IMPROVE THE SYSTEMS & WORK EVEN HARDER FOR YOU.

BUT, REMEMBER TO VOTE FOR PAP...to ensure YOU GET THE BEST..PAP IS THE BEST!

KuanTi01

Definitely not in the ivory tower... Got multimillionaire minister, senior mos, mos, perm sec. KNN need so many to do one job? Long live PAP, huat ahhhhhhh

Oh yes for a tiny island city state, save for the under-staffed ICA, we have an over-paid and bloated civil service and government.:biggrin: