• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Going down Food Memory Lane, Old Restaurants/Coffehouses of yesteryear

Adjourned to take in the 'view' at places like Mount Faber, oh and the SYTs chiobus I use to go out with in those days were jolly particular about grooming BO and bad breath, actually come to think of it they would provide the breath mints before getting down to the hanky panky:rolleyes::D:p
You mean, you adjourned to one quiet corner of QEII walk?, and do the rubaba ? or spread poncho across the road, in the shade of the trees in the padang? no?:rolleyes: but you don;t need tic tac, after all, bot of you are eating the same stuff?...

Nostalgia beats some of the political slant here anytime. And our (golden?)age showing up on our sleeves?:o
..Baron's Table was located at old ANA Hotel.
Great sun brunch there then. Kns, I had my small wedding lunch reception cocktail there. Cost me a small fortune, with drinks costing more than food:(
scroobal said:
..food and sex seem to get in the way. 3 places of assignation where food met sex - Sloan Court Hotel, Ladyhill Hotel
Heady mix. Sloane Court's pints with ikan bilis chili snack still around after all these years. Food was not that great, but heck the ang mohs didn't quite notice diff.
..some even gave out tickets! Can't recall what it said though
Weight was sometimes in imperial system like stones... got conversion table. Tickets machiam fortune cookies.. say all things nice;)
halsey02 said:
salad bowl...there was one cafe/coffee house in Orchard Cinema, where one have a bird's eye view of the bowling lanes, at Jackie's bowl..food, so, so...but you have free entertainment...of watching people, throwing gutter balls
Alamak, even had a date there. And Jackies bowl was meeting point, whether you bowled or not. Recall student concession, and had made friends with counter staff to chope lanes.

Those days, only use handwritten score sheets, at best crayons flashed on screen. So we needed trustworthy scorer (who could count).

And snrcitizen, oh car park...recall that cowboy bloke who hused to hang around. Quite a draw with tourists

Oh yes, then it was off to midnight mass and also to check out the SYTs chiobus in their christmas best at church, mix of angel and devil:rolleyes::D:p

You make me water in the eyes,,,Christmas, just not Christmas anymore, without the family around..friends etc..

The Christmas Log Cake, the Fruit Cake...you mentioned egg nog...then out come the liquor..and by midnight, we will be singing " Jingle Belle, Jingle, Belle, dashing through the snow..without your underwear"!... ha ha ha:D eggnog, liquor, fruit cake..make great combinations.... ha ha ha ha

(

Adjourned to take in the 'view' at places like Mount Faber, oh and the SYTs chiobus I use to go out with in those days were jolly particular about grooming BO and bad breath, actually come to think of it they would provide the breath mints before getting down to the hanky panky:rolleyes::D:p

You remembered to pull up the handbrakes?...;) do you have to wash you hands first?, besides having to partake tic tac, spearmint gums?;)

Yes I liked that filling too, think they had both, one for vegetarians perhaps.

I loved that crepe shop! The mushroom (or was it beef?) stroganoff was good.

Don't think so, Snrcitizen is probably right was located at the old ANA Hotel in Nassim, think it was previously Sheraton before Sheraton moved to Scotts Rd. Dark place from what I can recall. Goodwood known for Gordon's Grill I think.

I thought Baron's Table is at Goodwood Park? .

Oh really? Only ate there once or twice, cooking never left an impression on me. Went there for the view.

I had icky food at Compass Rose though. :p.

Curly fries were quite yummy. Don't think I have tasted the same type of flavour since.

I think the square patties at Wendy's was funny, didn't get to eat those though. What about the curly fries at A&W?

Adjourned to take in the 'view' at places like Mount Faber, oh and the SYTs chiobus I use to go out with in those days were jolly particular about grooming BO and bad breath, actually come to think of it they would provide the breath mints before getting down to the hanky panky
Ah, those frosted up car windows..:p;)

The Dutch celebrate St Nicholas Day (St Nick seems to be like Santa to them) with yummy treats like authentic fresh baked ginger bread men. Tried some at a Dutch friend's house very yummy, nowadays when I eat ginger bread men I tend to think of the character in Shrek though:rolleyes::D

Aw man. Makes me wanna celebrate Christmas the way you describe. Tell me what homemade stuff you guys like? :)

Oh yes, but the running rats lagi best:eek::D
If one could remember the hawker stalls facing the Singapore River, the ones outside the old NRIC Office ( now some Asian Musem), first the Char Kway Teow stall, the 'yong tau foo' stall, that starts at 11am and finishes at 2.20pm daily, you have to wait half and hour for your food.

Then by the river, back of Chartered Bank( then later SCB), you have the row of stalls, you have the lovely the wanton mee, the Indian muslim food stalls, the Malay Food Stalls ( real Malay Food, not like today), the je char stall, kam chia juice, fruit juice stall..(sugar cane)..etc.. so many yummy ones..

I liked the meepork fishball stall on the first level, the bapok doing the service was a real wayang queen but somehow took a liking to me so got good service, alamak maybe he was after my dick:eek::D Then there was a chicken rice stall also on the first level darn good roast chicken, lor mee stall and a curry stall on the 2nd level. The curry stall owner must have been doing well because I once spotted him driving a benz down circular road.:p

then over to Golden Shoe Carpark....second floor, the fish ball noodle,( still around, serve by a effeminate man), good stuf, I mean the food, the Indian nasi lemak... started by this Indian man,the orginal with the choice of deep fried chicken wing/drumstick, fried egg or boiled egg, white lemak nasi or the pandan flavoured one, etc., all for $2.50 ( Punggol Nasi Lemak is an imitator), unfortunately the stall owner died of a sudden heart attack, then the quality just went out of the door, and now, there are plenty of "ORIGINALS" around....then the seafood soup stall, the one with the clear fish soup with a medium size prawn with rice, old man starts at 11am, by 2,30pm.....then to the third floor, we have the Indian Mee Siam stall, by the Indian man, the same type of Indian that sells bread on a bicycle,..a bowl of mee siam with an egg ontop plus one tau gua, and no hum...ha ha ha $1.40 only, you will so filled, no dinner is required.

Oh yes, but the running rats lagi best:eek::D

I liked the meepork fishball stall on the first level, the bapok doing the service was a real wayang queen but somehow took a liking to me so got good service, alamak maybe he was after my dick:eek::D Then there was a chicken rice stall also on the first level darn good roast chicken, lor mee stall and a curry stall on the 2nd level. The curry stall owner must have been doing well because I once spotted him driving a benz down circular road.:p

I resist calling him bapok..to be politically correct...:Danyway..bapok he is..you weren't his only "girl friend', you know!;) he was espcailly nice to me..and others..and... ha ha ha

By the time, he , 'gelek' 'gelek' the meepok to you, it will be cold & the soup woul have being emptied by a quarter...if you are lucky!...:D

Went back there, last year, good old bapok is still around..older now!...don't know if the fishball mee..is still good!.

Many of the older stall owners have either retired or handed down to the next generation...the soya bean juice now run by the children..remember, many of these stalls were from Philips Street,? facing the river!!:)

Being the buaya that I was I missed most Jurong Drive-in Theatre where I had many a happy time there!:)

Were you watching the movies?, or movies in the making?:D

Now this bring me to Taman Jurong, which is not far from there, the old hawker centre, near to the cinema...used to have cheap & good food, the only delicious tasting one, would be the Char Kway Teow stall..seems I am crazy about this...

Do not remember much about the other hawker centre at the other end of TJ, near to DBS Bank...though!

Now this bring me to Taman Jurong, which is not far from there, the old hawker centre, near to the cinema...used to have cheap & good food, the only delicious tasting one, would be the Char Kway Teow stall..seems I am crazy about this...

Do not remember much about the other hawker centre at the other end of TJ, near to DBS Bank...though!

For the first half-hour I was watching but after that I was the star performer.:D

My mistake, Gordon's Grill is at Goodwood.

Did you guys eat Japanese food? It was a 1980s thing?

Does anyone remember Suntory at Delphi? Shima (closed) at Goodwood, Inagiku
at Westin, Nadaman, Keyaki? :p

I find that the new fangled japanese restaurants are pretty sucky now. :)

Sorry for being off-topic.
But after my 'performance' we usually sit back to enjoy the delicious burgers & root-beer there.:)

Have you eaten the Char Kway Tiao at Newton? It's the shop houses before the shophouses which sell the sports cars. The stall has moved to Serangoon Gardens (not Chomp Chomp). They are at the same hawker centre as the Taman Serasi (Botanic Gardens) hawkers. :)

I thought Baron's Table is at Goodwood Park?

I thought there was a cafe called Barons Table at the Holiday Inn in the 70's at Scotts Rd(Opposite Goodwood). This was before the Sultan of Brunei bought the place.

Shima was a favourite of mine. Liked the 'show' on the grill, yummy food and soup to fill you up and then a place to relax later for fruits and dessert as you can adjourn to comfortable sitting room chairs in the loubge area.

? Shima (closed) at Goodwood,

I think it was a German/Austrian restuarant but not Barons Table, can't recall the name though.

I thought there was a cafe called Barons Table at the Holiday Inn in the 70's at Scotts Rd(Opposite Goodwood). This was before the Sultan of Brunei bought the place.

Shima was a favourite of mine. Liked the 'show' on the grill, yummy food and soup to fill you up and then a place to relax later for fruits and dessert as you can adjourn to comfortable sitting room chairs in the loubge area.

Inagiku's "show" is better. :p:p