• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Meng Seng going all out in the name of politics

At least GMS is speaking from the heart and saying things as it is, to me it is a form of respect to the public....maybe with a tint of frustration which i can appreciate. Just look at the yah yah face of the little princess sitting at the table in the photo, i wont go all out for her.:) Act as if ppl owe her to get her attention.:mad:

We always critic those who gave the politically correct statement, or those that turn a blind eye towards the problems staring in their face, yet still very thick skin to make por lum par statements to save their own skin. With this kind of behaviour, i worry. Because, problems brewing under and just waiting to surface big time. If big problems happens because of the absence of a balanced system of checks and balances, we are toast.

GMS seems to be down to earth. Ask anyone in the streets if they want to join the opposition..... I believe they have the same concerns and fear too.

But the difference is that these few took the first step forward for betterment of the country.

In that, IMO they are the better men and women than you or me.

Lastly, i know i am not voting for a hero but for balanced checks and accountability in the system first. And not a mirror of the current.

It's not about being politically correct. It's about having common sense, both in fact and in appearance.
Take Ling and Steve for example. Some people may not like them personally for their hobbies or language, but I don't have a problem with either in respect of their dealings with the voters.

Whereas for the other 3, Lead Shake and James have shown themselves to be flippant, if not in fact, at least in appearance. Kin Lian by asking for a pre-candidacy petition, has shown himself, imho, to be arrogant towards the voters. He has put himself ahead of the voters, at least in appearance if not in fact.

Read your other posts in this thread, not the ones addressed to me specifically. Others can read them too. You decide which way you want to go. As you yourself said, so will we.

But the difference is that these few took the first step forward for betterment of the country.

In that, IMO they are the better men and women than you or me.

Lastly, i know i am not voting for a hero but for balanced checks and accountability in the system first. And not a mirror of the current.
Agree with these 3 statements.
Given the chance to vote for GMS or NSP, I would still do so. In fact, even putting aside party affiliations, I honestly believe at this point that GMS would make a better MP than at least half of the current incumbents.

The problem is that when he starts explaining certain things to a very small target audience (usually either the very pro opposition lot or the very anti and scornful pro pap lot), he tends to get himself entangled into knots with everyone else, including the "middle ground opposition and undecided voters".

knn chow puikia....ask u to do public outreach at tampines, u everytime siam...too lazy to do...say got no time...then got time to surf here and talk ur bloody cock again and again...:mad::oIo:...go fuck dog lah u!!! :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Why you go Hatyai on CNY? Coach fare double and up, hotel rate double and up.

my parents goin canada for holdiay with my sis family...so i am alone this cny :( ...sian lah...so call my tirak say i am going over...she is veri excited...first time cny in hatyai with her....and my buddy also goin...so more ppl more fun lah....afterall my office close for 5 days...so nowhere to go but up north...:D

When you come back make sure you take Khaw Boon Wan's advise and go for a HIV checkup ok? Nowadays anonymous one. Aids numbers going up...

[Goh Meng Seng]Well, for the first thing to note, I have contested in GE2006 .....Please don't insult me with such comparisons.

"For the first thing", it was U who compared urself against JBJ. If u hv a probm wif trust of the voters, addr ur insecurity to the voters. To put JBJ's personal values n faith in bad light ("sorry state" as u said it so arrogantly) jas to justify ur stance is needless, self-serving, n disrespectful. N i wld not come to dat conclusion if u have not display ur decadence so regularly n consistently.

Faith in the people? I am just making a very valid point from historical perspective.....Or just even donate whatever little money or at least buy his books?

Dat is JBJ's history, not yours. Again, diff values. But JBJ duz not begrudge the voters, the supporters, or other Oppo peers fer his situation. He never begrudge the sense of betrayal by voters, or ask his supporters to prove their worth by standing wif him. Dat is respectful greatness which u don't hv.

I have always advised anyone who fear of losing his or her jobs if they are to stand as opposition candidates, don't do it .... don't expect them to provide you your daily bread.

Tis point was not made in ur original statement of contention either directly or indirectly. Hence has no relation to the debate abt ur disrespectful use of JBJ to justify ur values. Ur attempt to blur the debate is disingenuous n conniving.

Fight all the way? Well, that is easier said than done! ... take care of their own livelihood. But do all of us have such conditions?

Here, u further tarnish ur moral credibility n vindicate the observation of ur hypocrisy thru the unscrupulous denigration of others to advance ur personal gains.

I have no pretense whatsoever about how much sacrifices I could make. And for that, I am also not that hypocrite in demanding others to "go all the way" making all sacrifices when I know it is not worth it at all. We just do whatever we can according to what we could afford.

Here, u show conclusively how u cld make the point w/o casting aspersion on those of a higher standing than u. It shows how u nid not hv cast derogatory remarks on JBJ but still get the pt thru. But here again, it show how u (typically) attempt to white-wash ur act by simply not acknowledging ur initial mistake, n attempt to stealthily bring urself back to the rite track by suddenly saying the right things. U shld noe dat u r not the only person in the world who has been thru "political school".

For people watching on the sideline and trying to urge people in the ring to "go all out" .... that's all.

The same long story to further paint the whiteness on ur initial tar, w/o addressing the initial needless slur on JBJ. N jas like the PAP - No apology, no contrition, no reflection, always right-of-way.

I would appreciate even for a volunteer who would and could only help out during election time because that is what he or she could afford. I will not urge them to "go all out" because not everyone could afford such sacrifices in maintaining constant effort on the ground and politics. Go all out? Come on lah! I could bet that most if not all people cannot do that without assurance of constant funding for them to feed their families! That is what makes JBJ special.

N the white-washing is complete. My issue wif ur scorn on JBJ n lack of faith wif Oppo voters suddenly gave way to your issue of funding n the ambiguous statement of JBJ being "special".

Goh Meng Seng

GMS, wif all due respect, u r not a better choice than the PAP.

Eurdio,

History is for all to see and learn. I do not expect anyone in opposition to repeat the history of JBJ. As an keen observer and player in opposition politics, no matter how JBJ reacted, it is my understanding of the electorates here in Singapore.

Yes, I am just using JBJ's example to point out one simple truth of the cruel reality in Singapore opposition. And I have made it clear that I will make such inconvenient truth be known that JBJ has made all his sacrifices in vain because most Singaporeans didn't really appreciate or support him all the way. Regardless of whether JBJ felt it that way or has any regrets or not, that doesn't change my view that many people will just sit on the sideline urging people on to be like JBJ but they wouldn't bother about the well being of these opposition members at all. Worth it or not? Well, there are of course some supporters who will give warmth to our hearts but I am plainly putting up a fact, don't expect opposition members to "go all the way" and to sacrifice all like JBJ. I will personally dissuade anyone from doing so.

You may feel that this is a scorn or slur on JBJ but it is not. While many view JBJ's greatness in his sacrifices, I just have more sympathy and sadness for JBJ. Some, like you, would like to glorify JBJ's greatness and forget about the fact that many didn't step out to help him in time of need. It is just a matter of perspective. Mindfulness of his sympathetic plight does not lessen my respect for him.

If is from JBJ's lesson that strengthen my belief that I should not expect anyone to sacrifice it all but just to make sure there is continuity in the fight by actively seeking constant renewal . If you see this as a slur or scorn to JBJ, so be it. I have to deal with the cruel reality that faces all opposition members and I am thankful for JBJ to enlighten us with his contributions.

Well, here again, you are insulting me again but it doesn't matter. What will be will be.

Goh Meng Seng

Agree with these 3 statements.
Given the chance to vote for GMS or NSP, I would still do so. In fact, even putting aside party affiliations, I honestly believe at this point that GMS would make a better MP than at least half of the current incumbents.

The problem is that when he starts explaining certain things to a very small target audience (usually either the very pro opposition lot or the very anti and scornful pro pap lot), he tends to get himself entangled into knots with everyone else, including the "middle ground opposition and undecided voters".

You talk so much rot but you haven't explain why you think GMS will be a better MP than PAP candidates?

If even successful PAP candidate cannot be good MPs, why can this computer store owner be a good MP? For goodness's sake, he cannot even speak fluent english. You dont feel ashamed to have him represent you and Sinkapore?

All the way to hell or heaven?

I don't want to end up in a sorry state like JBJ. People only talk C about how great he is AFTER he is dead but no one want to help him out during his living; not even buying a book from him. Nah. I am prepared to make some sacrifices but I am in control of how much is enough.

Goh Meng Seng
Let me explain further why your posts in this thread have pissed me off. Posts number 9 and number 16.

In number 16, you said, "There is scorn but not directed at JBJ." Who is it directed at then? The people of Singapore aka the voters?

"JBJ was in a sorry state." Who says so or thinks so? You? This statement is untrue.

"People talk about how great he is after he is dead but nobody want to help him when he is living." Again this is untrue or at best, a horrible sweeping statement. If you want to direct this at certain people in particular, please name them.

"Not even buying a book from him". Again this is untrue. I am living proof of it. Many people have bought his book. Of course not everybody did, any fool can tell you that.

"Nah. I am prepared to make some sacrifices but I am in control of how much is enough."
Do you realise how condescending you sound?
Who doesn't know that the majority of people, let alone any politician, will put himself and his family first before the country and its people? Is it necessary to spell it out in the name of honesty and frankness?

If you have made mistakes in your posts, which are there for everyone to see, admit it. Or admit that you sound like a pap member or supporter.
No sensible opposition supporter or supporter of true democracy in Singapore will say the things you have said in this thread. Especially those I have highlighted in this post.

Dear JW5,

Who am I putting the scorn at? At those who keep bugging opposition members to "go all the way, sacrifice everything".

It is a matter of opinion, my opinion that JBJ was in a sorry state. You may not agree but it is with much empathy and sympathy that I witness. With due credit, only Ng Teck Siong stood by him all the way till he died. Who else?

As I have said, people tend to glorify his being but I have to look hard into all the happenings. He is the role model of what not to get ourselves into. Nope. Sacrificing everything to go all the way is definitely not an option for my people.

Goh Meng Seng

Let me explain further why your posts in this thread have pissed me off. Posts number 9 and number 16.

In number 16, you said, "There is scorn but not directed at JBJ." Who is it directed at then? The people of Singapore aka the voters?

"JBJ was in a sorry state." Who says so or thinks so? You? This statement is untrue.

"People talk about how great he is after he is dead but nobody want to help him when he is living." Again this is untrue or at best, a horrible sweeping statement. If you want to direct this at certain people in particular, please name them.

"Not even buying a book from him". Again this is untrue. I am living proof of it. Many people have bought his book. Of course not everybody did, any fool can tell you that.

"Nah. I am prepared to make some sacrifices but I am in control of how much is enough."
Do you realise how condescending you sound?
Who doesn't know that the majority of people, let alone any politician, will put himself and his family first before the country and its people? Is it necessary to spell it out in the name of honesty and frankness?

If you have made mistakes in your posts, which are there for everyone to see, admit it. Or admit that you sound like a pap member or supporter.
No sensible opposition supporter or supporter of true democracy in Singapore will say the things you have said in this thread. Especially those I have highlighted in this post.

Dear JW5,

Who am I putting the scorn at? At those who keep bugging opposition members to "go all the way, sacrifice everything".

It is a matter of opinion, my opinion that JBJ was in a sorry state. You may not agree but it is with much empathy and sympathy that I witness. With due credit, only Ng Teck Siong stood by him all the way till he died. Who else?

As I have said, people tend to glorify his being but I have to look hard into all the happenings. He is the role model of what not to get ourselves into. Nope. Sacrificing everything to go all the way is definitely not an option for my people.

Goh Meng Seng
This Ah Goh is back to his nasty self,all over again the OLD nasty Goh M S.

Even I am dead against PAP,but he and his unfortunate peers would not get my vote nor my support

Ah Goh,better give up,yr fort is in TKSS,showing yr fist,that is u!

What a fish!

This Ah Goh is back to his nasty self,all over again the OLD nasty Goh M S.

Even I am dead against PAP,but he and his unfortunate peers would not get my vote nor my support

Ah Goh,better give up,yr fort is in TKSS,showing yr fist,that is u!

What a fish!
a leopard will never change its spot ;)

It has been a long time since the days when Ah Seng exposed his true color hollow in this forum.

I am very surprised that Ah Seng is in actual fact,not capable of learning.,

If LKY is class 1,then Ah Seng can only be class 9,that is how,I ,an anti PAP voter,would rate him

However,if the voters of Singapore decide to bring him in,good luck to him and I am happy for just the number,nothing more.

Watch this thread,if we know Ah Seng,he will yet again show his classic "twist and turn",totally illogical way of defending his own rubbish!

A stupid white hair man thero' and thro'!

goh meng seng always tink he is damn erh sai...he is above the rest of us...he tinks he is even better than JBJ...dats why he say he is smarter than JBJ and will be in such a "sorry state" like JBJ.....but then when we see him talk on tv or even on youtube video...walan...sia suay lan...stammering..incoherent...looking like a damn fool.....JBJ got humtam by PAP becos he is a real threat to them....to make sure he lose his MP seat....but for goh meng seng...he thinks he is a real threat to the PAP....he thinks he is making MBT shiver in tampines.....LOL....dat is why i hope dat other oppo with come to tampines becos NSP is hopeless and as good as gone with dis goh meng seng leading them.....:mad:

These 3 people are opposition politicians whom I don't support. I don't know them personally and they may actually be very nice and capable people. But please allow me to share the reasons:

Tan Lead Shake - Not because of the tragedy in his family for which we sympathise. But because he wore slippers on nomination day and on polling day. When he was asked why, he said that it was more comfortable. Who wears slippers to a job interview? Does he respect the voters?

Tan Kin Lian - Not because he was a former pap member or former ceo of NTUC Income. But because he wanted to get voters to sign a petition before he decided to stand for elections. Could he not have stood for elections and then persuaded people to vote for him?

James Gomez - Not because he is incapable or has his own agenda or has not sacrificed for the country. But because he was sloppy, some might say forgetful. Not in appearance, but in other ways. Who goes for a job interview and forgets to bring his relevant certificates?

It is reasonable to expect people to appreciate your sacrifice, support your ideals and ideas and vote for you.
But please have respect, thought and consideration for the general voters and the ordinary people.

The impressions you listed are the general impressions of what most people feel too. For me I wouldn't support this 3 too.

For TKL, I also felt that he has this egoistic thought in his mind that people think there are no capable ones around and they need him to be the saviour by petitioning for him.

goh meng seng always tink he is damn erh sai...he is above the rest of us...he tinks he is even better than JBJ...dats why he say he is smarter than JBJ and will be in such a "sorry state" like JBJ.....but then when we see him talk on tv or even on youtube video...walan...sia suay lan...stammering..incoherent...looking like a damn fool.....JBJ got humtam by PAP becos he is a real threat to them....to make sure he lose his MP seat....but for goh meng seng...he thinks he is a real threat to the PAP....he thinks he is making MBT shiver in tampines.....LOL....dat is why i hope dat other oppo with come to tampines becos NSP is hopeless and as good as gone with dis goh meng seng leading them.....:mad:

GMS badly requires the services of an image consultant. I don't think any of us here can assist him or cut costs for this critical aspect.

For ammunition, if he gets into parliament in whatever shape or form, we will gladly provide him the ammunition to fire at the MIW. Ours are not blanks, GMS. We will give you live rounds to fire.

For TKL, I also felt that he has this egoistic thought in his mind that people think there are no capable ones around and they need him to be the saviour by petitioning for him.

If I am not wrong, TKL was a President's scholar. To outsiders, he did reasonably well in his career. His behavior does not differ from the MIW. He may be into his current activities coz of 'revenge'. I doubt if he is getting into the political arena solely coz of altruistic reasons.

First point, you're mistaken. He hates scholars. Most scholars sent to NTUC Income during his time as CEO couldn't last for long or revolted. The scholars won finally. Second point, you may be right.