• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Meng Seng going all out in the name of politics

The construction cost is always disclosed to the public. HDBs are tendered projects. Housing is expensive in all big cities in the world. If you cannot afford one, live with your family. That's life. You should thank God that at least your parents have a flat that was bought at a very low price and that wealth will be handed down to you.

COE, ERP, GST - If you don't want to pay these, use public transport and waste less money on unnecessary things. PAP got force you to buy cars and gadgets??? :rolleyes:

CPF change is the only valid thing that you can argue about. A lot of people are not so happy about the minimum sum requirement. However the upcoming CPF scheme is a little close to the social security system in US. The only difference is that the payouts are much higher in US.

Dun talk rubbish! Shameful and senseless gabbage coming from you!

The only reason you feel left out is because

1) You didn't go to University
2) Your family is poor
3) You didn't do well in your career
4) Your wife looks uglier than the prostitute you fucked some days ago

:oIo:

No the PAP didn't invent the first-past-the-post system. But PAP did invent the first-past-the-GRCpost system!

The US and the UK and most of the commonwealth and the rest of the world is laughing at us now! Notice no one is copying this manipulative GRC system?

PAP didn't invent that system too. It's officially called Party Block Vote System (PBV) and used by African Countries Cameroon, Chad and Djibouti long before SG. Those 3 African Countries are notorious for Undemocratic and Corrupt Elections and They plus SG are the current 4 countries worldwide who use this PBV for Parliamentary Elections today.

Nothing about PAP are original and unique. Everything copy from others and think Nobody know.

Please lah

MP must at least speak fluent English to debate and talk about issues.

Have you ever heard GMS trying to speak English on TV?

My nephew can do much better.
:oIo:

Please lah, all PAP ministers are reading from scripts and well-prepared answer for them. Even their robotic replies to the people are casted in stone and made into standard templates. If they are that good, take on any impromptu debates with the people instead of having msm media censoring all their bloopers. Fortunately, the mee siam mai hum episode was broadcasted live otherwise it will be censored too and nobody will know such silly speech occurred.

Wah lau eh! Goh Meng Seng! MTO!

I see you during ICT I always thought you were much older. Didn't realise you are only 40 years old! Did the journalist make a mistake or not? You only a few years older than me! But you look a lot older man. So many white hair!

Anyway good luck in the elections. You really MR already? So wallaby would have been the last time I served with you.

All the best!

I see you during ICT I always thought you were much older. Didn't realise you are only 40 years old! Did the journalist make a mistake or not? You only a few years older than me! But you look a lot older man. So many white hair!

Anyway good luck in the elections. You really MR already? So wallaby would have been the last time I served with you.

All the best!

MR wait long long! LOL! ;)

Goh Meng Seng

All the best!

You mean you MR already. Wallaby was the last time you'd get tekan by this captain madcow. :D

He won't MR so soon. Major promotion coming and he should be there all the way to 50. :eek:

All the best!

In short, I will be seeing you again if you don't defer for the next ICT. ;)

Goh Meng Seng

All the way to hell or heaven?

I don't want to end up in a sorry state like JBJ. People only talk C about how great he is AFTER he is dead but no one want to help him out during his living; not even buying a book from him. Nah. I am prepared to make some sacrifices but I am in control of how much is enough.

Goh Meng Seng
Several years ago, I went to an opposition election rally.
JBJ could not contest but he was there selling his book.
I took out a $50 note to buy his book which cost $20.
His assistant asked me if I could donate the $30 change.
I hesitated for a moment. JBJ saw my hesitation and immediately came over and told his assistant to give me the change. We shook hands and had a short conversation for about 5 minutes.
So please don't say nobody bought his book. Even a stranger like me who has never been involved in opposition politics in any shape or form bought his book.

You talked about JBJ fighting for people who didn't support him and that you had scorn not for JBJ, but for certain others. Aren't these people the same people whom you are now claiming to be "fighting for"? Wouldn't your "scorn be for these same people"?
I happen to agree with the point that many SG voters are an apathetic, ignorant and ugrateful lot, but for you to make comments like that?

Please stop putting your foot into your mouth. Trying to microanalyse the meanings of "take care" and "look after" and claiming that the english educated cannot detect subtlety are more than enough.

Dear JW5,

Take care and look after are two very different phrase though they sound the same. Anyway, I will just leave it as it is.

My point is simple. Don't expect each and every opposition members to "go all the way" like JBJ. For those who put up such expectation, my point is simple, what kinds of support have you given to JBJ?

Granted that getting involved in politics, there will sure be sacrifices but I will always leave it to individuals to decide how much sacrifices they are willing to make. Even for me, I don't impose that kind of "go all out, all the way" attitude towards my people. Unless, of course, I can ensure them that their rice bowl and families can be taken care of something happens to them. For those people who keep insisting on such "highfalutin standards", I would say, search your soul. Are you willing to take care of the families of those who fall because of politics?

I don't profess to fight for any single group of people. It is for the betterment of the whole Nation, regardless whether some pour scorn on me or my comrades in this opposition movement. But I have to address, with certain harshness, on people who have unduly, hypocritical and lofty expectations on those who made the effort to stand as opposition candidates. Never mind if I am fighting for them or not but to cast doubts and scorn on my fellow comrades who are willing to make their sacrifices in whatever little they could afford, is definitely asking for a harsh respond from me.

In particular when I read some ex-Singaporean opposition putting scorn on even people like James Gomez. They are just hypocrites. At the very least, James Gomez has made his stand and put his effort and money in where his mouth is. Such character, who will run at the sight of trouble (well, twice already) has no moral grounds at all to speak ill of those who are willing to make their sacrifices. There, I rest my case.

Goh Meng Seng

Several years ago, I went to an opposition election rally.
JBJ could not contest but he was there selling his book.
I took out a $50 note to buy his book which cost $20.
His assistant asked me if I could donate the $30 change.
I hesitated for a moment. JBJ saw my hesitation and immediately came over and told his assistant to give me the change. We shook hands and had a short conversation for about 5 minutes.
So please don't say nobody bought his book. Even a stranger like me who has never been involved in opposition politics in any shape or form bought his book.

You talked about JBJ fighting for people who didn't support him and that you had scorn not for JBJ, but for certain others. Aren't these people the same people whom you are now claiming to be "fighting for"? Wouldn't your "scorn be for these same people"?
I happen to agree with the point that many SG voters are an apathetic, ignorant and ugrateful lot, but for you to make comments like that?

Please stop putting your foot into your mouth. Trying to microanalyse the meanings of "take care" and "look after" and claiming that the english educated cannot detect subtlety are more than enough.

Dear JW5,

Take care and look after are two very different phrase though they sound the same. Anyway, I will just leave it as it is.

My point is simple. Don't expect each and every opposition members to "go all the way" like JBJ. For those who put up such expectation, my point is simple, what kinds of support have you given to JBJ?

In particular when I read some ex-Singaporean opposition putting scorn on even people like James Gomez. They are just hypocrites. At the very least, James Gomez has made his stand and put his effort and money in where his mouth is. Such character, who will run at the sight of trouble (well, twice already) has no moral grounds at all to speak ill of those who are willing to make their sacrifices. There, I rest my case.

Goh Meng Seng
I get your points, including why you say that "take care" and "look after" are different. But the moment you make a statement that the mp's job is to "look after" but not "take care", eyebrows and questions are raised.
What I'm saying is that the key to being an opposition politician is having respect, thought and consideration for the general voters and ordinary people, not just those who have the same ideals as you, or those who have more intellect, or those who have less intellect, or those who are poor or those who are scornful.

These 3 people are opposition politicians whom I don't support. I don't know them personally and they may actually be very nice and capable people. But please allow me to share the reasons:

Tan Lead Shake - Not because of the tragedy in his family for which we sympathise. But because he wore slippers on nomination day and on polling day. When he was asked why, he said that it was more comfortable. Who wears slippers to a job interview? Does he respect the voters?

Tan Kin Lian - Not because he was a former pap member or former ceo of NTUC Income. But because he wanted to get voters to sign a petition before he decided to stand for elections. Could he not have stood for elections and then persuaded people to vote for him?

James Gomez - Not because he is incapable or has his own agenda or has not sacrificed for the country. But because he was sloppy, some might say forgetful. Not in appearance, but in other ways. Who goes for a job interview and forgets to bring his relevant certificates?

It is reasonable to expect people to appreciate your sacrifice, support your ideals and ideas and vote for you.
But please have respect, thought and consideration for the general voters and the ordinary people.

Well may be many people just want to be "politically correct" but this will not do any good for the political development and maturity.

To stop at "political correctness", you will perpetuate the very myth that PAP tries to sell: Vote PAP to have your estate "taken care of". This is not the option at all, even when voters have been totally misled and buy into that. It is going to be an uphill task to change people's perspective but it has to start somewhere.

It is your prerogative to choose and vote for whoever you support. I would duly respect your choice. However the point I am making here is not about who should be supported or not. The point I am making here is plain simple, don't expect opposition member to sacrifice everything to go all out to fight and worse, to pour scorn on them when they are only willing to make certain sacrifices according to their circumstances.

Goh Meng Seng

I get your points, including why you say that "take care" and "look after" are different. But the moment you make a statement that the mp's job is to "look after" but not "take care", eyebrows and questions are raised.
What I'm saying is that the key to being an opposition politician is having respect, thought and consideration for the general voters and ordinary people, not just those who have the same ideals as you, or those who have more intellect, or those who have less intellect, or those who are poor or those who are scornful.

These 3 people are opposition politicians whom I don't support. I don't know them personally and they may actually be very nice and capable people. But please allow me to share the reasons:

Tan Lead Shake - Not because of the tragedy in his family for which we sympathise. But because he wore slippers on nomination day and on polling day. When he was asked why, he said that it was more comfortable. Who wears slippers to a job interview? Does he respect the voters?

Tan Kin Lian - Not because he was a former pap member or former ceo of NTUC Income. But because he wanted to get voters to sign a petition before he decided to stand for elections. Could he not have stood for elections and then persuaded people to vote for him?

James Gomez - Not because he is incapable or has his own agenda or has not sacrificed for the country. But because he was sloppy, some might say forgetful. Not in appearance, but in other ways. Who goes for a job interview and forgets to bring his relevant certificates?

It is reasonable to expect people to appreciate your sacrifice, support your ideals and ideas and vote for you.
But please have respect, thought and consideration for the general voters and the ordinary people.

Well may be many people just want to be "politically correct" but this will not do any good for the political development and maturity.

To stop at "political correctness", you will perpetuate the very myth that PAP tries to sell: Vote PAP to have your estate "taken care of". This is not the option at all, even when voters have been totally misled and buy into that. It is going to be an uphill task to change people's perspective but it has to start somewhere.

It is your prerogative to choose and vote for whoever you support. I would duly respect your choice. However the point I am making here is not about who should be supported or not. The point I am making here is plain simple, don't expect opposition member to sacrifice everything to go all out to fight and worse, to pour scorn on them when they are only willing to make certain sacrifices according to their circumstances.

Goh Meng Seng
It's not about being politically correct. It's about having common sense, both in fact and in appearance.
Take Ling and Steve for example. Some people may not like them personally for their hobbies or language, but I don't have a problem with either in respect of their dealings with the voters.

Whereas for the other 3, Lead Shake and James have shown themselves to be flippant, if not in fact, at least in appearance. Kin Lian by asking for a pre-candidacy petition, has shown himself, imho, to be arrogant towards the voters. He has put himself ahead of the voters, at least in appearance if not in fact.

Read your other posts in this thread, not the ones addressed to me specifically. Others can read them too. You decide which way you want to go. As you yourself said, so will we.

To put it simply, I am not here to please everybody. A Mr. Nice guy in opposition politics will not grow.

There are some inconvenient truths which have to be spoken and not brushed aside. As a stake holder in this political process as opposition politics, I have to set certain records right.

If I don't even dare to speak the inconvenient truth for my fellow comrades in opposition politics, how would you expect me to speak up for the people of all the inconvenient truths of PAP's rule?

Well, it is up for people to decide ultimately. So be it.

Goh Meng Seng

It's not about being politically correct. It's about having common sense, both in fact and in appearance.
Take Ling and Steve for example. Some people may not like them personally for their hobbies or language, but I don't have a problem with either in respect of their dealings with the voters.

Whereas for the other 3, Lead Shake and James have shown themselves to be flippant, if not in fact, at least in appearance. Kin Lian by asking for a pre-candidacy petition, has shown himself, imho, to be arrogant towards the voters. He has put himself ahead of the voters, at least in appearance if not in fact.

Read your other posts in this thread, not the ones addressed to me specifically. Others can read them too. You decide which way you want to go. As you yourself said, so will we.