• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Meng Seng going all out in the name of politics

The ground is ripe to vote against PAP. Spoken to many of my friends who are from the lower middle and middle income group that they will vote even for a maggot who stands for election at their constituency to show discontentment to the present Govt. COE and ERP are not solving the the traffic congestion. The many foreigners are congesting the MRT system.

Voting in a maggot will only make things worse.

Our system already provides a HDB pigeonhole, prostitutes, casino and cheap food for your peasants friends. What more do they want?

So can you please enlighten us what is "worthwhile" for you? JBJ was a man who did his public service without a need for it to be worthwhile. He didn't want it to be worth his while. He wanted change.

I now sincerely hope no one votes for you to make it not worth any one's while to put you in a position to make you think you're god's gift to us all.

I always have a feeling GMS is one that seems to yearn busking in the lime-light than actually helping the people... More so with his latest statement about a MP's job is not to take care of the ward....

Sadly, I may not get to vote for the coming election.. doubt anyone is coming to AMK again... but if ever GMS is standing as an opposition in AMK, sadly I will rather waste by vote by crossing every box instead of giving GMS a chance to busk in the lime-light for his own benefits...

I always have a feeling GMS is one that seems to yearn busking in the lime-light than actually helping the people... More so with his latest statement about a MP's job is not to take care of the ward....

Sadly, I may not get to vote for the coming election.. doubt anyone is coming to AMK again... but if ever GMS is standing as an opposition in AMK, sadly I will rather waste by vote by crossing every box instead of giving GMS a chance to busk in the lime-light for his own benefits...

GMS is a product of the PAP system.

U think he will improve anything?

Did he have a successful career? NO

With a non-existent track record, how can you trust this guy to improve anything?

Remember, he calls himself a political activist.

The ground is ripe to vote against PAP. Spoken to many of my friends who are from the lower middle and middle income group that they will vote even for a maggot who stands for election at their constituency to show discontentment to the present.

I have been hearing this for 97, 01. 06 GE and nothing have changed, Oppositions 4 seats down to 2 in plurality elections.

Beware of PAP silent hardcore voters support.

I have been hearing this for 97, 01. 06 GE and nothing have changed, Oppositions 4 seats down to 2 in plurality elections.

Beware of PAP silent big hardcore voters.

Deep down in the peasants' hearts, they know that only PAP has the capable people.

Look at the loser uncles in NSP, they look like taxi drivers to me :rolleyes:

Any sane voter won't vote for these peasants

GMS is a product of the PAP system.

U think he will improve anything?

Did he have a successful career? NO

With a non-existent track record, how can you trust this guy to improve anything?

Remember, he calls himself a political activist.

Political activist that hangs out here to engage us in forums... Now he sure is far-sighted than many of the PAP peeps that are embracing new media and social networking platforms now....
Arm-chair warrior they call it???

There is a scorn but not directed at JBJ. I respect JBJ for his preservation but look, is that all worthwhile? The scorn on JBJ comes from the irony that he was fighting for a people who don't support him in return, be it monetary or otherwise.

Goh Meng Seng

JBJ dun judge wat is worthwhile by his plight. Goh Chok Tong assessed the new PAP candidates placed into GRC as such :

"Without some assurance of a good chance of winning at least their first election, many able and successful young Singaporeans may not risk their careers to join politics."

U may reckon u rate higher than the PAP. Not much.

If u hv no faith in the ppl, dun play. If u hv a probm wif the ppl, dun pity JBJ n question his value, pity the ppl whose votes u now seek.

Deep down in the peasants' hearts, they know that only PAP has the capable people.

Look at the loser uncles in NSP, they look like taxi drivers to me :rolleyes:

Any sane voter won't vote for these peasants

Do not judge a book by its cover. People who claims to be whiter than white has a black heart. You think those fancy trendy looking person who dined in high class restaurants are millionairs? and judge those who wear singlet and eat at kopi tiam are poor Ah Pek? Please lah, my million dollars boss always wear slipper and backpack to work and whose favourite breakfast is half-boiled egg in the dirty kopi Tiam downstairs....nobody in the world would believe he is a CEO. This is a tricky world isn't it, no wonder PAP can fool sinkies most of the time, and all the time.

JBJ dun judge wat is worthwhile by his plight. Goh Chok Tong assessed the new PAP candidates placed into GRC as such :

"Without some assurance of a good chance of winning at least their first election, many able and successful young Singaporeans may not risk their careers to join politics."

U may reckon u rate higher than the PAP. Not much.

If u hv no faith in the ppl, dun play. If u hv a probm wif the ppl, dun pity JBJ n question his value, pity the ppl whose votes u now seek.

Well, for the first thing to note, I have contested in GE2006 even though my first election have no assurance of a good chance of winning. And yes, I am contesting again, with no assurance of a good chance of winning this time round. Please don't insult me with such comparisons.

Faith in the people? I am just making a very valid point from historical perspective. While many people here would love to praise JBJ and expect all other opposition members to be like him, go all the way up to ripe old age, sacrificing EVERYTHING he has in life just to fight the political battle, but how many here are willing to walk the talk and be at his side? Or just even donate whatever little money or at least buy his books?

I have always advised anyone who fear of losing his or her jobs if they are to stand as opposition candidates, don't do it if that is the case. Especially so when you have a family to feed because at the end of the day, nobody, absolutely nobody, not even the party, could provide them the basic food on the table if they lose their jobs. If we don't even have enough people willing to donate to the party for the fight, don't expect them to provide you your daily bread.

Fight all the way? Well, that is easier said than done! Just weigh how much each person could afford to sacrifice and do it according to each best effort and affordability. It is just not worth it to sacrifice everything for opposition politics. JBJ is the prime example for all; well even though you could gain whatever little praises you can get but your family will suffer greatly for your own misplaced dream. JBJ is fortunate enough to have very smart and intelligent children who could fend for themselves and take care of their own livelihood. But do all of us have such conditions?

I have no pretense whatsoever about how much sacrifices I could make. And for that, I am also not that hypocrite in demanding others to "go all the way" making all sacrifices when I know it is not worth it at all. We just do whatever we can according to what we could afford.

For people watching on the sideline and trying to urge people in the ring to "go all out" and make all sorts of sacrifices, I would normally ignore them. Rome is not built overnight. Our political work just need to have continuity but that doesn't mean I expect everyone to go all out. You just need constant renewal, that's all.

I would appreciate even for a volunteer who would and could only help out during election time because that is what he or she could afford. I will not urge them to "go all out" because not everyone could afford such sacrifices in maintaining constant effort on the ground and politics. Go all out? Come on lah! I could bet that most if not all people cannot do that without assurance of constant funding for them to feed their families! That is what makes JBJ special.

Goh Meng Seng

Don't bother with the people here lar GMS. Singaporeans are just so damn good at analysing and explaining and elaborating and justifying, and then when the moment of truth comes, they will make the usual choice, and then go back and spend the next four years analysing, explaining, elaborating and justifying why they didn't have the guts to choose otherwise. Say all the right things but never do anything right.

If you are really contesting Tampines, you have my vote. No need to talk so much about why, don't care whether you believe me or not, I say give NSP my vote means I give NSP my vote. Ever since I moved to Tampines I've already stuck it to PAP twice, I'm always glad to have another chance to stick it to them again. As a citizen, I have the right to make my choice according to whatever rationale I choose. Until the day comes when the Government decides to legislate that only the "right" people can become citizens with the right to vote, I will continue to be the "wrong" citizen and exercise the rights given to me as a citizen.

Are you saying Singapore invented the first-past-the-post system? The US and the UK and most of the commonwealth must be very grateful to us then.

No the PAP didn't invent the first-past-the-post system. But PAP did invent the first-past-the-GRCpost system!

The US and the UK and most of the commonwealth and the rest of the world is laughing at us now! Notice no one is copying this manipulative GRC system?

Voting in a maggot will only make things worse.

Our system already provides a HDB pigeonhole, prostitutes, casino and cheap food for your peasants friends. What more do they want?

Will voting in the pappies make things better?

What more do we want? A govt answerable, accountable and responsible for its actions!

How are they not accountable? They not building all the pigeonholes and MRTs for you? They lose money yes but when they make money, do you know? :oIo:

They also legalize prostitutes, casinos and other vices for all the peasants to enjoy. I think that is already the best gift to the Sinkie peasants.

Accountable until he doesn't want to be responsible for running his ward?

Accountable until he got sacked (aka voluntarily resigned) from his own opposition party?

Accountable until he won't answer categorically or unequivocally that he did not cheat on his wife?

No thank you.

Do not judge a book by its cover. People who claims to be whiter than white has a black heart. You think those fancy trendy looking person who dined in high class restaurants are millionairs? and judge those who wear singlet and eat at kopi tiam are poor Ah Pek? Please lah, my million dollars boss always wear slipper and backpack to work and whose favourite breakfast is half-boiled egg in the dirty kopi Tiam downstairs....nobody in the world would believe he is a CEO. This is a tricky world isn't it, no wonder PAP can fool sinkies most of the time, and all the time.

Please lah

MP must at least speak fluent English to debate and talk about issues.

Have you ever heard GMS trying to speak English on TV?

My nephew can do much better.
:oIo:

How are they not accountable? They not building all the pigeonholes and MRTs for you? They lose money yes but when they make money, do you know? :oIo:

They also legalize prostitutes, casinos and other vices for all the peasants to enjoy. I think that is already the best gift to the Sinkie peasants.

How are they not accountable? Did they tell you how much is the construction costs? Why the pigeonholes are so much more expensive these days?

They lose money yes... but were they answerable? Accountable for their actions? Explain to the people?

They also legalize prostitutes, casinos and other vices for all the peasants to enjoy?!!! Oh my God!

No forgetting the inflood of FTs, COEs, ERPs, CPF changes, higher GST, Youth Olympics, floods, fees here and fees there, etc...

Do we peasants truly enjoy?

How are they not accountable? Did they tell you how much is the construction costs? Why the pigeonholes are so much more expensive these days?

The construction cost is always disclosed to the public. HDBs are tendered projects. Housing is expensive in all big cities in the world. If you cannot afford one, live with your family. That's life. You should thank God that at least your parents have a flat that was bought at a very low price and that wealth will be handed down to you.

No forgetting the inflood of FTs, COEs, ERPs, CPF changes, higher GST, Youth Olympics, floods, fees here and fees there, etc...

Do we peasants truly enjoy?

COE, ERP, GST - If you don't want to pay these, use public transport and waste less money on unnecessary things. PAP got force you to buy cars and gadgets??? :rolleyes:

CPF change is the only valid thing that you can argue about. A lot of people are not so happy about the minimum sum requirement. However the upcoming CPF scheme is a little close to the social security system in US. The only difference is that the payouts are much higher in US.