• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Meng Seng going all out in the name of politics

SNAblog

http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2010/12/03/going-all-out-in-the-name-of-politics/

Going all out in the name of politics
By Faris – December 3rd, 2010

400yahoo_gohmengseng.jpg

Goh Meng Seng, Secretary-general of NSP (Photo: Yahoo!).

Secretary-general of the National Solidarity Party, Goh Meng Seng, is going for broke in the next General Elections.

Literally putting his money where his mouth is, the 40-year-old sold his 4-room HDB flat in Serangoon North in September to fund his party’s election campaign plans for the next GE, due to be held by Feb 2012.

In an exclusive interview with Yahoo! Singapore, Mr Goh – who currently manages a retail business — said the decision to sell his only home in Singapore is nothing to shout about.

“Most of the time, leaders of the opposition parties will put up with some funds to support the whole party’s campaign. There is nothing new to it,” said Goh, who currently lives with his 81-year-old mother in Ang Mo Kio. Mr Goh, who currently manages a retail business also has a wife, 39, and daughter, 7, residing in Hong Kong.

While Mr Goh declined to reveal how much he sold his flat for, checks on several property websites show that the average price of a 4-room flat in Serangoon is around $400,000 to $450,000.

Proceeds from the sale, he said, would not be used to fund his own election campaigns and candidacy but will be directed to the coffers of the NSP “to sponsor a team” for election as well as support the party’s overall strategy.

The cost of running for elections is not cheap. For example, on Nomination Day for the last 2006 General Election (GE), each candidate had to fork out an election deposit of $13,500. This doesn’t include campaign costs incurred by the respective campaigns which could easily cost thousands of dollars.

Election rules also state that the deposit is to be forfeited if the candidate fails to obtain at least one-eighth or 12.5 per cent of the votes.

Goh’s involvement in local politics has spanned over 10 years. In 2006, while still with the Workers’ Party (WP), he was part of the team led by Ms Sylvia Lim which contested the Aljunied GRC.

While results saw the WP securing 43.91 per cent of the vote and the PAP claiming 56.09 per cent, that constituency’s election was marred by the controversy involving James Gomez, who claimed to have submitted the minority-race candidate application form required to stand as a candidate in a GRC.

CCTV footage later showed he had kept the form in his bag and Gomez was labelled a “liar” by MM Lee Kuan Yew.

Mr Goh left the party shortly after elections, joined the NSP and was elected the party’s secretary-general in February this year.

Touching on the GE, Mr Goh singled out three “hot-button” issues that would dominate campaigning after Nomination Day: health care, population and foreign talent policy.

In particular, he also highlighted public housing which “will no doubt be a key issue because it affects 80 per cent of the people”.

On the issue of healthcare, Mr Goh is calling for a more comprehensive health insurance because he feels the present coverage is insufficient.

“In ensuring effective insurance coverage for its citizens, the government should provide part of the premiums of health insurance which should also include non-working adults and children.”

And what if Mr Goh loses in his bid to contest the Tampines GRC?

After all, National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan has been the anchor MP in Tampines since 1988. In the last GE, the 5-man PAP team led by the Minister won a clear 68.51% majority of votes while the opposition team of Singapore Democratic Alliance (SDA) secured only 31.49% of votes.

“If I lose, then it will depend on whether my party needs me to stay on for the transitional period. There will inevitably be a transition for leadership change,” said Goh.

Goh also said he would decline to take up the Non-Constituency Members of Parliament scheme offered to losing opposition candidates with the highest votes.

In April this year, Parliament amended the scheme to increase the number of NCMP seats from six to nine. While NCMPs are allowed to participate in parliamentary debates and even raise motions in the House, they are unable to vote on constitutional changes. Based on the constitution, such powers will remain as privileges of an elected MP.

Mr Goh echoed the views of Hougang’s opposition Member of Parliament, Low Thia Khiang, who said he will not take up the NCMP seat if he loses in an election.

“I want the full power as an MP, fair and square. If I don’t win, I will not take the NCMP seat,” he said.

Signalling his intention that he’s ready to quit politics altogether if he loses, Goh said the time will come when he has to tough decisions.

“Personally, I have set my target right from 2001 where I am willing and prepared to spend 15 years of my life to try to contribute to the Singapore political cause as much as possible. After which, I will have to move on,” he said.

“I want the full power as an MP, fair and square. If I don’t win, I will not take the NCMP seat,” he said.

Once again, he's unnecessarily exposing his shortcoming in mastery of the politicese language. He's sounding like a power-crazy madcow, all-or-nothing show-hand brinksman. He's sounding like all he wants is power to vote in Parliament, the word to use to the public and electorate is mandate, not power.

While Mr Goh declined to reveal how much he sold his flat for, checks on several property websites show that the average price of a 4-room flat in Serangoon is around $400,000 to $450,000.

Did he really pocket only $20k like he claims?

This is my reply:

Thank you Faris for the write up. Thank you those who have commented here.

It is natural for journalist to focus on this angle about I selling my flat to fund the campaign because it is something "new" from the news perspective. Personally, there is nothing really to shout about and I have to clarify that such personal decision has nothing to do with election strategies to win votes.

The only election strategy I have right now is to convince Singaporeans to look beyond their immediate material needs and spare a thought for the future of Singapore. Many of PAP's policies are unsustainable in the long run, especially so for the HDB public housing policy, Healthcare, retirement financing (CPF) and of course, population policy which linked to FT policy.

The reason I sell my flat is pretty simple. My father has died a few years back and my elderly mother needs companion. On top of that, my wife and daughter is in Hong Kong because my wife works in Hong Kong. Thus, in putting up all the considerations, I don't really need a flat here and I don't mind to move back to my mother's place to keep her company. Of course, it suits my cause of getting more funding for my party's elections funding.

There will always be people making sacrifices in politics, especially opposition politics. Winning or losing an election is just part and parcel of the political process. What is most important is that the political system must evolve and mature into a much better and balanced system over time. In order to achieve that, you will need people to join opposition to stand as candidates to achieve that. It is my collective vision along with my NSP President, Sebastian Teo that we should field as many candidates as possible basically because only when Singaporeans get to vote, get to make their political choices, they will have to sit down and think carefully what matters to them, their future generations as well as the nation we call Singapore. It is only through this political process that Singaporeans will realize that they are the owner of this land, the sons and daughters of this land. But FREEDOM IS NOT FREE. Someone has to foot the bill of this process. I am just merely contributing a very small amount of money to the whole process. There are many others who are and have been contributing to this process as well.

It is a matter of principle that I have to personally decline NCMP seat. I am all for a proportional representative system but not NCMP scheme which robs the power of a legitimate elected representative.

Many people will have to make sacrifices to this long drawn process and I will be no exception. Yes, many people feel that I will not win but win or lose means very little in a bigger longer term historical perspective. We are just chess pieces of this historical evolution.

However, for the sake of my family, I can decide for myself how much sacrifices can I afford to make. 15 years of my life is a reasonable time frame and I have a higher personal religious calling. My little contribution here is to realign the political engagement process. Great Leaders sell their visions of the Future, not pork barrel and hatred. It will always be policy policy policy for my way of political engagement.

There will always be people with malicious intend to make character assassination on me. It is fortunate that I have a soul mate as my wife who understand me through and through. But I still despise people who engage politics in such a dirty underhand method. This is something for Singaporeans to think about what kinds of political engagement process and system you want for Singapore.

Last but not least, I wish the best for Singapore no matter where I will be on this Earth. It is after all a place that I was born and spent whole part of my 40 years life. There will always be attachment to this place where I call home.

Goh Meng Seng

Once again, he's unnecessarily exposing his shortcoming in mastery of the politicese language. He's sounding like a power-crazy madcow, all-or-nothing show-hand brinksman. He's sounding like all he wants is power to vote in Parliament, the word to use to the public and electorate is mandate, not power.

It is not just about mandate. The mandate of 30% or 40% of voters who voted opposition are there. It is just about respecting that mandate to provide the corresponding power. It is the power to the mandate that matters.

Without the power to the mandate, you will be just like those are not voted in, without any mandate of any single vote NMPs. You can't even decide or vote accordingly in key issues on Budget and Constitutional changes. That's the reality.

Goh Meng Seng

This is my reply:

The reason I sell my flat is pretty simple. My father has died a few years back and my elderly mother needs companion. On top of that, my wife and daughter is in Hong Kong because my wife works in Hong Kong. Thus, in putting up all the considerations, I don't really need a flat here and I don't mind to move back to my mother's place to keep her company. Of course, it suits my cause of getting more funding for my party's elections funding.
Goh Meng Seng

I am sure you will still get back the election deposits. As a Singaporean, I am really honoured that you put in so much captial inorder to give Singaporeans more chances and power to vote - which is a best chance to gauge what Singaporeans truly want. If I am your wife, I will tell my children the good legacy and sacrifices their father has left behind in Singapore :p

I have 3 group of relatives in Tampines and they promised to vote for any oppositions who will contest there. You already have their mandate before election is called. They have met MBT before and find that he has very fake smile. Now they are wondering when election will be called.:mad:....

Cpt (NS) Scarlet Goh MS ..... no all the way !!:(:(

All the way to hell or heaven?

I don't want to end up in a sorry state like JBJ. People only talk C about how great he is AFTER he is dead but no one want to help him out during his living; not even buying a book from him. Nah. I am prepared to make some sacrifices but I am in control of how much is enough.

Goh Meng Seng

parliamentary general election 2011- Result of Tampines GRC

GMS, xxx, xxx, xxx, xxx NSp
76542votes(50.7%)

Mah Bow Tan
Masagos Zulkifli Bin Masagos Mohamad
Ng Phek Hoong, Irene
Ong Kian Min
Sin Boon Ann PAP
74512votes(49.3%)

Rejected votes: 6721

I decleared GMS, xxx , xxx, xxx,xxx
as MP for tampines GRC

I not in tempines but will vote for opposition in CCK as a support for GMS ..

I don't want to end up in a sorry state like JBJ. People only talk C about how great he is AFTER he is dead but no one want to help him out during his living; not even buying a book from him. Nah. I am prepared to make some sacrifices but I am in control of how much is enough.

Goh Meng Seng

So what's so sorry about JBJ? At least people still talk about and remember him as one of the greatest member of the opposition in Singapore politics when he's gone. He was featured in Time magazine, he has won over the electorate and was the first to break the monopoly of the MIWs by winning a constituency.

I don't think anyone will even think about you when you pass on. Perhaps only remember you as a half-bit can-never-be politician. My advise: Do something to win the electorate over before you start comparing yourself to a legend like JBJ.

It is not just about mandate. The mandate of 30% or 40% of voters who voted opposition are there. It is just about respecting that mandate to provide the corresponding power. It is the power to the mandate that matters.

Are you saying Singapore invented the first-past-the-post system? The US and the UK and most of the commonwealth must be very grateful to us then.

Parliamentary general election 2011- Result of Tampines GRC

GMS, xxx, xxx, xxx, xxx NSp
1 (0%)

Mah Bow Tan
Masagos Zulkifli Bin Masagos Mohamad
Ng Phek Hoong, Irene
Ong Kian Min
Sin Boon Ann PAP
74512 votes (49.3%)

Rejected votes: 66721

I declare Mah Bow Tan, Masagos Zulkifli Bin Masagos Mohamad, Ng Phek Hoong, Irene, Ong Kian Min and Sin Boon Ann the candidates elected. I also declare that Goh Meng Seng has lost his deposit.

Goh Meng Seng

One can tell a lot abt a person fr the degree of scorn in his tone.

JBJ may not hv fulfil his dream, but he has made a bloody significant impact dat still shakes the PAP today. Certainly not all in SG bot his bks, but those who TRULY understanding the cause of Oppo in SG r joint in spirit wif his indomitable attitude, not thru the mere purchase of his publication fer the gratification of a hypocritical sense of pity or charity.

He has admirable qualities almost no Oppo pretender today exhibits. Snotty upstarts R not real alternatives to PAP.

One can tell a lot abt a person fr the degree of scorn in his tone.

JBJ may not hv fulfil his dream, but he has made a bloody significant impact dat still shakes the PAP today. Certainly not all in SG bot his bks, but those who TRULY understanding the cause of Oppo in SG r joint in spirit wif his indomitable attitude, not thru the mere purchase of his publication fer the gratification of a hypocritical sense of pity or charity.

He has admirable qualities almost no Oppo pretender today exhibits. Snotty upstarts R not real alternatives to PAP.

There is a scorn but not directed at JBJ. I respect JBJ for his preservation but look, is that all worthwhile? The scorn on JBJ comes from the irony that he was fighting for a people who don't support him in return, be it monetary or otherwise.

Goh Meng Seng

I've always advised you to improve your politicese and tone down your unsubstantiable rhetoric that's only befitting and used by anonymous forum spammers. But now even your English and maths and numbers went wild. No one means no one bought, zero. Not even buying a book means not even a book sold, zero. How are you going to substantiate that? This is an internet form. I worry for you if you face PAP with statements like that.

There is a scorn but not directed at JBJ. I respect JBJ for his preservation but look, is that all worthwhile? The scorn on JBJ comes from the irony that he was fighting for a people who don't support him in return, be it monetary or otherwise.

The voters who supported NSP at last count averaged 30+%. Fight for them and keep the percentage and you'd still lose. Politics is about keeping people who support you and winning over people who didn't support you and treating all as equals.

Goh Meng Seng

So can you please enlighten us what is "worthwhile" for you? JBJ was a man who did his public service without a need for it to be worthwhile. He didn't want it to be worth his while. He wanted change.

I now sincerely hope no one votes for you to make it not worth any one's while to put you in a position to make you think you're god's gift to us all.

Without the power to the mandate, you will be just like those are not voted in, without any mandate of any single vote NMPs. You can't even decide or vote accordingly in key issues on Budget and Constitutional changes. That's the reality.

Goh Meng Seng

30%-40% did not vote for opposition. They vote against PAP :oIo:

Make sure you make all your NSP candidates' resumes available online

You expect us to vote you in without letting us what you did with your life so far?