• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

End of the PAP Ride?

Maximilian Chua-Heng

It's good you are managing expectations, though there aren't any expectations in the 1st place, except for a few delusional Alfresco members.

I am just seeing things as they are. :smile:

The ground has shifted significantly. But whether it is significant enough for it to be reflected in opposition victories, that is yet to be seen.

There are still a huge portion of the population, both from the older as well as young educated professionals who are apathetic or didn't bother to read internet websites (TR or TOC) for political views. Thus, it is difficult to win over this group of people with significant numbers.

Goh Meng Seng

patrickv

if your underwear is too loose, you will lose it.

i advise you to stop listening to leongsam's advice.

tio boh?

wikiphile

Have to strongly disagree. Most of the people here (in this forum) put too much faith on Sinkies. The vast majority of Sinkies are gutless, witless, self-centered and all round hopeless.

It would be a miracle if the opposition can hold on to PP and come close to winning a GRC. I fear Sinkies are mostly a bunch of lobotomized lemmings.

My prediction is a PAP sweep sans Hougang but I pray to Buddha/Jesus/Allah/Vishnu/Sai Baba that I am wrong though.

Aljunied might be another interesting ground to watch again but mark my words, if this time PAP almost lose it like what they almost did with Cheng San GRC 14 years ago it will be carved up again :biggrin:

CST has done alright in his time but he's over his prime now. Sylvia Lim is the best to have emerged in the 2000s. Too bad I'm not living in Aljunied, otherwise me and my wife would surely vote for her. Kenneth J. carries the shadow of his father around with him but is still too fresh on the scene. I'm wondering what's holding back his brother Philip J.

Fortunately, I live in Aljunied. Voted for her the last time and needless to say, will do so again.

Yes, CST has done credibly, given the political lanscape and limitations involved.

KJ has the right academic credentials. Just hope he can mix freely and be accepted by the voters. A pity PJ remains apolitical. The brothers, if into this together, will provide the MIW a real test. In addition to the JBJ link, they are intellectually miles ahead of many of the MIW. And they don't appear to be motivated because of money. That makes a world of difference to discerning voters.

aurvandil

From a tactical point of view, the IB should sell the koyok of just how strong and confident the PAP is. Last thing the IB would want to do is give the impression the PAP is weak or worried. This will only embolden those pesky Opposition wannabes.

Liquigas

Female voters are the key to PAP's successes in past GE and likely to continue in the upcoming election given the present political and economic climate. Mind you, PAP will lose come one day when we are witnessing widespread unemployment, high crime rate, rampant corruption and abject poverty. We of course are not (hopefully never) at this stage. Talk to your mother, wife, gf, sister and female colleagues and you will realised the majority are PAP supporters.

kukubird58

Female voters are the key to PAP's successes in past GE and likely to continue in the upcoming election given the present political and economic climate. .....
Talk to your mother, wife, gf, sister and female colleagues and you will realised the majority are PAP supporters.

hahaha...that's why we need to get the gals to join the forum and TCSS...i mean to enlighten them....

theblackhole

the incumbents will easily sweep away with at least 80% of the votes in their favour...

no way out lah...tok tok also no use....too much already at stack...you want out? you want to be flooded? or you want to die and fall from the sky?

let heaven be the judge....let's just watch and see what will happen..

this is going to be the Mother Of All The Mothers Of Erections certainly!!!

hahhaa hor cheers!!!!!!!!!

Forvendet

I don't expect any breakthrough on the scale of like breaking the 2/3rd majority with mad men like GMS and CTL around. Breaking through a GRC would be good enough for me, and my money's on Sylvia Lim and her team in Aljunied. GMS was on her team the last round. He didn't sound as mad then. The mad man the last round was James G. Fortunately, both of them are no longer there.

Watchman

Dear Scroobal

An old chinese saying comes to mind. First Generation builds, Second Generation maintains, third generation destroys, and yes here we are into our third Generation PAP leaders watched over by the first and the second.

Locke

Third generation just got not enough wage
to effect changes .

They just making Singapore real crowded
and not spending enough .

luxyboy

I am fed up with FT policy, I am working in the IT industry but feel than i am a foreigner in my work place.

I can't believe that is happening at my home gound