• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

End of the PAP Ride?

giggity_shit

Anything below 65% and the loss of another seat is a disaster. Worse if it a GRC.

Casino is a vice. It is a capitulation and an admission of ideas no longer there. The fact that so many cases of cheating by staff and visitors is a shock to the singapore system.

Singapore has priced itself out in the Education system. Student accommodation is high and the quality of academic staff is limited. It makes more sense to go to 1st world countries.

May not be true. These days in western democracies, a 50+ percentage is considered a mandate.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Previously people are angry and hated the PAP for being bully, autocratic, unjust etc...

However for this election, there is a distinct shift from just being angry to fear. The fear of losing jobs for the large majority of PMETs as they age, the fear of not being able to withdraw their CPF money and the fear of their children's future etc...

I am watching this election closely, if anything more then 60% votes to PAP. I'm going to plan for exit.

maybe the "new "imported singaporeans would keep it in power for another few generations , just maybe

It doesn't take a year for newly minted citizen to feel the pinch and realised betrayed by PAP. When you trapped a new bird in a cage, its treatment will be the same like others already locked up. That could be a sign of them standing with opposition leaders to up their votes.

New citizens came from very different culture and harsh emotion, thus opposition can tap on them to garner more supports. I am sure these group of people have not tried PAP colors yet and still live in their dream world. ONce they know the style of PAP management, I am sure they will grow more teeth and fight harder than many soft sinkies.

SneeringTree

hahaha...very harsh words and fashionable sinkies bashing.
i would prefer to put majority of sinkies as heartlanders who are are contended just to watch channel8, read the evening papers and lim kopi/beer at kopitiams and TCSS to pass time, as long as life is bearable to them.
of course there will be the occasional grumblings, etc...but in general they are comfortable enough status quo.

Thats why I say Sinkies are GUTLESS and WITLESS. There are like frogs in a pot of water that is being heated...Not jumping out of the slowly heating water because it is still "bearable".

Fuck Sinkies. I have already made my exit plan since the last election. Ready to activate anytime.

Previously people are angry and hated the PAP for being bully, autocratic, unjust etc...

However for this election, there is a distinct shift from just being angry to fear. The fear of losing jobs for the large majority of PMETs as they age, the fear of not being able to withdraw their CPF money and the fear of their children's future etc...

I am watching this election closely, if anything more then 60% votes to PAP. I'm going to plan for exit.

They have $6 billion dollars of 'sweeties' & 'honey' to giveaway, can the opposition beat that?, plus a large percentage are beholden to the; where they find it very difficult to bite the hands that feed them!!:rolleyes:

SneeringTree

They have $6 billion dollars of 'sweeties' & 'honey' to giveaway, can the opposition beat that?, plus a large percentage are beholden to the; where they find it very difficult to bite the hands that feed them!!:rolleyes:

Few are truly beholden to the PAP but many think that they are (e.g. witless gutless civil servants)

Sweetner and honey? well....that are just seasoning to be added on Sinkies so that they taste better being boiled in the pot together. Opposition can bring this up by asking the people not to accept such artificial seasoning - bad for health.

Rimururu

90% of Singaporeans are natural-born idiots. PAP give them $100 before elections and they will vote PAP. A lost cause.

lockeliberal

Dear Scroobal

An old chinese saying comes to mind. First Generation builds, Second Generation maintains, third generation destroys, and yes here we are into our third Generation PAP leaders watched over by the first and the second.

What went wrong in the scheme of things ? How could a PAP in charge and in control of everything create such a disaffected and apethetic nation ? How when and why did this rot set in from the first to the current third generation of leaders ?

A wise man once said about the "helicopter vision" so beloved by the PAP. The Grass only looks greener because the shit is much deeper :_))

I believe that the PAP has created such a self serving, self back clapping, self congratulatory mechanism , self praise feed back loop, that they have stopped being able to smell the shit on the grass.

In so much as politicians are self delusional and full of excuses to begin with, I am starting to believe that the PAP is believing the very shit they are creating.

A warning sign of the rot for me would have been the no of people starting to reject PAP tea parties and adomitions to serve the nation.

Locke

wikiphile

Whether PAP gets more than 60% or 60% i still want my exit :biggrin:

My two cents worth: the rot has already started with the cluelessness of the 3rd generation leaders on the future and direction of this excuse of a nation for the next 2 decade. The FT floodgates is fully opened and it is next to impossible push back the FT wave.

Can something be done in this coming election to arrest the situation? Yes and No. Yes, it can still be done if the powers to be can see the harms of what they created and be humble enough to reverse this stem. The odds of that happening is unfortunately less than my shot in winning the entire Group 1 Toto at the end of this month all by myself. :biggrin:

No they won't but will stay the course so long as the old man is breathing and still in power. Even if WP which seems to have the best shot of winning a GRC, it will still not be enough since its at most 5-6 opposition MPs against the rest. Even if some PAP MPs finally found their conscience (which once again is unlikely), the party whip system effectively prevents them from dissidence without consequences. One opposition GRC is barely enough to make a shadow cabinet let alone oppose effectively what the current regime wants to do in parliament.

:cool:

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
Agree 99.99%,
For many years we,
imagesCA8UA99B.jpg

Then now we wake up and they,
imagesCAKUS9QZ.jpg

And so they became,
lameduck.jpg

And finally we celebrate at tung lok restaurant,
singaporeroastduck.jpg

So shiok!

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Agreed. However, I need a stronger reason to convince my family, that Singaporean will never vote out PAP in years to come. :mad:

Whether PAP gets more than 60% or 60% i still want my exit

My two cents worth: the rot has already started with the cluelessness of the 3rd generation leaders on the future and direction of this excuse of a nation for the next 2 decade. The FT floodgates is fully opened and it is next to impossible push back the FT wave.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The ground has shifted significantly. But whether it is significant enough for it to be reflected in opposition victories, that is yet to be seen.

There are still a huge portion of the population, both from the older as well as young educated professionals who are apathetic or didn't bother to read internet websites (TR or TOC) for political views. Thus, it is difficult to win over this group of people with significant numbers.

Goh Meng Seng

aurvandil

This can't be right. It was just the other day that we were reading how YPAP was projecting winning the upcoming elections handsomely with more than 70%.

hahaha...very harsh words and fashionable sinkies bashing.
i would prefer to put majority of sinkies as heartlanders who are are contended just to watch channel8, read the evening papers and lim kopi/beer at kopitiams and TCSS to pass time, as long as life is bearable to them.
of course there will be the occasional grumblings, etc...but in general they are comfortable enough status quo.
who are we to impose our will on them? and because they do it their way, we label them with all sort of names.
History has shown and this is universal truth that once life becomes unbearable for majority, all hell will beak loose.

Yes I also fear that we may end up with HG only.
I also hope I am wrong on this count.....

kukubird58:

We are where we are today because most S'poreans are easily convinced. A lack of quality education may be the causal factor. From the time we attend primary school till we leave, then NS, can you think of opportunities whereby we are made to think?

Even if lies are told by MIW or when their answers aren't satisfactory, most S'poreans will still choose to believe them or give them the benefit of doubt.

The lack of credible opposition further exacerbates this problem. If more CSTs and Sylvia Lims step forward, we stand a chance. Most of the time, you get clowns and saboteurs stepping forward.

Forvendet

The lack of credible opposition further exacerbates this problem. If more CSTs and Sylvia Lims step forward, we stand a chance. Most of the time, you get clowns and saboteurs stepping forward.

CST has done alright in his time but he's over his prime now. Sylvia Lim is the best to have emerged in the 2000s. Too bad I'm not living in Aljunied, otherwise me and my wife would surely vote for her. Kenneth J. carries the shadow of his father around with him but is still too fresh on the scene. I'm wondering what's holding back his brother Philip J.

kukubird58

Kenneth J. carries the shadow of his father around with him but is still too fresh on the scene. I'm wondering what's holding back his brother Philip J.

Philip J simply has too much to loose......
something that been puzzling me for a long time was that Philip would have easily paid the money for JBJ to be discharged....but this did not happen!!!!!

wikiphile

kukubird58:

We are where we are today because most S'poreans are easily convinced. A lack of quality education may be the causal factor. From the time we attend primary school till we leave, then NS, can you think of opportunities whereby we are made to think?

Even if lies are told by MIW or when their answers aren't satisfactory, most S'poreans will still choose to believe them or give them the benefit of doubt.

And then those very same clowns and saboteurs are lauded for their 'courage' and 'tenacity' for opposing the PAP.

Let's put it this way, just because you say that you are opposing the PAP doesn't mean that you really are i.e. Yaw Shin Leong

And just because some of us are not declaring we are doesn't mean that we are supporting them either.

Every once in a while every one of us here may have chaffed under one policy of another of the current regime, some of us just suck it up while others follow an uniquely Singapore fashion - complain about it.

I'm no fan of the PAP but unfortunately as you have pointed out bro, too little Sylvias and CSTs
:rolleyes: