• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat EDB Scholar and the 2 fridges at Blk 441, Tampines St 43

He didn't pay for the fridges nor the contents inside the fridges so what's the big deal ?

so you are saying that if he did pay for all of that it WOULD be a big deal?

Sigh. Sinkies.

so you are saying that if he did pay for all of that it WOULD be a big deal?

Sigh. Sinkies.

He is trying to claim credit with an idea that does not require him to rack his brains.
He should have paid for the contents in the fridge on a weekly basis to make it a big deal :D

He is trying to claim credit with an idea that does not require him to rack his brains.
He should have paid for the contents in the fridge on a weekly basis to make it a big deal :D

LOL! Sinkies. Sigh.

Just throw some money and it becomes a big deal. No hope country and no hope people.

LOL! Sinkies. Sigh.

Just throw some money and it becomes a big deal. No hope country and no hope people.

Except the air you inhale , everything in Singapore comes with a price tag :rolleyes:
You new here ?
You a jiu hoo kia ?
Tiong ?
Bangladesh ?
Or a Pinoy ?

Truly a narcissistic self absorbed clown. Take a look at the article and the attached photos, particularly his pose - and he is a Member of Parliament and we are paying his salary to do fuck-all.

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-ne...ffel-tower-selfie-paris-tribute-post-facebook

MP Baey Yam Keng regrets Eiffel Tower selfie in Paris tribute post on Facebook

Mr Baey Yam Keng posted a selfie with the Eiffel Tower which drew ire from netizens. PHOTO: BAEY YAM KENG
Nov 17, 2015 03:28 pm
543 Shares
Member of parliament Baey Yam Keng, who is known for his frequent use of social media, in particular posting selfies, drew ire from netizens after positing one he took with the Eiffel Tower in a tribute to Paris after the Nov 13 terrorist attacks on the French capital.

Facebook user Cepheus Chan commented on Mr Baey's post: "Firstly, it's badly photoshopped. Secondly, that pose and expression in no way suggest that you're sympathetic to their plight. Thirdly, perhaps a simple photo of the Eiffel Tower would suffice, but no, you had to insert yourself into the picture."

While it was clear that the photo was heavily edited, many speculated that it was photoshopped.

The post has received 428 likes, 298 shares and 143 comments, most of them negative.

One of those commenters, Robin Leong, said:"Hello Baey Yam Keng, was it really necessary for you to put a picture of yourself to express your sympathy? And you are an MP? You really need some serious lessons in humility. Wow."

Another user, Aaron Kok, said: "You are riding a socially trending movement for the narcissistic popularity of getting more likes for your badly shot and poorly photoshopped selfie. Let's get real, you're not praying for Paris. You're posing for Paris. Tasteless, self-serving and a national joke."

Some also commented that the photo was only taking attention from the real issue - the tragedy of the attacks.

Ivy Tan wrote: "People are being slaughtered by terrorists in Paris Lebanon and who knows where else and we're here cyber bullying a politician over a badly photoshopped photo. Seriously guys?"

Mr Baey has since clarified on that post that the photo was indeed taken in May during his trip to Paris.

Earlier on Tuesday (Nov 17), Mr Baey put up another post stating that he regrets that his earlier post "has distracted the message on the global challenges we face today".

He explained: "Besides the utter senselessness and disregard for humanity, the attacks meant something more to me as I was just in Paris six months ago. I had wanted to provide a personal connection to my thoughts beyond text and decided to post a similar photo I uploaded then.

"On hindsight, I could have been more mindful about the choice of photo," he admitted.

Agree with you. And it a long standing solution that has worked in many countries.

The right thing to do is simple. And I provide the solution.

Soup kitchens using old and deformed but not rotten produce to feed the elderly and needy where biometrics or ic will be the way to prove they deserve it. For the needy, it can be a contract of food and voluntary workfare. This scheme can even work for needy students or those willing to toil for community service to get a meal. So you either prove with your body part that you qualify based on database referencing or you sweep the neighbourhood first before your meal. Singapore is going to the dogs and we need real social enterprise at work here. In fact, this soup kitchen should also be applied to primary and secondary schools. Provides employment and social involvement. It is a win-win. You heard it from me. If you can save the elderly with no money, please start now. Datalogging to keep track of cheats and usage is not difficult.

Except the air you inhale , everything in Singapore comes with a price tag :rolleyes:
You new here ?
You a jiu hoo kia ?
Tiong ?
Bangladesh ?
Or a Pinoy ?

Me Tiong lah! Yeah people of Singapore also got price tag. Can buy them one. LOL!

I really have no idea how the selection of PAP MPs are done. The last 3 GEs we have been getting a series of duds. We had a situation where a PAP MP candidate with NTUC was withdrawn after his candidature was announced and it was revealed that he had allegations of sexual misconduct. A Malay PAP candidate was also withdrawn a few days before nomination day for an unknown reason. Another Malay MP Amrin Amin who was found not suitable for MP was placed in CCC (dumping ground for porlumpars) but suddenly made an MP and now Parl Sec. His academic qualification in school, uni etc was not flash and MUIS gave him a scholarship to do his masters in NY and he now considers himself a scholar. In his law class at NUS he was an average performer. Even the law firm he was with is not flash but he calls himself as corporate lawyer.

Scholars who are in politics/government positions show their ineptitude. They cannot get a better job in the private sector. Hence they are where they are.

The scholar system will be the root cause for Singapore's eventual demise. Mark my words.

By now you must have heard about the 2 fridges at the void deck of Blk 441 to help the needy. When I asked around about MP Baey Yam Keng' new idea, the resounding reply was "what has changed". The guy was a resounding flop in EDB as a scholar so they pushed him from pillar to post.He had however began to sell himself as the bridge between the Chinese Ed and the English Ed in the political space and started high brow activities in the Arts and literary space. He eventually found refugee at Hill & Knowlton. They too told him to take hike.

So spend his time with short time gains, coming up with novel ideas that will disappear eventually and Singaporeans will have to bear with him.

================================================== =====================================
http://www.todayonline.com/singapore...ide-food-needy

SINGAPORE — Two brand-new refrigerators, parked side-by-side at a lift lobby in Tampines, have been drawing strange stares from residents there of late.

Those who have ventured a closer look have been somewhat surprised by the sight of fresh produce, meat and eggs inside the refrigerators located at Block 441 Tampines Street 43. And they are free to take what they want or need - no questions asked.

It is not a prank or a marketing gimmick. Instead, the refrigerators are part of a new, experimental community initiative aimed at encouraging residents in the area to help provide food for needy residents.

The project, launched last Saturday (Jan 21), was started by the Tampines North Citizens’ Consultative Committee, with support from the Tampines Town Council. One of the refrigerators stores Halal food and the other contains non-Halal items.

The Tampines North — My Kind of Fridge project seeks to kindle the community’s “kampung spirit”, said Mr Baey Yam Keng, a Member of Parliament for Tampines Group Representation Constituency.

The refrigerators, which were donated, were first stocked up last Saturday with contributions from residents who learnt of the initiative through social media.

While the project targets families in Blocks 441 and 442 — rental blocks that house between 200 and 300 residents across 100-odd units — Mr Baey said it was not confined only to these residents.

“There’ll be some people who may not be living in rental flats but may face hardship as well, and if they need that occasional access to food on the table, they’re most welcome,” he said, adding that the initiative was intentionally left “open and accessible”.

He acknowledged that some people may abuse the initiative by sweeping the fridges clean of items.

“But I’ve faith in the community that these people are in the real minority,” said Mr Baey, who is also Parliamentary Secretary for Culture, Community and Youth. “I don’t have to devise a very complicated mechanism to deter them at the expense of a lot more people who can benefit.”

To heighten awareness of the initiative, posters have been put up on the notice boards of flats in Tampines North. Grassroots volunteers have also been helping to spread the word.

However, when TODAY visited Block 441(space here please)on Tuesday, the fridges were largely bare, save for items such as chillies, and a handful of fruits and vegetables.

Madam Ng Ai Mui, 76, who has lived in Block 441 for nearly two decades, said she would take items such as fruits, but would be considerate in leaving some for others.

“Some people are very greedy and take a lot. Some take for their grandchildren and others; they shouldn’t do so,” she told TODAY in Mandarin.

Another resident, Madam Aminah Sakibau, has taken fish, vegetables and apples from the fridge and said she would not take whatever she already has.

“We go to the market also. Whatever I have, I won’t take,” said the 73-year-old.

Madam Tan Joo Lang, of neighbouring Block 442, said she would keep the cabbage, carrot and potatoes she obtained until Chinese New Year, but the items are “not fresh”. “It’s better to buy from the market,” she added in Mandarin.

Apart from guidelines on the fridges advising residents to inspect the food for its cleanliness, and to ensure it is hygienic, volunteers from the area’s Residents’ Committees will also drop in to check on expired food. Residents in the block also serve as volunteers to keep the fridges clean.

Said Mr Baey: “It’s a joint responsibility ... (to have) this sense of ownership and also accountability and responsibility for what we eat (and) receive.”

The constituency will study the response to the initiative for the next three to six months before deciding if tweaks are needed and if it will be extended to other rental blocks in Tampines.

“If it works well, I’m happy to be able to roll it out to other rental areas in Tampines,” said Mr Baey.

It’s not about a scholar and 2 fridges. It is a behavioral research to determine how sinkies has changed over the years. In fact we were almost there but with the influx of Prc, Indians, Phillippinos, Indonesians, Vietnamese, etcs Not the next 20-30 years maybe 50-100 years.
This the kind of city they are trying to achieve. Watch.

I really have no idea how the selection of PAP MPs are done. The last 3 GEs we have been getting a series of duds. We had a situation where a PAP MP candidate with NTUC was withdrawn after his candidature was announced and it was revealed that he had allegations of sexual misconduct. A Malay PAP candidate was also withdrawn a few days before nomination day for an unknown reason. Another Malay MP Amrin Amin who was found not suitable for MP was placed in CCC (dumping ground for porlumpars) but suddenly made an MP and now Parl Sec. His academic qualification in school, uni etc was not flash and MUIS gave him a scholarship to do his masters in NY and he now considers himself a scholar. In his law class at NUS he was an average performer. Even the law firm he was with is not flash but he calls himself as corporate lawyer.

Scroobal, here's the problem. Every Singapore politician is compared against LKY, Rajaratnam, GKS, TCC, and the founding fathers of Singapore.

You want capable, smart, street wise, and HOLY HOLY JESUS righteous people as your leaders.

I'm sorry man. Everyone has their demons. No one is perfect.

I would rather settle for people who are capable and can get the job done. I don't really care if they have had affairs before or have strange sexual practices. As long as they get the job done. This is the reality these days.

The problem with politics in Singapore is because the STUPID SINGAPORE people continue to want Scholars with nice stories of their life in Secondary School and JC and how they got scholarships as the background to choosing their MP. The stoopid Singaporeans are the ones who want such useless early overachievers who become over the hill has beens as their leaders. The PAP is merely giving what the public want.

PAP is also very smart. They keep these scholars close to the establishment. They give them cushy positions in the establishment. If they are not with the PAP they lose everything and because these useless idiots know that they cannot make it in the private sector, they will of course toe the line and stick with the PAP.

The public are dumb enough to buy this crap. Scholar! Wah! Smart! Wah! Doctor! Wah! Lawyer!

Why so few bankers in politics? Cos bankers don't need that $$$ from PAP shit. And they all made it in the pte sector.

If you don't believe me about the doctor lawyer scholar bit just look at the billion dollar tuition industry in SIngapore. What is every parent hoping their kid become? Doctor, lawyer, scholar. No Singaporean would trust a business man to be a politician in Singapore.

It is deep seated in your Singapore water.

As they say, when the water is rotten, the roots will eventually rot too. And even thousand year old trees when they fall, they fall in an instant.

Most Singaporeans have work colleagues or management staff in their companies that are more capable than most of the PAP MPs. I don't think they are looking for highly qualified individuals or even the likes of the first generation leaders at least for the post of an MP.

What it does show is that most capable Singaporeans are not prepared to serve the PAP and therefore the PAP are scrapping of the barrel's bottom. Capable Singaporeans have learnt to sink roots in more than one country, build a life without the need to be subservient to the PAP, and some do suffer in silence.

Scroobal, here's the problem. Every Singapore politician is compared against LKY, Rajaratnam, GKS, TCC, and the founding fathers of Singapore.

You want capable, smart, street wise, and HOLY HOLY JESUS righteous people as your leaders.

I'm sorry man. Everyone has their demons. No one is perfect.

I would rather settle for people who are capable and can get the job done. I don't really care if they have had affairs before or have strange sexual practices. As long as they get the job done. This is the reality these days.

The problem with politics in Singapore is because the STUPID SINGAPORE people continue to want Scholars with nice stories of their life in Secondary School and JC and how they got scholarships as the background to choosing their MP. The stoopid Singaporeans are the ones who want such useless early overachievers who become over the hill has beens as their leaders. The PAP is merely giving what the public want.

PAP is also very smart. They keep these scholars close to the establishment. They give them cushy positions in the establishment. If they are not with the PAP they lose everything and because these useless idiots know that they cannot make it in the private sector, they will of course toe the line and stick with the PAP.

The public are dumb enough to buy this crap. Scholar! Wah! Smart! Wah! Doctor! Wah! Lawyer!

Why so few bankers in politics? Cos bankers don't need that $$$ from PAP shit. And they all made it in the pte sector.

If you don't believe me about the doctor lawyer scholar bit just look at the billion dollar tuition industry in SIngapore. What is every parent hoping their kid become? Doctor, lawyer, scholar. No Singaporean would trust a business man to be a politician in Singapore.

It is deep seated in your Singapore water.

As they say, when the water is rotten, the roots will eventually rot too. And even thousand year old trees when they fall, they fall in an instant.

Most Singaporeans have work colleagues or management staff in their companies that are more capable than most of the PAP MPs. I don't think they are looking for highly qualified individuals or even the likes of the first generation leaders at least for the post of an MP.

What it does show is that most capable Singaporeans are not prepared to serve the PAP and therefore the PAP are scrapping of the barrel's bottom. Capable Singaporeans have learnt to sink roots in more than one country, build a life without the need to be subservient to the PAP, and some do suffer in silence.

Nope. It's the scholar system. They choose from scholars. A lot of these are useless army generals and colonels.

And the people are impressed. I believe it is partly due to the SAF army NS system which brainwashes all males into buying this whole rank hierarchy system.

Unless you are saying that all the scholars were at the bottom of the barrel to begin with?

Then you should ask the more IMPORTANT questions. WHY HAVE A SCHOLAR PROGRAM? and HOW DO THEY CHOOSE SCHOLARS?

Singapore iS FUBAR. Having a new ruling party is one step but will change little because the civil service is also rotten with all the same scholars useless people. And then the SAF is another FUBAR organization. And then the education system. And then the worst of all is the Singaporean psyche. The most FUBAR shit hit the fan problem to overcome which I believe will never be overcome until Singapore collapses.

So there is no hope for Singapore. It will sink eventually.

FAP will then up the stakes and put 2 chinese masseurs giving free specials to make Teck Ghee great again

Hardly a novel idea - it is a recurring feature in a number of Gulf countries for the benefit of low-income labourers/blue-collar workers - I doubt it is the epiphany of aforesaid scholar and his grassrooters:

The Sharing Fridge campaign: https://lovindubai.com/dubai/the-sharing-fridge-campaign

"There are several initiatives to help blue-collar workers around the city. While most of them require volunteers to head to labour camps or collection drives in order to assist, this particular one takes a slightly different route. The Sharing Fridge initiative is all about making food available to the needy through community fridges. What started off a while ago by generous individuals such as Fikra Yel and Anar Ebrahim was given a boost by Aussie expat Sumayyah Sayed on Facebook and the result: a campaign that's spreading like wildfire. Currently, there are 43 such fridges around the city, with each serving around 150 people a day. While some residents have donated the fridge, others are sharing the space and the rest are helping to keep them stocked."

"DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (AP) — Volunteers in the United Arab Emirates have set up more than 90 outdoor refrigerators where laborers and others can pick up food and bottled water, a charity initiative in honor of the Muslim fasting month of Ramadan.
On a recent day in Dubai, blue-collar workers, laborers and drivers stopped by a fridge to get a cold bottle of water or a mid-afternoon snack. The food includes chips, dates, fruits and vegetables — as well as the occasional hot meal. Volunteers with the "Sharing Fridge" campaign restock each fridge up to 15 times a day."

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/wires/ap...ers-UAE-stock-90-Ramadan-fridges-workers.html

"DUBAI // For two years Fikra Yel and her family have maintained a large fridge outside their villa, keeping it well stocked with bottles of water for labourers working in the area to pick up at any time of the day if they’re feeling thirsty.

The fridge has proven immensely popular with gardeners and workers in the Meadows neighbourhood where Ms Yel lives.

However, to better provide for people on low-paying jobs this Ramadan, Ms Yel has posted flyers around the community urging her neighbours to donate any excess food from iftars that would otherwise be wasted.

"If there’s going to be leftovers, just put it in the fridge so workers can take it. They’d be so happy to have it and it’s better than just throwing it in the garbage. I know that people tend to cook a lot during this month and there’s sometimes a lot of food that’s going to be wasted," she said.

"We wanted just to open our fridge to whoever wants to help and make it a community thing."

The initiative has already proven popular with several residents donating food over the weekend, as well as attracting scores of encouraging comments on a Facebook community board."

http://www.thenational.ae/uae/environment/community-fridge-a-big-hit-with-thirsty-dubai-workers

"Two summers ago, a local family put a refrigerator outside their house stocked with free cold water, laban and juice.

The fridge had a note that said, “Take anything you need,” giving many workers access to refreshments during the hottest months of the year.

Now, the Qatari family is distributing iftar meals to hundreds of workers in the same spot alongside the fridge, by the Chamber of Commerce at Muntazah signal off of C-Ring Road."

https://dohanews.co/qatari-family-feeds-350-people-a-day-during-ramadan/

This extends not only to the PAP but the civil service as well. The first generation got there by merit. After they got there, they did everything they could to ensure that they stayed at the top along with their family and friends. The result is our current set of leaders and a Singapore destined to decline.

The novel idea wud be giving free Coffin to tos poor elderly when they kick the bucket, start a registration and watch who qualifies, PAP will long be remembered or isit Arse Loong be long remembered.

This extends not only to the PAP but the civil service as well. The first generation got there by merit. After they got there, they did everything they could to ensure that they stayed at the top along with their family and friends. The result is our current set of leaders and a Singapore destined to decline.

Decline is good. Faster the better. If no decline, how can hope for things get better?

block 441 confirmed 漏財。Double leak some more. :p