Not trying to be the expert in this field...but i only know the upstream really jialat, oil price so low. What about downstream primary secondary and tertiary petrol chemical products? Also bad ah...or your projected future is also bad? if not then why are you saying scaling down the project until times are better? I also suspicious about those project whether they can be fruitful because i dont know much about petrol chemical products markets, esp the demand side of such products in the future. Jurong island is already really big, still not enough meh? or going to be a competition between each other...?? i dont know.
1. New funds need not have to be in the form of equity, they can borrow to fund the project on their own and the project 100% theirs. Aramco came in with equity because they see them as strategic partner....they provide oil
2. errr... help expand Aramco’s portfolio do not mean RAPID facilities will be touted as an Aramco's initiative. Expand portfolio means rapid 50% shares will be in aramco portfolio, thats all, any sensible ppl by just reading it "expand portfolio" will not know anything about the initiative.
3. they are in the same business in upstream...aramco downstream presence remain small, their first downstream venture was late until 2005...so this business joint venture can consider as not so virgin-like virgin venture.
4. aramco have bigger say...maybe, but lets not guess, time will tell.
5. aramco also have other investment in the region
6. yes, 700m usd keep coming out. But foreign news never say that saudi is using it as ransom to force petronas into such deal. Use 700m force to kiss najib.... perhaps hahaha
Already said time and time again, getting a bank loan is out.
All the banks, international and local, are already having an exposure to the O&G and are 100% jittery, with many loans soon becoming defaults.
No banks are keen on loans to the O&G industry anymore and even if the dare, the rates will be exorbitant.
Petronas know this very well, hence they went out to seek a partner, someone with lots of money.
I've said, a 50/50 joint venture is not without risk.
First, being equal, how are you going to administer the voting rights, who shall have the final say in all decisions?
Aramco already committed certain amount of "work' for the RAPID, what is stopping them from providing 100% thus becoming technically making it their very own plant?
Are there any provisions there to prevent a hostile total takeover in future by this partner?
This downstream plant serves them well to service their East Asian customers.
As for the foreign press's perpetual "gentle reminder" of the US$700 scandal, just means that this scandal is not over.
As for the Saudis, they get nothing if they "pecak lobang" and by keeping quiet, it serves them better holding someone's 痛脚。
As for the kisses, it could be : Thank you for the special discount offered for RAPID and also for sending so many of your boys over FOC to join my army, I'll call when we need more men.
Wahh...good argument. Since petronas not saying anything, perhaps it is petronas want to get out of the deal while aramco pulling petronas into the deal. Beat me, possible too. So it is sensible for Johari to said :According to Johari, however, the project was never led by the Saudis in the first place. He said Petronas had been executing it on its own “since Day One”.
The funding of this project until its completion has always been based solely on Petronas’ own strength. The possibility of having Aramco as a partner to share the project was only an option. Since Petronas could not agree to some of the terms, the two parties decided to stop the negotiations and move on.”
“We need to make sure that foreign investors coming into our country will create win-win situations for us and them. Things cannot be one sided.”
It is true that the project was initially meant to be funded 100% by Petronas.
But halfway thru, they find that they are lacking the funds to proceed due to falling oil prices that even the tax revenue were reduced by billions, resulting the govt. having to slash the Budget drastically!
And it was Petronas that went out to find an investor and it fits nicely Aramco's long term plan, hence the partnership, so Aramco will never be here if not for Petronas asking.
And here you have a partner asking for equal stake but providing possibly a lower than asking price offer, hence the super long negotiation.
A 50/50 joint venture cannot be a true win/win situation, any smart businessman will tell you this.
So aramco want to be big boss in this project...haha so no matter how hard petronas want to chase away aramco, they cant as saudi will stick like a fly.
50% is a 50%, ie equal voice. Malaysia got law say foreign ownership cannot over 50% meh? even touch 50% alraedy against the law liao?
Thank you for your reply but I suggest you read up more foreign news, the local news are controlled and tell good things and only things they wanted you to know.