• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dumb Singaporeans!

I heard this story and I laughed. Australian chic working in Sydney heard about the low tax, great nightlife etc and applied to Temasek for a job. Got the job. Met a few lively SIA stewardess and decided to rent a room in a 5 room flat that 2 of the stewardess were renting. After a year of working in Temasek, thru a local contact managed to get a job with one of the largest law firms here as a Business Development Executive.

This girl only has degree, being working for 2 years after graduation. No special skills or valuable experience. The stewardesses are always on the road so the 5 room flat is almost empty. In a matter of year, she has managed to convince some of her friends and relatives to make the move here.

When asked why Singapore was looking for people like her - her sincere answer was a million bucks. According to her, the locals can't speak or write English properly and firms that deal with international firms cannot employ locals.

Ah? SinKaPoor England so Bad 1 meh? I thought Gorbermen say our England lumpar one ah ? Whahahahhaah

I heard this story and I laughed. Australian chic working in Sydney heard about the low tax, great nightlife etc and applied to Temasek for a job. Got the job. Met a few lively SIA stewardess and decided to rent a room in a 5 room flat that 2 of the stewardess were renting. After a year of working in Temasek, thru a local contact managed to get a job with one of the largest law firms here as a Business Development Executive.

This girl only has degree, being working for 2 years after graduation. No special skills or valuable experience. The stewardesses are always on the road so the 5 room flat is almost empty. In a matter of year, she has managed to convince some of her friends and relatives to make the move here.

When asked why Singapore was looking for people like her - her sincere answer was a million bucks. According to her, the locals can't speak or write English properly and firms that deal with international firms cannot employ locals.

Sinkies' fate is like worse than a prostitute - get fucked and have to pay for it.

sometimes i just don't know what to say to your posts. half the time they're thoughtful, but the other half consist purely of rubbish one-liners like this.

This girl only has degree, being working for 2 years after graduation. No special skills or valuable experience.

Her "special" skills is able to communicate well in proper English. No many Singaporeans can do that, including me. :(

I heard this story and I laughed. Australian chic working in Sydney heard about the low tax, great nightlife etc and applied to Temasek for a job. Got the job. .

i do not think the majority of aussies write good english either. she probably gets the job because she is white. sillypore is obviously still suffering from the colonial syndrom!!

Admittedly, Singaporeans' English is really bad, considering this is a first language in schools and is a language widely used in the country.

What do u expect? You some kind of forum police or what? As my nick will tell you, I'm just ranting like everybody else, and since I am not the thread starter, you don't have to react to me. You don't have to like it and neither do I expect you to. There are also many one-liners like mine and I don't go around rubbishing them. Everyone's free to express himself whether in long verbose prose or simple sarcastic one-liners. If you expect literary workpieces, go to the library. I suppose you hold me in higher esteem than I do realise, for which tks anyway - it's a backhanded compliment. Btw, in case, you dont realise it - yrs is also a one-liner but I'm too polite to call it rubbish.

sometimes i just don't know what to say to your posts. half the time they're thoughtful, but the other half consist purely of rubbish one-liners like this.

Admittedly, Singaporeans' English is really bad, considering this is a first language in schools and is a language widely used in the country.

Hmmm I heard Singaporeans' mandarin isn't up to standard as well. I suppose Singlish would be the only language we are good at then. :D:D:D

Fully support that.

its all boil down to the way we are taught english from elementary school and up to high school..i dont think there are many local teachers that are able to pronounce word by word in british standards....

if u have 2 sons.. have one educated in local schools in sg and another one educated in sg but in an international school if u are able to afford it...u prob can see the difference..

its all boil down to the way we are taught english from elementary school and up to high school..i dont think there are many local teachers that are able to pronounce word by word in british standards....

if u have 2 sons.. have one educated in local schools in sg and another one educated in sg but in an international school if u are able to afford it...u prob can see the difference..

your assumption is that the parents themselves can't speak proper english, hence the need for the school/friends to teach'the children proper english.

nope its the teachers.... in the past, dont think sg were able to afford british natives to come teach proper standard english....then came the closure of chinese schools where most of the mandarin speaking teachers were forced to convert their teachings in english....and etc..

if u go to england, most asian born there are able to speak very good british standard of english while at home they speak their mother tongue language with their parents....

stars like alex wang , russel peters, paul varghese, anna chen speaks good english according to the standard they are taught in...but their parents speaks bad english or are bad in it..

Most of the ang mohs working here, at or below high management level are actually worse off than the average Singaporean very in written English. BUT they have good connections amongst the other ang mohs to get projects

The root of the problem is the garment allowing largely cannot make it FTs to come here to work. These ang mohs rent condos and the PAPies and their cronies need the ang mohs to rent their surplus homes.

Without the largely useless ang mohs, many condos will be empty and the PAPies and their cronies will be drowning in their debts to banks.

I have worked with many ang mohs and out of the many I have to work with closely, 95% of what they do can be done by a Singaporean. But the PAPies allow scums to come in like cheap tap water.

I even know of ang moh FTs getting garment grants to set up businesses here and most of these business ideas cannot make it and it is so obvious. It is not that some of the ideas are too futuristic but it is the case that most of the ideas have already been put to market and the area of the market is so saturated and yet we have garment agencies giving out grants (don't have to pay back).

This is the legacy of the PAP and their all-round greed. The PAP is milking the Singapore cow until there will be nothing left to milk but to sweep up the ashes.

Imagine, our forefathers working back-breacking jobs and today they are marginalised in society. All their hard work to build the country and the garment GIVES millions away to poorly educated FTs whose only use is to prop up the property market in SG for the PAPies and their cronies.

You know the ground well bro. I do feel sorry for the country and Singaporeans. I honestly expected her to give me a line like she brought special experience or a special qualifications. She was sincere in her answers. I suspect that she said it because she was probably aware that most Singaporeans are qualified to do the job and the only gap as she saw it was the language.

Most of the ang mohs working here, at or below high management level are actually worse off than the average Singaporean very in written English. BUT they have good connections amongst the other ang mohs to get projects

Until the early 80s, most kids coming out from mission schools and good schools had a good grasp of the language. I am talking about O level kids that can speak and write well. Thereafter it was one way down.

It gave Singaporeans a distinct edge in the international space compared to other non-english speaking countries then. I remember a radio presenter for the channel was fired from her job because of her grammar. She wrote in her blog that it was unfair and the English was indeed bad.

nope its the teachers.... in the past, dont think sg were able to afford british natives to come teach proper standard english....then came the closure of chinese schools where most of the mandarin speaking teachers were forced to convert their teachings in english....and etc..

i

Bad English speaking Sinkie is the product of LKY 40 years of gahment. And also Sinkies can't speak/write proper Chinese, also blame LKY. Either one they are half fuck. This is the problem when you have no oppositions in a country to check, balance and correct him. Now Ah Pek LKY lan lan takes the blame for producing half-fuck English speaking Sinkies.

... I remember a radio presenter for the channel was fired from her job because of her grammar. She wrote in her blog that it was unfair and the English was indeed bad.
her interviewers' head shud hv rolled instead ... :mad:

They speak better but their written and business skills are awful. Without their localised ang moh connections, they would have been paupers here.

Their workskills are horrigible and totally cannot make it. And it's not just the ang mohs. I know of made-in-CHina and pinoy FTs that work in multinational companies in marketing and comms department that can't write decently and are actually really poor in the required skills for their jobscope.

But thanks to connections, usually through spouses and friends they get the jobs. And these are higly paid jobs.

I must say, that my writing here is also not great but I don't have the time to proof-read my writings here unlike what is required in business writings.

This country went to the dogs, PAPy dogs, years ago. It is only when the PAP garment started importing lowly waged FTs that more Singaporeans noticed them around.

But the sad fact is that poorly educated and highly innefectual FTs have been around in the white collar jobs for ages.

What irks me the most is that these fly-by-night citizens manage to get grants for the most wasteful ideas and they spend the money like water and then leave the country or try again.