• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dumb Singaporeans!

When Visa International appointed its new AP Regional head in Singapore, he began taking in his fellow country from Standard Chartered Bank where he was previously from. They were all Ang Mos(Britsih). One of them sent out an email on how they successfully have come together in Visa. He unfortunately sent the email to all staff and there was an uproar.

Standard Chart had to fill many vacancies and for the first time began picking Indian National for the first time. Now the entire Middle Management is Indian.

I have been watching all these and the idiots that get left out are the Singaporeans.

But thanks to connections, usually through spouses and friends they get the jobs. And these are higly paid jobs.

When Visa International appointed its new AP Regional head in Singapore, he began taking in his fellow country from Standard Chartered Bank where he was previously from. They were all Ang Mos(Britsih). One of them sent out an email on how they successfully have come together in Visa. He unfortunately sent the email to all staff and there was an uproar.

Standard Chart had to fill many vacancies and for the first time began picking Indian National for the first time. Now the entire Middle Management is Indian.

I have been watching all these and the idiots that get left out are the Singaporeans.

Aiyoh, I have lots of respect for you bro scroobal but why do you, like may others here, belittle fellow Singaporeans?

If you see an open manhole then a blind man walks into the manhole, do you call the blind man daft? If you see a man with a limp that cannot run fast, do you belittle him for being slow? When you notice an elderly being slow in comprehension, do you belittle the elderly?

Likewise, you and I, we may see things that others don't but that doesn't mean that we are better or smarter or that we should belittle others that we see as being less able.

The blind man has very likely inculcated his other senses to the point where he is more intuned than you and I when it comes to our hearing or smell. The man with a limp has grown to appreciate things in life that we, in our haste, have missed and lost. The elderly have so much wealth in experience and knowledge and love.

What we throw away or belittle is what we lose. The more you throw, the more you lose. When you are old, you will have nothing left to throw but yourself. Such is life and the knowledge of life and the good that life should bring unto us all.

I have said may times before, do not blame the 66%, let us take the blame instead for it is us that sees what they do not see and it is imperative, now, more than ever to share what we know and feel with others that need it.

In a period of strife and hunger, you have a loaf of bread and the person next to you has nothing to eat - do you bellitle this person for having nothing or do you give this person a piece of your bread? How much you give is truly your prerogative but do you give sufficiently to this person or do you belittle him?

I believe most of us here know we have a part to play. The utmost question is how to play our relative parts.

In signing off, I would like to point out that readers may wonder how unqualified and poorly skilled FTs can survive in MNCs. The answer is simple in that a lot of products from MNCs really sell by themself, through branding, marketing and effective pricing. Most of which are done a a select group of highly qualified professionals who may or may not reside here in Singapore.

When asked why Singapore was looking for people like her - her sincere answer was a million bucks. According to her, the locals can't speak or write English properly and firms that deal with international firms cannot employ locals.

It may be "a million bucks" but the tragedy of the situation is that she's spot on. There aren't many sinkies I would hire if the position required communicating with the English speaking world. :rolleyes:

In the old days, employing someone from a mission school [ACS, St Andrew's, SJI etc] would be a reasonably safe bet but I'm afraid that's no longer the case.

If sinkies want to improve their English, they can start off by remembering that "advise" is a verb and "advice" is a noun.

Absolutely agree. Its us that we have to blame. Don't worry, I am doing my part and my level best to unseat this tyrannical regime. All the bullshit about fighting the colonials with Goh Keng Swee and Kevin Byrne are down the drain. Now we are giving their offsprings jobs hand over fist.

I have said may times before, do not blame the 66%, let us take the blame instead for it is us that sees what they do not see and it is imperative, now, more than ever to share what we know and feel with others that need it.

A?

If you see an open manhole then a blind man walks into the manhole, do you call the blind man daft? If you see a man with a limp that cannot run fast, do you belittle him for being slow? When you notice an elderly being slow in comprehension, do you belittle the elderly?

Your analogy is off the mark. Blindness and senility are caused by diseases, the ageing process or combination of both. In most cases, sufferers are innocent victims of their afflictions.

On the other hand, the inability to speak and write proper English is a direct result of an inflated sense of self worth, a misplaced sense of pride in singlish and an attitude of absolute indifference regarding the need to speak and write well.

I have been pointing out glaring errors for years in my forums and the response I invariably get is some inane remark such as "..can understand ok alredi mah!" or "singapore forum can speak singlish one.".

Speaking and writing good English is well within the capability of every single Singaporean. When I was in school, even the dunces in the "F" classes could string together a grammatically correct sentence.

If sinkies want to improve their English, they can start off by remembering that "advise" is a verb and "advice" is a noun.

Just recite it as a mantra........

I advise him and he took my advice.......I advise him and he took my advice........He took my advice and what I had advised before........He took my advice and what I had advised before..............

I agree. One day I saw a draft presentation by a overseas returned scholar and I saw one of his headers "Causation Factors". I asked him why not "Causes". He told me that the presentation must reflect his standard of education.

In another case of overseas returned scholar, much of the content was not flowing but was laden with bombastic words. He obviously spent much time carrying out word replacement with the help of a Thesaurus.

I however noted that kids of senior servants and professionals(especially doctors) tend to do much better in articulating. And clearly its the home environment that made the difference. I wonder what is going on in our schools.

In the old days, employing someone from a mission school [ACS, St Andrew's, SJI etc] would be a reasonably safe bet but I'm afraid that's no longer the case.

And clearly its the home environment that made the difference. I wonder what is going on in our schools.

My classmates came from all walks of life. Many were sons of hawkers, taxi drivers, tailors and shopkeepers that lived and worked in the Chinatown area.

My cohort all spoke and wrote good English.

I am truly astonished that all of you put down decently schooled Singaporeans (read: not educated) as having poor written English standards. As written a short while back, the 154th has been used as a front to propagandise the needs of the PAPies.

Not too long ago, the PAPies used to espouse the Singaporean worker.

Not too long ago, there were surveys that showed that Singaporeans worked the longest and even walked the fastest - both symptomatic of a society that works hard. Whether this translates to better linguistic skills is secondary but the issue is that the 154th now states that we are lacking in productivity.

In short, stop mimicking the 154th and truly look on the outside sufficiently before making such sweeping remarks about your fellow countrymen. If you cannot do this then, truly you are not even worth the dirt that you walk upon.

I was and am fortunate enough to have better experience with recent and current graduates.

I am hopeful that you lot do not form this forum as a base to formulate your LKY-like synopsis of Singaporeans. I am confident that I nor many others, the majority, are not daft. What many of us have failed in is in receiving 'proper' information.

When countries go to war, the first infrastructure that is destroyed is the information infrastructure. What this shows is that information is the most powerful weapon in modern society.

You have a decent weapon. Use it wisely.

Your analogy is off the mark. Blindness and senility are caused by diseases, the ageing process or combination of both. In most cases, sufferers are innocent victims of their afflictions.

On the other hand, the inability to speak and write proper English is a direct result of an inflated sense of self worth, a misplaced sense of pride in singlish and an attitude of absolute indifference regarding the need to speak and write well.

I have been pointing out glaring errors for years in my forums and the response I invariably get is some inane remark such as "..can understand ok alredi mah!" or "singapore forum can speak singlish one.".

Speaking and writing good English is well within the capability of every single Singaporean. When I was in school, even the dunces in the "F" classes could string together a grammatically correct sentence.

CBKia TonyChat! :oIo:

Oh wait! Ah, it's you - the forum mistress. Tiu! Not everyone writes well in such forums. For you to formulate yourself based on the writings of others here is a sad sign of the poor Singaporean - lacking proper knowledge of what is actually out there in the real world.

It's not a language issue but an issue related to a greedy government that is positioned to allow poorly qualified FTs onto our shores. A situation that has been exacerbated by their knowledge that their time is running out. It is very mush like a drowning man swallowing more water than air as he grapples with his predicament.

ALso, take note that there are many causes to being blind or having a limp. One can be blinded after being in anaccident. One can walk with a limp as the result of an accident. What you want to see is what you get. But there are many things out there that we don't know. But as long as we have an motivation to make the lives of others betters, we will always have empathy and henceforth, the better probability to care for others and putour selves into a position to do as such.

There is nothing wrong with Singaporeans but the people that govern them. It is as simple as that.

I keep thinking of TT DUrai and how the 154th, prior to the NKF fiasco, used to paint him as a hero for kidney patients not only in Singapore but all over the world. I too, believed in it.

Now I know better and how inconsequential the creep was other than to overcharge patients for medication.

You think the 66% are daft? Hello, you same same lah. I oso same same. But perhaps we now know. So what you do with what you know is important if you truly care for Singaporeans and the country.

It is the, we should be proud of our Singlish all over again. That it should be worn as a badge of honor. Tell it to the PAP Ministers and their kids.

We do speak Singlish at opportune times but we do not write Singlish for work related correspondence.

You lot should work for the 154th.:oIo:

The we, is as with the majority of Singaporeans behind you? There is a great difference between articulating the English language in face to face encounters and drafting a report or even a letter with the a thesaurus and grammar help book. But I will give in to the requirement of a good base in vocabulary in order to fake a reasonable projection of language competence.

Do you know why the Board of Governors of Nantah and the Singapore leaders send all their children overseas for tertiary education.

The rest of them were told that Singapore education is fine. I guess you truly believe in that. SPH and Singapore media are the ones that have been painting the impression that our language competency is par for the course. When it is not. Speak to any mission school or even govt school kids from the likes of Gan Eng Seng, Cedar Girls etc prior to 1980 and you can tell the difference.

We do speak Singlish at opportune times but we do not write Singlish for work related correspondence.

You lot should work for the 154th.:oIo:

Sam, when is the last time that you talk to a Singaporean, in th 70s?

And do we need to talk like David Beckham or Crocodile Dundee to be considered as speaking good and proper English?

Or do we have to pronounce like the black American and speaks like them?

Frankly to me, there is no such thing as a standard spoken English?!

The American, the British, the Australian, all speaks very differently and all are equally guilty of littering lot's of local slang into their sentences.

If anything, the basic requirement of any conversation is to be sensitive to who the audience are, and to speak and writes consciously and clearly.

So Singaporeans being replace at alarming rate 'cause of poor lingustics ! :)

In short, stop mimicking the 154th and truly look on the outside sufficiently before making such sweeping remarks about your fellow countrymen. If you cannot do this then, truly you are not even worth the dirt that you walk upon.

You have obviously not met the throngs of Sinkies who worship the ground that LKY walks on. If most Sinkies have the least bit of respect and compassion for their fellow countrymen, PAP would not be so dominant today. They have absolutely no empathy until it is their turn to be screwed hard. In Chinese, it is called not shedding tears until you see the coffin. You think things have changed? I would gladly wager with you on the opposite.

So Singaporeans being replace at alarming rate 'cause of lingustics ! :)

Far from it, the bottom line is $$$.

When Hong Kong was the "Regional Office HQs for tons of MNC" in the 80s. The first time I visited one of these offices, have a shock, almost none of the staff can speak in non-halting English, including those in Management. Although they can communicate very well in Email.

And their Cantonese accented spoken English till today, is many times worse then us.
:rolleyes:

What do u expect? You some kind of forum police or what? As my nick will tell you, I'm just ranting like everybody else, and since I am not the thread starter, you don't have to react to me. You don't have to like it and neither do I expect you to. There are also many one-liners like mine and I don't go around rubbishing them. Everyone's free to express himself whether in long verbose prose or simple sarcastic one-liners. If you expect literary workpieces, go to the library. I suppose you hold me in higher esteem than I do realise, for which tks anyway - it's a backhanded compliment. Btw, in case, you dont realise it - yrs is also a one-liner but I'm too polite to call it rubbish.

aiyo, seems like i hurt someone's delicate feelings