• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Does this make Sense!

garlic

Good news bros!!!! There are actually minimum wages in force in Singapore... The pay is awesome!! And you get many perks and concessions!!! YES!!! There are such jobs in Singapore...No joke!!

"Government issued a white paper entitled Competitive Salaries for Competent & Honest Government[57] which proposed that the salaries of ministers and civil servants be pegged at two-thirds the average principal earned income of the top four earners in six professions: accounting, banking, engineering, law, local manufacturing firms and multinational corporations."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cabinet_of_Singapore

This simply means all minsters' minimum salary are guaranteed. To get more money.. they have the bonuses (Damn flexible one) ... I remember 2-3 years back Ah Loong got 8 mths bonuses.. SONG LAH!!! But hell, there certainly are minimum wages in Singapore, just not happening to you and me. The only minimum thing we are guaranteed are the long working hours and chides from MM that our hides are not spurred and he does not give a fark.

iamtalkinglah

Good news bros!!!! There are actually minimum wages in force in Singapore... The pay is awesome!! And you get many perks and concessions!!! YES!!! There are such jobs in Singapore...No joke!!

"Government issued a white paper entitled Competitive Salaries for Competent & Honest Government[57] which proposed that the salaries of ministers and civil servants be pegged at two-thirds the average principal earned income of the top four earners in six professions: accounting, banking, engineering, law, local manufacturing firms and multinational corporations."

This simply means all minsters' minimum salary are guaranteed. To get more money.. they have the bonuses (Damn flexible one) ... I remember 2-3 years back Ah Loong got 8 mths bonuses.. SONG LAH!!! But hell, there certainly are minimum wages in Singapore, just not happening to you and me. The only minimum thing we are guaranteed are the long working hours and chides from MM that our hides are not spurred and he does not give a fark.

Tell me about it.. :biggrin:
The Time's Top Ten Political Leaders in the World:

1. Lee Hsien Loong (Singapore)
Salary in dollars - $2.47 million
Salary in local currency - S$3.76 million

2. Donald Tsang Yum-Kuen (Hong Kong)
Salary in dollars - $516,000
Salary in local currency - HK$4 million

3. Barack Obama (United States)
Salary in dollars - $400,000

4. Brian Cowen (Ireland)
Salary in dollars - $341,000
Salary in local currency - €257,000

5. Nicolas Sarkozy (France)
Salary in dollars - $318,000
Salary in local currency - €240,000

6. Angela Merkel (Germany)
Salary in dollars - $303,000
Salary in local currency - €228,000

7. Gordon Brown (UK)
Salary in dollars - $279,000
Salary in local currency - £194,250

8. Stephen Harper (Canada)
Salary in dollars - $246,000
Salary in local currency - C$311,000

9. Taro Aso (Japan)
Salary in dollars - $243,000
Salary in local currency - Y24 million

10. Kevin Rudd (Australia)
Salary in dollars - $229,000
Salary in local currency - A$330,000

http://timesbusiness.typepad.com/mo...10-highest-paid-politicians-in-the-world.html

nickers9

1-3.jpg

Hey hello! Lee Hsien Loong is my son you know???

Since I am the King in Singapore and my son is the prince, of coz I can pay any amount of bonuses to my son rite???

If I want to pay him 13 years bonus also can what. Am I rite ah???

If you Sinkies dont like what you see, you can fuck off from my kingdom ah!!!

Your model will work in the Singapore context as our labour supply from foreign source is very and the use permit and passes is control mechanism.

Typically wages are used as price indicators and a minimum wage provides a support but it can be detrimental if the economy turns on its head. In the long run you will still need minimum wage to avoid exploitation, prevent the government of the day playing around short term policies and screwing things and lastly provide the fixed cost variable to all businesses to model their growth. Currently, the approach is to tap the Malaysian market first, then the Indian market, then the bangladesh market and the latest is the Burmese market. Does not do well to our image to constantly search for cheap labour at the expense of productivity, innovation and modern business practices. Not to mention the high social cost of a large transient and constantly changing labour force.

Its no surprise that everyone of the 1st world countries have minimum wage laws. Its the simplest and easiest mechanism to control the supply of labour.

I am sure you are aware that relatives of PAP MPs present and past are heavily involved in the labour market. A minimum wage will also reduce the level of lobbying and influence pedalling that goes on in securing permits and passes.

if i may offer an opinion

IMO policies like a minimum wage is not the answer because it is not a direct attack on the source of the real problem.

i_am_belle

Good observation ... agree !

14 years ago, after my O levels, i went to work part time selling stuffs in a gift shop. I was paid $5/hr... bus fare was 80c per trip then, and a plate of chicken rice cost $2. 14 years on, my sister in law working as sales assistant at a gift shop in AMK Hub is paid $5 per hour. Bus fare costs $1.20 per trip and a plate of chicken rice costs $3-3.50.

Im sure many here can remember the wages now and then have stayed the same, thus real wages have decreased. This is something which PAP have denied and says standard of living has increased (only for the ultra rich, yes), whereas the majority of ppl have to lower their standard of living, just to be able to pay off all the never-ending loans. Employers can keep wages depressed is only due to one factor and that is the foreign workers where their economies are 10-30 years behind ours, hence they can accept lower wages and send money back.

The govt surely knows of this, but they simply do not want to lift a finger to help the ppl... They are paid highest salaries in the world. Depressing wages and importing foreign workers these kinda strategies any Tom Dick and Harry can think of. To truly be able to say that these ministers are earning their keep, they should be able to create a business-friendly environment while keeping wages fair to the workers.

To be honest, they are highest paid, but simi lan sai SG also kena. Economic Crisis, we kena, H1N1 we kena, Rising Property Prices, we kena, Rising Healthcare costs, we kena, Rising food Prices, we Kena, Rising Transport costs,we kena, Rising Oil Prices, we Kena, inflation, we kena, 50-years-one-time flood, we kena... (Feel free to add to the list) Seems like not one sector is being taken care of properly and PAP will tell you: BOH PIAN lah.. all others also tiok.. then what's so ELITE about them?

Probably the only thing we not kena yet is earthquake and THIS, we need not pay anything for.

elephanto

Reading through all these 'minimum wage' discussions, I am amazed at their energy & range of arguments from the infantile to the ingenious.

Quality of ideas better than a lousy Spore Parliamentary Session (series soon to start leading to Budget Day).

Sheeeesh, I really think some of you guys should, at the very least be there, as Nominated MPs ! :cool:

Have a great weekend !

p.s. Bro Garlic's sudden recall of existence of 'minimum wage' policy at high end of Spore Society should be highlighted to loudmouth websites like TR or TOC, maybe even Mr Brown for conversion into multimedia presentation.....

Well said and agree. I too am amazed by the comments.
Reading through all these 'minimum wage' discussions, I am amazed at their energy & range of arguments from the infantile to the ingenious.

Quality of ideas better than a lousy Spore Parliamentary Session (series soon to start leading to Budget Day).

Sheeeesh, I really think some of you guys should, at the very least be there, as Nominated MPs ! :cool:

Have a great weekend !

p.s. Bro Garlic's sudden recall of existence of 'minimum wage' policy at high end of Spore Society should be highlighted to loudmouth websites like TR or TOC, maybe even Mr Brown for conversion into multimedia presentation.....

How big office U need. The current office I work in cost <10K a month and host 36 person. Location? Opposite Lau Pa Sat. Dun know about your Chio Bu gf but I know about what we are paying, in fact we just renew the lease last year.

Doesn't sound like this office cost 10K either.

Strange. Must be the companies I work for keeps getting lucky with rent. Please excuse my ignorance:confused::confused::confused:

No lah. I'm sorry for my ignorance then correct. how stupid for me to argueing with The Great well connected Char Azn from sammyboy forum. So well connection in every aspects. Grandfather FT, brother in casino ......
My chiobu gf is nothing compares to you. since reading your correct post, i have big quarrel with her for lying to me. I will call her ex boss on wednesday and tell him to stop running the property company because he is overcharge by property owner!