• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Does Goh Meng Seng support cheaper housing, Minimum Wage, 1 year NS, pension, etc

manokie

RP proposes: cheaper housing for the lower income families, paying a basic old age pension to all Singaporeans, imposing a Minimum Wage system, reduction of National Service to a year and requiring new citizens to serve National Service.

NSP and GMS leh?
Up till today, we have no idea what NSP proposes to implement. :mad:
We only know he sold his HDB flat and pocketed a big profit! :mad:

RP proposes: cheaper housing for the lower income families, paying a basic old age pension to all Singaporeans, imposing a Minimum Wage system, reduction of National Service to a year and requiring new citizens to serve National Service.

NSP and GMS leh?
Up till today, we have no idea what NSP proposes to implement. :mad:

We have been working on our manifestor and will release it when the time is due.

If you read my blog which archives all my political views, you will realize that I supported cheaper housing, taking care of the elderly, minimum wage.

For reduction of National Service, there are a few options. Build a professional army while reduce national service to others, both men and women to home land defence forces which they will serve only 6 months.

Without a professional army, reducing Nationa Service to 1 year is not practical if you understand how the army training system works. reduction to 1.5year is possible but not 1 year.

This is so because you need time to groom specialist and officers. After that, you need time (at least 3 months to 6 months) for integration of the fighting unit. That will be 1.5year.

Goh Meng Seng

We already have full time army personel what? You say they are not professional?

Wait Teo Chee Hean is forced to sue you to defend the moral authority and professional image of the SAF.

We have been working on our manifestor and will release it when the time is due.

If you read my blog which archives all my political views, you will realize that I supported cheaper housing, taking care of the elderly, minimum wage.

For reduction of National Service, there are a few options. Build a professional army while reduce national service to others, both men and women to home land defence forces which they will serve only 6 months.

Without a professional army, reducing Nationa Service to 1 year is not practical if you understand how the army training system works. reduction to 1.5year is possible but not 1 year.

This is so because you need time to groom specialist and officers. After that, you need time (at least 3 months to 6 months) for integration of the fighting unit. That will be 1.5year.

Goh Meng Seng

I humbly suggest to you that you are NOT against lowering the NS stint. You are however, keen to look necessary details so as to ensure that our army continues to be a strong deterrent against any potential aggressor when NS is reduced.

A large number of reservists will also be keen to shorten their reservist stint. This should also be looked at judiciously.

We already have full time army personel what? You say they are not professional?

Wait Teo Chee Hean is forced to sue you to defend the moral authority and professional image of the SAF.

Someone like you should be sued so that you know what you are allowed to say and not to say. At this point in time, GMS can rightly sue you for insinuating that he has committed a crime related to the defamation.

You should take notice of what you write and stick to the basics. Stay away from scaremongering and making insinuations that cannot be backed by factual truths.

They are no professional fighting force, just generals and administrators.

Goh Meng Seng

Someone like you should be sued so that you know what you are allowed to say and not to say. At this point in time, GMS can rightly sue you for insinuating that he has committed a crime related to the defamation.

You should take notice of what you write and stick to the basics. Stay away from scaremongering and making insinuations that cannot be backed by factual truths.

Eat shit la you :oIo: There is such a thing as sarcasm. Our dear GMS made a factual error by suggesting we have no professional army. We have a professional army that is supported by a citizen reserve army.

You pathetic idiot! You are arguing about semantics and not factual error! GMS is factually correct!

We DO NOT have a professional army. We have PROFESSIONALS in our army in the form of regulars. But having these PROFESSIONALS in our army doesn't mean that we have a PROFESSIONAL army!

Our army is made up of professionals as well as conscripts. Hence, what we have is not a PROFESSIONAL army.

:oIo::oIo::oIo:

You fucking imbecile! Stop your scaremongering! :oIo::oIo::oIo:

You pathetic idiot! You are arguing about semantics and not factual error! GMS is factually correct!

We DO NOT have a professional army. We have PROFESSIONALS in our army in the form of regulars. But having these PROFESSIONALS in our army doesn't mean that we have a PROFESSIONAL army!

Our army is made up of professionals as well as conscripts. Hence, what we have is not a PROFESSIONAL army.

:oIo::oIo::oIo:

You fucking imbecile! Stop your scaremongering! :oIo::oIo::oIo:

You have problem understanding english it seems.

If GMS meant what you have claimed, then i was right to say that he is suggesting that the SAF (whether made up by full time or nsf) is not professional in terms of conduct and capabilities.

Talking about Teo Chee Hean, remember when these guys Radm (NS), or BG (NS) stopped using their title?, was it the years afte Gen Colin Powell( 4 star General) visited SINgapore & a BG (NS) have to meet him...??

A decorated General meeting a decoration general...veri paiseh!:D

I still think you need to reword your argument. Regulars are not just generals and administrators.

Very simple, which battalion or division is solely formed by regulars? Any? None.

Goh Meng Seng

Very simple, which battalion or division is solely formed by regulars? Any? None.

Goh Meng Seng

So let me get this straight. By professional army you mean that everyone within the army is there on a full time basis?

Then where do the nsmen and nsf go to? A diff army??

Bec from what you just wrote, once got non regular in a battalion it is no longer professional battalion?

If GMS meant what you have claimed, then i was right to say that he is suggesting that the SAF (whether made up by full time or nsf) is not professional in terms of conduct and capabilities.

I think you have problems understanding what a "professional army" means. "Professional army" means that whatever they do, is geared towards fighting a war, not like ours, diverted effort to NDP celebration and such. Professional army means they are paid solely to be fighting force and act as a cohesive fighting force.

In Singapore's doctrines, it is the NSmen, reservists who are doing the fighting, not any regulars. Regulars are just acting as supporting role in training, equipping and planning. Yes, the generals are the ones who plan the battle plans but these are executed by the NSmen.

Goh Meng Seng

I think you have problems understanding what a "professional army" means. "Professional army" means that whatever they do, is geared towards fighting a war, not like ours, diverted effort to NDP celebration and such. Professional army means they are paid solely to be fighting force and act as a cohesive fighting force.

In Singapore's doctrines, it is the NSmen, reservists who are doing the fighting, not any regulars. Regulars are just acting as supporting role in training, equipping and planning. Yes, the generals are the ones who plan the battle plans but these are executed by the NSmen.

Goh Meng Seng

Excuse me, stop twisting around. You were the one who asked me to identify which battalion or division is solely made up of regulars.

So let me get this straight. By professional army you mean that everyone within the army is there on a full time basis?

Then where do the nsmen and nsf go to? A diff army??

Bec from what you just wrote, once got non regular in a battalion it is no longer professional battalion?

The first line of defence or fighting, is done by a professional battalion, not "partimers" like NSmen or NSF.

NSmen and NSF should be playing the reserve and supporting role. Our doctrine right now is in the reverse. i.e. NSmen and even NSF do the fighting while the regulars playing the supporting roles.

It is only when NSmen are acting as reserves, we will need less time in terms of NS. Else, if you want them to do the main fighting on the first punch, they will have to spend more time in NS as well as reservist training.

Goh Meng Seng

why are you adding to what GMS has said? GMS never mentioned about conduct or capabilities. You are truly despicable. I am going to give you an infraction and I hope others here do likewise.

People like you should not be allowed to post. It is fine that you are a little thin up where it matters but to put words in other people's mouths just to prove that you are right is totally despicable.

This site does not need people like you around. You seem to think it is jolly fine to go around posting scare mongering posts that are based on false premises.

GMS is right, Singapore does not have a professional army! Our army is made up with regulars (professionals), conscripts and reservists.

Nowhere did GMS mention anything on conduct and capabilities and definitely GMS did not put any negative light on the capabilities and conduct on the SG army. GMS was an army captain for goodness sake!

manifesto, not manifestor. :D

correct. sg do not have a fully staffed professional army, as in a conventional army equivalent to 3 to 4 corps or 9 to 12 divisions of combined arms of mechanized infantry, armor, artillery and combat engineers. but, sg have professional armed forces in commando units, spec ops, diving units, bomb disposal units, navy, air force, and auxiliary police such as gurkha contingents.

Excuse me, stop twisting around. You were the one who asked me to identify which battalion or division is solely made up of regulars.

Yes, identify that battalion or division. There is none. Thus, what we have as regulars are not considered as Professional Army, a Professional Fighting Force, but rather a group of regulars playing supporting roles while we are getting the NSmen, part timers to do the fighting.

Goh Meng Seng