• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Did Low Thia Khiang backstab his mentor JBJ? (Revisited)

Dear Char

An accurate an assessment as any. I believe LOW does not or cannot see himself as a national opposition leader because of his limited resources . On the other hand he has proven himself as a capable local opposition leader with a proven ability in building a grass roots, holding seats and running a cost effective town council.

The question is the balance between the two. Scroobal expects like the liberal educated elite LOW to be more of a national leader, GMS will try to be a national figure because he has no local base of his own, speaking up more on national issues and international issues and well existential issues like UFOs and their existence.

My own feeling is that the choice of whether he wants to be a national leader is a choice he has to make, but he has proven himself an effective operator in local politics

Locke

Longer than 50 years man,LTK just being polite.

But he is just being more practical,down to earth!

Before that ever happens, I think it is more likely the PAP split after MM mati. The you have PAP1 vs PAP2.

Charlatan pap dog,

Yalor. Wp rp sda sdp nsp all no good. Only your master pap is the best ok. What a loyal pap dog u r. They should give u more than 50cts per posts ok.

I don't think he has to strive to be a National leader. All he need is to raise his profile and engage Singaporeans openly. He obviously has a steady hand on the rudder but this has to been seen by the wider public.

My own feeling is that the choice of whether he wants to be a national leader is a choice he has to make, but he has proven himself an effective operator in local politics

Locke

Take it easy. A bit of criticism won't hurt him and his crew. This came of from his absence from the TOC forum that all opposition party leaders attended. He maintains a low profile between elections. All he needs to do is raise his profile and get as much photo opportunity as possible.

He has to realise that he is now the de facto leader of the opposition after Chiam obvious frail condition. As a Party , WP has always had seniority long before LTK appeared.

The younger generation need to know who he is and they value engagement.

Both you and Perspective don't have any qualms about commenting about GMS or even KJ but when it comes to LTK, you guys suddenly shudder like he was your cell leader from City Harvest Church and I said something blasphemous

Just pass this feedback to the him. He can start slow and progressively raise his profile to the wider public. The internet is great start and it can get around faster and spread the message quicker.

When there is little quality around, you work with the good ones and that includes criticisms.

I absolutely agree with Perspective. Come to think of it, it's quite puzzling that someone (Scroobal) who advocates voting for even bicycle thieves as long as s/he's in opposition, waxes comic lyrical against opposition who could actually win. I thought that's Yellow_People and Chau Ve Nist specialty, but I understand where they're coming from. I may disagree with them but respect their rights to their agenda.

Take it easy. A bit of criticism won't hurt him and his crew. This came of from his absence from the TOC forum that all opposition party leaders attended. He maintains a low profile between elections. All he needs to do is raise his profile and get as much photo opportunity as possible.

He has to realise that he is now the de facto leader of the opposition after Chiam obvious frail condition. As a Party , WP has always had seniority long before LTK appeared.

The younger generation need to know who he is and they value engagement.

Both you and Perspective don't have any qualms about commenting about GMS or even KJ but when it comes to LTK, you guys suddenly shudder like he was your cell leader from City Harvest Church and I said something blasphemous

Just pass this feedback to the him. He can start slow and progressively raise his profile to the wider public. The internet is great start and it can get around faster and spread the message quicker.

When there is little quality around, you work with the good ones and that includes criticisms.

Stop distorting facts. Is age making you more dishonest?

Scroobal, you can opine that LTK has not been up to your expectation over the past 19 years. So be it. You're entitled to your opinion. Claiming LTK not up to national expectation is another thing. Who are you to claim that your opinion represents national opinion? If not, then please stop using the royal plural like the people are expecting this or that. My take is still this, let the result speak for itself.

Please don't suggest the extreme. He is not a failure and I am not even going there. What you are putting out is hyperbole. He and Chiam have done an extremely enviable job and difficult job of beating the PAP and holding the fort. Chiam has raised a considerable profile and made his mark in parliament in some matters in his early years. LTK's strength is GE strategy and planning. I was impressed the way he handled the manifesto and the party slates.

After 19 years, LTK needs to address certain parts of his role. These are are his low profile between GEs and in parliament. These are indeed shortcomings and its pointless you guys pretending all is well.

Ignoring the Internet and the young are not really smart things to do. These are excellent for raising his and the party profile.

By the way, Locke raised the issue of "national leader" and not me. He is no doubt the leader of the opposition as the other elected opposition MP is now fragile.

Claiming LTK not up to national expectation is another thing. Who are you to claim that your opinion represents national opinion? If not, then please stop using the royal plural like the people are expecting this or that. My take is still this, let the result speak for itself.

Dear Char

An accurate an assessment as any. I believe LOW does not or cannot see himself as a national opposition leader because of his limited resources . On the other hand he has proven himself as a capable local opposition leader with a proven ability in building a grass roots, holding seats and running a cost effective town council.

The question is the balance between the two. Scroobal expects like the liberal educated elite LOW to be more of a national leader, GMS will try to be a national figure because he has no local base of his own, speaking up more on national issues and international issues and well existential issues like UFOs and their existence.

I think GMS have something going for him. Most of us in here know about some of his more crazy antics and policies but the vast majority of voters are not so well informed. Unlike members of SDP, GMS although from time to time is associated with something weird like the current UFO gig, no real harm is done. He doesn't have a bad rep among local voters. Rising his profile via mainstream media at the same time avoid getting into trouble is a good way to show the public you exist

Charlatan pap dog,

Yalor. Wp rp sda sdp nsp all no good. Only your master pap is the best ok. What a loyal pap dog u r. They should give u more than 50cts per posts ok.

There's a difference between being realistic and supporting a party :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Shut up and go back to screwing your FT wife :oIo::oIo::oIo:

There's a difference between being realistic and supporting a party :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Shut up and go back to screwing your FT wife :oIo::oIo::oIo:

Charlatan pap dog,

Yalor. Wp rp sda sdp nsp all no good. Only your master pap is the best ok. What a loyal pap dog u r.

fuck you chee bye pap dog. i dun have a FT for wife. unlike you :oIo::oIo::oIo:

I think GMS have something going for him. Most of us in here know about some of his more crazy antics and policies but the vast majority of voters are not so well informed. Unlike members of SDP, GMS although from time to time is associated with something weird like the current UFO gig, no real harm is done. He doesn't have a bad rep among local voters. Rising his profile via mainstream media at the same time avoid getting into trouble is a good way to show the public you exist

When 250,000 copies of his UFO article make their way into the mailboxes of Tampines residents, I can imagine Seb holding his head in his hands. :)

What did I distort, pray tell. Do at least come clean.

I think painting people inaccurately isn't what I expect of you, among others.

I have no kind words for the WP leader's increativity/conservatism and didn't give him a 100% endorsement in the course of the conversation in this thread, so do not paint me as an unashamed apologist of him vis-a-vis comparing with a City Harvest member to Kong Hee. At one point in the past you were making me out as someone whom SDP had rubbed shoulders with, without any absolute basis. As for GMS, I only debated with him on the housing issue in the distant memory and am supportive of him more often than not. However I agree that I have strong words for KJ because he is obnoxious. You're not denying that you often distort the position of forummers?

Back to the topic. You consistently failed to make a differentiation between the TOC forum and his 19 years. The TOC forum alone is not a measure of his 19 years of keeping too low a profile. I think he should have a higher profile in the past 19 years and do something where cyberspace in concerned, but the TOC forum is not a sole measure. That's my position and for the last time, it should not be distorted if you respect the honour of debate. Even GMS was confused when I met him and I had to clarify.

I think GMS have something going for him. Most of us in here know about some of his more crazy antics and policies but the vast majority of voters are not so well informed.

hahaha....the UFO thingey is front page in sin ming......
many heartlanders lim kopi or tiger and read sin ming and think he is kuku...
at this rate he will becum a clown in the heartlands....if he is not already 1.
my heart bleeds for the opp cause....

hahaha....the UFO thingey is front page in sin ming......
many heartlanders lim kopi or tiger and read sin ming and think he is kuku...
at this rate he will becum a clown in the heartlands....if he is not already 1.
my heart bleeds for the opp cause....

It's still pretty much harmless. Pple will forget about this pretty soon.

The real damage to the opposition cause is usually done by Chee and jokers like Yap.

Go ask if anyone can remember GMS and his crazy UFO gig 2 months from now and no one will remember. But no one will forget where the term loudhailer Chee comes from and most pple who had read the news during that time will remember the jokers protesting outside the CPF building and classify those as crazy

It's still pretty much harmless. Pple will forget about this pretty soon.

The real damage to the opposition cause is usually done by Chee and jokers like Yap.

Go ask if anyone can remember GMS and his crazy UFO gig 2 months from now and no one will remember. But no one will forget where the term loudhailer Chee comes from and most pple who had read the news during that time will remember the jokers protesting outside the CPF building and classify those as crazy

hahaha...i am not sure about this.....
ok i will go round the kopitiam in Tampenis (not sammyboy) and ask around...

I've heard of celebrity creating a stir by attending an event. This LTK has created a stir in this event by not attending, overshadowing all those who attended.