• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Daily abuse of temple’s free lunch by FTs

now this one is bad example lah, especially when you drive a Benz you still want free rice? must expose this guy....

next time when he howlian his friends about his Benz, people will shoot back and ask him whether he enjoys the temple food..:D

If you approach the Benz driver, you know what he will tell you:-
" No, u all misunderstand me, I am tapowing all these food to bring to the poor folks at one-room flats, i am a volunteer driver !' :mad:

No end to shamelessness....

There is a beautiful Buddhist temple in Wollongong on a hill with beautiful gardens. They serve nice but spartan meals in the dining hall to visitors and those visiting it would give it a try it. The only catch is that there is cashier that collects a fee. That same kitchen and the fee collected then provides free meals to the needy in the city.

Its most serene place that I have been to in a long while. Those who made the pilgrimage to the temple will know what I am talking about.

Guess what ? They also provide the meal to anyone despite race, religion or nationality.

I am not sure what is your point with this Wollongong temple. SBL also provides free medical care and bursaries to poor students. They donate food to other religious charity groups as well and make donations to charitable causes. In addition, they are pretty involved in Buddhist activities as well.

Perhaps you have the misconception that the free food thing is the only thing they do but they are doing many other things as well. The free food they are providing is just one of the many things they do.

I think the temple has done well to provide free food for all.
It's those who don't need it and go and eat frequently who should be ashamed of themselves.
I know of some people who go to the temple and eat the free food, but they actually help out with the cleaning and the dishes. One of them told me that there is someone who goes there almost every day in her car to eat, but never stays around to help out after eating. Btw, she stays in a landed property and she goes to church every sunday.

You should not change the subject. We are talking about free food. I am well aware that they do other good things. They are not monsters but misguided where the food are concerned. The dopamine effect.

Buddhist organisations around the world are renowned for their gentle ways, big heart and exceptional desire to help the fellow man and seek peace. No other religion comes close. You make the mistake of identifying a few misguided individuals with the movement as a whole.

Its the same reason that allowed one cunning RI kid to do stunts, have a stable of male lovers and a horse, a series of properties including cars here and overseas. Its idiots like yourself and us that allow these things to ruin a wonderful peaceful religion.

The only saving grace is that every religon has clowns and more idiots that condone it.

I am not sure what is your point with this Wollongong temple. SBL also provides free medical care and bursaries to poor students. They donate food to other religious charity groups as well and make donations to charitable causes. In addition, they are pretty involved in Buddhist activities as well.

Perhaps you have the misconception that the free food thing is the only thing they do but they are doing many other things as well. The free food they are providing is just one of the many things they do.

buddha didn't teach you to help the poor?

PRCs construction workers from countryside are poor lah...

help them!! :D

Communists are not supposed to worship any religion. Religion is the opiate of the people - so worship only Marxism and Leninism and Maoism.

Who says China is poor? China government has 2.2 trillion of US dollars in their reserves - the highest in the world!!

I laughed when people were donating money during the earthquake relief when the country grows it reserves by millions each month. During the crisis, the reserves were continuing to grow at the same rate.

The same thing used to happen every few years when cyclones belted Bangladesh and the world responded by donating money. Then they realised that money never reached the poor. After 2 decades, they sent blanket and tents. The Bangladesh govt stopped asking for help when the blankets mounted and the blackmarket demand was dead.

As far as I know, the cyclones have not changed addressed.

If you need to give money, give it to relatives and people that you know that need help.

Who says China is poor? China government has 2.2 trillion of US dollars in their reserves - the highest in the world!!

You should not change the subject. We are talking about free food. I am well aware that they do other good things. They are not monsters but misguided where the food are concerned. The dopamine effect.

Perhaps I am too dumb to understand what you are trying to say but I still have no idea why you are putting down people for making efforts to do good deeds. I also did not change the subject.

My understanding is someone is trying his/her best to do something good by giving away free good and you felt that they could do better with their money.

I am sure a lot of things in life can be done with better management and greater transparency. The issue is how? when? who? why? what?

Are you waiting for the messiah to appear before you empty your pocket? Perhaps you are prowling the streets at night to give food to the homeless and hungry. To each his own but to criticise others for trying to do good (in this case, giving away free food) is really boliao.

Facts of the matter:
1. Temple is giving away free food to everyone and anyone.
2. Devotees know that temple is giving away free food to everyone and anyone. These devotees are still donating to the temple.
3. No one is obliged to give a single cent to the temple if you disagree with their current practice of giving away free food to everyone and anyone.

I do not see any problem here other than intellectuals arguing about dopamine effects on the internet. No one is cheating anyone.

------------------------------------------------------------

I remember running the half marathon a few years back and seeing a sign trying to encourage people by saying something along the line that simply waking up to run the marathon means one is putting more effort than 99% of Singaporeans.

One can feel encouraged by that sign or one can stop and start arguing with the sign.
- xx% have to work
- xx% need to take care of their children
- xx% are ill, handicapped or mentally not capable.

I just felt that you are too cynical. In this world when most of the time, people cannot be arsed to do something for other people (such as giving up seats for the pregnant and elderly), we should be spending time educating these people than coming up with grand concept of dopamine effects and better examples elsewhere.

A religious (or any charitable) organisation offering public free meals couldn't possibly qualify beneficiaries, e.g. by checking nationality or income.

As to helping your relatives and friends first, that of course should be encouraged. However, that's viewed as personal aid, not public charity. If everyone helps relatives and friends they know personally only, those unfortunate enough to fall into ill times without kins, and there's always such people, would be in dire straits. The problem is not with the donors. The problem is with the charitable intermediaries.

Don't discourage donors who have more than enough to spare to and share with strangers in need, but improve the charities' transparency and accountability.

That's rubbish. The rest of the world does by providing basic sustenance meals not a buffet. They also have minders to look for the seriously needy who need more than meals and those who freeloading. Thats the basic responsiblity that any organistion or an individual must undertake when public donations are involved.

Ever heard of soup kitchens and meals on wheels. When someone delivers meals to the disabled or needy they are also the eyes and ears to see if the recipients need more help such as medical attention, school needs if kids are involved, the attention of social workers. They also look out for plasma tvs wtc for obvious reasons.

By now I thought the PRC murdered kid and the mother building a huge mansion would have provided planning. There is no excuse for poor planning or being lazy to plan.

Imagine a charity hiring a CEO and give him an interesting loan. I think by now you must have realised that Ren Ci incident turned out to be more political and to prevent the bad news seeping out, Viv B and the cabinet engaged an Australian accounting firm led by a Frenchwoman to do the forensic audit. It was never public. These guys were literally sworn to secrecy. Here is a tip, not all donations made it into the accounts in the first place. It was much more worse than NKF. They also got a PAP Cadre and a reticient individual to act as chair.

I wish I had the time to help these guys reorganise themselves and not being a laughing stock of those better educated and less ignorant.

A religious (or any charitable) organisation offering public free meals couldn't possibly qualify beneficiaries, e.g. by checking nationality or income.

Bro, I know you mean well and you are actually in the majority and I won't be surprised that 98% think like you. I also know that the vast majority will not criticise any religious or charity organisation that does charitable work. People automatically assume you are either bad or a cynic if you do.

I have seen enough abuse in the charity world to last me or anyone a lifetime.

What many people were not aware was that the Ceylonese committee practically ostracised Durai long before he was uncovered. They knew what he was doing was misguided and wrong. As you know Ceyloneses or now called Sri Lankans tend to be professionals. He however managed to fool the auditors, the Minister of Health , Goh's wife and even Ho Ching both who defended himk in public before it unravelled in the end. Its the same with Renci.

One of the largest charities in Singapore is run by Kong Hee. Again it helps dopamine addicts and he in turn gets his share of the next property launch.

The 7th day Adventist have the best regime and control when handling public funds. Its a responsibility that cannot be taken lightly as the money given come from others.

If Ramseth and You set up a foodstall and give free food to anyone including wealthy people I would not say a word as it is your money and you are free to do what you want.

Unable to check income, details etc is lazy person's excuse when dealing with public donations. What was run for years was good until recently when the abuse factor must surely ovecome any good achieved.

Perhaps I am too dumb to understand what you are trying to say but I still have no idea why you are putting down people for making efforts to do good deeds. I also did not change the subject.

My understanding is someone is trying his/her best to do something good by giving away free good and you felt that they could do better with their money.

Ever heard of soup kitchens and meals on wheels. When someone delivers meals to the disabled or needy they are also the eyes and ears to see if the recipients need more help such as medical attention, school needs if kids are involved, the attention of social workers. They also look out for plasma tvs wtc for obvious reasons.
You're confusing public welfare (for citizens or residents legally qualified) with with public charity (for all who need it). Otherwise, the rest of your post is quite reasonable and valid. I too agree that there're abuses. Re-read my last post, the last paragraph especially. To add to that, abuses don't only arise from the organisations, they arise from affluent middle class too. They don't need it, but since it's free, they take it. That's a problem of human social civility, not of charity. We don't outlaw motor and alcohol industries just because some drivers drink too much drive, or even speed recklessly without drinking as a matter of mentality.

I know where Shoutaloud/Ramseth & Scroobal are coming from, all share similar values but the emphasis is different: one values charity for its own sake higher & the other simply hates abuse more than anything else.

so far, things are still within tolerable range. PRC blue-collar workers taking free meals are not objectionable to most charity donors.

But if abuse is SHOCKINGLY EXTREME, I am sure Shoutaloud/Ramseth would not be unconcerned.

Sometimes it is simply economics: meeting infinite needs with finite resources. e.g. Buddha tooth Temple in Chinatown served free food only from 12pm-2pm & they gave up served helping NOT you suka suka self-serve.

What is universally condemned is corruption by the charity administrators for self-gain & personal benefit.

The 7th day Adventist have the best regime and control when handling public funds.

On a lighter note,
Bro, dont speak too soon, not for no reason is the 7th Day Adventists known as 'Church of the Latter Day Saints' .....
as in 'Church of the later-then-sin' don't show hand so soon, you know :D !

Nothing to do with public welfare or govt owned enterprises. Meals on wheels and soup kitchens are not run by the govt but by charities. The minders refer serious cases to shelter or to govt departments. Those that abuse are turned away. There are no minders and no one to regulate in this case. They are overwhelmed and are lost. So they are pretend (dopamine effect) they are doing more good because the numbers served are more and they also convince themselves all all foreigner workers are needy, people that come in cars are picking food for the poor etc.

There comes a point when the original model no longer works but has to be changed. They are either misguided, lazy to change or just don't know how to change.

The abuse is always there but it tends to be minimal. You will get the Bob Sims in every chairty driven initiative but it is minimal in view of control. My point is that it is now unacceptable. If you been there you know that the majority can be reasonablely assumed to be gainfully employed.

Your comment about checking income is absolute rubbish. Now you suggesting that I talking about public welfare. That's a whole different domain. I am sure you know my position about this govt and its failure to look after those needy and less capable. I am also aware of abuses elsewhere but I am talking about this case in particular.

You guys must learn to stick to the issues. Instead I get things like they do not discriminate against race, nationality, public welfare, verifying background etc. Its not rocket science, it done better by others. Charity is a marvelous thing but be responsible when dishing out donations contributed by the public at large.

You're confusing public welfare (for citizens or residents legally qualified) with with public charity (for all who need it). Otherwise, the rest of your post is quite reasonable and valid. I too agree that there're abuses. Re-read my last post, the last paragraph especially. To add to that, abuses don't only arise from the organisations, they arise from affluent middle class too. They don't need it, but since it's free, they take it. That's a problem of human social civility, not of charity. We don't outlaw motor and alcohol industries just because some drivers drink too much drive, or even speed recklessly without drinking as a matter of mentality.

I know where Shoutaloud/Ramseth & Scroobal are coming from, all share similar values but the emphasis is different: one values charity for its own sake higher & the other simply hates abuse more than anything else.

so far, things are still within tolerable range. PRC blue-collar workers taking free meals are not objectionable to most charity donors.

But if abuse is SHOCKINGLY EXTREME, I am sure Shoutaloud/Ramseth would not be unconcerned.

Sometimes it is simply economics: meeting infinite needs with finite resources. e.g. Buddha tooth Temple in Chinatown served free food only from 12pm-2pm & they gave up served helping NOT you suka suka self-serve.

What is universally condemned is corruption by the charity administrators for self-gain & personal benefit.

what about kiasu singaporeans who hog at hotel buffet tables? what about those huge amount of food wastage?

By then, the herd instinct would have kicked in and everyone would be claiming credit for raising it as a concern. Remember NKF, suddenly nearly everyone suspected something was amiss. This despite NKF refuting that Durai and gang travel first class years before and no one from SIA said anything despite knowing full well it was not he case.

the public needs to be further educated about demanding accountability from charities. i agree that the dopamine effect runs rife in Sg, and the donating public is by and large still undiscerning; falling 'victim' to carefully crafted mega charity shows.

any charity that can afford to lay out a buffet-like spread every lunch time is definitely not optimizing the donations it receives.

Charity is a marvelous thing but (must) be responsible when dishing out donations contributed by the public at large.

what about kiasu singaporeans who hog at hotel buffet tables? what about those huge amount of food wastage?

faggotbobdog_whack_father.png

5th paragraph - the bastard cheebye kia bapok boasted how he bashed his defenceless 80 plus yr. old father:

.... i returned him with a swift and strong right hook across his cheek ..... i blocked and showered him with another few more blows hitting him face, belly and everywhere ..... he grimmaced in pain and rush to the kitchen.

9th paragraph - the bastard cheebye kia bapok continue his boast:

by then bloody lau han koo was really a bloodied lan han koo. his nostrils was bleeding from my socking. my arms was dripped with his blood too ....

stirlingroad_crime_scene.png
blood_at_stirlingroad.jpg