• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Daily abuse of temple’s free lunch by FTs

must conscript all these FTs to hard labour camp for eating free food.

buddha didn't teach you to help the poor?

PRCs construction workers from countryside are poor lah...

help them!! :D

PRC construction workers can't make enough to feed themsleves? If it is the case, then, why let them into Singapore, it will be a burden to Singapore?
If they can afford the agent, can't see why they cannot afford the meal.

Can Singapore help the poor people all over the world?

If they can feed themsleves, then it is a case of abuse for th free lunch.

The Buddhist Lodge provides free food for anyone irregardless of race , religion and background. Everyone is free to go there for a meal. Why as a lay person should we differentiate whether they are local or prc. 请人吃是你的福气。惜福!惜福!
Buddha would be most happy to see so many people enjoying the meals, why not we。

请人吃是你的福气。惜福!惜福!

Why didn't we see free meal everywhere?

People dont really need 福气。惜福!惜福!

these ah-tiongs are not being thrifty to send $ home to their motherland. they're being thrifty, so that they can all pool $ to fight it out at the 2 IRs. with this charitable makan hole around, they'll never have fear of losing their life savings at the IRs.

PRC construction workers can't make enough to feed themsleves? If it is the case, then, why let them into Singapore, it will be a burden to Singapore?
If they can afford the agent, can't see why they cannot afford the meal.

Can Singapore help the poor people all over the world?

If they can feed themsleves, then it is a case of abuse for th free lunch.

"Kiam jiat pua tua du"...... these PRCs are saving their food money to gamble at the casino.

I know because I keep seeing the same PRC faces since the RWS opening and they are here every weekend without fail.

these ah-tiongs are not being thrifty to send $ home to their motherland. they're being thrifty, so that they can all pool $ to fight it out at the 2 IRs. with this charitable makan hole around, they'll never have fear of losing their life savings at the IRs.

You are right!
Every weekend the same group of PRCs would gambling at RWS. Literally hundreds of them and they have been coming since day one of the opening.
From their behaviour and dress code it is unlikely that they are tourists or PMETs. My guess is they from the blue collar jobs.

Damn stupid bunch of people coming to throw away their hard earned money every weekend. :(

You are right!
Every weekend the same group of PRCs would gambling at RWS. Literally hundreds of them and they have been coming since day one of the opening.
From their behaviour and dress code it is unlikely that they are tourists or PMETs. My guess is they from the blue collar jobs.

Damn stupid bunch of people coming to throw away their hard earned money every weekend. :(
Do you work in RWS?
Or are you there throwing away your money as well?

the buddhist lodge(居士林 )is not govern by an abbot like a temple but by a 林长、李木原had already mentioned that as long as there are donations , he would provide free meals for all. my brother, what this is the spirit of the charity. if he were to accumulate the food that people donated to the 居士林 then we may find ourselves with another NKF story. This is what he is trying to avoid. When you have to much resources and $$$ at hand, the devil is just around the corner

very soon, AssAF will engage them for the AssAF cookhouse. free food for the soldiers = more savings on the budget spending, so the jiak-liao-bee regulars can give themselves a pay-raise.

Very poor logic.

If he had too much food, he should organise a better way to identify and get it to people that need it. He might want to consider asking people who donate food to donate school books, laptops for needy kids.

Instead the variety and content of food has increased and its now a full blown buffet. The west is better at this. It continues to be a soup kitchens and they divert additional funds to other programmes.

Don't worry, its not the only misguided organisation. There is self styled church in Queensland that has a warehouse from which they distribute groceries and home essentials. People come in cars and take it away.Most are not in the needy category. This pastor (ex-criminal) and his wife are so high on dopamine that they have no clue.

if he were to accumulate the food that people donated to the 居士林 then we may find ourselves with another NKF story. This is what he is trying to avoid. When you have to much resources and $$$ at hand, the devil is just around the corner

Can we also conclude unlike 1st Gen Leaders like GKS & Raja who entered public life out of public-spiritedness, present day inductees came in partly for the million-dollar salaries (to lessen opportunity costs) but more importantly also for the priceless DOPAMINE :D ?

people like Gan Kim Yong, Raymond Lim, Ng Eng Hen :D:D:D ?

If Buddha did not discriminate, Singapore Buddhist Lodge would not either.

For those who abuse, let their karma take care of them.

1. bro, bingo!
2. fully agreed with your statement.
3. where the individuals are construction workers from chn or elsewhere why discriminate them.
4. for those who can afford meals and yet go for the free meals that are meant for less-privileged, they will be answerable for themselves.
5. honest, such characters would not go far too!

The issue is wastage and funneling of valuable resources for the wrong purpose. The people who need help are not addressed.

It's obviously a misguided organisation. The criticism is leveled at them and the best is call them misguided.

The people who abuse by taking food when they can afford it is a different matter all together.

There is no teaching in Buddhism that allows misguided acts to continue.

1. bro, bingo!
2. fully agreed with your statement.
3. where the individuals are construction workers from chn or elsewhere why discriminate them.
4. for those who can afford meals and yet go for the free meals that are meant for less-privileged, they will be answerable for themselves.
5. honest, such characters would not go far too!

The issue is wastage and funneling of valuable resources for the wrong purpose. The people who need help are not addressed.

It's obviously a misguided organisation. The criticism is leveled at them and the best is call them misguided.

The people who abuse by taking food when they can afford it is a different matter all together.

What is 'misguided' is a matter of perception.

Though a profound teaching, Buddhism does not burden a person to analyse and assess who is "more" needy or who is "more" deserving.

A good thought coupled with a good act will suffice.:)

i think lets not mix politics, racism and nationalism to religion. 居士林 is a Buddhism establishment and what they are doing is giving free meal regardless races and nationalities everyday. why 居士林 need to put in effort to identify the needy? pls! anyone, no discrimination can just walk in and eat even u are a millionaire. no obligation for donations too. thats the beautiful part of it and Buddhism!

a lot of smasters here are talking about channeling money or resources to help the poor than to feed those foreign trash free of charge. i thought helping the poor is duty of the gov? cheebye vivian will ask you again, what is enough? fuck you vivan! :oIo: so guys can stop saying 居士林 should do this and that because those are responsibilities of the gov! 居士林 money compare to gov money is peanut!

You talk a good talk but what are you doing about hunger on the streets? The issue here is people are willing to give their resources without regards for race, religion and nationality.

If you can identify someone who needs food, I am sure SBL will be more than happy to tapao food for you to bring to these needy everyday.

Don't worry about me. At least I don't take donations and feed the wrong people and think that I doing a great service to mankind.

They probably think like you - sitting on their butt waiting for others to tell them what to do and who really needs help. This is no different to NKF when less than 10% of the donations reached the needy.

The only consolation is that its not the only organisation that has the issue. The Sikh temples on Sundays have the same issue.

Its misguided to say the least. Even normal families don't have the range and choice that is being offered. Why don't you setup a chendol or lychee stall to complete the picture. At least we know that you don't discriminate against race, religion or nationality.

You talk a good talk but what are you doing about hunger on the streets? The issue here is people are willing to give their resources without regards for race, religion and nationality.

If you can identify someone who needs food, I am sure SBL will be more than happy to tapao food for you to bring to these needy everyday.

The same thing happened when used textbooks were given away free some years ago and we had people in cars taking books away. As it was not a religious organisation, there was an uproar and it was stopped. Now the needy kids are identified and its carefully distributed.

now this one is bad example lah, especially when you drive a Benz you still want free rice? must expose this guy....

next time when he howlian his friends about his Benz, people will shoot back and ask him whether he enjoys the temple food..:D

There is a beautiful Buddhist temple in Wollongong on a hill with beautiful gardens. They serve nice but spartan meals in the dining hall to visitors and those visiting it would give it a try it. The only catch is that there is cashier that collects a fee. That same kitchen and the fee collected then provides free meals to the needy in the city.

Its most serene place that I have been to in a long while. Those who made the pilgrimage to the temple will know what I am talking about.

Guess what ? They also provide the meal to anyone despite race, religion or nationality.

i think lets not mix politics, racism and nationalism to religion. 居士林 is a Buddhism establishment and what they are doing is giving free meal regardless races and nationalities everyday. why 居士林 need to put in effort to identify the needy? pls! anyone, no discrimination can just walk in and eat even u are a millionaire. no obligation for donations too. thats the beautiful part of it and Buddhism!

a lot of smasters here are talking about channeling money or resources to help the poor than to feed those foreign trash free of charge. i thought helping the poor is duty of the gov? cheebye vivian will ask you again, what is enough? fuck you vivan! :oIo: so guys can stop saying 居士林 should do this and that because those are responsibilities of the gov! 居士林 money compare to gov money is peanut!