• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Daily abuse of temple’s free lunch by FTs

Watchman

May 16th, 2010 | Author: Contributions

tpl2.gif

I was at the Singapore Buddhist Lodge at Kim Yam Road recently around noon and was utterly shocked to find many foreign construction workers enjoying lunch in the hall, where free meals are offered daily by the temple primarily for the devotees and the poor.

These workers clad in construction uniforms and boots literally packed the hall, many standing while others squatted down eating, helping themselves to a few rounds.

I was told that this lunch time visit by these PRC workers from nearby construction sites is a daily occurrence.

Is this not a clear abuse by these foreign workers of free meals offerings to save and send money back home at the expense of the local devotees’ donations not meant to feed them?

The Buddhist Lodge provides free food for anyone irregardless of race , religion and background. Everyone is free to go there for a meal. Why as a lay person should we differentiate whether they are local or prc. 请人吃是你的福气。惜福!惜福!
Buddha would be most happy to see so many people enjoying the meals, why not we。

There was a report previously whereby a man was spotted driving away in his mercedes benz after taking away packets of free food.
That is even more despicable.

Got shark fins or not ?

If got shark fins, sinkies will sure overrun those FTs.

Stand by tupperware also.

There was a report previously whereby a man was spotted driving away in his mercedes benz after taking away packets of free food.
That is even more despicable.

Don't prejudge just because he drives a Merz. I've seen one before myself. Old folks zone free lunch in a Toa Payoh area. One guy came eat and gone off with a few packets. I saw what he put into the donation tin was at least two pieces of purple notes. Just for fried beehoon and towkee.

Is the food nice??
if nice..i oso wanna queue and jiak.

:( :o :(

If Buddha did not discriminate, Singapore Buddhist Lodge would not either.

For those who abuse, let their karma take care of them.

The term for this is called the dopamine effect. The thrill and sensation of giving. People will take great pains to consider it a charitable even when its not.

There are really needy people out there but it hard to find them. So they convince themselves that as the numbers increase, they are doing more good.

I have seen Singaporeans going to poor villages in Bhopal, Nepal, Bintan, the Philippines to build homes, do dental work, teach english etc. The process does not structurally improve the long term lot of this people but the dopamine effect on the Singaporeans is tremendous. The closest analogy is masturbation.

Then you have people like Médecins Sans Frontières where they determine the need such as civil war and nothing works. Real genuine people. Not pick some exotic location and tell the world they built a hut for a family.

tpl2.gif

I was at the Singapore Buddhist Lodge at Kim Yam Road recently around noon and was utterly shocked to find many foreign construction workers enjoying lunch in the hall, where free meals are offered daily by the temple primarily for the devotees and the poor.
]

Buddhist Lodge is wonderful organisation to do this 365 days a year, many smaller temples too

Nothing wrong with PRC construction workers having meals there

Please dont complain unnecessarily

tpl2.gif

These workers clad in construction uniforms and boots literally packed the hall, many standing while others squatted down eating, helping themselves to a few rounds.

I was told that this lunch time visit by these PRC workers from nearby construction sites is a daily occurrence.

Is this not a clear abuse by these foreign workers of free meals offerings to save and send money back home at the expense of the local devotees’ donations not meant to feed them?

u forgot all PRC chinese come from communist country?
they eat everything free one and all eat together one u know?

buddha also taught moderation ... the free lunch shd be for impoverished, old & sick citizens ... construction workers from china are damn stingy, they shd go buy their own lunch for $2.50, though i admit that is probably not enuff to satisfy their big appetites after a hard day's work ...

its ok if the workers go there on weekends, but this is everyday ! it will wipe out the temples resources in no time, the abbott ought to put his foot down ...

buddha didn't teach you to help the poor?

PRCs construction workers from countryside are poor lah...

help them!! :D

I have seen Singaporeans going to poor villages in Bhopal, Nepal, Bintan, the Philippines to build homes, do dental work, teach english etc. The process does not structurally improve the long term lot of this people but the dopamine effect on the Singaporeans is tremendous. The closest analogy is masturbation.

Maybe the planners like you claimed, are cynical and public relations-oriented, but at least there is a thought of doing good for others by these volunteers, even for once and even they may be a little naive about the whole thing. The natives could remember things like these for the rest of their lives.

So therefore your analogy of masturbation in describing their happiness in giving a little helping hand is downright deplorable and uncalled-for.

BUDDHIST TOOTH RELIC TEMPLE, BTRT has closed down their free food distribution.

i guess the way they cook their food was very horrigible!! indirectly they were also asking - or rather "intimidating spiritually" for donations. every corners and every possible conspicuous locations, they ask for donations.

it'd be embarrassing if they continue distributing such free but horrible vegetarian food that not many wanted to eat.

SGP BUDDHIST LODGE or KU SU LIN is so much better. their daily free vegetarian foods are buffet styled. the important thing is to eat to one's suffice and not to waste the precious free food. the next thing would be to wash up the plates and cutlery after one finishes eating, go to the main hall, kneel and thank the BUDDHA before leaving.

BUDDHISM is for everyone and so are their free foods provided. when one starts to ostracise and decide who should be qualified to eat those food, then the one most unqualified would be the complainer.

the free buddhist food provides an AFFINITY for those who might not know buddhism and it's a first step that may bring forth the buddha within everyone's heart. when u found your buddhahood, the world would be a step closer to a kinder and more compassionate place to live in harmony and happiness.:)

ok, my ardent fans of spammers can now initiate their senseless flamings:p

Yes, you are right.

Its misguided but most people who believe so will not knock it publicly because it is unpleasant to tell. Its similar to telling a mother who is boasting about her child's academic prowess that her kid is actually struggling.

Lets face it, if they organise this at all community centres islandwide both for lunch and dinner, it will be taken up with enthusiasm. So does that mean that these people have been starving in the meantime.

This is a case of a charity gone wrong. Charities and religion don't mix. Look at Kong's church and his charity arm Touch. The dopamine effect draws people in the belief that they doing good and he then collects condo apts as a hobby on the back of this people. He knows that people will convince themselves that they are doing good that he honestly states his occupation as a businessman.

without the guilt

buddha also taught moderation ... the free lunch shd be for impoverished, old & sick citizens ... construction workers from china are damn stingy, they shd go buy their own lunch for $2.50, though i admit that is probably not enuff to satisfy their big appetites after a hard day's work ...

its ok if the workers go there on weekends, but this is everyday ! it will wipe out the temples resources in no time, the abbott ought to put his foot down ...

hokkien say: qee niao ci kar por teh!
english subtitle: rear rat bite cloth sack.
our kind govt rearing lots of foreign rats now all food supplies kana eaten free one.

buddha also taught moderation ...

... the abbott ought to put his foot down ...
ya, woman! ...

buddha oso got fire! ...

practising 'golden chicken single standing' 4 so long is indeed tiring! ...

KU SU LIN food supply won't be wiped out. please don't worry about that.

compassion spreads compassion.

what the charitable buddhist temple is doing is very magnificiently magnanimous. many see their compassionate deed and voluntarily continue to supply them with the regular foodstuffs and groceries.

do we see that in very obscenely rich powerful churches? instead of helping the people nearest to them, they brag about helping some ulu dunno what timbatktu places.

doesn't CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME count?

FTs workers who benefitted from the temple's acts of universal compassion shall bring home with them the message and sweet memories about singapore and particularly about the great compassion of buddhism.

BUDDHISM is a "beyond religion" to bring one the joy of beng compassionate, loving kindness and the simple infinite happiness of just being a buddhist and an ordinary human being.

it's that plain simple :)