• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Crumbling of Singapore?

brocoli

Re: He Planned All These

do you know what constitute taxes? it's more than income tax. if you look at all the levies and taxes in SG..Singaporeans pay a lot of taxes. It's you who dont know that we are paying a lot

really ??? name them ???

do poor folks own car and property?? how much gst can you pay if you are poor???

the problem ish mosty sinkie dun pay enough taxes that is why they are always asking the govt to be fiscally flagrant.... because they dun feel the pain.. only wan the benefits.... same situtation in US...the occupy movement is the worst kind of envy there....

TracyTan866

really ??? name them ???

do poor folks own car and property?? how much gst can you pay if you are poor???

the problem ish mosty sinkie dun pay enough taxes that is why they are always asking the govt to be fiscally flagrant.... because they dun feel the pain.. only wan the benefits.... same situtation in US...the occupy movement is the worst kind of envy there....

You seem ignorant abt what a SG household got to pay. I guess you are too young and immature because you dont have a family nor home yet...when you grow up, you will know what I mean...

Candide

Thanks, Candide. A very informative post that shows how knowledgable you are. Hence, it would be a waste if you go into a silent mode in this forum. Just from this post of yours, I can conclude you will have lots to contribute to the discussions here.

The extent of each PAP failed policy varies from one another to another. Not all fail with equal misery. Certain policies do have some success while others really fail miserably. I would categorise S'pore education policy as one of achieving a certain amount of success but at the same time had its fair share of failures as well. One is the unnecssary high standard of mandarin demanded of the students. For this, many solid students could not be admitted into local universities here and further studies abroad. And they turned out to highly skilled professionals be they doctors, lawyers or financiers, as good if not better than their cohorts who were able to study locally having scored A+ in Chinese. As many of these stayed on to work in the countries they did their tertiary education, S'pore lost many top brains. The govt has in fact realised this and is trying to reverse things. But it had taken them too long to realise this.

As for LKY, it's quite a sad case actually. Many people believe that his image and reputation would be intact had he leave the political scene when he relinquished his PM post in 1991. Many will remember and hail him. Instead, he chose to stay on, using various strange sounding titles so as to remain in Cabinet, and did so much damage in the last 20 years. What LKY did was simply to reqlinquish a political title, with or without a title, he's still pretty much in charge. He need not actually take part in any cabinet meeting to influence the outcome of any decisions to be taken. He simply had to make known his thoughts before the Cabinet meets to decide and the Cabinet will know what to decide. Give you an example. When NTU President feedback to LKY that many in the alma mater wanted to change NTU back to its original name ie Nanyang University, the told the NTU President that he don't think we should go back to that, but he added that he would leave it to the Cabinet to decide. So you see, he already make known his views, who would dare decide otherwise. If you know people working on the "inside", you will know how he would berate anyone in his sight the moment something goes against what he wants.

Enjoy the holidays and have a good year ahead.

Hi freedalas. You flatter me. :smile: I am a novice in the field of politics when compared with the many members here in this forum. I only started to become interested in politics this year during the general election. Prior to that, I guess I am just as apolitical as most Singaporeans are, minding my own life instead.

Regarding the education system, I have also read something similar about the difficulties Singaporean students are facing in doing well academically in the Chinese subject and the unfairness it brings. I believe Low Thia Khiang and some of the PAP members have also touched on the issue extensively during the opening of Parliament this year. In my opinion, language studies should best be started when they are very young and should not be restricted to just in school. I also agree that it is unfair to base a person’s eligibility to enroll a particular tertiary programme with his/her second language academic result, especially when the course has nothing to do with the second language competency. Anyway, those who have stepped foot in the working world should realized by now that cert is just a cert unless you are working in the civil service. It is the knowledge and skills that you have acquired during the course of your education route that matters the most and will probably determine how successful you will become in your field of work. Of course, your general attitude counts just as much, but that is another different matter.

As for LKY, your anecdote of him reminds me of this story told by my NTU lecturer when I was studying there. It was about this prominent Indian TV producer who was so stressed out by Lee Kuan Yew (after he walked out of the studio during a speech recording session for some trivial matter) that the poor TV producer spent the rest of the day smoking in his office. We were told that he has emigrated to Australia, though we are not sure whether there is any link to his unfortunate encounter with LKY.

Perhaps LKY has indeed become an old fool or he really thinks he is GOD and he can do whatever he pleases and nobody can stop him. If otherwise, why would he allowed himself to be bestowed titles that make little sense to common people like me, if not to show that he wants to continue to entrench his influence in the government and continue to receive the multi-million dollar salary. Also, if not for LKY, how is it possible for his daughter-in-law to continue to be the CEO of Temasek Holdings despite her reported below par performances? If that is not enough, the state funeral given to his wife has to be the icing on the cake. When I watched her coffin on a gun carriage on tv, my first impression was, “WTF?!” Perhaps the old man has indeed lost it. If not, why would he put the final nail in George Yeo’s coffin by provoking the Aljunied voters that they will repent for five years if they vote for the Workers Party. It is a shame to his legacy because he really plays the most significant role in transforming Singapore into what it is today.

freedalas

Give me a specific example of a particular set of circumstances created by the PAP which caused the downfall of a particular individual. I'd be interested to see why the govt is solely to blame and how the outcome would have been different had the WP or SDP or NSP been in charge of Singapore.

As far as my life is concerned, I owe a lot to the PAP. All the opportunities I grabbed were directly or indirectly attributable to PAP policies. A few notable examples :

1) They gave me a good education.
2) They attracted MNCs by giving them 10 year tax breaks. This policy created my first job.
3) EDB helped immensely when I set up my own business and directed me to funding sources which I did not know existed.
4) Their sound management of the Sing dollar enabled me to cash out of the country when the time was right.

Through our interactions with those we care for, many of them said their employment opportunities were blocked by businesses seeking to use our foreign labor as they are much cheaper. These are usually in the more elderly group who have no skills other than working as cleaners in foodcourts etc. So the opening of the floodgates by PAP to foreigners had impacted them a great deal. The government has realised that, thankfully in this case, and have make some arrangements for more locals to work in foodcourts. Hopefully, the PAP can do more in other areas to help these people find a job and they can then be more dependent. It is a misconception that these people do not want to work and so hope to get handouts from the govt. The fact is that many of them have self-esteem are have always expressed the desire to be independent by finding work. When you get to know them more personally, you will realise that they are not the greedy, many have told us what they need is only for them to get by each day and never ask for more.

brocoli

You seem ignorant abt what a SG household got to pay. I guess you are too young and immature because you dont have a family nor home yet...when you grow up, you will know what I mean...

every 1 see what i mean ??? she doesnt contribute anything to the discussion ...

all she does is to sprout unsubstantiated opinion .... with no basis in anything ....

she really degrade the forum quality.... even my fart gotch more substances than her

even the trolls like leebatar, ivanbert contribute something .... she ish just a FCP here trollibg AWAY.... why is every1 so nice and understanding toward her??

TT please response to post #217

Candide

Firstly welcome and thank you for your comments and views. Anything that is well argued is always appreciated. Believe me you carry a lot of substance in your comments. You will not offend anyone if you disagree or carry alternative views.

Most people do recognise that the old man is certainly very intelligent with a sharp political mind. There is not doubt that he and his team built a first class country in the first 25 years in power.

The issues are his methods, his incarceration of individuals for such an extensive period, the total control of the press, the nepotism involving his family, the bankrupting of possible contenders, the manipulation of the electoral system, use of state funded stat board for political purpose and control, and believe me there are much more.

The last 25 years has been a gradual decline in terms of values, employment displacement, loss of identity as a Singaporean etc. Imagine his son getting a 12% discount on a soft launch while the rate was 5% to everyone else. If Francis Seow got the same deal, he would have charged him for corruption.

Our problem is that we keep comparing him to more corrupt countries rather than developed countries with established democractic principles.

Hi scroobal. Thank you for your encouraging words. You are another member in this forum whom I enjoy reading from. Your posts are often insightful, informative, intriguing, and frighteningly convincing. You are like the CIA of SBF. How they allow you to be still alive is quite a mystery to me. Pun intended.

Yes, I agree with you that LKY and his PAP should rightly be compared with Countries with developed democratic principles and no lesser.

Personally, I find it extremely unhealthy to have only one strong political party that the people of Singapore can count on to govern our Country. Therefore, responsible citizens must now start to groom a potential political party in earnest especially when this political party has already appeared right in front of us now. For those aspiring and present politicians who truly care in the political development of Singapore, they should drop the idea of forming new political parties and stick to an existing political party that fits closest to their ideology and work from there. Singaporeans like me are generally a pragmatic lot. You need to be a Chiam See Tong (healthy one), Low Thia Khiang, or at a lesser extent, Sylvia Lim to make us have a leapt of faith in you. It is therefore easier to work on an established platform.

I also like to emphasize to the many members in SBF that you do play an important role in Singapore politics. Believe me, if you can get an “apolitical” person like me to be engrossed in the write-ups in this forum, you can get almost anyone who can read to be interested too. Well, maybe with the exception of those hardcore PAP supporters.

Likewise, I concur with member freedalas that what are written in here will likely be spread by word of mouth to friends, colleagues, and their loved ones. Therefore, I urge the members in this political forum to continue to write responsibly and credibly as we all carry a form of responsibility in that sense. And if an overhaul ever happens in Singapore’s political landscape in this lifetime of ours, do give yourself a big pat on your back because you are one of the history makers that have played a part in this change for the betterment of our society.

scroobal, your information on dual citizenship intrigues me a lot although I was being discouraged by others from taking the information you provided seriously. Anyway, the intent and interest will only be explored in the future, not now.

Last but not least, my warm wishes to you and your family for a peaceful and blessed new year ahead. I look forward to read many more of your write-ups. :smile:

TracyTan866

every 1 see what i mean ??? she doesnt contribute anything to the discussion ...

all she does is to sprout unsubstantiated opinion .... with no basis in anything ....

she really degrade the forum quality.... even my fart gotch more substances than her

even the trolls like leebatar, ivanbert contribute something .... she ish just a FCP here trollibg AWAY.... why is every1 so understanding toward her??

if you dont know the levies, taxes, etc a SG household pays, you dont know much.

in other threads, I have mentioned abt such levies, taxes..etc. why shd I waste my time and keep mentioning them to ignorant people and young kids who have not faced responsiblities of running a household? they will learn when they grow up.

if you still dont know go read other threads

freedalas

Hi scroobal. Thank you for your encouraging words. You are another member in this forum whom I enjoy reading from. Your posts are often insightful, informative, intriguing, and frighteningly convincing. You are like the CIA of SBF. How they allow you to be still alive is quite a mystery to me. Pun intended.

Yes, I agree with you that LKY and his PAP should rightly be compared with Countries with developed democratic principles and no lesser.

Personally, I find it extremely unhealthy to have only one strong political party that the people of Singapore can count on to govern our Country. Therefore, responsible citizens must now start to groom a potential political party in earnest especially when this political party has already appeared right in front of us now. For those aspiring and present politicians who truly care in the political development of Singapore, they should drop the idea of forming new political parties and stick to an existing political party that fits closest to their ideology and work from there. Singaporeans like me are generally a pragmatic lot. You need to be a Chiam See Tong (healthy one), Low Thia Khiang, or at a lesser extent, Sylvia Lim to make us have a leapt of faith in you. It is therefore easier to work on an established platform.

I also like to emphasize to the many members in SBF that you do play an important role in Singapore politics. Believe me, if you can get an “apolitical” person like me to be engrossed in the write-ups in this forum, you can get almost anyone who can read to be interested too. Well, maybe with the exception of those hardcore PAP supporters.

Likewise, I concur with member freedalas that what are written in here will likely be spread by word of mouth to friends, colleagues, and their loved ones. Therefore, I urge the members in this political forum to continue to write responsibly and credibly as we all carry a form of responsibility in that sense. And if an overhaul ever happens in Singapore’s political landscape in this lifetime of ours, do give yourself a big pat on your back because you are one of the history makers that have played a part in this change for the betterment of our society.

scroobal, your information on dual citizenship intrigues me a lot although I was being discouraged by others from taking the information you provided seriously. Anyway, the intent and interest will only be explored in the future, not now.

Last but not least, my warm wishes to you and your family for a peaceful and blessed new year ahead. I look forward to read many more of your write-ups. :smile:

A very well-written post. I am sure many forummers like me will look forward to your continuous postings here. But as u continue to post, be ready to be whacked by some. But don't be frighten off. Just hardened yourself and respond to them accordingly. If u truly believe in what you post, there's nothing to be afraid. Just say what's in your hearts. I also agree with your compliments showered on Scroobal. I learnt a lot just by reading his posts. He's indeed a "Google" of S'pore politics.

TracyTan866

A very well-written post. I am sure many forummers like me will look forward to your continuous postings here. But as u continue to post, be ready to be whacked by some. But don't be frighten off. Just hardened yourself and respond to them accordingly. If u truly believe in what you post, there's nothing to be afraid. Just say what's in your hearts. I also agree with your compliments showered on Scroobal. I learnt a lot just by reading his posts. He's indeed a "Google" of S'pore politics.

Good encouragement to Candide. SG needs more people like him

Fook Seng

brocoli said:
really ??? name them ???

One-third of HDB households have a car, 5 % have more than one cars. You know the amount you have to pay for import duties, ARF, COE and road taxes. 85% live in HDB flats and 90% of them own their flats. Another 10% live in private housing that they owned. All of them pay property tax on these. These are big ticket items. There is a 7% GST on every product and service that you consume whether you are rich or poor. In addition, 16 to 20% of your income goes into CPF. Because of the above, the price of every good or service that you consume has a pass through cost related to property that the business is done in, the wage cost of the person who plays some part in the sale of that good or service, the cost of transport that conveys the good or service to where you buy or use them. TT is right. Don't just look at headline tax figures. Now you know why the Singapore Goverment accumulates so much budget surpluses.

But as u continue to post, be ready to be whacked by some. But don't be frighten off. Just hardened yourself and respond to them accordingly

heheh...
i still recall my baptism of fire in the old Delphi, ChristoLee and a couple of others were still trying to figure out if i were for real for my posts :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Candide

I felt I obliged to butt in here.You see,I am also following Malaysian politics quite closely.Hence I m quite aware of the latest happenings there.Hence must put down some misconceptions.I shall try be very brief.

If one is to read blogs such as Malaysia Today,Malaysia Insider,Malaysiakini and etc.You are right that Malaysian Chinese bitch a lot about Malaysia.But the fact is 90% of Malaysian Chinese who works in Singapore chose to go back to Malaysia rather than take Singapore citizenship...Which begets the question that if they love PAP style of governance so much why go beck to the hell hole which they claim Malaysia is?

In fact bulk of of our racial and other problem arises because of Malaysian Chinese working in our civil service and police.PAP uses them to the hilt and they use us like hell and discard us as a used condom after they had their fling here.Because each Malaysian Chinese carry their emotional baggage of Malaysian racial politics and spill it on our minority races.

Now here is the fact sheet.DAP was founded as the mirror image of PAP by our ex president Devan Nair.Hence DAP 's open admiration for PAP is nothing surprising.In fact Lim Kit Sing the de facto secretary general of DAP and the father of LIm Eng Guan had publicly declared LKY as his mentor and leader.

Again,DAP itself had been rejected by Chinese voters for more than 40 years since their numero unos such as Lim Kit Sing and Karpal Singh had been thoroughly thrashed in past elections.It was only in their 2008 GE a miracle happened.Again this credit goes to HINDRAF--the Iindian NGO.Who publicly took to the streets in a unprecedented street demonstration of nearly 50k.The Indian community were traditionally BN voters who now opposed BN and MIC...this flagged open defiance and soon Malaysian Chinese followed.Hence for the first time in Malaysian history BN lost two third majority in their parliament and along with that 5 states,of which 1 is penang.

Lim Eng Guan became the CM of Penang.What followed exposed DAP.Now Malays claimed they are being marginalized in Penang.But what too the cake is HINDRAF distanced itself from DAP because the Indian community were left in the lurch.The incident was one Buah Pala kampong.The only Indian heritage village that was destined to be demolished by the previous UMNO government.Buah Pala kampong belonged to the British planter who bequeath it in a will to the Indian community who lived and worked on it some 120 yrs ago.UMNO somehow changed the law and sold it to their MCA(Malaysin Chinese Party) crony.But DAP politicized this iisue to boiling eviction level and once in power signed and executed the land to the very same Chinese towkays.....that revealed the racism in DAP.

In fact,the racil politics PAP practices belong entirely to Malaysia.We never had politics divided long racial basis before whereas Malaysia had.It was because of the very entry of Malaysian Chinese within PAP we started having GRC,HDB racial quota and etc.The old PAP guards though many were born in Malaya never incorporated racial politics.But the fresh Malaysian Chinese blood who joined PAP later tainted PAP with racism.

Hi Nice-Gook. Allow me to speak on behalf of my Malaysian friends and peers, as I do not want readers to have the misconception of them coming here to Singapore with the main intention of “sucking” us dry especially when the misconception is originated from my earlier post.

It is quite true that most Malaysians who come to Singapore to work have no intention to acquire citizenship, but it has nothing to do with PAP. Based on what has been shared with me and what I have observed, I can put this phenomenon down to two main factors: Family and Economics.

Malaysians, in general, are apolitical. They are instead very family-oriented, arguably more so than us. Unlike here in Singapore, whereby we have a wide social safety net and adopt the many helping hands approach to ensure “no one” falls through the crack, Malaysians, in general, do not have such luxury per se back in their Country. True, they have their own VWOs, NGOs, religious entities and even political parties to seek help to, however the assistance rendered can be really limited. Therefore, they often have to rely on their own immediate and extended family members for help and solace. That is why their family dynamics are very strong and close-knitted. It also helps when their family size tend to be very big, thus in numerical term, it is also easier for them to receive help and solace from their own family members. Those who have relatives in Malaysia will know what I mean. Unless they are married to Singaporean, most often than not, they would prefer to move back to their hometown to be with their family after they have earned enough here.

As for economics, it is self-explanatory. They come here to earn Sing dollars and go back to exchange to their Ringgit and live a more comfortable life back home. Nothing wrongful, in my opinion.

Regarding your commentary on Malaysian Politics, particularly DAP, I must declare that I am not an expert in the field of politics, hence I shall not comment much though in my humble opinion, I do feel you have undermined DAP quite a fair bit. Unlike most of our local political parties, DAP have been winning parliamentary seats all this while, though it is true that they only come into prominence and become really popular with the Malaysian public (particularly the Chinese community) after the last general election back in 2008. I am doubtful about your allegation of DAP being racist though. That being said, let’s leave to the readers who are interested in Malaysia politics to research, analyse and determine for themselves. I believe we can agree that DAP is definitely the political party to watch in the coming general election next year. According to my Malaysian friends, they could possibly be the kingmaker for the next Prime Minister if there is an overhaul in Malaysian politics after the next general election.

Last but not least, my warm wishes to you and your family for a peaceful and blessed new year ahead. If you are into business, Huat Ah! :smile:

TracyTan866

Cheers, Tracy. :smile: You keep up your unwavering spirit and don't ever let it die.

My warm wishes to you and your family for a peaceful and blessed new year ahead.

Thanks, Candide:smile:

I dont come in often.

I wish you and all loved ones a blessed 2012...

Nice-Gook

I agree with you. Sam is just arguing just to irritate you. I dont think you are here to argue or irritate. So, just ignore his post and move on to other posts:smile:

I beg to disagree.Why?Because Sam is parroting exactly what PAP propagates.For example,PAP FT policy substantiated on the basis of racial imbalance.Such factual obfuscation and half-truths need to be thoroughly thrashed. Expose PAP for the lies they tell since their mantra is to keep repeating the lies again and again and soon people would have doubts about the very truth they themselves knew.

Of course,in an open forum like this even walls have ears and there are paid PAP apologists who trolls here and monitors our level of awareness and prepare PAP to preempt our arguments.I am not kidding.SPH had been known to trawl forums and inadvertently we may be feeding them for their better preparedness to counter us.Unfortunately,that is the risk we must take to keep the truth alive.We need to take the bull by it's horn,sort of.

I am a firm believer that somehow the truth has this inexplicable capacity to emerge ultimately.And LKY would never had imagined today's era of open journalism where every ones participate .Hence all his effort to control information available to the general public is now no longer tenable.

Just remember,for every one who participate in this thread there is a hundred more who silently watch.And that has a multiplier effect.That would be our greatest charity and contribution to the society.At least we can look at our grandchildren's eyes someday and say,Yes ! I too participated in my own little way.

TracyTan866

I beg to disagree.Why?Because Sam is parroting exactly what PAP propagates.For example,PAP FT policy substantiated on the basis of racial imbalance.Such factual obfuscation and half-truths need to be thoroughly thrashed. Expose PAP for the lies they tell since their mantra is to keep repeating the lies again and again and soon people would have doubts about the very truth they themselves knew.

Of course,in an open forum like this even walls have ears and there are paid PAP apologists who trolls here and monitors our level of awareness and prepare PAP to preempt our arguments.I am not kidding.SPH had been known to trawl forums and inadvertently we may be feeding them for their better preparedness to counter us.Unfortunately,that is the risk we must take to keep the truth alive.We need tp take the bull by it's horn,sort of.

I am a firm believer that somehow the truth has this inexplicable capacity to emerge ultimately.And LKY would never had imagined today's era of open journalism where every ones participate .Hence all his effort to control information available to the general public is now no longer tenable.

Just remember,for every one who participate in this thread there is a hundred more who silently watch.And that has a multiplier effect.That would be our greatest charity and contribution to the society.At least we can look at our grandchildren's eyes someday and say,Yes ! I too participated in my own little way.

I dont know who Sam is. But I gauge a person based on his arguments and facts. Sam seems to be twisting and turning and tried his best to wriggle out when cornered and proven wrong.

Take this thread for example. Right from the first post, I have presented the proposition abt the impending crumble of SG and not abt the present SG.. Many of us have tried to debate with him that the present pap policies will lead to the crumble of SG...nothing to do with the facade of SG now. When challenged, he chose to ignore that fact and kept on harping on what SG is now and mask his arguments with irrelevant statistics. That's not good debating skills

For me, because Sam likes to argue off tangent, I have chosen to ignore him so that he cant confuse the younger forumners and not allow him to cause more damage than what he is doing now.

Nice-Gook

It is quite true that most Malaysians who come to Singapore to work have no intention to acquire citizenship, but it has nothing to do with PAP. Based on what has been shared with me and what I have observed, I can put this phenomenon down to two main factors: Family and Economics.

:smile:

I am sure we can agree to disagree ,gentlemanly right ?

I could go on at great length to point out the detrimental effect of the input of Malaysian Chinese had caused us.Perhaps on another day.

So I shall address just the above; your comments.First it takes two to tango.So it's untenable that PAP is not involved in importation of Malaysians and particularly ethnic Chinese selectively .Hence if we stretch your logic further we cannot blame any foreigner who is eking a living in Singapore--be they from China,India Philippines or others.Because all of them are here at the invitation of PAP not otherwise.

But it falls on us scrutinize,why Malaysians and selectively Chinese.The devil is in details my friend.This is where PAP politics kicks in.I don't know whether you are aware of this.But in earlier days when our SAF was in infancy; our own born and bred Malays were shunned like a plague in our armed forces.Whereas Malaysian Chinese,still as Malaysian citizens,held ranks in our SAF......tell me is this not PAP politics?Today,as you would have noticed the bulk of our police boys whom you come into contact are Malays but behind them the investigating officers who actually decides on the criticality of a situation are Malaysian Chinese.Enough said.

Be comforted my source of Malaysians is not limited to their blogs alone.I dare say I had been around Malaysia more than most Malaysians.Today we accuse PAP of favouring foreigners over locals in education; especially in our universities.Where PRC and some Indians from India are paid to study under PAP patronage.Quality of whom are questionable.But are you aware that the forunner of this was one ASEAN scholarship?The bulk of whom were Malaysian Chinese!The word ASEAN was only for sweet coating,it actually meant Malaysians.Of course some Indonesians and Thais were included for token sake......Or are you aware that more than 60 school buses ferries Malaysians to our schools each day?Why is the need that we must educate them at our tax payers monies?

As I said I could write volume on this subject.And take you back to politics of it.The PAP and their deep enmity that simmers for MCA.Ahhhh,and that it was MCA that kicked PAP out of Malaysia and so on.Because LKY harbored to be the PM for Malaysia and not the geograhically challenged Singapore.And while as part of Malaysia LKY called himself a PM than CM.....to the distaste of Tunku that how can 1 nation have 2 PMs?In short,LKY did not mind the Tunku that much.He had an axe to grind with MCA,who represented the Malaysian Chinese in Malaysia..He never forgave MCA for standing between his ambition.There is a lot more but this will suffice for now.