• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Crowning

sinren67

Anyone bro here done crowning before? The private dental clinic charges at $700 for crowning. That's not all. He says my done canal root tooth is unique as there is no enough gap between the tooth and the gum, thus i need to spend another $700 to remove part of the gum so as to grind down the tooth for crowning. I find it very unprofessional. They should have notice it earlier instead of telling me after spent more than $1k.

I realized that govt dun subsidy for crowning. So they expect you to remove the good tooth to save $$ when it's the nerve that give you problem.

For now, i'll leave the band inside and use only my left teeth. Should i go to Bangkok or Malaysia instead. :(

Maybe you should go Malaysia/Thailand if you can find a good dentist there. $700 is considered cheap because in OZ, they charge $1300 for a full crown.

That's very ex. The NHG priced between $600 - $900. I went for consultation and they "quote" me $685. Having say that, she didn't tell me i need to remove part of the gum. Maybe she oversight..

actually, hor, a lot of dentists r oni interested 2 squiz moni fr u oni ...

12 yrs ago, got 1 dentitst told me nid 2 do crowning 4 1 of my tooth, me heck care ... now, my dat tooth still ok, uncrowned ...

got 1 lagi best, me wen there ask 4 a fill ... n dat burger told me got 1 tooth nids crowning ... me was tinking ... me ask 4 filling, woh! c how goot is ur skills 1st la! ... 1 wk later, ze fill done by dat burger came off! ...

12 yrs ago, got 1 dentitst told me nid 2 do crowning 4 1 of my tooth, me heck care ... now, my dat tooth still ok, uncrowned ...

got 1 lagi best, me wen there ask 4 a fill ... n dat burger told me got 1 tooth nids crowning ... me was tinking ... me ask 4 filling, woh! c how goot is ur skills 1st la! ... 1 wk later, ze fill done by dat burger came off! ...

The dentist says if crowning not done, all the effort and $$ will go to drain if anything happen.

A few years ago, I went to a dentist and he asked me how much was my dental benefits.
So it means that he would do work to the extent of the amount of my dental benefits, even if it was unnecessary?
How unscrupulous these people have become these days.

A few years ago, I went to a dentist and he asked me how much was my dental benefits.
So it means that he would do work to the extent of the amount of my dental benefits, even if it was unnecessary?
How unscrupulous these people have become these days.
u r absolutely correct! ...

if u work in gahmen or stat board, dey noe how much is ur dental benefit ... dey oredi noe how much 2 charge u ... if u go 2 dem oni 4 normal cleaning twice a yr, dey wil sui-sui take oni all ur dental benefits fr u ...

Anyone bro here done crowning before? The private dental clinic charges at $700 for crowning. That's not all. He says my done canal root tooth is unique as there is no enough gap between the tooth and the gum, thus i need to spend another $700 to remove part of the gum so as to grind down the tooth for crowning. I find it very unprofessional. They should have notice it earlier instead of telling me after spent more than $1k.

I realized that govt dun subsidy for crowning. So they expect you to remove the good tooth to save $$ when it's the nerve that give you problem.

For now, i'll leave the band inside and use only my left teeth. Should i go to Bangkok or Malaysia instead. :(

Crowning considered as cosmetic surgery and insurance dun cover as well.

My dentist (under my insurance company) did a crown for me and later called me up to pay when the insurance company rejected their claim. I refused to pay as I said I dun know that crowning is considered as cosmetic surgery under the insurance terms and they should have told me before they did the crowning. They never call me again after that. Dunno whether they amended the claim and claim again from the insurance company.

Crowning considered as cosmetic surgery and insurance dun cover as well.

Crowning is a necessity, a basic restorative procedure.

How is crowning considered cosmetic surgery :confused:

These insurance companies are cheats?

You can choose to have a filling or just pull it out, which are covered by insurance.

Crowning to them, is just to make it look nicer than filling so they consider it as cosmetic surgery loh

save money - go to sex shop buy the $10 spray for youngsters to numb cockhead so they wont come so fast

use the spray to numb the gums, then ask your buddy use pliers, one quick movement pull out

rinse mouth, no licking of pussy until gums heal

You can choose to have a filling or just pull it out, which are covered by insurance.

Crowning to them, is just to make it look nicer than filling so they consider it as cosmetic surgery loh

I see. Interesting view from them.

I'm talking about tooth decay that is so bad that it cannot be filled - filling that won't hold on its own or part of the tooth is broken. This is when crown is needed. To pull it out, would mean the person is missing a tooth, a tooth is a necessity, so I wouldn't consider this as cosmetic.

If the patient want gold plating, then that is cosmetic. The basic crown shouldn't be cosmetic.

Anyway, in first world countries, the crown is covered, normally at 50%. This depends on the policy, generous employers will buy a plan that covers 100% crown, most companies is at 50%.

Personally, i feel that crowning is a necessity, but to the MIWs, it's a cosmetic surgery, that explained why there is no subsidy for crowning. How can govt expect we extract the tooth whenever toothache when it's a nerve issue, not decay.

I do think that the crown is a necessity.

In your case, why do you need a crown? Is it because part of your teeth is broken or the hole got so big that filling won't help?

If you can just fill it up then just fill it up, save $$$.

I do think that the crown is a necessity.

In your case, why do you need a crown? Is it because part of your teeth is broken or the hole got so big that filling won't help?

If you can just fill it up then just fill it up, save $$$.

In my case, there is a crackline that's why the dentist put a band to hold the tooth. So far, i feel ok and the top and the crackline already filled. Just wonder whether the filling will gradually eroded if no crowning is done.

All in a day's "tithe" for you false prophet.

This costs twice as much in angmo developed countries usually covered by your company health insurance!

In my case, there is a crackline that's why the dentist put a band to hold the tooth. So far, i feel ok and the top and the crackline already filled. Just wonder whether the filling will gradually eroded if no crowning is done.

That would definitely need a crown to hold the tooth. I can't see how this is cosmetic. Gahment need to change the rules. Filling it is a temporary solution.

If cost is an issue, no choice, got to live with that filling. That filling will erode over time, maybe in 5 to 10 years, so will need to go back to refill.

Without a crown, you need to be careful not to bite anything hard, peanuts or eating crabs can break the tooth. If tooth is partially broken, you must use a crown.

I did 2 crownings some 15 years ago cost me about $1,000
consider cheap, nowadays 1 crown will cost that amount.
If i can still remember, have to go for few times,
root canal cleaning
drill hole to the tooth
take mould sample and colour of your teeth
put a rod into the decay tooth for the crown.
put 'white cement' to form a temporary tooth and also
to protect the rod before the crown is made.
lastly, cement the crown, the crown is made of titanium
that's what the dentist told me.
It is very convenient and nobody can tell the differences
i am wearing 2 crowns until today.

I had mine on 4 adjoining teeth, or what they call bridge, the 2 center are empty and the 2 outsides that hold the bridge oso not very solid so I was told to go easy on ground nuts during chinese new year visit and forget about chicken bones :o