• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Coronavirus concerns way overblown

In times of crisis the media should be actually publishing good news stories that cheers people up. It should interview those who tested positive and have come through with zero consequences. Each day should bring new stories about those who have made a full recovery including old farts in their 70s and 80s who caught te virus and are now back to playing tennis or training for a marathon. This is how you should tackle adversity ie by featuring the success stories of those who have overcome it

You are talking like a scammer and from your asshole. When Tiongland was publishing all these good stories at the height of their Wuhan virus crisis, you and those Tiong haters were dismissing them as propaganda blah this and blah that :rolleyes:

Just because your vested monetary and other interests are affected now with the virus moving on to a global path, you twist, turn around and talk cock.

You are talking like a scammer and from your asshole. When Tiongland was publishing all these good stories at the height of their Wuhan virus crisis, you and those Tiong haters were dismissing them as propaganda blah this and blah that :rolleyes:

Just because your vested monetary and other interests are affected now with the virus moving on to a global path, you twist, turn around and talk cock.

The Tiongs published good news stories??? I never saw any. All they did was to try to downplay the numbers for the sake of national pride. They politicised what is a medical event. In the west it is the opposite. They are spreading negativity as a political weapon.

As for my own vested interests you have it the wrong way round. I have benefitted from each crisis (1998, 2003, 2008) because I have cash in hand and fixed assets that simply cannot lose value in the long term unless there is a nuclear war or a meteorite strike.

The people I feel for are those who have mortgages and mouths to feed. I have neither. This pandemic does not affect me one iota. Each week I go to the ATM and draw enough cash for my needs. If I earned not another cent for the rest of my life my cash reserves would last me till I am 105 years old. If I live beyond that I will sell one of my properties and that should last me another 20 years.

An example of how those with financial clout actually gain from panicking markets.

Apple could buy Disney after pullback - Rosenblatt

Mar. 13, 2020 8:02 AM ET|About: Apple Inc. (AAPL)|By: Brandy Betz, SA News Editor

Rosenblatt analyst Bernie McTernan says Apple (NASDAQ:AAPL) could consider buying Disney (NYSE:DIS) after the 34% sell-off.

McTernan: "We believe those with long time horizons, like megacap companies with large cash balances and whose equity outperformed Disney over the last three weeks, like Apple, could take advantage of the volatility."

The analyst says Disney+ could help boost Apple's TV+ streaming service, which he sees as off to a slow start.

McTernan notes that Disney has a roughly $165B market cap, and Apple has about $107B of cash and securities.

Apple shares are up 6.2% pre-market to $264. DIS is up 5.9% to $97.27.

An example of how those with financial clout actually gain from panicking markets.

Mar. 13, 2020 8:02 AM ET|About: Apple Inc. (AAPL)|By: Brandy Betz, SA News Editor

Rosenblatt analyst Bernie McTernan says Apple (NASDAQ:AAPL) could consider buying Disney (NYSE:DIS) after the 34% sell-off.

McTernan: "We believe those with long time horizons, like megacap companies with large cash balances and whose equity outperformed Disney over the last three weeks, like Apple, could take advantage of the volatility."

The analyst says Disney+ could help boost Apple's TV+ streaming service, which he sees as off to a slow start.

McTernan notes that Disney has a roughly $165B market cap, and Apple has about $107B of cash and securities.

Hey sam. Let's have a bet shall we? For fun lah.

I think the markets would have recovered by the end of 2020 ie Dec 31 2020 to what it was before the sell off started Jan 2020.

Depends how you define "recovered"? Do you mean back to the same highs before this shit happened?

I'm thinking earlier than Dec 31. My estimate is 6 months but I'm not ready to put my money where my mouth is at the moment. I need a couple more weeks to see where the media is headed.

Just an “analyst” expressing an opinion. Not the same as Apple coming out with a statement or better still an actual offer.

Even if an offer is made, there is no guarantee that Disney will accept. Analyst trying to talk up his “investment” in Disney bought at much higher prices?

Besides, what large companies do with their “war chest” is not directly relevant to individual investors except as a very rough gauge of shifting sentiment. Is one’s “war chest”, time horizon, investor profile, etc same as theirs?

This is an excellent book: https://www.amazon.com/Battle-Investment-Survival-G-Loeb/dp/1617200557/ref=nodl_

My style is same as stated there eg three months is considered long term, every decision is evaluated on its own merits ie having sold at 100 is no impediment to going back in at 110 as long as the evidence now suggests that it is more likely than not to rise from 110, etc. This style is facilitated by today’s low and even zero commissions. Loyalty or love has no place in surfing the waves or the markets.

Depends how you define "recovered"? Do you mean back to the same highs before this shit happened?

I'm thinking earlier than Dec 31. My estimate is 6 months but I'm not ready to put my money where my mouth is at the moment. I need a couple more weeks to see where the media is headed.
Yes back to same highs before the shit happened. Lol!

Cheer up sam. Think of all the opportunities!

The people who are running on very thin margins and pay cheque to pay cheque will be in deep shit.

I didn't suggest it was a done deal just offered it to put out an example of how to take advantage of the coronavirus hype.
Just an “analyst” expressing an opinion. Not the same as Apple coming out with a statement or better still an actual offer.

Even if an offer is made, there is no guarantee that Disney will accept. Analyst trying to talk up his “investment” in Disney bought at much higher prices?

Besides, what large companies do with their “war chest” is not directly relevant to individual investors except as a very rough gauge of shifting sentiment. Is one’s “war chest”, time horizon, investor profile, etc same as theirs?

This is an excellent book: https://www.amazon.com/Battle-Investment-Survival-G-Loeb/dp/1617200557/ref=nodl_

My style is same as stated there eg three months is considered long term, every decision is evaluated on its own merits ie having sold at 100 is no impediment to going back in at 110 as long as the evidence now suggests that it is more likely than not to rise from 110, etc. This style is facilitated by today’s low and even zero commissions. Loyalty or love has no place in surfing the waves or the markets.

The people worst hit if the country is shut down won't be the business owners especially the wealthy ones that are the PAP cronies.

It will be all the employees, ordinary hardworking Singaporeans, who will suddenly find themselves out of a job. You obviously have not run a business before or you'd know that those with staying power can easily just cut losses, fire everyone and close the shutters. They'll re open later when the phoenix rises with a new set of employees on lower salaries.
On the contrary, PAP will lose the mandate and find themselves filling resume and going for interview again. And they will compete with their beloved FT for a slice of bread
Biz owner, as you say, will not quite be troubled by this provided they got enough cash and ride thru this storm

On the contrary, PAP will lose the mandate and find themselves filling resume and going for interview again. And they will compete with their beloved FT for a slice of bread
Biz owner, as you say, will not quite be troubled by this provided they got enough cash and ride thru this storm

I can assure with 110% confidence that they will not lose the mandate because there is no alternative party to snatch the mandate from them. Sinkies have made sure of this by withholding support for alternative parties for their own selfish reasons such as property prices and upgrading and covered walkways etc.

1584413020000.png

SPREAD WIDELY
UNTIL IT GET TO THE MAIDS AND SONS AND DAUGHTERS AND STAFF OF MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE
UNTIL ALL THOSE OLD MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KENA WUHANDED
AND TOGETHER WITH YOUNG MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS AND ALL IN THE FUCKING PA AND KANGAROOS AND POODLES
WUHAN WILL DELIVER US ALL FROM THE FUCKING MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE FINALLY
MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KANGAROOS CANNOT FIX WUHAN THE WAY THEY CAN FIX ELECTED PRESIDENT AND OTHER SHIT THINGS THAT THEY CAN FIX
WUHAN WILL FIX THEM INSTEAD

Emoji Laugh GIF - Emoji Laugh Laughing - Discover & Share GIFs

Laughing Emoji GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY

1583903024800.png

Forward this on your WhatsApp and make this go viral.
Get this onto the handphones of all in Singapore

VOTE OUT ALL THE MAGGOTS AND MAGGOTESS IN WHITE AND TURN STINKAPORE BACK INTO SINGAPORE
OR OUR KIDS END UP BECOMING SECURITY GUARDS TO BE KICKED IN FACE BY CECAs OR PANDA FOOD DELIVERIES OR PICKING UP CARDBOARDS OR SELLING TISSUE PAPER IN HAWKER CENTERS

• 1584413042400.png
    1584413042400.png
    403.7 KB · Views: 97
Can't tell because details are scant. However I wouldn't be surprised because the last time I was in France I almost died from smoke inhalation.

Almost everyone around me was smoking and the women were even worse than the men. I'd be extremely surprised if their lungs weren't already shot.
Lol!

I suspect covid19 may be changing in europe.

Go on to the net and you'll now find THOUSANDS of coronavirus sites each claiming to be the most up to date.

Now ask yourself why all this info is made available to the general public. It is absolutely pointless. All it does is place people in a downward spiral of negative thought. This is what happens when humans are constantly bombarded with negative news streams.

The media loves doing this because it gives them viewership. For example if there is a month where there are two air crashes and a few hundred people have died suddenly there will be article after article of poor aircraft design, the dangers of relying on auto pilots, stories of pilots flying under the influence, landing in the wrong airport, falling asleep in the cockpit. It will carry on ad nauseam till the stats show that the stories are no longer attracting that much viewership so they'll then move on to look for some other negative news items that they can milk for all their worth.

At the height of this negative news cycle the fear of flying is heightened, anxiety levels amongst those that have to travel will rack up a notch or two and some will even cancel their trips.

In the meantime they drive around as they have always done not knowing that their risk of dying while driving to an airport is far higher than dying from the plane journey. This is how the illogical human mind works for those that don't bother to think things through.

In times of crisis the media should be actually publishing good news stories that cheers people up. It should interview those who tested positive and have come through with zero consequences. Each day should bring new stories about those who have made a full recovery including old farts in their 70s and 80s who caught the virus and are now back to playing tennis or training for a marathon. This is how you should tackle adversity ie by featuring the success stories of those who have overcome it.

But of course in this day and age it will never happen. The social media brigade would rip into positivity and accuse the author of irresponsible reporting, trivialising the deaths of those that succumbed and showing zero respect to those who have lost loved ones etc etc etc.

We live in a sick world where negativity is the order of the day and those who defy the narrative get crucified.

And this forum is a microcosm of what I have described above ie page after page of dire warnings and predictions that the end of the world is at hand. When I try to cheer everyone up by telling them it is no big deal and to enjoy life as usual I get labelled as an idiot who is out of touch who does not give a shit about the lives of others when in fact the opposite is true. I care a lot and that is why I am suggesting a course of action that will do the least amount of harm to the vast majority out there.
I don't see anything wrong with making facts and figures available to the public. They provide an objective view of reality. It is then up to the individual to calibrate his/her own response. In fact, I am pleased to have found that website. It saves me the trouble of having to do my own computation.

I agree that we could use more reports of uplifting stories, specifically those who tested positive and have come through with zero consequences like you mentioned. We could use more good news.

KNN correct lo KNN your so called old fart to other people could be their respectable lovely cute parents masters sifu old friend etc that they wouldn't want them to die of a stoopid virus KNN
Death is part of life. Deal with it

Most definitely not. The market will be down for 2020.