• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

City Harvest sends Team to Haiti

I recall 2 threads in TOC - one on CHC's impending $310m land investment, another one written on unwelcome evangelists who despite symbols of Hindusim on door still wants to talk religion with the occupant - something about are evangelists extremists?

You mean these 2 threads disappeared oredy.

Sheesh....

Actually, money is one factor only.

The other more powerful one is non-monetary : the righteous sense of doing God's work on earth (like the mother said in I Not Stupid - this is for your own good ...).

How to counter them ?

Even LKY in his prime also won't know how - dealing with Catholic Archbishop in 1987 is chickenfeed compared to the holy trinity of Kong, Joe Prince & Apostle Kong & their highfalutin congregation combined - if ever a day will come to that.

There's pretty much nothing you can do when it's in their own house that they are operating in. Houses which they can lease by the wealth bestowed by dumbfuck cunts! Examples of temporary leases are money hungry local and foreign political forums. You want to comment on national media?:eek::D

Take a look again at the TOC thread. What is their agenda? Testing the waters for possible disquiet?

City Harvest Church acquires land for S$310m in central-south Singapore
Saturday, 16 January 2010, 8:35 pm | 2,669 views

Breaking News:

city300220.jpg

City Harvest Church has acquired a piece of land in central-south Singapore with the intention of building a 12,000-seater hall at S$310 million, said the church’s senior pastor, Kong Hee. He disclosed the news at a service at the Singapore Expo on Saturday. The exact location of the land will only be made known once the acquisition is complete. City Harvest Church has the largest Christian congregation in Singapore estimated at 27,000.

is she famous in haiti?
if not, she goes there for what... just look see look see (as in the picture)?

The million dollar question. Was she treated as a VIP ie Boss by the Singapore City Hope team?:confused:

What you shared is very true.

I googled CityHarvest & Haiti & up pops a link to forums.channelnewsaisa, next thing I know, the said thread has disappeared in CNA forum.

These mega churches have their adherents in high places.

Sooner than we know, they will emerge from their shadowy underground & wield their power.

Thio Su Mein's AWARE failed coup de'ta is just a shambolic tip of the iceberg.

I am guilty of being slow as well in not catching your golden nugget of cautionary advice. The Malays and their brother Muslims better wake the fuck up!

For those City Harvest Dumbfuck Cunts reading this, I am PastorSunwHore, ShittyHarvest Church, SunwHoreStinks, CityHarvestCunts etc, etc on youtube. Most of my posts had been thumbed down until they are no longer displayed. But the lazy cunts still had not gone back far enough as those comments in mid December can still be read. All my comments, I have archived in my computer. Sun Ho finally changed her youtube account settings to friends only. A minor victory for me. But a victory against Evil nevertheless.

Ever wonder why after more than 20 years, CHC main congregation is made up of teenagers? It's like neverland.

The truth is, kids are impressionable. With loud music, false bonds of friends and peer pressure, they'll stay until they all get burned out and replaced by new generations of teenagers. Look at the way 40 yo Kong Hee and his 30 yo pastoral group dress themselves. It is easy to mistake them as delinquents.

Those who are older are those who worked for the church and stay so long that they simply do not know what else they could do. You can actually count how many there are.

Jesus Christ Boliao! Finally came out of the closet. Never knew you to be this articulated judging from your previous postings. The desire for Truth will always set one free! Hallelujah!

Ever wonder why after more than 20 years, CHC main congregation is made up of teenagers? It's like neverland.

The truth is, kids are impressionable. With loud music, false bonds of friends and peer pressure, they'll stay until they all get burned out and replaced by new generations of teenagers. Look at the way 40 yo Kong Hee and his 30 yo pastoral group dress themselves. It is easy to mistake them as delinquents.

Those who are older are those who worked for the church and stay so long that they simply do not know what else they could do. You can actually count how many there are.

Hey Boliao, did you just edited your post from a more lengthy one? Why?:eek:

From the transcript of the now infamous National Geographic Interview with LKY, even Old Man reveal that his grand-daughter is an enthusiastic supporter of City Harvest.

I don't think most teenagers outgrow their attendance in City harvest or New Creation.

Beliefs & Values formed in those impressionable years tend to be life long.

So old man is very aware (wary) of the influence of these modern US-inspired locally bred mega churches.

So far, I suppose he is merely keeping tabs - they have not threatened PAP dominance nor upset PAP's view of nature of Spore Society's fabric.

Hence, PM Lee's understated commentary of the AWARE saga in his National Day Rally speech.

From the transcript of the now infamous National Geographic Interview with LKY, even Old Man reveal that his grand-daughter is an enthusiastic supporter of City Harvest.

I don't think most teenagers outgrow their attendance in City harvest or New Creation.

Beliefs & Values formed in those impressionable years tend to be life long.

So old man is very aware (wary) of the influence of these modern US-inspired locally bred mega churches.

So far, I suppose he is merely keeping tabs - they have not threatened PAP dominance nor upset PAP's view of nature of Spore Society's fabric.

Hence, PM Lee's understated commentary of the AWARE saga in his National Day Rally speech.

We should now be concerned about the what happens next when the old man is gone. We all know that Lee Hsien Loong is not even one tenth of a Lee Kuan Yew.

True, the son is not as awe-inspiring or as ruthless as the father.

The Singapore of tomorrow I watch with disquiet.

Ultimately, whatever will be will be.

The megachurches & their ever zealous evangelism are relentless in their expansion - as decreed & demanded by their faith & the inerrancy of their Bible.

Thru hard & soft power, they will alter Singapore's religious demographics slowly but surely.

Hard power ; capturing the faiths of the intelligentsia - the elite in public & private sector, scholars & professionals with their socio-economic prominence. 10-15 yrs down the road, with the new NCC building at One-North, & the Central South 5-figure seater City Harvest town church & of course Apostle Kong & FCBC not far behind.....

Soft power : their congregation members in all walks of ife, entrepreneurs, celebrities, social service & community bodies like Touch & Citycare .... defintiely more cool & successful than People's Association eventually, the Arts Scene etc.

Is it good or bad ?

*Shrug* Singapore Society will get what it deserves, I guess.

Praise God ? !

Taoism/Buddhism/Hinduismwill be the first to be slowly disdained & discarded by the changing religious demographics.

Think I should spend some money to copyright 'God's Own Democrats or G.O.D.' name for a political party. It could be worth more than sammyboy.com a few years down the road.

Like what scroobal said in his comment, moral scruples aside, it is a damn lucrative & highly satisfying business model & career option.

Cool dudes like Kong & Joseph Prince : receive tons of $ (praise God!), expanding membership (save more souls, what a noble cause), receive the adulation, respect & love from their followers here & overseas....

Kong even has a popstar wife like David Beckham ... best thing is they genuinely believe they are God's authorized agent on Earth ....

Shiok right, better be a minister of such a church-conglomerate than a minister of Sinkie Garment who still must face election & face voters...

Say elephanto

Have you heard of a now defunct church called Jesus Saves Mission? Operated out of a Circuit Road shophouse for years until it was closed by the Government over a case which is hearsay by the way coming from the neighbours, of a tussle between the family and the Church's pull of a devout follower. The pastor and his wife never did appeared to live an affluent lifestyle, having their living quarters above the pigeon hole of a church. The pastor drove an old Volkswagen for transport convenience. If he is still alive today, he would probably lose faith in his God for not being born in the 70's.

Oh I forgot to mention that when I tried looking for it in the yellow pages ten years ago, the listings showed a Jesus Saves Mission Ltd! Business?

Nope, never heard of 'Jesus Saves Mission'.

BTW, I just checked out TOC. The 2 threads I mentioned are still there !!

So no thread deleted at TOC, hurray !

P.S. some of the comments by CHC supporters are quite chilling to read.
One even complain that they are uncomfortable with food stalls in food courts displaying religious artifacts/ornaments (anything not Chtistian). Worse than Muslim non-Halal food prohibition, IMO.

The threads are still there. But not the two posts I had highlighted. Just as in contentious threads like those over the death penalty. It is always loaded to favour a certain agenda. I know it well. I post there often but always with a new moniker and email address. If they don't like your stance or your posts which make monkeys out of their favoured posters, you get moderated on the spot and your comments will never see the light of day. Subsequently to that when I cleared my cookies and post with new moniker and email addrs with comments slanted to their agenda even if it was downright rude, I was never moderated. There you have it!

From the pictures of Sun Ho in the papers, it seems to she has gone for a boobs-enhancement job.

Volunteers return from quake-hit Haiti
By Dylan Loh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 24 January 2010

SINGAPORE: Five volunteers of an eight-member CityCare team sent to quake-hit Haiti returned home on Sunday.

The eight members were the first team the social enterprise group sent to Haiti to help the quake survivors.

More helpers will join the rest of the team in Haiti in the coming weeks.

Volunteers described the disaster zone as a big slum, with people sleeping on streets alongside rats and cockroaches.

And the medical facilities there were ill-equipped to treat severely injured people such as a woman they treated, whose upper body had been trapped in the rubble.

Dr Tan Hun Hoe, a CityCare volunteer, said: "To see her face all smashed up and swollen up and, you know, disfigured, with wounds and with maggots crawling out. I think that's quite a sight that we will never forget and it's something to, perhaps, remind people how severe the injuries can be."

- CNA

so quick to return? so they flew there, set up tent, look around town and pack up to come back to singapore.

Volunteers return from quake-hit Haiti
By Dylan Loh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 24 January 2010

SINGAPORE: Five volunteers of an eight-member CityCare team sent to quake-hit Haiti returned home on Sunday.

The eight members were the first team the social enterprise group sent to Haiti to help the quake survivors.

More helpers will join the rest of the team in Haiti in the coming weeks.

Volunteers described the disaster zone as a big slum, with people sleeping on streets alongside rats and cockroaches.

And the medical facilities there were ill-equipped to treat severely injured people such as a woman they treated, whose upper body had been trapped in the rubble.

Dr Tan Hun Hoe, a CityCare volunteer, said: "To see her face all smashed up and swollen up and, you know, disfigured, with wounds and with maggots crawling out. I think that's quite a sight that we will never forget and it's something to, perhaps, remind people how severe the injuries can be."

- CNA