• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Canadian PR

Hock

I know one Vietnamese welder who came to Calgary
about 18 years ago under family sponsorship program.
Without any formal education and just a smattering of
English, when he arrived, he only managed to work as a
dishwasher; his own kind exploited him with minimum
wage and maximum work.

He got his lucky break, when someone recommended
him to work in the metal fabrication industry in south-east
Calgary as a can-do-everything worker. Now, he is a
certified welder pulling in $30/hour plus other benefits.
Home is a bungalow in a nice suburb of Calgary. Two cars
in his attached double garage. Holiday abroad with the family
at least once a year.

He told me he does not know what Plan A, Plan B, Plan C,
Plan D, Plan E, etc. are all about. He only knows that he was
damned hungry, and along the way, ate alot of bitter gourds,
that any problem( whether it's real or imaginary) seems insignificant.

I am curious. I am aware of the oversupply in the GP trade. I know one case of 3 blocks having 5 clinics. Do you know why the govt feels the need to bring in foreign qualified doctors recently if there is oversupply.

I will share what I know about the private GP market in Singapore.

1) Too many GPs. Oversupply.

nayr69sg

Staff member
nayr69sg,
I really hope you can make it. I suggest not to compare what you do here and what you are doing there now. The more you think, the more you end up justifying why you make the move. You don't have to justify to anyone but yourself. Just look forward and take the challenge, if possible, enjoy the process in reaching your goal. All the best to you.

Comparisons will always be made whether I want to or like it. No point trying to ignore it.

I always knew what I was getting into by migrating. What I was giving up as well.

One big step I took back in 2003 was to give up my specialist training. I was a surgical trainee and planned to do orthopedics. In fact a couple of Orthopedic surgeons I worked with were telling how nice Canada was. They always said they could migrate if they wanted. But somehow they never did.

I thought about this and realized that if I continued down that path I would be "stuck" in Singapore. As a specialist consultant I would have invested too much time and energy but gotten back too little money in the next couple of years. To give it all up and migrate would be really too much to give up. So I quit and went out to the GP market to start making the money and save up for the move.

Wind forwards to now, and most of my cohort are actually in North America. Sent by MOH on HMDP. The last phase of their specialist training. When they go back they will be associate consultants at the very least or even consultants. They would also have a bond to pay back. A couple of them tell me the same thing " Oh I was offered a job here in XYZ american/canadian city" but I think I prefer to go back to Singapore. I ask them honestly, it is because the "job" offered is not that of a full fledged specialist but that of a resident. Going through all that PLUS paying up the bond is nuts right?

Singapore has a well worked out system to keep the doctors in Singapore. The price to leave is too much to pay after all they have invested.

Anyway it is an interesting feeling now, because I am starting at such a low level, almost everything seems to be an improvement. My options are almost limitless. It is all up to me and I can choose what I want to do. In the past, being a doctor, I always had to "justify" why I wanted to do "something else" and it wasn't easy. Now because I "cannot be a doctor", I don't have to justify. Strange logic but maybe some of you can understand what I am saying.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I am curious. I am aware of the oversupply in the GP trade. I know one case of 3 blocks having 5 clinics. Do you know why the govt feels the need to bring in foreign qualified doctors recently if there is oversupply.

GOvt brings in foreign doctors to staff the polyclinics not private clinics. At least in the beginning.

I worked in the polyclinic before. It is utterly crazy. See 70 patients in one morning from 8am to 1pm. How many doctors will be willing to work like that forever? So turnover is high. Foreign doctors are also very cheap compared to local doctors. SMC also doesn't object because >50% are appointed by MOH.

In any case if the foreign doctors get fully licenced and later go to the private sector it will further flood the market with GPs. More oversupply means lower costs. Lower costs are always good right? You think the govt cares about how much doctors earn? I think the people also prefer doctors to earn as little as possible right?

Would you care how much your doctor earned? Or that he was earning minimum type wages?

As for quality, there is always this strong whip called SMC. The more the merrier. If there are bad ones, just strike them off the register. Got too many anyway right? Keeps everyone on their toes.

Perfect system. And frankly, the only reason why this doesn't work in other countries is because in other countries the doctors are united, have a strong union and work TOGETHER. In Singapore, dog (doc) eat dog, kill each other. Stupid. Kiasu then kiasee then later realize too late liao.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I know one Vietnamese welder who came to Calgary
about 18 years ago under family sponsorship program.
Without any formal education and just a smattering of
English, when he arrived, he only managed to work as a
dishwasher; his own kind exploited him with minimum
wage and maximum work.

He got his lucky break, when someone recommended
him to work in the metal fabrication industry in south-east
Calgary as a can-do-everything worker. Now, he is a
certified welder pulling in $30/hour plus other benefits.
Home is a bungalow in a nice suburb of Calgary. Two cars
in his attached double garage. Holiday abroad with the family
at least once a year.

He told me he does not know what Plan A, Plan B, Plan C,
Plan D, Plan E, etc. are all about. He only knows that he was
damned hungry, and along the way, ate alot of bitter gourds,
that any problem( whether it's real or imaginary) seems insignificant.

In Canada, blue collar type jobs actually pay very well. Even better than most white collar jobs. This is something Asians would find hard to understand. But it does make sense because some of these blue collar type jobs are really tough. Sitting in a well conditioned office making calls and typing keyboards is really cushy compared to the blue collar jobs. So it makes logical sense to pay them appropriately.

Thanks for the explanation. It now makes sense.

Would like to share with you the politics of medicine in Singapore. Front end medical needs are considered within the same fold as vegetables, fish, chicken and pork for retaining grassroots support. It is the primary reason NTUC Fairprice has been set. It came to a stage when the price of fish chicken went below cost in 2007. GP services are considered a staple. It is also the same reason why the NTUC got into the drug trade - to use market power and reduce margins.

In the West, except for the US, all other countries fully subsidise front end medical services as it considered basic essential. Not Singapore and in typical Singapore fashion, they expect the service provider to bear the full load to meet the political needs of the ruling party.

GOvt brings in foreign doctors to staff the polyclinics not private clinics. At least in the beginning.

I worked in the polyclinic before. It is utterly crazy. See 70 patients in one morning from 8am to 1pm. How many doctors will be willing to work like that forever? So turnover is high. Foreign doctors are also very cheap compared to local doctors. SMC also doesn't object because >50% are appointed by MOH.

exSINgaporean

nayr69sg:

Thanks for your insight into the cheapskate medical system in Singapore.

As I have spoken to you over the phone. In Canada, doctors are very well respected. And they are not paid for the drugs and it must be purchased through the pharmacy which is at arm's length.

As a follow up to my teleconversion....please go back to be a doctor....you can serve us for at least 30 more years. If you immigrate here on you profession as a doctor, please continue. We need you.

In Canada, doctors are very much repected. I hae yet heard of any doctors or dentists here in Edmonton given up his or her profession. No yet.

By the way, I must be clear on why I am upfront to charge for my services which I deem is a business transaction....like refering business network contacts...NOT those social gathering......

1st I do not want to hide anything.
2nd as a professional...Chartered Financial Consultant, we are to disclose any conflict of interest and any gains we have. So I have to be upfront. Only those who sneak around would not disclose their hidden agenda for being friendly like fetching your for the airport then start selling you all sorts of things. I f8*k them when I see them. That's me. I am not a very polite person to EVIL people.

3rd. I am simply sick-and-tired for taken for a ride by new immigrants mainly from Singapore. Frankly, as I told you, those who came 20 or 30 years ago are almost a different sort of human beigns from Singapore. We know how to draw a line and how to help back and keep in contact. But then come later these 5 years...wow.

One of my old good friend, Denial now age 63 and have been in Canada for more than 21 years, always complain to me how some new Singapore immigrants just take his hospitality for granted. He also heard lots of horrible stories from other new immigrants who have their peers overstaying at their place and don't even offer to pay back anything!

So I begin to be upfront and say I charge. You know what...I managed to filter out alot of unneccessary problem. Frankly, those of us immigrated to Edmonton some 20 to 30 years ago did not know anybody here and have never been to Edmonton. We jsut pack up and came here.

In 1991,my wife and I took our 3 yrs old daughter..landed in the Edmonton International Airport...took an airport bus....book a hotel for 3 nights...did not know anybody except for a Singapore whom we met while in Singapore ....he was not much of a help, just dropped into our hotel and said hello......we started life from them.

Many other old timers who came 20 to 30 years ago can tell you the SAME experience.

So if we can do it, what the hell is f&8King wrong with the new group of Singaporeans who need to ask this and that and make sure everything is Ok before coming. F(*&K! Maybe they have the money. Most of us when we came in the late 70s to the early 90s, the HDB flats we sold were about Sin $35,000 to $50,000 and not much CPF....about $30,000 the most.

The new group of Singaporeans lived in condoms which is worth more than Sin$1m and another few hundred thousands cash and another 200,000 to $300,000 CPF each hushand and wife.....simply millionaires. But shit they have more fear than we old guts who just pack and came.....no need to be so calculative.

Once again, please consider seriously to practice your medicine again. Doctors here are very much respected even though they do not earn much....average gross Can$130,000 to $170,000 per year for a family doctor .....$250,000 to $350,000 for a medical specialist and dentist. A oil rig worker (with two years of technical diploma training) lous overtimes can EASILY earn $150,000 per year! $250,000 per year is not unheard of during the oil boom times.

neddy

In Canada, blue collar type jobs actually pay very well. Even better than most white collar jobs. This is something Asians would find hard to understand. But it does make sense because some of these blue collar type jobs are really tough. Sitting in a well conditioned office making calls and typing keyboards is really cushy compared to the blue collar jobs. So it makes logical sense to pay them appropriately.

It is the same in Australia. People need to realise that blue-collar workers have dignity too. The Italian-Aussie builders I know are running out of gas in their 50s. Their joints are wearing out and they suffer work-related medical problems. These Italian migrants have pride.

Even I am influenced. Don't belittle my worth by paying me less.

When my mother needed to sell her HDB flat, I overpaid the town council supervisor who carried out some labour-intensive removal job with the Indian workers. You should see the big grin on his face. As for me, this is how I was paid in Australia and I thought he deserved the money for a job well done.

OK I spoiled the market.

axe168

Now because I "cannot be a doctor", I don't have to justify. Strange logic but maybe some of you can understand what I am saying.

Yo Doc, I hope I am not trying to show an expert how to suck eggs.. This is my story :

I had a similar encounter.. I was told I am not able to obtain the accreditation/license due to my lack of "local" experience and bla-bla-bla.. The word "LOCAL" is not listed as a mandatory criteria.. therefore, I wrote in to challenge the decision, my appeal reached the Chair person, in the end, I got what I asked for :wink:

Day 2 - Thereafter, I presented my formal recognition (local toilet paper) to my employer. Under the "Equal Opportunities" conditions, I declared I have the reason to believe I was mistreated. Soon, they offered me a backpay of 3mths, plus 3 promotions :wink: After 3 yrs in Brisbane, I left for Melbourne.

Finally, Mel is my destination - I've worked for 3yrs to reach this goal.

I believe there are ways to achieve your goals. probably refresher course or some other silly tests. I'm confident you'll get there with your hot steam..

pohchuan

pohchuan:

"To me, having a high level job with high level stress is a stupid idea,"
I agree with you 99%....still go the 1% left to fight for more money lah. Sometimes it does not pay to be that hardworking unless you have a chance to earn $500,000 or more per year. In Canada, a simple life like what you say and with some extra income from Sillypoor, you can take your son to go fishing or skiing in the mountains....just 1 1/2 hours of drive from Vancounver.

So you and your the other half should have about
future value of about $5,000
per month

But I must warn you that if you apply as a married
couple you will get lesser per month than if your are individual!
Yea, it is better off in your case to remain divorced
as you had mentioned!

Sounds stupid, but that's Canada!

During my visit to Vancouver, I talked to the hotel staff, a few asians actually. We spoke abt OAS GIS etc, and all agree abt the good thing that OAS provides. But OAS seems ridiculous sometimes. For those older asians ; OAS and GIS actually discourage them to have registered savings plan as anything they saved will be taken as income when they withdraw them during retirement. This sum will be taken into consideration when they receive their OAS and GIS. So ironically, OAS and GIS system actually discourage older immigrants from savings as many would prefer to keep their money elsewhere or spent it rather than savings it for future use.

pohchuan

nayr69sg:

By the way, I must be clear on why I am upfront to charge for my services which I deem is a business transaction....like refering business network contacts...NOT those social gathering......

So I begin to be upfront and say I charge. You know what...I managed to filter out alot of unneccessary problem. Frankly, those of us immigrated to Edmonton some 20 to 30 years ago did not know anybody here and have never been to Edmonton. We jsut pack up and came here.

In 1991,my wife and I took our 3 yrs old daughter..landed in the Edmonton International Airport...took an airport bus....book a hotel for 3 nights...did not know anybody except for a Singapore whom we met while in Singapore ....he was not much of a help, just dropped into our hotel and said hello......we started life from them.

Many other old timers who came 20 to 30 years ago can tell you the SAME experience.

Bernard, thumbs up for your honest comment. The fact that you charge for your services is comforting as there is accountability.

However, not all recent immigrants are ungrateful lot. Yes, there are more bastards out there nowaday, but there are still some nice people around who appreciate the kind gestures shown by the early immigrant who are helping the new immigrant. And guess what! If you find a new immigrant who appreciate your kind gestures, he or she will be closer than a friend. that's comforting isn't it? Of course these people are fewer now, but there are still that few whom you can friends with.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I can understand how you feel Bernard.

I have had my share of cheapskate patients also. Ai chee ai pee or say got no money expect waiver of charges etc. I am just an employee cannot waive fees anyhow.

There is no free lunch lah. Someone has to pay for it. Some will expect reciprocity which is a very Asian trait. I also feel bad if I don't "pay back" someone who has helped me.

Having said that Sunday's homily ended with the priest saying :

"God does not love us because we are good, but because HE is good"

Not easy to live that way as we are human, but certainly worth reflecting from time to time.

exSINgaporean

<<<<During my visit to Vancouver, I talked to the hotel staff, a few asians actually. We spoke abt OAS GIS etc, and all agree abt the good thing that OAS provides. But OAS seems ridiculous sometimes. For those older asians ; OAS and GIS actually discourage them to have registered savings plan as anything they saved will be taken as income when they withdraw them during retirement. This sum will be taken into consideration when they receive their OAS and GIS. So ironically, OAS and GIS system actually discourage older immigrants from savings as many would prefer to keep their money elsewhere or spent it rather than savings it for future use.>>>

Alamat, Poh Chuan if you are sick would you see your janitor or your doctor. If you need legal advice, do you talk to the taxi driver or the lawyer.

Then why "consult" those hotel staff about such important thing as retirement planning? As I say get a Chartered Financial Consultant, or a Chartered Life Underwriter (I have both qualification) or a Certified Financial Planner. We are trained in this area, period.

I have heard lots of those misconceptions from old Chinese ladies and I did a series of radio talk shows in Cantonese some years back in Edmonton to clearify to them.

Look at the OAS and GIS website and key in the montly income (like rental income, interest rate, CPP (normally about $250 for minimum wages group)) and you will find even if you have $2,000 per month income apart from the OAS and GIS, the deduction from the OAS is very minimum.

So who say they need to dispose all theri income and property to be dirt poor to get the full benefit of the OAS and GIS?

Just remember this: "Canada is NOT the damn PAP Singapore. We are not here to skin you. Of course if your retirement income is $50,000 per month then you obviously would not get the OAS and there is craw back from GIS).

Other than that, for those old men and ladies who lived in Canada for more than 10 years and above 65 yrs old, they can easily get $800 per month and many of them get about $1,100 per month. Now you know why those Chinese and Vietnamese old folks can travel back to Vietnam, China every year for holidays and even fo on cruise bec. they have extra money as their children have been taking care of them. Can we say the same for Singaporeans?

Healthcare and hospitalization are free for Canadian age 65. So no worry of bankrupting their children......how about Singapore?

Apart from these OAS, and GIS, old forks normally has 10% off from most shopping malls on certain days of the week. Even their house and car insurance are cheaper. Public swims are discounted or even free.

Then I must also tell you about my 22 year old daughter. She is a special needs girl. She was born in Singapore but she suffers from lots of illness...heart, learning disablilty etc. Luckily we managed to immigrate....the Canada immigration required us get her done her ..|heart operation in Singapore and get a clear bill of health before they give us the visa. Lucky it was down successfully...immigrated to FREEDOM in 1991. Thank you God.

At age 18 onwards, she is given a monthly indexed income of Can$1,200 (now) for disabled people. She works part-time in the Dollar Rama shop...once a week ...and her pay is minimum wages. So for the $200 to $350 pert month wages, its too little and hence her disability wages is not deducted. She get 50% off from her monthly bus pass....no such thing fo rdisbaled people in Singapore.

If she wants to take up courses like dancing, computer, martial arts....its all paid for by the handicap foundation!

All her medical, dental, glasses are 100% paid for by the Alberta govt!!!!!!!!!!

Now are you ready for this?

Now she saves $1,500 per year, the Federal govt. top it up with another $3,500 for the next 20 years ...total $6,000 each year! Even at a saving rate of 1.5% after 40 years she could easily accumulate $140,000 adn $330,000 at 60......

With a Royal Bank bonds fund of avg 4% she could have $400,000 by the time he is 60 years old. For those who want to learn how to use a Financial Calculator it works in two parts.

The first 20 years with $6,000 each year.
PMT= -$6,000
i= 4%
n= 20
Then future value FV= $185,815

The next 20 years of accumulation at 4%
Present Value, PV= -$185,815
i = 4%
n= 20

The future value, FV = $407,144

Drawing from this capital with a Term Certain Life Annuity she should be able to get about $1,500 then. She doee not need to worry about affecting her OAS and GIS then...I have calculated for you in the previous message the future value of the indexed value with 3% inflation it should be about $5,000 for her.

Thus at age 65 she should have about monthly $6,500 future value ...in today's dollar @3% discounted value it should be about $1,823....enough or not for a single person to live in Edmonton? $1,300 to $1,500 is enough lah.

Rental (shared)... $800
Food....... $400
Clothing... $ 50
Cell ph..... $ 50
Entertainment $100.................extra
Eat out $ 100................extra
PublicTransport $ 50
(pass is unlimited
travel mthly)
Misc $ 100

_______ $1,650......can be $1450 if taken away the extras.

Poh Chuan, a guideline for you is that, it the person advising you does not know how to use a Financial Calculator (not a computer program but a old fashion financial calculator) then his concept of interest rate and the value of money is limited. Go to one who can on the spot do the calculation like me.....then he is worthy to earn your commission. I bet, 90% of those so-called financial planners cannot comfortably use such a device.

exSINgaporean

To all:

If you are in Edmonton, all Singapore men be careful. There are now quite a large number of the PRC women lurking to let your screw and then break up your family. Yea the same tricks like in Singapore.

When I drive around Calgary to visit my clients I saw quite alot of those "Chinese massage" displayed. I am quite a man of the street, I certainly know what it is about.

In Edmonton, I phoned one of them to test the water. A Shangai speaking woman spoke to me....took me the price. I though of telling her I will call her after my ginsen dinner but then I do not want to poke fun at such a "poor" girl who might prefer the whites who normally will go crazy after seeing a naked Chinese lady. So I say, I am busy, I will call you again.

Alamat, cannot afford the $200 rate lah. Lucky I am that poor. So it si good not to be too rich....damn good excuse to "fail".

Just this summer, there was a raid of a "barber" shop in our Chinatown. You-know-I-know-type of barber shop....like those in Singapore and K.L. Barber shop to cut hair.....which hair. That premise was used by my wife's knitting teacher from Taiwan. She was told to leave to give way to this "barber" shop.

If you ask around the Chinese community, you can easily find lots of those whores operating in a private setting. Don't play play and get stuck. Here the whores are not like in Singapore Desker Rd or those Geyland houses H2R5 House2 Room 5) type where they need to go for bi-monthly medical check-ups. Whores here (especially from PRC type) do not generally go for check-ups....no such requirements....give them another $50 you do not need the rubber. Damn dity. Be careful.

I am not sure about those in Australia and USA. Pretty sure about those in Edmonton.

So you young immigrants from Singapore, be careful OK.

I am already 55 ...my "fire" has already subsided quite a bit and I can "control". You young men at miidle 30s and 40s still have the hot blood and now have all the freedom just be careful. Lots of those PRC.

The whites here do not normally break up your family.....no strings attached. In the past 20 years here, I yet to hear any break-ups done by the white whores. But for the PRC, bec. we are of the same color, we can easily get attached to them.

Let this old man caution you.

As for Poh Chuan.....bad news. Vancouver has lots more and Toronto is the HQ! Even you are not rich, they don't mind! There are not many like those on students' visa like in Singapore. But then, they are more "professional".

neddy

To all:

If you are in Edmonton, all Singapore men be careful. There are now quite a large number of the PRC women lurking to let your screw and then break up your family. Yea the same tricks like in Singapore.

As for Poh Chuan.....bad news. Vancouver has lots more and Toronto is the HQ! Even you are not rich, they don't mind! There are not many like those on students' visa like in Singapore. But then, they are more "professional".

Same everywhere. From Malaysia to Australia, I heard enough of these.

exSINgaporean

To All:

I must first remind you guys that I am NOT an investment advisor and I do NOT give investment advice, period. I am just a Chartered Financial Consultant cum life insurance agent. I write on a personal view and for "entertainment" only. So you invest at your own risk. Please check all my information for "Errors and Ommissions".

Mark my words.....there could be a major melt down of the stock market as early as this month or middle of 2011 latest.

The sub-prime rate caused the Financial Crisis in 2008 was about US$1 trillion. Then in late 2010 (this year) to mid 2011 come another mortgage renewals of the All Day and the Options Arm which combined is near to US$2 trillion and as in the sub-prime, they have been sold as commercial papers to the Wall Street banks and around the world!

That's the first punch. At the same time, as Elizabeth Warren (search in youtube) points out there are about 2800 small and medium sized banks which loan out "Commercial Mortgages" and this time around for the next 4 years, it is up for renewal. This is the second punch at the same time!

The US Treasury has shot all their bullets......cannot reduce rate as it is almost zero now and they cannot inject anymore money because during the sub-prime they were about $5 trillion in national debt but now it has grown to $15 trillion. Last 2 years China, the biggest buyer of T-bills has told the US that they cannot afford to buy the T-bills anymore and besided, China now hates US more bec. of the devaluation of the green back.

All the technical indications with the EMA, MACD point to a fall soon. The head-and-shoulder pattern before the 2008 stock market crash re-appear since late 2009 and Feb 2010. This pattern is the pattern buying behaviour of the mass market during the up-turn and the second shoulder is the last leg of the peak before the big fall. I see that it is at the second shoulder or even past it but the current increase could be lots of "dumb" money pouring in.

Many of my friends have pack their money in CANADIAN dollars (not US) and I myself have bought in quite alot of silver, SLV. But then after selling and convert back to Can$ I will lose in the currency exchange. We will buy in when the market falls.

As I said, I am not an investment advisor but just give some personnal "unprofessional" opinions for you to check it up yourself or with the professionals in the investment field. Invest at your own risk.

exSINgaporean

<<<pohchuan;598092]Bernard, thumbs up for your honest comment. The fact that you charge for your services is comforting as there is accountability. >>>>

Tow months back, I drove my wife's colleague to look at the Wing Chun wooden dummy as he wanted to buy one. After I reach home with him, he offered to pay back for my gas.

Yea, you see the whites are damn "che tong" (automatic without asking)...it's their culture..."compensate you back without you asking".

You will always find me complaining about the new generation of Singaporeans who immigrate here......no che tong type. While as you know I do not see eye-to-eye what "Alex Chee" but then think of it, the whole Singapore culture "forces" exSingaporeans like him and others to act likewise. After all the help....even if we are willing to help....but then "che tong" a bit lah....don't have to ask.

If someone offers you to stay a week, then just ask him how much can you pay back to compensate. If he said no need then at least you have already done your part. 20 to 30 years ago most of us from Singapore will be very che tong type so we do not need to do business to earn from you. Some of them know that I do life insurance, they are very che tong and get life insurance from me without asking.

Even though we want to help, but then you have new immigrates staying at your place, mass up your basement and as Alex Chee said rightly or wrongly, his daughter being mistreated by the child of another new immigrate. How do you think we would feel? Thank you for that?

Just be chi tong and ask: "how can I repay you" As I say, we might just tell you it is OK. Also do not "overstay" or "give a inch and take a foot".

I charge not for my expertise but to compensate for the time and effort and to scare away those who simply like to come for a free ride.

I hope I get my point.

I hope we can forget and forgive Alex Chee if ever we have "perceived" that he has done anything wrong or whoever have offended us and move on. What we want is a new life....whether it is good or bad.

Just forgive our fellow Singaporeans and make our new home a pleasant place to welcome MORE Singaporeans to give them a taste of real FREEDOM from Lee Kuan yew's control.

More good years!

mayliewwan

Wow...have you forgotten when there is a crisis, gov't will change the rule??? Looks like you have forgotten how Ralph Klein opted for slash and burn method, trying to balance the books. Didn't Paul Martin changed the rules regarding GIS and OAS when he tried to balance the book?? CPP?? Will there be any money left in the coming years?? . Several years ago, there were talk of CPP going broke and financial advisers were telling people to save their own money and not rely on CPP OAS and GIS in their golden years??? Has the gov't fixed the CPP problems???
Isn't it true Canada is running a $50 billion plus deficit for this year?? Will Canada be forced to bite the bullet like UK in the coming years?? Is it true that most Canadian banks have unloaded their mortgage loans to CMHC, making taxpayers holding the bags???
Still have confidence in your number crunching???

mayliewwan

Why don't you write letters to editors to newspapers or TV stations instead of this forum??? Aren't you tired of hearing those politically correct version? You know... when caught, those women were victims, forced into sex slavery etc etc

To all:

When I drive around Calgary to visit my clients I saw quite alot of those "Chinese massage" displayed. I am quite a man of the street, I certainly know what it is about.

In Edmonton, I phoned one of them to test the water. A Shangai speaking woman spoke to me....took me the price. I though of telling her I will call her after my ginsen dinner but then I do not want to poke fun at such a "poor" girl who might prefer the whites who normally will go crazy after seeing a naked Chinese lady. So I say, I am busy, I will call you again.

Alamat, cannot afford the $200 rate lah. Lucky I am that poor. So it si good not to be too rich....damn good excuse to "fail".

Just this summer, there was a raid of a "barber" shop in our Chinatown. You-know-I-know-type of barber shop....like those in Singapore and K.L. Barber shop to cut hair.....which hair. That premise was used by my wife's knitting teacher from Taiwan. She was told to leave to give way to this "barber" shop.

If you ask around the Chinese community, you can easily find lots of those whores operating in a private setting. Don't play play and get stuck. Here the whores are not like in Singapore Desker Rd or those Geyland houses H2R5 House2 Room 5) type where they need to go for bi-monthly medical check-ups. Whores here (especially from PRC type) do not generally go for check-ups....no such requirements....give them another $50 you do not need the rubber. Damn dity. Be careful.

I am not sure about those in Australia and USA. Pretty sure about those in Edmonton.

So you young immigrants from Singapore, be careful OK.

I am already 55 ...my "fire" has already subsided quite a bit and I can "control". You young men at miidle 30s and 40s still have the hot blood and now have all the freedom just be careful. Lots of those PRC.

The whites here do not normally break up your family.....no strings attached. In the past 20 years here, I yet to hear any break-ups done by the white whores. But for the PRC, bec. we are of the same color, we can easily get attached to them.