• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can you guys play this audio in your browser?

masgnoeL

Like to check if you guys are able to play the following audio "Home is on the Range" in your browser itself or does it ask you to download the audio file when you click "Home is on the Range" on the link ?

I am able to play the audio in firefox browser but not able to do so with other browsers like IE. Not sure if Safari can handle .ogg on the browser or not.

This is a wikipedia.org audio file. It ends with .ogg, which most audio and video players do not support unless plugins are downloaded.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Home_on_the_range.ogg

Feedback is welcome.

masgnoeL

Play fine in Google Chrome as well.

Sorry, I pasted the wrong link for the audio.

Can you please try this link instead?.....

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fc/Home_on_the_range.ogg

If you can get your Google Chrome to open this link within Google Chrome, let me know.

By the way, I am also able to open this link within Google Chrome and Firefox but not in IE or IE-based browsers.

For IE, it will activate the download manager and ask me if I want to open the file or save it. If I say "open", it will play in a media player associated with this type of file. This is a .ogg file, a non-patent, open source std format. Most media player can only play the .ogg file provided a plugin or codec is downloaded. For my case, VLC Player will just play it fine without the need for any addon.

Faidenk

Sorry, I pasted the wrong link for the audio.

Can you please try this link instead?.....

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fc/Home_on_the_range.ogg

If you can get your Google Chrome to open this link within Google Chrome, let me know.

By the way, I am also able to open this link within Google Chrome and Firefox but not in IE or IE-based browsers.

For IE, it will activate the download manager and ask me if I want to open the file or save it. If I say "open", it will play in a media player associated with this type of file. This is a .ogg file, a non-patent, open source std format. Most media player can only play the .ogg file provided a plugin or codec is downloaded. For my case, VLC Player will just play it fine without the need for any addon.

Works fine on both Firefox and Chrome. Automatically. Didn't try on IE as I've disabled it. If it's any help, I've DiVx codec package installed.

masgnoeL

Works fine on both Firefox and Chrome. Automatically. Didn't try on IE as I've disabled it. If it's any help, I've DiVx codec package installed.

Is it like mine, where I click the link and then gets a black web page which says "Video is playing" and the audio plays in the background?

What is your "automatic" like?

Ever tried disabling it so that you can download the audio instead of playing it? :biggrin:

Alamak just select quicktime to play it lah, but quick time needs to install some files first before can be played on the webpage.

mediumcoke

The matter is your system's codecs and not your browser usually.

ogg is a BETTER format than MP3 but not usually have a codec in windoze system. You have to download a codec and install it. Search Google for this codec to download.

If you browser have no plugin to handle it within browser, you should still be able to download that .ogg audio file and save it in you PC somewhere - then play it with e.g. media player or others - provided you have the necessary codec for .ogg files.

If you can save it in PC and still not able to play it. Then confirmed you need to install a missing codec.

http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&q=download+.ogg+codec&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

The link above will help you.

:wink:

masgnoeL

Alamak just select quicktime to play it lah, but quick time needs to install some files first before can be played on the webpage.

I have disabled and un-installed Quicktime by Apple, as I feel it is bloatware. For Quicktime, you need the Xipl plugin codec.

Hv you tried clicking the link? What do you experience? It plays within the browser or it fires up a "open or save" option by your download manager?

Just asking. :biggrin:

masgnoeL

The matter is your system's codecs and not your browser usually.

ogg is a BETTER format than MP3 but not usually have a codec in windoze system. You have to download a codec and install it. Search Google for this codec to download.

If you browser have no plugin to handle it within browser, you should still be able to download that .ogg audio file and save it in you PC somewhere - then play it with e.g. media player or others - provided you have the necessary codec for .ogg files.

If you can save it in PC and still not able to play it. Then confirmed you need to install a missing codec.

http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&q=download+.ogg+codec&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

The link above will help you.

:wink:

Hi Mediumcoke, you are knowledgeable on this. Let me ask you this then. Right now, my Firefox and Chrome plays the audio within the browser. Obviously, these two browsers had the codec installed. What if I want to download the audio instead but I cannot, because it plays automatically within the browser. So how do you save the audio to hard drive? :biggrin:

I have disabled and un-installed Quicktime by Apple, as I feel it is bloatware. For Quicktime, you need the Xipl plugin codec.

Hv you tried clicking the link? What do you experience? It plays within the browser or it fires up a "open or save" option by your download manager?

Just asking. :biggrin:

knn u disable the damn quicktime what else u want????

I opneed it and it said quicktime needs to install the plugin.

WHat the fuck is wrong with you?:mad::mad: